292 East 51st Street in East Flatbush: 4 Affordable One-Bedrooms on Housing Connect, $1,574 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 20, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7650, "292 East 51st Street Apartments," in East Flatbush, Brooklyn. It has four one-bedrooms at 60% AMI, each $1,574 a month. Applications are open: on October 23, 2026, the lottery appeared in Housing Connect's open-lottery search, with a deadline of November 16, 2026. The permit is for a new four-story building with a penthouse and 17 apartments. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply, and the rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum.
Last checked: October 23, 2026 (open status; listing first read October 20, 2026), against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7650, read at 9:55 pm and 10:03 pm New York time on October 20 and again on October 23, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it on October 20 and did list it on October 23; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 485-x page, Universal Affordability Preference fact sheet and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings job filings (jobs B01222238 and B01170922) and certificates of occupancy; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 4656, lot 16; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; and New York YIMBY's August 26, 2025 report. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 4one-bedrooms on Housing Connect, all at 60% AMI
- $1,574the rent for each, per month
- 17apartments in the building permit
- $62,606the lowest yearly income accepted without a voucher
- $1,160how far the rent is under the CityFHEPS one-bedroom maximum
- November 16, 2026the deadline; open since October 23, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- 485-xA property tax exemption for new apartment buildings in New York City, run by HPD. HPD's page says "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Universal Affordability Preference (UAP)A City zoning rule that allows more floor area for affordable homes. HPD's fact sheet says buildings "can build 20% more housing if the additional homes are permanently affordable."
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Being Built at 292 East 51st Street
292 East 51st Street is a new building with 17 apartments in the Department of Buildings' records. Four of them are on Housing Connect.
- Permit: job B01222238 was filed August 14, 2025. It reads "PROPOSED NEW FOUR STORY, CELLAR AND PENTHOUSE 17 UNIT RESIDENTIAL BUILDING."
- Size: 4 stories, 44 feet and 17 dwelling units, in the filing.
- Owner: the filings name Royale Management LLC. The November 2025 deed and PLUTO name 292 East 51 LLC.
- Architect: Trend New York Architecture D.P.C. filed the plans. YIMBY names the same firm as architect of record.
- Developer: no City record opened uses the word developer, and this report names none.
- Status: the first permit was issued December 31, 2025. No certificate of occupancy was in the City's data on October 19, 2026.
| Question | One record | Another record |
|---|---|---|
| Owner | Building filings: Royale Management LLC | Deed and PLUTO: 292 East 51 LLC |
| Floor area | Permit: 13,402.2 square feet of construction | YIMBY: "11,491 square feet designated for residential space" |
| Demolition | Permit record: filed March 5, 2025 | YIMBY: "Demolition permits were filed in July" |
| Lot | PLUTO: vacant land, no building | Permits: a 17-unit building under way |
What it means: the two floor areas may measure different things. An amendment filed August 28, 2026 lists 12,778.4 square feet and was still in plan review.
Source: Department of Buildings jobs B01222238 and B01170922; PLUTO (version 26v2); ACRIS; New York YIMBY, August 26, 2025.
- January 7, 2025the lot sells for $865,000, per the deed.
- March 5, 2025demolition is filed for "a two story house." The old house had 2 apartments.
- August 14, 2025the new building is filed. Its plans are approved October 27, 2025.
- November 6, 2025the demolition is signed off.
- November 21, 2025the lot is deeded to 292 East 51 LLC, which signs loans the same day.
- December 31, 2025the first building permit is issued.
- March 18, 2026HPD's data starts the project. A declaration and an agreement naming HPD are signed that day.
- October 14, 2026the sidewalk shed and scaffold jobs are signed off.
- October 19, 2026Housing Connect lists four one-bedrooms with no deadline.
- October 20, 2026the listing adds a deadline and an advertisement.
- October 23, 2026the lottery opens in Housing Connect's search, due November 16, 2026.
- November 16, 2026applications are due, according to the listing.
What it means: the City's data shows permits, but not yet a certificate of occupancy.
Source: Department of Buildings jobs B01170922, B01222238 and B01381777; ACRIS; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building.
Which Program Applies
The listing's advertisement names two programs. It says the building "is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the Universal Affordability Preference Program and the 485x Tax Incentive Program" of HPD. Its short description reads "4 units being leased up."
- HPD's production data: a record named "292 EAST 51ST STREET," new construction, that counts 4 one-bedrooms as low-income units out of 17 apartments. It does not name a program.
- Property records: a March 18, 2026 declaration by 292 East 51 LLC, and a "sundry agreement" between the lender and HPD. The index does not say what they cover.
- Zoning: PLUTO zones the lot R6. HPD's UAP fact sheet says "UAP applies to R6 through R10 zoning districts."
- Not named: the 485-x option, and which apartments fall under UAP. Ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990.
Where 292 East 51st Street Is
The building is on East 51st Street in East Flatbush, Brooklyn, in ZIP code 11203. YIMBY places it "between Linden Boulevard and Lenox Road."
- Department of Buildings"East Flatbush-Rugby," on every filing for the lot.
- City Planning's GeoSearchEast Flatbush, ZIP code 11203.
- VoucherMatch's ZIP data11203 is East Flatbush and Flatlands.
- New York YIMBY"East Flatbush, Brooklyn."
- The listingit names no neighborhood.
| Record | 292 East 51st Street |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Brooklyn block 4656, lot 16 |
| Lot size | 4,000 square feet, 40 feet wide |
| Zoning | R6 |
| Community board | Brooklyn 17 |
| City Council district | 41 |
| ZIP code | 11203 |
What it means: see voucher apartments in ZIP code 11203.
Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings filings; GeoSearch. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the permits, PLUTO, HPD's data and GeoSearch.
Watch outon October 19, 2026, the listing carried six images. VoucherMatch left all six out. The rendering of the outside shows the building on a street corner, but PLUTO records lot 16 as an inside lot, not a corner. The five room images are renderings marked "Photo" with a design firm's logo, and none could be tied to this building. The photos here show nearby places the listing names, not the building.

Rents and Income Ranges for 292 East 51st Street on Housing Connect
All four apartments are one-bedrooms at $1,574 a month. Without a voucher, a household needs at least $62,606 a year.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4 one-bedrooms, 60% AMI | $1,574 | 1 to 3 | $62,606 to $91,620 |
What it means: there are no studios and no larger apartments.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7650, read twice on October 20, 2026. The top of the range is for three people.
View the data table
| Household size | Minimum income | Maximum income |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $62,606 | $71,280 |
| 2 people | $62,606 | $81,420 |
| 3 people | $62,606 | $91,620 |
What it means: the minimum is the same for every size, and the maximum rises with each person. Households of four or more cannot apply.
Source: the same listing, minimum and maximum yearly income by household size.
Which Incomes Fall Outside the One-Bedrooms
Without a voucher, a household that earns too little or too much has no apartment here. A household of four or more has none at any income.
| Household size | Incomes with no apartment |
|---|---|
| 1 person | Under $62,606, or over $71,280 |
| 2 people | Under $62,606, or over $81,420 |
| 3 people | Under $62,606, or over $91,620 |
| 4 or more | Every income |
What it means: a single person's band is $8,674 wide, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: the listing's household sizes and income ranges, without a voucher; gaps worked out by VoucherMatch.
The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set.
Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 292 East 51st Street?
Yes, the rent fits the 2026 CityFHEPS one-bedroom maximum. At $1,574, it is $1,160 under the $2,734 maximum. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $1,574 | $1,574 | $2,734 |
What it means: the rent is $1,160 under the maximum before any utility bill.
Source: rent from the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7650; maximum from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
Watch outthe advertisement says "Tenant is responsible for electricity, including the electric stove, electric heat, and electric hot water." The matching 2026 DSS-8r lines for a one-bedroom are "Electric with Cooking Range," $126, and "Total (Electric Heat & Hot Water)," $106. Together they are $232. Taken off, the $2,734 maximum becomes $2,502, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic. The $1,574 rent is then $928 under. DSS decides which lines apply.
- Section 8: the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)" among accepted subsidies. See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- Credit check: "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Maximum income: a voucher removes the minimum, not the maximum. The limits above still apply.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rent Compares With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 11203
The rent is below HUD's estimate for ZIP code 11203. It is $1,036 under HUD's $2,610 one-bedroom figure.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11203 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $1,574 | $1,574 | $2,610 |
What it means: the lottery rent is 60.3% of HUD's figure, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic. Tenants pay electricity, including heat and hot water, so the real gap is smaller.
Source: rent from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. HUD's figure includes most utilities.
How 292 East 51st Street Is Financed
Property records show private loans from one lender. No record opened names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| January 7, 2025 | Deed and mortgage | sale of the lot; mortgage with MERS | $865,000; $648,750 |
| November 21, 2025 | Deed | to 292 East 51 LLC | none listed |
| November 21, 2025 | Two mortgages, an agreement and two assignments of leases and rents | 292 East 51 LLC and S3 SB Real Estate Credit A Trust | $255,285.21 and $2,950,000; $900,000 |
| March 18, 2026 | Declaration | 292 East 51 LLC | none listed |
| March 18, 2026 | Sundry agreement | S3 SB Real Estate Credit A Trust and HPD | none listed |
What it means: the index does not say what the agreements or the declaration cover.
Source: ACRIS document index, read October 19, 2026. The 2026 documents were recorded April 23, 2026.
No public announcement of the financing was found.

Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 292 East 51st Street
The listing posts two preference groups: Brooklyn Community Board 17 residents and municipal employees or military veterans. It lists 19 amenities.
- First"Community Board Resident (Brooklyn CB 17)," for 20% of the apartments.
- Second"Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran," for 10%.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for a mobility disability. The listing posts no disability row.
- Whom to askwith four apartments, the listing does not say how the shares turn into whole units. Call 212-863-7990.
| Preference | This listing | Housing Connect FAQ |
|---|---|---|
| Community board | 20% | "fifty percent (20%)" |
| Municipal employee | 10%, with military veterans | "five percent (5%)" |
What it means: the listing sets the shares for this building. The FAQ's community board line prints two different numbers.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7650; Housing Connect FAQ, "Preferences."
- Apartments"Washers and dryers in units," "Air-conditioning," "Patio or balcony" and "Energy-efficient appliances."
- Building"Rooftop terrace," "Shared laundry room," "Bike storage lockers," "Security cameras" and "Smoke-free."
- Pets and services"Pet-friendly," "High-speed internet" and "Online options for leasing, paying rent, and making maintenance requests."
- Pet rules, in the advertisement"pets up to 25 lbs., with one pet per apartment." "A $250 refundable pet security deposit may be required." "Service animals are permitted as an exception."
- Feesthe advertisement says of its amenities, "no fees will apply."
- Not statedan elevator and apartment sizes.
| Station | Lines | Distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sutter Av-Rutland Rd | 3 | 0.79 miles | No |
| Saratoga Av | 3 | 0.85 miles | No |
| Crown Hts-Utica Av | 3, 4 | 0.99 miles | Yes |
| Church Av | 2, 5 | 1.06 miles | Yes |
| Winthrop St | 2, 5 | 1.07 miles | No |
What it means: the walk is longer than the straight line.
Source: the MTA's subway station data, with its daytime lines and accessibility flag; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.6547764, -73.9299309).
- What the listing calls train stations: it lists Church Av/Utica Av, Utica Av/Lenox Rd and Remsen Av/Rutland Rd. No subway station in the MTA's data is closer than 0.79 miles.
- Buses: the listing names stops at Utica Av/Church Av and Church Av/E 42 St.
- Places it names: P.S. 268, about 0.20 miles away, and Kingsbrook Jewish Medical Center, about 0.36 miles, by VoucherMatch's measure.
- Along the line: see apartments near the 3 train.

How to Apply for 292 East 51st Street on Housing Connect
Apply once per household by November 16, 2026. Applying is free, and the day you apply does not change your odds.
On October 23, 2026, at 6:51 pm New York time, Housing Connect's open-lottery search listed 23 rental lotteries, 7650 among them, and the listing gave a deadline of November 16, 2026.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Housing Connect gives a log number only to profiles that are complete.
- 2Open the listing292 East 51st Street Apartments, lottery 7650. Check the tables above, then apply by November 16, 2026.
- 3Check your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above.
- 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- 5Paper routeHousing Connect's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" 292 East 51st Street Apartments, C/O Reside New York, 349 Keap Street, Brooklyn, NY 11211.
What it means: that address is where to ask for a paper form. The listing gives no return address or postmark rule.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7650 and FAQ; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing" (June 2020).
Watch outon October 20, 2026, lottery 7650 was not yet in Housing Connect's open-lottery search; it appeared there by October 23. If the link in step 2 does not let you apply, call HPD's applicant hotline, 212-863-7990, weekdays from 9am to 5pm.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- Preferences firstthe developer reviews applications "in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories)."
- Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives to hear about "the status of your application."
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- Later openingsHPD's guide says Housing Connect includes units "that become available at turnover."
What it means: a reached log number starts a short paperwork deadline.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
- City job. proof that "your paycheck comes from the City of New York," for the municipal preference
Key pointthe asset limit is $101,760. The FAQ sets it at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the unit's AMI level.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 292 East 51st Street
The rent, incomes, deadline, preferences, utilities and paper address are posted. A certificate of occupancy is not.
- Knownone rent with income ranges for four one-bedrooms, the asset limit, two preference groups, 19 amenities, a mail address for paper forms, the November 16, 2026 deadline, and an advertisement with utilities, pet rules and programs.
- Not posteda marketing agent's name. The paper-form address is in care of Reside New York.
- Not in City dataa certificate of occupancy.
- Not statedapartment sizes, the 485-x option and a move-in date.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner
292 East 51st Street opened in Housing Connect's search on October 23, 2026, and no move-in date is posted. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in Brooklyn now: on October 20, 2026, the open-lottery search listed 1832 Fulton Street, due October 23, 2026; Sackett Apartments, 224 3rd Avenue, October 26; 803 Glenmore Avenue, October 28; Farragut Residences, October 30; Cantilever House, November 4; 228 North 7th Street, November 6; 719 & 721 Snediker Avenue, November 9; 899 Fulton Street, November 10; and 926 Mother Gaston Boulevard, November 10.
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthFlatbush, BrooklynAccepts HASA
3 bedrooms, $3,700 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts CityFHEPS · HASA · FHEPS
Studio, $2,450 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts HASA · CityFHEPS · NYCHA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Brooklyn and CityFHEPS apartments in Brooklyn.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When is the deadline for the 292 East 51st Street housing lottery?
November 16, 2026, according to the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7650. On October 23, 2026, the lottery was in Housing Connect's open-lottery search, so applications are open. Open the listing at housingconnect.nyc.gov before you apply, or call HPD's hotline, 212-863-7990.
What is the rent at 292 East 51st Street?
The rent is $1,574 a month for each of four one-bedrooms. All four are at 60% AMI. That is the listing's rent on October 20, 2026. The advertisement says the tenant pays electricity, including the electric stove, heat and hot water, so the full monthly cost is higher. Ask the hotline, 212-863-7990, before counting on a total.
How much do you have to earn for 292 East 51st Street?
Without a voucher, at least $62,606 a year. The most is $71,280 for one person, $81,420 for two and $91,620 for three. Households of four or more cannot apply. A voucher removes the minimum income, but the maximum still applies to every household. The asset limit is $101,760.
Does 292 East 51st Street take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and the $1,574 rent is $1,160 under the 2026 CityFHEPS one-bedroom maximum of $2,734. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply. Tenants pay electricity, so a utility allowance may count. Call 212-863-7990. For Section 8 limits, ask NYCHA or HPD.
Who gets preference at 292 East 51st Street?
Residents of Brooklyn Community Board 17 come first, for 20% of the apartments. Municipal employees and military veterans come next, for 10%. Those are the listing's figures on October 20, 2026. Every applicant must still meet the income limits. With four apartments, ask the hotline how the shares are applied.
Is 292 East 51st Street finished?
Not in the City's records. The Department of Buildings filed it as a four-story building with a penthouse and 17 apartments, also listed as 292 East 51 Street or 292 E 51st St. Its first permit came December 31, 2025. No certificate of occupancy was in the City's data on October 19, 2026.
Are the rents at 292 East 51st Street below market?
Yes, against HUD's figure. HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for a one-bedroom in ZIP code 11203 is $2,610. The lottery rent is $1,036 lower. HUD's figure includes most utilities, and tenants here pay electricity, including heat and hot water. VoucherMatch did not check current market rents on the block.
Sources for this article (17)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7650 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- Universal Affordability Preference fact sheet (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- August 26, 2025 report (web.archive.org)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Arverne, Queens
3-06 Beach 68th Street Apartments
- From $2,749 a month
- Applications due November 13, 2026

Jamaica, Queens
97-36 Brisbin Street
- From $2,092 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
1131 East 211 Street
- From $1,974 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026

Morris Heights, Bronx
1591 Jesup Avenue Apartments
- From $2,493 a month
- Applications were due January 8, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.