Skip to page content

1619 Undercliff Avenue in Morris Heights: 6 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,283 a Month

20 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerAs of October 18, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7663, "1619 Undercliff Avenue," in Morris Heights, the Bronx. It has 6 apartments at 80% AMI: three one-bedrooms at $2,283 a month and three two-bedrooms at $2,713. Applications are not open yet. The listing has no deadline. City records show a new 8-story building with 29 apartments and a certificate of occupancy issued October 2, 2026. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply.

Last checked: October 18, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7663, read three times that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r (dated October 14, 2026); Department of Buildings filings (jobs X01175719 and X01166879) and certificates of occupancy; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; the City's lottery data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Bronx block 2880, lot 333; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; and the MTA's subway and rail station data. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

1619 Undercliff Avenue in numbers
  • 6apartments on Housing Connect, all at 80% AMI
  • 29apartments on the certificate of occupancy
  • $2,283the rent for each of three one-bedrooms
  • $2,713the rent for each of three two-bedrooms
  • 8stories in the building permit
  • Not openno deadline posted as of October 18, 2026
Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standardAn amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
Photograph of a riverside plaza in summer with green lounge chairs, white stone benches, a trash bin and a young tree with yellow-green leaves in front of a metal railing, a river behind it and a wooded bluff with a tower on the far shore under a clear blue sky
Roberto Clemente State Park in Morris Heights, the Bronx, in June 2026. The listing names the park among nearby places, about 0.35 miles from 1619 Undercliff Avenue by VoucherMatch's measure. It is not the building. Photo: CastIronSeasoner, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: CastIronSeasoner, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped and reduced).

What Is Being Built at 1619 Undercliff Avenue

1619 Undercliff Avenue is a new 8-story building with 29 apartments. The City issued its first certificate of occupancy on October 2, 2026.

  • Permit: job X01175719 was filed February 5, 2025. It reads "PROPOSING NEW 8 STORY RESIDENTIAL BUILDING."
  • Size: 8 stories, 74 feet, 29 dwelling units and 20,382.6 square feet of floor area, in the filing.
  • Owner: the filing names SCG Capital LLC. The 2025 deed, both mortgages and PLUTO name 1619 SZ AS LLC.
  • Architect: Nikolai Katz Architect filed the plans.
  • Certificate: CO-000100766, an "Initial" certificate for 29 dwelling units. The City's data does not say whether it is temporary or final.
  • Program: the listing calls this an "Initial Lottery." It names no tax program, and no Housing Connect or HPD page opened explains the term.
Where the records disagree
QuestionOne recordAnother record
OwnerPermit: SCG Capital LLCDeed, mortgages, PLUTO: 1619 SZ AS LLC
What is on the lotCertificate of occupancy: 29 apartmentsPLUTO: vacant lot, no apartments
NeighborhoodGeoSearch: Morris HeightsDOB: "University Heights (South)-Morris Heights"

What it means: no record opened says how the two owner companies are related. Later amendments to the permit name "SCG realty inc."

Source: Department of Buildings job X01175719 and certificate CO-000100766; PLUTO version 26v2; ACRIS; City Planning's GeoSearch, all read October 18, 2026.

1619 Undercliff Avenue, from a two-story house to Housing Connect
  • January 30, 2025a referee's deed sells the lot to 1619 SZ AS LLC for $850,000. A $1,400,000 mortgage is signed the same day.
  • February 5, 2025the 8-story building is filed. A demolition is filed for "a two story house" with one apartment.
  • May 12, 2025the building plans are approved.
  • June 18, 2025the demolition is signed off.
  • July 7, 2025the first building permit is issued.
  • November 17, 2025a $6,400,000 mortgage is signed with Broad X Funding II LLC.
  • October 2, 2026the certificate of occupancy is issued for 29 apartments.
  • October 18, 2026Housing Connect lists 6 apartments with rents and no deadline.

What it means: the building went from approved plans to a certificate in about 17 months, by VoucherMatch's count.

Source: Department of Buildings jobs X01175719 and X01166879; certificate of occupancy data; ACRIS.

Where 1619 Undercliff Avenue Is

The building is on Undercliff Avenue in Morris Heights, the Bronx, in ZIP code 10453. The listing names no neighborhood.

Record1619 Undercliff Avenue
Block and lotBronx block 2880, lot 333
Lot size2,450 square feet, 23 feet wide
ZoningR7-1
Community boardBronx 5
City Council district14
ZIP code10453

What it means: the lot is 23 feet wide and about 128 feet deep. See voucher apartments in ZIP code 10453.

Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the permit, the certificate, PLUTO and GeoSearch.

Photograph looking down from an overpass at a crowded multi-lane highway with trucks and cars, overhead green signs, a parallel elevated roadway at right, and wooded slopes with apartment towers and a stone water tower on the skyline under a blue sky
The Cross Bronx Expressway and the approach to the Alexander Hamilton Bridge, photographed in May 2024 from the Undercliff Avenue overpass, per the photographer's description. Photo: Famartin, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Famartin, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped and reduced).

Rents and Income Ranges for 1619 Undercliff Avenue on Housing Connect

The listing has two rents: $2,283 for each one-bedroom and $2,713 for each two-bedroom. The lowest income it accepts without a voucher is $84,240 a year.

ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
3 one-bedrooms, 80% AMI$2,2831 to 3$84,240 to $122,160
3 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI$2,7132 to 5$101,006 to $146,560

What it means: there are no studios or three-bedrooms, and the six apartments split evenly.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7663, read October 18, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Household sizeMaximum yearly income, 80% AMI
1 person$95,040
2 people$108,560
3 people$122,160
4 people$135,680
5 people$146,560

What it means: income before taxes must be at or under the figure for the household's size.

Source: the same listing.

Apartments at 1619 Undercliff Avenue a household can apply for, by household size, October 18, 2026
View the data table
Household sizeApartments open to the household by income
1 person3
2 people6
3 people6
4 people3
5 people3

What it means: two or three people can apply for all six, if their income fits both ranges.

Source: the listing's household sizes and income ranges, without a voucher; counts by VoucherMatch.

Where a household's income leads to no apartment
  • Under $84,240below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • One persononly $84,240 to $95,040 fits.
  • Two people at $84,240 to $101,005only the one-bedrooms fit.
  • Four or five people under $101,006nothing fits without a voucher.
  • Over the maximum for your sizenothing fits. The cut-off is $146,560 for five people.

The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set.

Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 1619 Undercliff Avenue?

Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. Both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size: each one-bedroom by $451 and each two-bedroom by $284. The listing does not say which utilities the rents include.

The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lowest and highest listed monthly rent at 1619 Undercliff Avenue against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for that apartment size, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
1 bedroom$2,283$2,283$2,734
2 bedrooms$2,713$2,713$2,997

What it means: each one-bedroom is $451 under the maximum and each two-bedroom $284 under.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."

How household size changes the CityFHEPS amount
  • One or two peopleDSS-8r gives $2,734. Two people in a two-bedroom would have $21 of room.
  • Three or four people$2,997. A one-bedroom is $714 under it.
  • Five peopleDSS-8r pairs five or six people with $3,753, $1,040 over the two-bedroom rent.
  • Credit check"Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."

What it means: the CityFHEPS amount follows family size, not the apartment.

Source: DSS-8r, 2026 payment standards by family size; Housing Connect FAQ; differences by VoucherMatch.

Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. The listing does not say which utilities are included. A voucher program subtracts a utility allowance when tenants pay. This report subtracts none, because the listing names no utility.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 10453

Each one-bedroom is $107 below HUD's estimate for ZIP code 10453. Each two-bedroom, at $2,713, is $93 above HUD's $2,620 figure.

Lowest and highest listed monthly rent at 1619 Undercliff Avenue against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10453, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 10453
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 10453
1 bedroom$2,283$2,283$2,390
2 bedrooms$2,713$2,713$2,620

What it means: half of the six apartments rent for more than HUD's figure for this ZIP code. A one-bedroom is 95.5% of HUD's figure, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.

  • Utilities: HUD's figure includes them. If tenants pay for electricity or gas, each apartment costs more than its rent.
  • Voucher pages: see CityFHEPS apartments in the Bronx.

How 1619 Undercliff Avenue Is Financed

Property records show an $850,000 purchase in January 2025 and two mortgages from private lenders. No record names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.

Recorded documents for 1619 Undercliff Avenue, Bronx block 2880, lot 333
DateDocumentPartiesAmount
January 30, 2025Referee's deedto 1619 SZ AS LLC$850,000
January 30, 2025Mortgage1619 SZ AS LLC and Broad X Funding LLC$1,400,000
November 17, 2025Mortgage1619 SZ AS LLC and Broad X Funding II LLC$6,400,000
November 17, 2025Two assignmentsBroad X Funding II LLC to a second lendernone stated

What it means: no regulatory agreement for the lot appears in these records.

Source: ACRIS, Bronx block 2880, lot 333; the dataset was last updated October 8, 2026.

HPD's production data, updated September 30, 2026, had no record for the lot. The City's lottery data had no earlier lottery for this address. No announcement of the project was found.

Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 1619 Undercliff Avenue

The listing posts no preferences or set-asides yet, and it names four amenities. HPD's FAQ describes the usual preference groups, which each building's advertisement confirms.

Who gets preference: what is posted and what HPD says in general
  • In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 18, 2026.
  • Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
  • Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
  • Where the final list appearsproject preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
What the building has, in the listing
  • Listed"Bike storage lockers," "Shared laundry room," "Accessible entrance" and "Smoke-free."
  • Not statedwhether any of these costs extra, the pet policy and who pays for heat, hot water and electricity.
Photograph of a small station entrance building with a sign reading Morris Heights Station and a To All Trains sign, a red Metro-North ticket machine and a schedule board under a glass shelter, and the front of a yellow pickup truck at right
The entrance to Morris Heights station on Metro-North's Hudson Line in 2016, about 0.39 miles from 1619 Undercliff Avenue in a straight line. Photo: DanTD, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: DanTD, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped and reduced).
StationLinesStraight-line distanceAccessible in the MTA's data
Morris Heights (Metro-North)Hudson Line0.39 milesYes
Mt Eden Av40.52 milesNo
176 St40.56 milesNo
191 St, Manhattan10.56 milesNo
170 St40.66 milesYes
174-175 StsB, D0.68 milesNo

What it means: the walk is longer, and the 191 St station is across the Harlem River. The listing names all except Morris Heights.

Source: the MTA's subway and rail station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.848952, -73.922559).

  • Buses: the listing names stops at 176 St, W 170 St/Edward L Grant Hwy and West Burnside Av/Loring Pl South.
  • Close by, per the listing: Roberto Clemente State Park, about 0.35 miles away, and BronxCare Health System, about 0.71 miles, by VoucherMatch's measure.
  • Along the line: see apartments near the 4 train.
Photograph of an elevated subway platform with a black sign reading 176 Street, green-framed white wall panels, a stained-glass panel showing two hands, a red Exit sign and a stair going down
The 176 Street station on the 4 line in 2009, about 0.56 miles from the building in a straight line. Photo: Bigtimepeace, public domain, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Bigtimepeace, public domain, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped and reduced).

How to Be Ready When the 1619 Undercliff Avenue Lottery Opens

Applications are not open yet. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile, check its income and gather papers now.

On three reads on October 18, 2026, the listing had no deadline, no advertisement and no mail address. It was not among the 16 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search. The Bronx's 5 open rental lotteries were other buildings.

Getting ready for the 1619 Undercliff Avenue lottery
  1. 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Housing Connect gives a log number only to profiles that are complete.
  2. 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7663.
  3. 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above, and again with the advertisement.
  4. 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
  5. 5Paper routethis listing shows no "Apply by Mail" address yet. The FAQ says to "Refer to the details of any open lottery to learn more about having a paper application mailed to you."

What it means: the listing gives no mail address, return address or postmark rule yet.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing" (June 2020).

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
What happens after a Housing Connect deadline, in HPD's words
  • Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
  • Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives for hearing "about the status of your application."
  • If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
  • Before a lease12 months of full rent payments or a credit review, except for applicants "qualifying with rental subsidy."
  • Later openingsHPD's guide says apartments that open at turnover, "called re-rental units," are posted on Housing Connect.

What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline.

Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.

Documents to gather now
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680 for both apartment types in the listing's rent table. The FAQ sets the rental limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Lottery

The rents, incomes and asset limit are posted. The deadline, the advertisement and the utilities are not.

Known and not yet known on October 18, 2026
  • Knowntwo rents with income ranges for 6 apartments, an asset limit and four amenities.
  • Not posteda deadline, the advertisement, preferences and set-asides, a mail address and a marketing agent's name.
  • Not statedwho pays for utilities, pets, apartment sizes, amenity fees, a building website and a move-in date.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
Watch outthis report uses none of the listing's six photos, as of October 18, 2026. The exterior photo's door numbers are garbled and do not read 1619. Two room photos are 1085 by 1449 pixels, a one-pixel-off size, and the other room photos come from the same set. None could be confirmed as a real, unaltered photo of this building.
Photograph of a street corner under an elevated subway line, with a red-roofed stair rising to the Mt Eden Av station, stop and one-way signs at left, parked cars, a McDonald's sign at right and two distant pedestrians
A street stair to the Mt Eden Av station on the 4 line in 2010, about 0.52 miles from the building in a straight line. Photo: Jim.henderson, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Jim.henderson, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped and reduced).

If You Need an Apartment Sooner

Nothing is open at 1619 Undercliff Avenue yet. A household that must move soon needs another route.

  • Open in the Bronx now: the open-lottery search listed 293 East 207th Street, due October 20, 2026; 354 East 194th Street, October 23; 1677 Eastburn Avenue, October 29; 3180 Villa Avenue, October 30; and One River Park, 355 Exterior Street, November 6.
Bronx apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 1619 Undercliff Avenue first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings

Frequently Asked Questions

When can I apply for 1619 Undercliff Avenue on Housing Connect?

Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7663, "1619 Undercliff Avenue." On October 18, 2026, the listing showed rents but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.

What is the rent at 1619 Undercliff Avenue?

The rent is $2,283 a month for each of three one-bedrooms and $2,713 for each of three two-bedrooms. All six apartments are at 80% AMI. These are the listing's rents as read on October 18, 2026. The listing does not say which utilities the rents include, so the full cost may be higher.

How much do you have to earn for 1619 Undercliff Avenue?

Without a voucher, from $84,240 a year for a one-bedroom and $101,006 for a two-bedroom. The most is $146,560, for five people in a two-bedroom. One person must earn $84,240 to $95,040. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum income does not apply.

Does 1619 Undercliff Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. Each $2,283 one-bedroom is $451 under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum. Each $2,713 two-bedroom is $284 under the two-bedroom amount. The FAQ says the rent should be within your program's limits.

Is 1619 Undercliff Avenue in Morris Heights or University Heights?

Morris Heights, in City Planning's GeoSearch. The Department of Buildings tags the lot "University Heights (South)-Morris Heights," a City area that covers both names. The listing names no neighborhood. The building is in ZIP code 10453, Bronx block 2880, lot 333, in Bronx Community Board 5.

Is the building at 1619 Undercliff Avenue finished?

The City's data says it can be lived in. The Department of Buildings issued an "Initial" certificate of occupancy for 29 apartments on October 2, 2026. The data does not say whether it is temporary or final. The listing gives no move-in date. Ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, for updates.

Are the rents at 1619 Undercliff Avenue below market?

Partly. Each $2,283 one-bedroom is $107 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10453. Each $2,713 two-bedroom is $93 above HUD's $2,620 figure. So three of the six lottery apartments rent for more than HUD's two-bedroom figure for that ZIP code.

Sources for this article (16)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7663 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  4. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  5. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  6. filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  7. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  8. Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  9. lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
  12. GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
  13. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  14. subway (data.ny.gov)
  15. rail (data.ny.gov)
  16. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.