629 East 221st Street in Olinville, the Bronx: 3 Affordable Studios on Housing Connect at $2,000 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 19, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7557, "629 East 221st Street Apartments - HPS," in Olinville, the Bronx. It has three studios at $2,000 a month, all at 80% AMI. The listing has no deadline, and applications are not open. The rent is $604 under the 2026 CityFHEPS studio maximum.
Last checked: October 19, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7557, read at the start and end of the session, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it either time, the Housing Connect FAQ, HPD's 485-x page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing, HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data, the City's data on advertised lotteries, CityFHEPS form DSS-8r, Department of Buildings DOB NOW filings (job X01201226), DOB NOW permits, BIS jobs and certificates of occupancy, PLUTO, ACRIS records for Bronx block 4656, lot 83, City Planning's GeoSearch, HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents, and the MTA's station data. The listing sets the rules. Confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 3studios on Housing Connect, all at 80% AMI
- $2,000the rent for each studio, per month
- 14apartments in the building, per its certificate of occupancy
- June 30, 2026the final certificate of occupancy
- $75,840the lowest yearly income accepted without a voucher
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Was Built at 629 East 221st Street
It is a new four-story building with 14 apartments. The Department of Buildings issued its final certificate of occupancy on June 30, 2026.
- Permit: job X01201226 was filed March 31, 2025. It reads "PROPOSED NEW FOUR STORY 14 UNIT RESIDENTIAL BUILDING."
- Size: the filing lists 14 dwelling units, 41 feet of height and 7,531.69 square feet of floor area.
- What was there: a demolition job reads "Full demolition to a three story house."
- Plans: filed by Nikolai Katz Architect, a registered architect's firm.
- Developer: no record opened names one.
| Record | What it says |
|---|---|
| New building job | X01201226, filed March 31, 2025 |
| Stories and apartments | 4 stories, 14 dwelling units, 41 feet |
| Plans approved | May 23, 2025 |
| Building permit | September 8, 2025 |
| Certificates of occupancy | June 2, 2026 (first), June 30, 2026 (final), each for 14 units |
| PLUTO | 4 floors, 14 homes, built 2025 |
| Lot and zoning | Bronx block 4656, lot 83, zoned R6A |
What it means: the three lottery studios are 3 of the building's 14 apartments.
Source: Department of Buildings filings, permits and certificate records, PLUTO (version 26v2).
Who Owns 629 East 221st Street
The records name two companies, and none opened says how they are related. VoucherMatch prints both.
- PLUTO and the deedWave Property Holdings LLC.
- Department of Buildings"Castling Capital Group" on the foundation, structural, plumbing and other trade filings.
- The main building jobits owner company field reads "Not Applicable."
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990.
- December 23, 2024Wave Property Holdings LLC buys the lot for $294,500, per the deed.
- March 31, 2025the new building job is filed.
- September 8, 2025the new-building permit is issued.
- January 26, 2026HPD's data lists this as the project's start date.
- June 2, 2026the first certificate of occupancy is issued.
- June 30, 2026the final certificate of occupancy is issued.
- October 19, 2026Housing Connect lists three studios with no deadline.
What it means: the building was finished in June 2026.
Source: Department of Buildings filings, permits and certificates, HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data, ACRIS.
Which Program Applies
The listing names 485-x. Its description reads "485x , 3 Units." HPD's production data counts 3 studios out of 14 apartments as a new construction project.
- What it isa law that gives "a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings."
- How long"All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Same doorsthe apartments "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units."
| Option | Building size | What HPD's page requires |
|---|---|---|
| A | 100 or more apartments | "25% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% Area Median Income (AMI)" |
| B | 6 to 99 apartments | "20% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% AMI" |
| C | 6 to 10 apartments | "At least half of the units must be rent stabilized." |
What it means: no record opened names the option the owner chose. Ask the hotline, 212-863-7990.
Source: HPD's 485-x page, read October 19, 2026. It also lists a larger version of Option A and Option D for homeownership.
Is It 629 or 622 East 221st Street?
City records say 629 East 221st Street. The listing's name and mail address also say 629, but its building address field says "622 E 221st St."
| Source | Address it gives |
|---|---|
| Listing name | "629 East 221st Street Apartments - HPS" |
| Listing building field | "622 E 221st St" |
| Listing mail address | "629 E 221st Street Apartments" |
| DOB, PLUTO, HPD | 629 East 221 Street, block 4656, lot 83 |
| PLUTO and GeoSearch | no lot at 622 East 221st Street |
What it means: the records support 629. The listing does not explain "HPS."
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7557, Department of Buildings, PLUTO, HPD's production data and City Planning's GeoSearch, read October 19, 2026. The listing's facade photo shows "629" on the door.
Where 629 East 221st Street Is
The building is on East 221st Street in Olinville, the Bronx, in ZIP code 10467. The City's records use Olinville or the combined name Williamsbridge-Olinville.
- Department of Buildings"Williamsbridge-Olinville," on every filing for the lot.
- City Planning's GeoSearchOlinville, ZIP code 10467.
- VoucherMatch's ZIP data10467 is Norwood and Bedford Park. The site has no Olinville page.
- The listingit names no neighborhood. Its map point is 170 feet from PLUTO's point for the lot, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
| Record | 629 East 221st Street |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Bronx block 4656, lot 83 |
| Community board | Bronx 12 |
| City Council district | 12 |
| ZIP code | 10467 |
What it means: see voucher apartments in ZIP code 10467 and Section 8 apartments in the Bronx.
Source: PLUTO, Department of Buildings filings, GeoSearch. PLUTO lists a lot 27.42 feet wide and 114.25 feet deep.

Rents and Income Ranges for 629 East 221st Street on Housing Connect
Each studio rents for $2,000 a month. Without a voucher, a household of one or two needs at least $75,840 a year.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 studios, 80% AMI | $2,000 | 1 to 2 | $75,840 to $108,560 |
What it means: the listing has only studios.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7557, read twice on October 19, 2026.
| Household size | Studio income range | Without a voucher, no apartment if |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $75,840 to $95,040 | under $75,840 or over $95,040 |
| 2 people | $75,840 to $108,560 | under $75,840 or over $108,560 |
| 3 or more | not allowed | every income |
What it means: a single person's band is $19,200 wide, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: the same listing, minimum and maximum yearly income by household size; gaps worked out by VoucherMatch.
Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680. The FAQ sets it at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the unit's AMI level.
What the Studios Look Like
The listing posts a facade photo, a kitchen, a bathroom and a studio floor plan. It does not say which apartment each photo shows.
- The plan: it is labeled "STUDIO APART. 2B 3B 4B," with a gross area of 333.35 square feet and a net area of 278.26.
- Rooms on the plan: a 226.60-square-foot living room, an 18.83-square-foot kitchenette and a 35-square-foot bathroom.
- The photos: white cabinets and a sink in the kitchen; a tub with shower in the bathroom.


Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 629 East 221st Street?
Yes, the rent fits the 2026 CityFHEPS studio maximum, with $604 to spare. The FAQ says rent "should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $2,000 | $2,000 | $2,604 |
What it means: the rent is under the maximum before any utility bill.
Source: rent from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7557, maximum from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
Watch outthe maximum assumes all utilities are in the rent. The listing does not say who pays for utilities. This report subtracts no utility allowance. Ask the hotline, 212-863-7990, how your voucher would be counted.
- Section 8: the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)" among accepted subsidies. See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- Credit check: applicants with a subsidy "are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Maximum income: a voucher removes the minimum, not the maximum.
- Project-based vouchers: the listing does not mark the studios as project-based voucher units.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.

How the Rent Compares With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 10467
The rent is below HUD's estimate for ZIP code 10467. The studio is $430 under HUD's studio figure of $2,430.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10467 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $2,000 | $2,000 | $2,430 |
What it means: the lottery rent is under HUD's area figure. If tenants pay utilities, the gap is smaller.
Source: rent from the Housing Connect listing, HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. HUD's figure includes most utilities.
- By size: see studio voucher apartments in the Bronx.
How 629 East 221st Street Is Financed
Property records show private loans, the latest a $3,750,000 mortgage and consolidation with Fourleaf Federal Credit Union. No record opened names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Date | Document | Party | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| December 23, 2024 | Deed | to Wave Property Holdings LLC | $294,500 |
| December 23, 2024 | Mortgage | YJV Capital LLC | $300,000 |
| July 14, 2025 | Mortgage | Broadview Capital LLC | $2,290,000 |
| August 14, 2026 | Two mortgage assignments | Broadview Capital LLC to Fourleaf Federal Credit Union | none listed |
| August 18, 2026 | Mortgage and consolidation | Fourleaf Federal Credit Union | $3,750,000 |
What it means: the loans are from private lenders, by these records.
Source: ACRIS document index for Bronx block 4656, lot 83, read October 19, 2026, with ACRIS's own names for each document type.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 629 East 221st Street
The listing posts no preference groups and no set-asides. It lists two amenities: "Accessible entrance" and "Smoke-free."
- This listingno preference group and no set-aside is posted.
- HPD's general rulethe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for a household member with a mobility disability.
- Also in the FAQ"Another two percent (2%) of units receive preference" for hearing or vision disabilities.
- Whom to askthe listing does not say whether either applies. Call 212-863-7990.
- Listed"Accessible entrance" and "Smoke-free."
- Not statedan elevator, laundry, utilities, pets, air-conditioning and fees.

| Station | Lines | Distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| 219 St | 2, 5 | 0.17 miles | No |
| 225 St | 2, 5 | 0.29 miles | No |
| Gun Hill Rd | 2, 5 | 0.54 miles | Yes |
| 233 St | 2, 5 | 0.65 miles | Yes |
| Woodlawn | 4 | 0.73 miles | No |
What it means: the walk is longer than the straight line.
Source: the MTA's subway station data, with its daytime lines and accessibility flag, distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.8856526, -73.8648242).
- Metro-North: the listing names Williams Bridge station. Its map point is 0.62 miles away in a straight line, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
- Buses: the listing names stops at E 233 St/Bussing Ave, Webster Ave/East Gun Hill Rd and White Plains Rd/E 225 St.
- Parks it names: Shoelace Park, Agnes Haywood Playground and Rienzi Playground.
- Along the lines: see apartments near the 2 train and the 5 train.

How to Apply for 629 East 221st Street on Housing Connect
Applications are not open. The listing has no deadline, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search did not list it.
On two reads on October 19, 2026, the deadline field was empty. The open-lottery search listed 19 rental lotteries at the first and last check, none of them 7557.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov, with current income and household size.
- 2Watch the listinga deadline would show on lottery 7557.
- 3Check your rowstudios take households of one or two people.
- 4Apply oncethe FAQ says "Submit ONLY one application per household."
- 5Paper routethe listing's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" 629 E 221st Street Apartments, C/O Taxace NY LLC, 139 Tompkins Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11206.
What it means: the online route opens only with a deadline.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7557 and FAQ.
Watch outthe mail address is where a reader asks for a paper form. The listing gives no return address for a finished form, no postmark rule and no date for mailing forms out. Ask the hotline, 212-863-7990, before you mail anything.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Random order"After the deadline, all of the applications are put into a random order and assigned a log number."
- Preferences firstthe developer reviews applications "in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories)."
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- With a voucher"the marketing agent will contact you for proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers."
- Later openingsHPD's guide says Housing Connect includes units "that become available at turnover."
What it means: a reached log number starts a short paperwork deadline.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing", Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 629 East 221st Street
The rent, incomes, asset limit, photos, a plan and a mail address are posted. The deadline is not.
- Not posteda deadline, an advertisement, preference groups and a website.
- Not in City dataan earlier lottery for this address.
- Not statedutilities, pets, fees, an elevator, what "HPS" means and who the marketing agent is.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 629 East 221st Street today, so a household moving soon needs another route.
- Open in the Bronx now: on October 19, 2026, the open-lottery search listed 293 East 207th Street, due October 20, 354 East 194th Street, due October 23, 1677 Eastburn Avenue, due October 29, 3180 Villa Avenue, due October 30, and One River Park, due November 6.
- Another listing nearby: 3030 Bronx Park East, about a mile south, is a separate Housing Connect listing with a studio and two one-bedrooms, also not open.
2 bedrooms, $2,997 a monthWakefield, BronxAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · EHV · CityFHEPS
3 bedrooms, $3,753 a monthWakefield, BronxAccepts CityFHEPS · NYCHA · FHEPS
3 bedrooms, $3,633 a monthWakefield, BronxAccepts HASA · CityFHEPS · NYCHA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings
- Voucher in hand: browse CityFHEPS apartments in the Bronx.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 629 East 221st Street on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7557, "629 East 221st Street Apartments - HPS." On October 19, 2026, the listing showed a rent, photos and a mail address but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now.
What is the rent at 629 East 221st Street?
Each of the three studios rents for $2,000 a month, at 80% AMI. That is the listing's rent on October 19, 2026. The listing has no one-bedrooms or larger apartments. It does not say which utilities the rent includes, so ask the hotline, 212-863-7990, before counting on a total monthly cost.
How much do you have to earn for 629 East 221st Street?
Without a voucher, at least $75,840 a year. The most is $95,040 for one person and $108,560 for two. Households of three or more cannot apply for these studios. A voucher removes the minimum income, but the maximum still applies. The asset limit is $135,680, per the listing's rent table.
Does 629 East 221st Street take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and the $2,000 rent is $604 under the 2026 CityFHEPS studio maximum of $2,604. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply. The listing does not say who pays utilities, so call 212-863-7990. For Section 8 limits, ask NYCHA or HPD, whichever issued the voucher.
Is the address 622 or 629 East 221st Street?
629 East 221st Street, by the Department of Buildings, PLUTO, HPD's data and the certificate of occupancy. The listing's building field says "622 E 221st St," but its name and mail address say 629. PLUTO and GeoSearch have no lot at 622. The listing's facade photo shows 629 on the door.
Are the rents at 629 East 221st Street below market?
Yes, against HUD's figure. HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for a studio in ZIP code 10467 is $2,430. The lottery rent is $430 lower. HUD's figure includes most utilities, and the listing does not say who pays them. VoucherMatch did not check other rents in the building.
Who owns and designed 629 East 221st Street?
The deed and PLUTO name Wave Property Holdings LLC, which bought the lot in December 2024 for $294,500. Department of Buildings trade filings name Castling Capital Group, and no record opened links the two. Nikolai Katz Architect filed the plans in March 2025. No record opened names a developer.
Sources for this article (18)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7557 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- data on advertised lotteries (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DOB NOW permits (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- BIS jobs (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Morrisania, Bronx
1049 Washington Avenue Apartments
- From $3,058 a month
- Applications were due January 23, 2026

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
1482-1484 Brooklyn Avenue
- From $2,225 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
1529 Brooklyn Avenue
- From $2,750 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026

Crown Heights, Brooklyn
1530 Bergen Street Apartments
- From $1,656 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 19, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.