Skip to page content

1591 Jesup Avenue, Morris Heights: 18 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,493 a Month

24 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answer1591 Jesup Avenue is a new 8-story building with 59 apartments in Morris Heights, the Bronx. NYC Housing Connect ran a lottery for 18 of them, all at 130% of area median income. The listing now shows studios at $2,493, one-bedrooms at $2,607 and two-bedrooms at $2,827 a month. Applications were due January 8, 2026. Each rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size. As of October 22, 2026, the lottery was not open.

Last checked: October 22, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7363, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, the Housing Connect FAQ, CityFHEPS form DSS-8r, Department of Buildings DOB NOW filings and BIS jobs (jobs 240293366 and 220716811), the certificate of occupancy records, HPD's production data (project 77557), the City's lottery data, PLUTO, ACRIS for Bronx block 2872, lots 243 and 245, HPD's pages on 421-a and inclusionary housing, HPD's applying guide, HDC's re-rental search, Reside New York's property page, New York YIMBY's reports from 2019, 2020 and 2025, the Bronx Times, HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

1591 Jesup Avenue in numbers
  • 18apartments in the Housing Connect lottery, all at 130% AMI
  • 59apartments in the building, in city records
  • $2,493the lowest rent in the listing today, for a studio
  • $2,827the highest rent in the listing today, for a two-bedroom
  • January 8, 2026the application deadline
  • June 9, 2026the first certificate of occupancy

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7363, read October 22, 2026; Department of Buildings job 240293366 and its certificate of occupancy record.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
Photograph of a covered red stair climbing to an elevated green steel subway structure, with a sign reading Mt Eden Av Station and a green 4 symbol, stop signs and one-way signs, parked cars under the tracks, two men on the sidewalk and a McDonald's sign on the right
The western stair to the Mt Eden Av station on the 4 train in March 2010, about 0.22 miles from 1591 Jesup Avenue in a straight line. Photo: Jim.henderson, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Jim.henderson, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 and reduced).

What Was Built at 1591 Jesup Avenue

1591 Jesup Avenue is a new 8-story brick building with 59 apartments. Its first certificate of occupancy was issued on June 9, 2026.

  • Names: Housing Connect calls it "1591 Jesup Avenue Apartments". City records give no other name.
  • Permit: Department of Buildings (DOB) job 240293366 is for a new 8-story building. It lists 59 dwelling units, 64 feet and 49,648 square feet.
  • Certificate of occupancy: the first one, CO-000095195, covers 59 dwelling units.
  • Owner: PLUTO, the City's lot database, and the permit name Jesup Development LLC. DOB NOW filings list "GJUSHI CONSTRUCTION CO LLC" in the owner's business field.
  • Architect: a DOB curb-cut filing for the building names Badaly Architects as the applicant's firm. YIMBY says the building was "Designed by Badaly Architects". The Bronx Times names Badaly Engineering Pllc.
  • The lot: Bronx block 2872, lot 243, 100 feet by 100 feet in PLUTO.
1591 Jesup Avenue, from a lot purchase to the lottery
  • October 19, 2018Jesup Development LLC buys lot 245 for $900,000.
  • October 15, 2019a first new building job is filed, for 46 units.
  • September 15, 2020the company buys lot 243 for $930,000.
  • November 6, 2020the current new building job, for 59 units, is filed.
  • August 30, 2021that job gets its full permit.
  • September 15, 2025HPD's project start date.
  • December 15, 2025the Housing Connect lottery opens.
  • January 8, 2026applications are due.
  • June 9, 2026the first certificate of occupancy is issued.

What it means: applications were due five months before the first certificate of occupancy.

Source: ACRIS deeds; BIS jobs 220716811 and 240293366; HPD project 77557; the City's lottery data; DOB NOW certificate of occupancy records.

Where the records and reports differ on the building
  • Earlier planthe 2019 job was for 46 units at 74 feet, "46 affordable independent residences for seniors" in YIMBY's words. The 2020 job is for 59 units at 64 feet.
  • Stories and units8 stories and 59 units in the permit, the certificate and PLUTO. One foundation job describes a "50 UNIT ,10 STORY" building; its unit field says 59.
  • Total unitsPLUTO counts 59 homes and 60 units in all.
  • Floor area49,648 square feet in the permit. YIMBY's 2020 report said 50,208.
  • Non-home space3,073 square feet of office space in PLUTO; 3,623 of "community facility space" in YIMBY's 2020 report.

What it means: the newest records agree on 8 stories and 59 apartments.

Source: the filings, records and reports named.

The 421-a Tax Program the Listing Names

The listing describes "(18) 421a(16) units at 130% AMI". It says the building "is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421a Tax incentive program". HPD says "The 421-a Tax Incentive is a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings."

421-a(16) rental options in HPD's words
  • Option A"25% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 40% of AMI, 10% at up to 60% of AMI, and 5% at up to 130% of AMI".
  • Option B"30% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 70% of AMI and 20% at up to 130% of AMI."
  • Option C"At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI". The project "cannot receive any government subsidies".
  • How longrental projects "choose one of three affordability options and comply with it for the entire benefit period". Those without the enhanced benefit get "A 35-year post-construction tax exemption".

What it means: the listing names no option. No document opened says which one applies or whether the exemption was granted.

Source: HPD's 421-a page, section "421-a (16) Affordable Housing New York Program"; Housing Connect listing.

  • Zoning: the permit lists "MIH" in its special district field. HPD says Mandatory Inclusionary Housing requires a share of new housing in rezoned areas "to be permanently affordable". The listing names only 421-a; no document opened says whether MIH applies here.
  • HPD's count: HPD's data lists 18 middle-income units of 59: 3 studios, 11 one-bedrooms and 4 two-bedrooms. That matches the listing.

Where 1591 Jesup Avenue Is

The building is in Morris Heights, the Bronx, in ZIP code 10452. It is in Bronx Community District 5 and City Council District 14.

The location in the records
  • Morris HeightsYIMBY and the Bronx Times use this name. DOB's filings and the certificate data use the area name "University Heights (South)-Morris Heights".
  • HighbridgeVoucherMatch's page for ZIP 10452 uses this name.
  • YIMBY's description"Located between the Cross Bronx Expressway and Featherbed Lane".
  • Not the same building1543 Jesup Avenue had its own Housing Connect lottery, number 2657, in 2022.

What it means: VoucherMatch files the building under Morris Heights. See Section 8 apartments in Highbridge and voucher apartments in ZIP 10452.

Source: the records and reports named; the City's lottery data.

StationLinesDistanceAccessible
Mt Eden Av4about 0.22 milesNo
170 St4about 0.38 milesYes
176 St4about 0.41 milesNo
174-175 StsB, Dabout 0.44 milesNo
Burnside Av4about 0.79 milesNo

What it means: the closest station, Mt Eden Av on the 4, is about a fifth of a mile away. All five are named in the listing.

Source: the MTA's station data, "Accessible" from its ADA field; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.

  • Buses: the listing names a stop at 176 St, about 0.41 miles away, and two on the Grand Concourse, about half a mile away. The Bronx Times lists the Bx1, Bx2, Bx3, Bx13, Bx18A, Bx18B, Bx32 and Bx36 nearby.
  • Parks: the listing names Roberto Clemente State Park, about 0.59 miles away, Claremont Park, about 0.66 miles, and Highbridge Park, about 0.68 miles.
Photograph of an elevated subway station in snow, with a red-roofed platform shelter and a sign reading Mt Eden Avenue on the left, two people waiting far off, a silver train arriving on the right track and tan and brown apartment buildings behind
A southbound 4 train arriving at the Mt Eden Av station in January 2009. Photo: Daniel Case, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Daniel Case, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 and reduced).

18 Apartments in the Lottery: Studios, One- and Two-Bedrooms

The lottery had 3 studios, 11 one-bedrooms and 4 two-bedrooms, all at 130% AMI. Each size has one rent.

Apartments in the Housing Connect lottery for 1591 Jesup Avenue, by size, October 22, 2026
View the data table
Apartment sizeApartments
Studio, $2,4933
One-bedroom, $2,60711
Two-bedroom, $2,8274

What it means: most of the lottery apartments are one-bedrooms.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7363, read October 22, 2026; the City's lottery data gives the same mix.

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 1591 Jesup Avenue

The rents in the listing today are $2,493, $2,607 and $2,827 a month. The lowest minimum income is $89,280 a year, and the highest maximum is $238,160.

ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
3 studios$2,4931 to 2$89,280 to $176,410
11 one-bedrooms$2,6071 to 3$93,703 to $198,510
4 two-bedrooms$2,8272 to 5$102,652 to $238,160

What it means: every apartment needs at least $89,280 a year, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7363, read October 22, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Most a household could earn at 1591 Jesup Avenue, by size
Household sizeMost it can earnSizes it can apply for
1 person$154,440Studio, 1 bedroom
2 people$176,410Studio, 1 or 2 bedrooms
3 people$198,5101 or 2 bedrooms
4 people$220,4802 bedrooms
5 people$238,1602 bedrooms

What it means: income before taxes has to be at or under the figure for the household's size.

Source: the same listing, maximum yearly income by household size at 130% AMI.

Apartments at 1591 Jesup Avenue a household could apply for, by household size
View the data table
Household sizeApartments open to that size
1 person14
2 people18
3 people15
4 people4
5 people4

What it means: only the four two-bedrooms take four or five people, and none takes six.

Source: the listing's household sizes; counts by VoucherMatch.

Where a household can fall through the gaps
  • Under $89,280below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • One or two people at $89,280 to $93,702only the 3 studios fit.
  • Three people under $93,703nothing fits. From $93,703 to $102,651, only the one-bedrooms fit.
  • Four or five people under $102,652nothing fits.
  • Six or more peopleno apartment at any income.

What it means: larger households need the highest minimum, $102,652.

Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the listing's incomes.

Key pointasset limit. The rent table lists $220,480 for every apartment. The FAQ sets the limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's income level.
The listing today and the December 2025 reports
  • RentsYIMBY and the Bronx Times printed $2,535, $2,635 and $2,888. Reside New York's page shows "$2535 - 2,888.00". The listing now shows $2,493, $2,607 and $2,827.
  • Studio incomesboth reports printed $90,720 to $168,480. The listing now shows $89,280 to $176,410.
  • One-bedroom incomesboth printed $94,698 to $189,540. The listing now shows $93,703 to $198,510.
  • Two-bedroom incomesboth printed $104,846 to $227,500. The listing now shows $102,652 to $238,160.
  • Asset limitthe Bronx Times printed $210,600. The rent table now shows $220,480.

What it means: no page opened says when or why the figures changed. Ask the Housing Connect hotline which figures applied.

Source: New York YIMBY and the Bronx Times, both December 18, 2025; Reside New York's page, read October 22, 2026; Housing Connect listing, October 22, 2026.

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

A voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. Each rent in the listing today is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size, by $111 to $170 a month, before any utility allowance.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, run under HPD. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Monthly rent at 1591 Jesup Avenue against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for that size, in dollars
Lottery rentCityFHEPS maximumMaximum less electric allowance
View the data table
Apartment sizeLottery rentCityFHEPS maximumMaximum less electric allowance
Studio$2,493$2,604$2,493
1 bedroom$2,607$2,734$2,608
2 bedrooms$2,827$2,997$2,830

What it means: after the allowance, the studio rent equals the figure, and the other two are $1 and $3 under it.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing, October 22, 2026; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease"; the last column subtracts DSS-8r's "Electric with Cooking Range" allowance ($111, $126 and $167), by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.

Watch outthe listing says "The tenant is responsible for electricity which includes air conditioning and an electric stove. Heat and hot water are included with the rent." That matches DSS-8r's "Electric with Cooking Range" line. DSS decides which allowance applies, so ask DSS or your caseworker before counting on any of these apartments.
What the voucher rules in the FAQ say
  • Accepted"Section 8 (HPD or NYCHA), CityFHEPS, ISS, TBI, Medicaid Waiver, and VASH are all accepted."
  • Credit check"Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
  • Proofif your application is reached, the marketing agent "will contact you for proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers."

What it means: the voucher must cover the rent the building charges.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 10452

All three lottery rents are above HUD's estimate for the same size in ZIP code 10452, by $207 to $217 a month.

Monthly lottery rent at 1591 Jesup Avenue against HUD's fiscal year 2027 Small Area Fair Market Rent for ZIP code 10452, in dollars
Lottery rentHUD figure, ZIP 10452
View the data table
Apartment sizeLottery rentHUD figure, ZIP 10452
Studio$2,493$2,280
1 bedroom$2,607$2,390
2 bedrooms$2,827$2,620

What it means: the studio is $213 over HUD's figure, the one-bedroom $217 over and the two-bedroom $207 over.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, for ZIP 10452, the building's ZIP in the listing, DOB, PLUTO and HPD's data.

Key pointHUD's figure includes rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Here the tenant also pays electricity, so the full monthly cost is higher than the rent shown.
Photograph of an elevated subway station in snow, with a long platform shelter, a sign reading 176 Street on the right, a train leaving to the left and a row of brick apartment buildings with fire escapes behind
A downtown 4 train leaving the 176 Street station in January 2009, about 0.41 miles from 1591 Jesup Avenue in a straight line. Photo: Daniel Case, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Daniel Case, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 and reduced).

How 1591 Jesup Avenue Was Financed

Property records show two bank loans from Northeast Community Bank in 2021. In 2026 they were assigned to Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., with a $17,000,000 agreement.

Recorded documents for Bronx block 2872, lots 243 and 245, since 2018
DateDocumentPartiesAmount
October 19, 2018Deed, lot 245To Jesup Development LLC$900,000
September 15, 2020Deed, lot 243To Jesup Development, LLC$930,000
August 9, 2021Two mortgagesNortheast Community Bank$10,000,000
July 24, 2026Two assignmentsNortheast Community Bank to Wells Fargonone listed
July 30, 2026MortgageWells Fargo Bank, N.A.$7,000,000
July 30, 2026AgreementWells Fargo Bank, N.A.$17,000,000

What it means: no City, HPD or Housing Development Corporation loan appears in the lots' records.

Source: ACRIS, Bronx block 2872, lots 243 and 245; document dates as recorded.

  • The sums: the 2021 loans were $1,000,000 and $9,000,000. With the 2026 mortgage they add to $17,000,000, by VoucherMatch's addition.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at 1591 Jesup Avenue

The listing shows no preference groups. Heat and hot water are in the rent, and tenants pay for electricity.

Preferences: what the listing and the FAQ say
  • In this listingno preference or set-aside rows.
  • Community preference, in the FAQit applies "For developments financed by the City". It "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
  • Disability preference, in the FAQ"five percent (5%) of units" for a mobility disability and "Another two percent (2%)" for a hearing or vision disability.

What it means: no page opened says how the disability preferences applied here. Ask HPD's hotline.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7363; Housing Connect FAQ.

What the building has: listed, extra cost, restricted, not stated
  • Listed on Housing Connectan elevator, security cameras, an intercom, "high end countertops and finishes", energy-efficient appliances, and online leasing, rent payment and repair requests.
  • Extra cost"covered parking*, assigned parking spaces*" with "*additional fees apply".
  • Smoking"The building is smoke-free."
  • Pets"Pets are prohibited, with the exception of service pets."
  • Utilitiesthe tenant pays electricity, "which includes air conditioning and an electric stove". Heat and hot water are included.
  • Not statedapartment sizes in square feet, bathrooms, laundry and the parking fee.

What it means: the listing calls the apartments "18 luxury, affordable units"; those are the advertisement's words.

Source: Housing Connect listing.

Photograph across the tracks of an elevated subway station, with an open platform lined with white lamp posts, a black sign reading 170 Street on the right and apartment buildings with fire escapes behind under a partly cloudy sky
The 170 Street station on the 4 train in July 2014, about 0.38 miles from 1591 Jesup Avenue in a straight line. Photo: The All-Nite Images, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: The All-Nite Images, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped slightly to 16:9 and reduced).

What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 18 apartments were due January 8, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".

How the 18 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4TimingHPD's guide says "It may take 2 to 12 months for applications to be processed."

What it means: the lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased. The guide says "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents".

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"

What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 22, 2026
  • Housing Connectlottery 7363 was not among the 21 rentals in the site's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found there or in the City's lottery data. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HDC's re-rental search listed 24 advertisements, none for this building.
  • Reside New Yorkits page for the building still says "Upcoming Project".
  • Mail routeunder "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" the listing gave "1591 Jesup Avenue Apartments C/O Reside New York, 349 Keap Street", Brooklyn, NY 11211. The listing gives no return address or postmark rule.
  • PostmarkYIMBY and the Bronx Times wrote that applications had to be "postmarked or submitted online" by the deadline.

What it means: as of October 22, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search and borough count (4 Bronx rentals); the City's lottery data; HDC's re-rental data; Reside New York; the listing.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 1591 Jesup Avenue

The rents, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.

Known and not yet known on October 22, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedhow many lottery apartments have been offered or leased, and whether the building keeps a waiting list.
  • Not explainedwhy the rents, incomes and asset limit differ from the December 2025 reports.
  • Not confirmedwhether the 421-a exemption was granted, which option applies, and whether MIH rules apply.
  • Not settledwhich CityFHEPS utility allowance DSS uses for these apartments.
  • Photosthe listing has none of the apartments. Its two photos of the building were left out here on October 22, 2026, because one carries a third-party watermark. The pictures in this report show places nearby, not the building.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays".

What it means: check each line again before acting on it.

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; city records named above.

Photograph of a wide grass field in late winter with tall light poles, picnic tables, a low tan building on the right and brick apartment towers on a wooded hill behind under a gray sky
Fields in Roberto Clemente State Park in February 2012. The listing names the park among nearby places, about 0.59 miles from the building in a straight line. Photo: Chris Hamby, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Chris Hamby, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 and reduced).

If You Need an Apartment Now

No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.

  • Open in the Bronx now: Housing Connect's search listed 354 East 194th Street, due October 23, 2026, 1677 Eastburn Avenue, due October 29, 2026, 3180 Villa Avenue, due October 30, 2026, and One River Park, 355 Exterior Street, due November 6, 2026.
Bronx apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 1591 Jesup Avenue first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was 1591 Jesup Avenue on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. 1591 Jesup Avenue was lottery 7363 on NYC Housing Connect, named "1591 Jesup Avenue Apartments". It offered 18 apartments at 130% AMI: 3 studios, 11 one-bedrooms and 4 two-bedrooms. Applications were due January 8, 2026. As of October 22, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection", and no waiting list was posted.

What is the rent at 1591 Jesup Avenue?

The listing now shows $2,493 for a studio, $2,607 for a one-bedroom and $2,827 for a two-bedroom, each a month. News reports in December 2025 printed $2,535, $2,635 and $2,888. Heat and hot water are included. Tenants pay for electricity, including the electric stove, and parking costs extra.

How much do you have to earn for 1591 Jesup Avenue?

The listing now asks for at least $89,280 a year for a studio, $93,703 for a one-bedroom and $102,652 for a two-bedroom. The top limit runs from $154,440 for one person to $238,160 for five. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the FAQ says the minimum does not apply.

Does 1591 Jesup Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts both, but the rent must fit the voucher. Each rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size, by $111 to $170. Tenants pay electricity, though. After DSS-8r's electric allowance, the studio rent equals the figure and the others are $1 and $3 under. Ask DSS first.

Is 1591 Jesup Avenue in Morris Heights or Highbridge?

News reports and city records point to Morris Heights. YIMBY and the Bronx Times say Morris Heights, and DOB's filings use "University Heights (South)-Morris Heights". VoucherMatch's page for ZIP 10452 says Highbridge. The building is in ZIP code 10452, about a fifth of a mile from the Mt Eden Av station on the 4.

Who built 1591 Jesup Avenue?

City records name Jesup Development LLC as owner, and YIMBY and the Bronx Times say the building was developed under that company. YIMBY says Badaly Architects designed it, and a DOB filing names that firm. DOB NOW filings list Gjushi Construction Co LLC in the owner's business field.

Are the rents at 1591 Jesup Avenue below market?

No, not by HUD's figure. HUD's fiscal year 2027 figures for ZIP code 10452 are $2,280 for a studio, $2,390 for a one-bedroom and $2,620 for a two-bedroom, utilities included. The lottery rents are $207 to $217 above them. Tenants here also pay electricity on top of the rent.

Sources for this article (22)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7363 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  4. DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  5. BIS jobs (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  6. certificate of occupancy records (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  7. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  8. lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  9. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. ACRIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. 421-a (nyc.gov)
  12. inclusionary housing (nyc.gov)
  13. applying guide (nyc.gov)
  14. re-rental search (nychdc.com)
  15. Reside New York's property page (residenewyork.com)
  16. 2019 (newyorkyimby.com)
  17. 2020 (newyorkyimby.com)
  18. 2025 (newyorkyimby.com)
  19. Bronx Times (bxtimes.com)
  20. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  21. station data (data.ny.gov)
  22. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.