1303 Hoe Avenue in Crotona Park East: 11 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $1,494 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 18, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7730, "1303 Hoe Avenue," in Crotona Park East, the Bronx. It has 11 apartments: 10 at 70% AMI from $1,494 to $1,764 a month, and one studio at 100% AMI for $2,264. Applications are not open yet. The listing has no deadline. City records show a new 6-story building with 53 apartments. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply, and every rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum.
Last checked: October 18, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7730, read twice that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, run twice, which did not list it; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 485-x page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building and by Project data; the City's data on advertised lotteries; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings DOB NOW filings (job X01121277), BIS jobs and two certificate of occupancy datasets (DOB NOW, BIS); PLUTO; ACRIS records for Bronx block 2980, lot 43; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; and New York YIMBY's report of October 12, 2024. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 11apartments on Housing Connect, 10 at 70% AMI and 1 at 100%
- 53apartments in the building permit
- $1,494the lowest rent, a studio at 70% AMI
- $2,264the highest rent, the studio at 100% AMI
- 6stories in the permit, plus a cellar and penthouse
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- 485-xA property tax exemption for new apartment buildings in New York City, run by HPD. HPD's page says "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Being Built at 1303 Hoe Avenue
1303 Hoe Avenue is a new 6-story building with 53 apartments in the Department of Buildings' records. Eleven of them are on Housing Connect.
- Permit: job X01121277 was filed October 4, 2024. It reads "ERECTION OF A NEW 6 STORY + CELLAR AND PENTHOUSE RESIDENTIAL BUILDING."
- Size: 6 stories, 66 feet, 53 dwelling units and 35,484 square feet of construction floor area, in the filing.
- Owner: the filings name 773 Grote LLC. The 2024 deed, the mortgages and PLUTO name 1303 Hoe Avenue LLC.
- Architect: NODE Engineering & Consulting, PC filed the plans. YIMBY names "Node Engineering & Consulting" as "the architect of record."
- Status: the first permit was issued February 11, 2025. No certificate of occupancy was in either City dataset through October 17, 2026. PLUTO gives 2025 as the year built.
| Question | One record | Another record |
|---|---|---|
| Size | DOB job X01121277: 6 stories plus cellar and penthouse, 53 apartments, 66 feet | YIMBY, October 12, 2024: five stories, "37 residences," 45 feet |
| Owner | DOB filings: 773 Grote LLC | Deed, mortgages and PLUTO: 1303 Hoe Avenue LLC |
| Address | Listing, DOB and 2026 ACRIS: 1303 Hoe Avenue | PLUTO and 2024 to 2025 ACRIS: 1307 Hoe Avenue |
| Affordable apartments | Listing: 11 | HPD production data: 10 |
What it means: YIMBY reported the first filing. The same job now describes a larger building. Some of its foundation filings still say 5 or 7 stories.
Source: Department of Buildings job X01121277; PLUTO; ACRIS; HPD's production data, updated September 30, 2026; New York YIMBY.
- April 10, 20241303 Hoe Avenue LLC buys the lot for $800,000 and signs a $1,100,000 mortgage.
- April 30, 2024demolition is filed for a two-story building with 2 apartments. It is signed off September 9, 2024.
- October 4, 2024the new building is filed.
- January 23, 2025the owner buys air rights from neighboring lots for $130,000.
- February 11, 2025the first building permit is issued.
- June 27, 2025a $13,400,000 mortgage is signed with Northeast Community Bank.
- March 4, 2026HPD's data gives this as the project start date.
- August 11, 2026a permit is issued for solar panels "ON EXISTING ROOF."
- October 18, 2026Housing Connect lists 11 apartments with rents and no deadline.
What it means: the sidewalk shed and scaffold permits were signed off February 5, 2026. The building is not cleared for living in until a certificate of occupancy is issued.
Source: Department of Buildings jobs X01121277, X01043432 and X01432604; ACRIS; HPD's production data.
What 485-x Means for These 11 Apartments
The listing does not name a program. HPD's production data lists the planned tax benefit as "485-X" and the program group as "Multifamily Incentives Program." HPD's page says 485-x gives "a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings."
- How long"All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Same doorsthe apartments "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units."
- No separate floorthey "shall not be isolated to a specific floor or area."
- Homes torn downa site that had apartments three years before construction "must contain at least one Affordable Housing Unit for each dwelling unit that existed on such date."
| Option | Building size | What HPD's page requires |
|---|---|---|
| A | 100 or more apartments | "25% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% Area Median Income (AMI)" |
| B | 6 to 99 apartments | "20% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% AMI" |
| C | 6 to 10 apartments | "At least half of the units must be rent stabilized." |
What it means: no record opened names the option the owner chose.
Source: HPD's 485-x page, read October 18, 2026. It also lists a version of Option A for parts of Manhattan, Brooklyn and Queens, and Option D for homeownership.
Where 1303 Hoe Avenue Is
The building is on Hoe Avenue in the Bronx, ZIP code 10459. City records call the area Crotona Park East. YIMBY places the lot "between Jennings Street and Freeman Street."
- Department of Buildings"Crotona Park East," its neighborhood tag on every filing for the lot.
- HPD's production dataneighborhood area BX75, the City's code for Crotona Park East.
- City Planning's GeoSearch"East Morrisania" for 1305 and 1307 Hoe Avenue, the lot's other addresses.
- New York YIMBY"Longwood, The Bronx."
- VoucherMatch's ZIP listHunts Point and Longwood for ZIP code 10459.
- The listingit names no neighborhood.
| Record | 1303 Hoe Avenue |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Bronx block 2980, lot 43 |
| Lot size | 7,500 square feet, 75 by 100 feet |
| Zoning | R7-1 |
| Community board | Bronx 3 |
| City Council district | 17 |
| ZIP code | 10459 |
What it means: this report uses the City's name, Crotona Park East. See voucher apartments in ZIP code 10459 and Section 8 apartments in nearby Hunts Point.
Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the permits, PLUTO and GeoSearch.

Rents and Income Ranges for 1303 Hoe Avenue on Housing Connect
The listing has four rents, from $1,494 to $2,264 a month. The lowest income it accepts without a voucher is $59,280 a year.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 studios, 70% AMI | $1,494 | 1 to 2 | $59,280 to $94,990 |
| 3 one-bedrooms, 70% AMI | $1,548 | 1 to 3 | $63,498 to $106,890 |
| 4 two-bedrooms, 70% AMI | $1,764 | 2 to 5 | $76,149 to $128,240 |
| 1 studio, 100% AMI | $2,264 | 1 to 2 | $84,892 to $135,700 |
What it means: there are no three-bedrooms, and no apartment takes six or more people.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7730, read October 18, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
Key pointone studio costs $770 more than the other three. It is set at a higher income level, 100% of AMI instead of 70%. So its rent is higher, and so is its income range. The listing does not give a reason beyond the two levels.
| Household size | Maximum income, 70% AMI | Maximum income, 100% AMI |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $83,160 | $118,800 |
| 2 people | $94,990 | $135,700 |
| 3 people | $106,890 | Not listed |
| 4 people | $118,720 | Not listed |
| 5 people | $128,240 | Not listed |
What it means: income before taxes must be at or under the figure for your household size and the apartment's level.
Source: the same listing.
View the data table
| Household size | Apartments open to the household by size |
|---|---|
| 1 person | 7 |
| 2 people | 11 |
| 3 people | 7 |
| 4 people | 4 |
| 5 people | 4 |
What it means: the household's income must also fit the range for each apartment.
Source: the listing's household sizes, without a voucher; counts by VoucherMatch.
- Under $59,280below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
- One person, $83,161 to $84,891above the 70% limit and below the 100% studio's minimum.
- Two people over $135,700nothing fits.
- Four or five people under $76,149nothing fits without a voucher.
- Six or more peopleno apartment in the listing allows six.
The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set.
Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 1303 Hoe Avenue?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. All four rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size. The 100% AMI studio has the least room, $340.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $1,494 | $2,264 | $2,604 |
| 1 bedroom | $1,548 | $1,548 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms | $1,764 | $1,764 | $2,997 |
What it means: the studios are $1,110 and $340 under the maximum. The one-bedrooms are $1,186 under, and the two-bedrooms $1,233 under.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. The listing does not say which utilities are included. A voucher program subtracts a utility allowance when tenants pay. This report subtracts none, because the listing names no utility.
- Section 8: the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)" among accepted subsidies. See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 10459
Every rent is below HUD's estimate for ZIP code 10459. The 100% AMI studio comes closest: at $2,264, it is $16 under HUD's $2,280 studio figure.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10459 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $1,494 | $2,264 | $2,280 |
| 1 bedroom | $1,548 | $1,548 | $2,390 |
| 2 bedrooms | $1,764 | $1,764 | $2,620 |
What it means: the 70% AMI rents are $786 to $856 below HUD's figures, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.
- Utilities: HUD's figure includes them. If tenants pay for electricity or gas, each apartment costs more than its rent.
- Nearby: see CityFHEPS apartments in Hunts Point and studio voucher apartments in the Bronx.
How 1303 Hoe Avenue Is Financed
Property records show an $800,000 land purchase in 2024 and loans from Northeast Community Bank. A 2026 document puts the bank's mortgage behind HPD.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| April 10, 2024 | Deed | to 1303 Hoe Avenue LLC | $800,000 |
| April 10, 2024 | Mortgage | 1303 Hoe Avenue LLC and Northeast Community Bank | $1,100,000 |
| January 23, 2025 | Air rights | from owners of neighboring lots to 1303 Hoe Avenue LLC | $130,000 |
| June 27, 2025 | Mortgage | 1303 Hoe Avenue LLC and Northeast Community Bank | $13,400,000 |
| June 27, 2025 | Agreement | 1303 Hoe Avenue LLC and Northeast Community Bank | $14,500,000 |
| March 4, 2026 | Declaration | 1303 Hoe Avenue LLC | none stated |
| March 4, 2026 | Subordination of mortgage | Northeast Community Bank to HPD | none stated |
What it means: the two mortgages add up to the $14,500,000 in the agreement, by VoucherMatch's addition. The 2026 documents carry the same date HPD gives as the project start.
Source: ACRIS, Bronx block 2980, lot 43.
No record opened names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender. No announcement of the financing was found.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 1303 Hoe Avenue
The listing posts no preferences or set-asides yet, and it names 12 amenities. HPD's FAQ describes the usual preference groups, which each building's advertisement confirms.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 18, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
- Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Where the final list appearsproject preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
- In the building"Elevator" and "Rooftop terrace."
- In the apartments"Air-conditioning," "Hardwood floors," "Intercommunication device" and "Charging outlets with USB ports."
- The listing's words"High-end kitchen appliances" and "High-end countertops and finishes."
- Also listed"Smoke-free," "Close to schools" and "Bus stop/Public transportation access."
- Not statedlaundry, whether any feature costs extra, the pet policy and who pays for heat, hot water and electricity.
| Station | Lines | Straight-line distance | Accessible in the MTA's data |
|---|---|---|---|
| Freeman St | 2, 5 | 0.11 miles | No |
| Whitlock Av | 6 | 0.40 miles | No |
| 174 St | 2, 5 | 0.44 miles | No |
| Simpson St | 2, 5 | 0.52 miles | Yes |
| Elder Av | 6 | 0.63 miles | No |
| Hunts Point Av | 6 | 0.72 miles | Yes |
What it means: the walk is longer. The listing names all six stations.
Source: the MTA's subway station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.8313464, -73.8905956).

- Buses: the listing names stops at Southern Blvd/Westchester Av and Southern Blvd/E 176 St.
- Parks, per the listing: Field of Dreams Park, about 0.34 miles away; Starlight Park, about 0.45 miles; and Crotona Park, about 0.55 miles, by VoucherMatch's measure.
- Along the line: see apartments near the 2 train and the 6 train.

How to Be Ready When the 1303 Hoe Avenue Lottery Opens
Applications are not open yet. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile, check its income and gather papers now.
On two reads on October 18, 2026, the listing had no deadline and no advertisement. It was not among the 16 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search. The Bronx's 5 open rental lotteries were other buildings.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Housing Connect gives a log number only to profiles that are complete.
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7730.
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above, and again with the advertisement.
- 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- 5Paper routethe listing has no "Apply by Mail" address yet. HPD's guide says to "Follow the instructions on the advertisement to request a paper application by mail."
What it means: the listing gives no mail address, return address or postmark rule yet.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing" (June 2020).
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives to hear about "the status of your application."
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- Before a lease12 months of full rent payments or a credit review, except for applicants "qualifying with rental subsidy."
- Later openingsHPD's guide says apartments that open at turnover "are called re-rental units."
What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. proof of the subsidy and the rent it covers
Key pointthe listing's asset limit is $118,720 for the 70% AMI apartments and $169,600 for the 100% AMI studio. The FAQ sets the rental limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 1303 Hoe Avenue
The rents, incomes and asset limits are posted. The deadline, the advertisement and the utilities are not.
- Knownfour rents with income ranges for 11 apartments, two asset limits and 12 amenities.
- Not posteda deadline, the advertisement, preferences and set-asides, a mail address for paper forms and a marketing agent's name.
- Not statedwho pays for utilities, pets, apartment sizes, a building website and a move-in date.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
Watch outas of October 18, 2026, this report leaves out the listing's one image, labeled "Rendering Photo." It shows the building on a wide paved plaza with a lawn and no street. VoucherMatch could not match that setting to the lot on Hoe Avenue. No other image of the building was found, so the photographs here show nearby stations and parks.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 1303 Hoe Avenue, and no certificate of occupancy is on record. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in the Bronx now: the open-lottery search listed 293 East 207th Street, due October 20, 2026; 354 East 194th Street, October 23; 1677 Eastburn Avenue, October 29; 3180 Villa Avenue, October 30; and One River Park, 355 Exterior Street, November 6.
3 bedrooms, $3,500 a monthHunts Point, BronxAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · NYCHA · CityFHEPS
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthMorrisania, BronxAccepts HASA
3 bedrooms, $1,600 a monthHunts Point, BronxAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · HASA · NYCHA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in the Bronx and CityFHEPS apartments in the Bronx.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 1303 Hoe Avenue on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7730, "1303 Hoe Avenue." On October 18, 2026, the listing showed rents but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.
What is the rent at 1303 Hoe Avenue?
Rents run from $1,494 to $2,264 a month. At 70% AMI, studios are $1,494, one-bedrooms $1,548 and two-bedrooms $1,764. One studio at 100% AMI is $2,264. These are the listing's rents on October 18, 2026. The listing does not say which utilities are included.
How much do you have to earn for 1303 Hoe Avenue?
Without a voucher, from $59,280 a year for a 70% AMI studio. The most is $135,700, for two people in the 100% AMI studio. A two-bedroom needs $76,149 to $128,240, by household size. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum does not apply.
Why does one studio at 1303 Hoe Avenue cost more?
It is set at a higher income level. Three studios are at 70% AMI for $1,494. One studio is at 100% AMI for $2,264. Its income range is higher too: $84,892 to $135,700. A household picks the row that fits its size and income, and the listing shows both.
Does 1303 Hoe Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and the minimum income does not apply with a voucher. Every rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size. The $2,264 studio is $340 under. The FAQ says the rent should be within your program's limits.
Is 1303 Hoe Avenue the same as 1307 Hoe Avenue?
They are one lot. Housing Connect and the building permits use 1303 Hoe Avenue. PLUTO and the 2024 deed use 1307 Hoe Avenue for the same lot, Bronx block 2980, lot 43. The lot is in Crotona Park East, in City records. YIMBY called the area Longwood.
Are the rents at 1303 Hoe Avenue below market?
Yes, compared with HUD. Every rent is below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10459. The 70% AMI rents are $786 to $856 under. The $2,264 studio is only $16 under HUD's $2,280 studio figure. HUD's figures include utilities.
Sources for this article (20)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7730 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- by Project (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- data on advertised lotteries (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- BIS jobs (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DOB NOW (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- BIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- October 12, 2024 (web.archive.org)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Far Rockaway, Queens
18-25 Cornaga Apartments
- From $2,266 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 18, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
3743 White Plains Road
- From $1,812 a month
- Applications due November 4, 2026

College Point, Queens
6-05 129th Street Apartments
- From $2,200 a month
- Applications due November 11, 2026

Tremont, Bronx
623 East 178th Street Apartments
- From $2,283 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.