Skip to page content

29 Featherbed Lane, Morris Heights: 40 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $723 a Month

23 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answer29 Featherbed Lane is a new 12-story building with 160 apartments in the Bronx, near Morris Heights and University Heights. NYC Housing Connect advertised 40 of them, from $723 for a studio to $1,427 for a two-bedroom. Applications were due March 16, 2026. As of October 20, 2026, every rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size. The City's lottery data lists the lottery in "Tenant Selection". VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list.

Last checked: October 20, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 5427, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, read at the start and the end; the Housing Connect FAQ; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings job filings for jobs 220673162, 220453168 and 220465182, DOB NOW filings and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data (project 68111); the City's lottery data by lottery and building; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Bronx block 2865, lot 122; HPD's pages on the Inclusionary Housing Program, 421-a and re-rentals; HPD's applying guide; the marketing agent's property page; New York YIMBY's reports of November 2018 and January 2026; and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

29 Featherbed Lane in numbers
  • 40apartments in the Housing Connect lottery
  • 160apartments in the building, in city records
  • $723the lowest rent, for seven studios at 40% AMI
  • $1,427the highest rent, for eight two-bedrooms at 60% AMI
  • March 16, 2026the application deadline
  • June 26, 2025the first certificate of occupancy

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 5427, read October 20, 2026; Department of Buildings job 220673162 and its certificate of occupancy records.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
Photograph of a new 12-story apartment building of orange and gray brick with rows of square windows, seen from across the street on a sunny day, with bare tree branches, parked cars, a street light and a green street sign reading Featherbed Ln
29 Featherbed Lane, photographed from the street, from its Housing Connect listing. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 5427 (maker not named), lottery listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, 29 Featherbed Lane Apartments (lottery 5427) (enlarged 1.5 times and centered on a plain light gray background (no blurred fill)).

What Was Built at 29 Featherbed Lane

29 Featherbed Lane is a 12-story building with 160 apartments on a lot where a two-story house once stood.

  • Name: Housing Connect calls the lottery "29 Featherbed Lane Apartments". No other name or street address was found in the records opened.
  • Permit: Department of Buildings job 220673162 is a new building of 12 stories and 119 feet, with 160 dwelling units. It lists 128,774 square feet of floor area.
  • Certificate of occupancy: the first one, dated June 26, 2025, covers 160 dwelling units. The records list four renewals, the latest on August 20, 2026.
  • Owner: the permit, PLUTO and ACRIS name Featherbed Development LLC.
  • Designer: YIMBY wrote in January 2026 that the building was "Designed by Badaly Architect". The current permit's applicant is a professional engineer.
  • Before construction: demolition job 220465182 was a "FULL DEMOLITION OF A 2-STORY HOUSE", signed off June 24, 2016.
A lobby with tall white stone-look walls and a pale stone floor, a black-framed glass entry vestibule and a wall of mailboxes beyond it
A photograph of the lobby at 29 Featherbed Lane from the Housing Connect listing. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 5427 (maker not named), lottery listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, 29 Featherbed Lane Apartments (lottery 5427) (one listing photograph at its original size (not enlarged)).
29 Featherbed Lane, from first plans to the lottery
  • April 24, 2015an earlier plan, job 220453168, is filed for 8 stories and 59 apartments.
  • March 21, 2016Featherbed Development LLC buys the lot for $601,000.
  • November 14, 2018job 220673162 is filed for 12 stories and 160 apartments.
  • August 18, 2020two bank mortgages are signed. HPD lists this as the project start date.
  • November 15, 2022the new building permit is fully issued.
  • June 26, 2025the first certificate of occupancy is issued.
  • January 13, 2026the Housing Connect lottery opens.
  • March 16, 2026applications are due.

What it means: the building had its first certificate of occupancy more than six months before the lottery opened.

Source: Department of Buildings jobs 220453168 and 220673162 and certificate of occupancy records; ACRIS; HPD project 68111; the City's lottery data.

The programs the listing names

The listing says: "This building is being constructed through the Inclusionary Housing Program and is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421a Tax Incentive program".

Inclusionary Housing and 421-a in HPD's words
  • Inclusionary HousingHPD says the program "is designed to promote and preserve affordable housing where zoning has been modified to encourage new development."
  • Mandatory Inclusionary HousingHPD says it "requires a share of new housing in medium- and high-density areas that are rezoned to promote new housing production" to be "permanently affordable". The permit lists the lot's special district as "MIH".
  • 421-aHPD says "The 421-a Tax Incentive is a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings."
  • 421-a optionsHPD's page lists Option A ("25% of the units must be affordable"), Option B ("30% of the units must be affordable") and Option C ("At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI").

What it means: the listing names no option for either program, and no document opened says which one applies.

Source: HPD's Inclusionary Housing and 421-a pages; the Housing Connect listing; Department of Buildings job 220673162.

Where 29 Featherbed Lane Is

The building is in the Bronx, in ZIP code 10452, Bronx Community District 5 and City Council District 14.

The location in the records
  • University Heightsthe listing's own description.
  • Morris Heightsthe YIMBY reports. Department of Buildings files the lot under "University Heights (South)-Morris Heights".
  • Cross streetsYIMBY wrote in 2018 that the lot is "between Jerome Avenue and Macombs Road".
  • ZIP code10452 in the listing, the building filings, the certificates of occupancy and HPD's data. PLUTO lists 10453.
  • The lotBronx block 2865, lot 122.

What it means: VoucherMatch files the building under Morris Heights. Its apartment pages group ZIP code 10452 with Highbridge, as on voucher apartments in Highbridge.

Source: the records named.

StationLinesStraight-line distanceAccessible (MTA)
Mt Eden Av4about 0.12 milesNo
176 St4about 0.23 milesNo
174-175 StsB, Dabout 0.25 milesNo
170 St4about 0.44 milesYes
170 StB, Dabout 0.48 milesNo

What it means: the nearest stop, Mt Eden Av on the 4 train, is about 0.12 miles away.

Source: the listing's nearby stations and the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.

  • Buses and rail: the listing names bus stops at Grand Concourse and Morris Avenue and at East 170 Street and Grand Concourse. It also names train stations called Morris Heights, Tremont Av and Burnside Av, each about 0.6 miles away.
  • Along the lines: see apartments near the 4 train and the D train.

How 29 Featherbed Lane relates to Starhill at 51 Featherbed Lane

29 Featherbed Lane is a separate project from Starhill Phase II at 51 Featherbed Lane, about 0.1 miles away.

Item29 Featherbed Lane51 Featherbed Lane
Lot in PLUTOBlock 2865, lot 122Block 2865, lot 134
Owner in PLUTOFeatherbed Development LLCStarhill Phase II Housing Development Fund Corp.
Housing Connect lottery5427, due March 16, 20267600, due September 8, 2026

What it means: the two buildings have different owners, lots and lotteries. No record opened ties them together.

Source: PLUTO; the City's lottery data; distance by VoucherMatch from each listing's map point.

40 Apartments in the Housing Connect Lottery

The lottery had 8 studios, 20 one-bedrooms and 12 two-bedrooms. Sixteen were at 40% AMI and 24 at 60% AMI.

Lottery apartments at 29 Featherbed Lane by income level and size
Studios1 bedroom2 bedrooms
View the data table
Income levelStudios1 bedroom2 bedrooms
40% AMI754
60% AMI1158

What it means: half the lottery apartments, 20 of 40, are one-bedrooms.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 5427, counted by VoucherMatch from its 40 unit rows, read October 20, 2026.

How each source counts the apartments
  • 160 in the buildingthe permit, every certificate of occupancy, PLUTO and HPD's data.
  • 40 income-restrictedHPD's data counts 40, with 8 studios, 20 one-bedrooms and 12 two-bedrooms. That matches the listing.
  • Income levelsthe listing has 16 at 40% AMI and 24 at 60% AMI. The City's lottery data counts 16 very low income and 24 low income apartments. HPD's production data counts 14 and 26.
  • The other 120no record opened describes them.

What it means: no record opened names any supportive apartments in this building.

Source: the records named.

A furnished living room with gray wood-look floors, a white sofa, a round table, a wall-mounted screen that is switched off, a wide window with a dark wall unit under it, and an open door to a bedroom
A photograph of a living room at 29 Featherbed Lane from the Housing Connect listing, shown with furniture. The listing says tenants pay for electricity and the electric stove. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 5427 (maker not named), lottery listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, 29 Featherbed Lane Apartments (lottery 5427) (one listing photograph at its original size (not enlarged)).

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 29 Featherbed Lane

The 40 apartments have six rents, from $723 to $1,427 a month. The lowest minimum income is $28,595 a year, and the highest maximum is $109,920.

ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
7 studios, 40% AMI$7231 to 2$28,595 to $54,280
5 one-bedrooms, 40% AMI$7701 to 3$30,720 to $61,080
4 two-bedrooms, 40% AMI$9152 to 5$37,098 to $73,280
1 studio, 60% AMI$1,1211 to 2$42,240 to $81,420
15 one-bedrooms, 60% AMI$1,1961 to 3$45,326 to $91,620
8 two-bedrooms, 60% AMI$1,4272 to 5$54,652 to $109,920

What it means: a one-bedroom rents for $770 or $1,196 depending on the income level.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 5427, read October 20, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Household size40% AMI maximum60% AMI maximum
1 person$47,520$71,280
2 people$54,280$81,420
3 people$61,080$91,620
4 people$67,840$101,760
5 people$73,280$109,920

What it means: income before taxes has to be at or under the number for the household's size.

Source: the same listing.

Where a household could fall outside the ranges
  • Under $28,595below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Three peoplethe lowest minimum is $30,720, for a one-bedroom at 40% AMI.
  • Four or five peopleonly the two-bedrooms take them. The minimum is $37,098 at 40% AMI and $54,652 at 60% AMI.
  • Six or more peopleno apartment in the listing takes them.
  • No gap between levelsfor each household size, the two levels overlap.
  • Asset limitthe rent table lists $67,840 at 40% AMI and $101,760 at 60% AMI.

What it means: each household size has one unbroken income range.

Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the listing's incomes; asset limits from the listing's rent table.

The listing today and earlier income figures
  • YIMBY, January 2026incomes "from $28,595 to $105,000". For the 60% AMI two-bedrooms it printed "$54,755 to $105,000". The listing now shows $54,652 to $109,920.
  • Marketing agent's page"Required Income $28,903-$100,060", with the same rents of "$723 - 1427".
  • Rents and countsthe same in all three.

What it means: no page opened says why the income figures differ. Use the listing's figures, and ask the hotline at 212-863-7990.

Source: New York YIMBY; Reside New York's property page, read October 20, 2026; Housing Connect listing.

A bedroom with gray wood-look floors, a made bed with a beige headboard, a nightstand and lamp, and a dark wall unit under a wide window with older apartment buildings outside
A photograph of a bedroom at 29 Featherbed Lane from the Housing Connect listing, shown with furniture. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 5427 (maker not named), lottery listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, 29 Featherbed Lane Apartments (lottery 5427) (one listing photograph at its original size (not enlarged)).

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

All six rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for the same apartment size. The closest is $1,483 under.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lowest and highest monthly rent at 29 Featherbed Lane against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for that size, in dollars
Lowest rent (40% AMI)Highest rent (60% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rent (40% AMI)Highest rent (60% AMI)CityFHEPS maximum
Studio$723$1,121$2,604
1 bedroom$770$1,196$2,734
2 bedrooms$915$1,427$2,997

What it means: the 60% AMI rents are $1,483, $1,538 and $1,570 under the maximum, from studio to two-bedroom.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, which gives them "if all utilities are included in the lease".

Tenant-paid electricity and the utility allowance
  • The listing"Tenants are responsible for electricity and electric stove. Rent includes heating and hot water."
  • The DSS-8r row that matches"Electric with Cooking Range" is $111 for a studio, $126 for a one-bedroom and $167 for a two-bedroom.
  • After that allowancethe maximums become $2,493, $2,608 and $2,830, by VoucherMatch's subtraction. Every rent is still under them.
  • Credit checkthe FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."

What it means: the CityFHEPS amount follows family size, so ask DSS which amount applies to your household.

Source: Housing Connect listing; DSS-8r, 2026 utility allowances; Housing Connect FAQ.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 10452

Every lottery rent is below HUD's estimate for the same size in ZIP code 10452, by $1,159 to $1,705 a month.

Lowest and highest monthly rent at 29 Featherbed Lane against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10452, in dollars
Lowest rent (40% AMI)Highest rent (60% AMI)HUD figure, ZIP 10452
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rent (40% AMI)Highest rent (60% AMI)HUD figure, ZIP 10452
Studio$723$1,121$2,280
1 bedroom$770$1,196$2,390
2 bedrooms$915$1,427$2,620

What it means: the $1,121 studio is $1,159 under HUD's $2,280. The $915 two-bedroom is $1,705 under HUD's $2,620.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.

  • Utilities: these rents leave out electricity, so the real gaps are a little smaller than the chart shows.
  • Apartments in this ZIP code: see voucher apartments in ZIP 10452.

How 29 Featherbed Lane Was Financed

Property records show bank mortgages from Northeast Community Bank in 2020 and 2025, later assigned to Wells Fargo Bank. No mortgage in the index names HPD, the Housing Development Corporation or the City as lender.

Recorded documents on Bronx block 2865, lot 122, since 2016
DateDocumentPartiesAmount
March 21, 2016Deed2129 Featherbed Lane, LLC to Featherbed Development LLC$601,000
August 18, 2020Two mortgagesFeatherbed Development LLC to Northeast Community Bank$14,750,000 and $1,080,000
August 18, 2020Two agreementsthe owner and the bank, each with HPDnone listed
March 5, 2025MortgageFeatherbed Development LLC to Northeast Community Bank$4,500,000
December 15, 2025AgreementFeatherbed Development LLC with HPDnone listed
December 22, 2025Mortgage assignmentsNortheast Community Bank to Wells Fargo Banknone listed
January 1, 2026AgreementFeatherbed Development LLC with Wells Fargo Bank$38,000,000
January 6, 2026MortgageFeatherbed Development LLC to Wells Fargo Bank$17,679,394.65

What it means: the index does not say what the agreements with HPD cover.

Source: ACRIS, Bronx block 2865, lot 122.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at 29 Featherbed Lane

The lottery set aside 5% and 2% of apartments for applicants with disabilities. It gave preference for 20% and 10% to two other groups.

Set-asides and preferences in the listing
  • 5%set aside for applicants with a mobility disability.
  • 2%set aside for applicants with a vision or hearing disability.
  • 20%preference for residents of "Bronx CB 05", Bronx Community Board 5.
  • 10%preference for the group the listing calls "Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran".

What it means: the FAQ says the community preference is "For developments financed by the City", and it gives municipal employees "five percent (5%)". No page opened explains how those rules applied here. Ask HPD's hotline.

Source: Housing Connect listing; Housing Connect FAQ.

What the building has: listed, extra cost, not stated
  • Listed on Housing Connectan elevator, an accessible entrance, air-conditioning, an intercom, security cameras, a gym, an outdoor terrace, green space, cable or satellite TV, and online rent payment. The building is listed as smoke-free.
  • In the advertisement's words"High-end kitchen appliances" and "High-end countertops and finishes".
  • Extra cost"bike storage lockers ($25 monthly), covered parking ($250 monthly) and a shared laundry room ($3 washer, $3 dryer)".
  • Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
  • Not statedpets, apartment sizes and the number of bathrooms.

What it means: parking and laundry cost extra on top of the rent.

Source: Housing Connect listing.

A bathroom with white marble-look wall tile and a dark wood-look floor, a bathtub with a shower rod, a pedestal sink, a mirror and a toilet
A photograph of a bathroom at 29 Featherbed Lane from the Housing Connect listing. The listing does not say how many bathrooms the apartments have. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 5427 (maker not named), lottery listing photograph, via NYC Housing Connect, 29 Featherbed Lane Apartments (lottery 5427) (one listing photograph at its original size (not enlarged)).
Watch outon October 20, 2026, VoucherMatch left out one listing image. It is labelled "rendering" and shows a much taller building on a wide street. City permits list 12 stories, and the listing's own street photo shows a shorter building.

What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 40 apartments were due March 16, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".

How the 40 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4TimingHPD's guide says "It may take 2 to 12 months for applications to be processed."

What it means: the same guide says "you may not be contacted, even if you could have qualified." The lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased.

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"

What it means: HPD's guide says "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents".

Source: Housing Connect FAQ.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 20, 2026
  • Housing Connectlottery 5427 was not among the 20 rentals in the site's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found there or in the City's lottery data. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HPD's re-rentals page lists Reside New York among property managers to contact "to find out about vacancies".
  • Marketing agentthe listing's paper address read "29 FEATHERBED LANE C/O Reside Affordable 349 Keap Street", Brooklyn, NY 11211. Reside New York's property page still labels it "Upcoming Project".
  • PostmarkYIMBY wrote that applications had to be "postmarked or submitted online" by the deadline. The listing gives no postmark rule.

What it means: as of October 20, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search and borough count (4 Bronx rentals); the City's lottery data; HPD's re-rentals page; the listing; Reside New York.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 29 Featherbed Lane

The rents, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.

Known and not yet known on October 20, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedhow many lottery apartments have been offered or leased, and whether the building keeps a waiting list.
  • Not explainedwhy HPD's data counts 14 and 26 apartments by income level when the listing has 16 and 24, and why news reports printed other income figures.
  • Not confirmedwhether the 421-a exemption was granted, and which program option applies.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays".

What it means: check each line again before acting on it.

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; city records named above.

If You Need an Apartment Now

No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look at other buildings.

  • Open in the Bronx now: Housing Connect's search listed 1677 Eastburn Avenue, due October 29, 2026, and One River Park, 355 Exterior Street, due November 6, 2026.
Bronx apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 29 Featherbed Lane first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was 29 Featherbed Lane on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. 29 Featherbed Lane was lottery 5427 on NYC Housing Connect, named "29 Featherbed Lane Apartments". It offered 40 apartments from $723 to $1,427 a month. Applications were due March 16, 2026. As of October 20, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection", and no waiting list was posted.

What is the rent at 29 Featherbed Lane?

Studios rent for $723 or $1,121 a month. One-bedrooms rent for $770 or $1,196, and two-bedrooms for $915 or $1,427. The lower rent in each size is at 40% AMI. Tenants pay for electricity, and heat and hot water are included. Parking and laundry cost extra.

How much do you have to earn for 29 Featherbed Lane?

From $28,595 a year for a $723 studio. The top limit runs from $47,520 for one person at 40% AMI to $109,920 for five people at 60% AMI. Each apartment type has its own minimum. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the FAQ says the minimum does not apply.

Does 29 Featherbed Lane take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts both, and every rent here fits under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum. The closest is the $1,121 studio, $1,483 under the $2,604 maximum. The FAQ says applicants with a subsidy skip the credit check. Ask DSS or the housing authority which amount fits your household.

Is 29 Featherbed Lane in University Heights or Morris Heights?

Both names are used. The listing says University Heights. YIMBY says Morris Heights. The Department of Buildings files the lot under "University Heights (South)-Morris Heights". The building is in ZIP code 10452 and Bronx Community District 5, about 0.12 miles from the Mt Eden Av station.

Is 29 Featherbed Lane part of Starhill at 51 Featherbed Lane?

No. Starhill Phase II at 51 Featherbed Lane is a different building on a different lot, with a different owner. It had its own lottery, number 7600, due September 8, 2026. 29 Featherbed Lane is owned by Featherbed Development LLC, and its lottery was number 5427.

Are the rents at 29 Featherbed Lane below market?

Yes, by HUD's figure. HUD's fiscal year 2027 figures for ZIP code 10452 are $2,280 for a studio, $2,390 for a one-bedroom and $2,620 for a two-bedroom. Every lottery rent is at least $1,159 below them. HUD's figures include utilities, and these rents leave out electricity.

Sources for this article (20)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 5427 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  4. job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  5. DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  6. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  7. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  8. lottery (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  9. building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. Inclusionary Housing Program (nyc.gov)
  12. 421-a (nyc.gov)
  13. re-rentals (nyc.gov)
  14. applying guide (nyc.gov)
  15. property page (residenewyork.com)
  16. November 2018 (newyorkyimby.com)
  17. January 2026 (newyorkyimby.com)
  18. station data (data.ny.gov)
  19. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  20. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.