Skip to page content

52 4th Avenue, Boerum Hill: 19 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $869 a Month

24 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answer52 4th Avenue is a new 12-story building with 79 apartments in Boerum Hill, Brooklyn. NYC Housing Connect advertised 19 of them at 40%, 60% and 130% AMI. Rents run from $869 for a one-bedroom to $3,674 for a one-bedroom. Applications were due January 5, 2026. As of October 21, 2026, 15 of the 19 rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum. The City's lottery data lists the lottery in "Tenant Selection".

Last checked: October 21, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7325, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, read at the start and the end; the Housing Connect FAQ; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings job filings for new building job 340797141, DOB NOW filings and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data (project 72421); the City's lottery data and lottery building data; PLUTO; ACRIS for Brooklyn block 198, lot 34; City Planning's address search; HPD's 421-a page, Inclusionary Housing page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; New York YIMBY reports of December 24, 2020, February 1, 2022 and December 25, 2025; and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

52 4th Avenue in numbers
  • 19apartments in the Housing Connect lottery
  • 79apartments in the building, on the permit and certificate of occupancy
  • $869the lowest rent, for five one-bedrooms
  • $3,674the highest rent, for one one-bedroom
  • January 5, 2026the application deadline
  • May 29, 2026the first certificate of occupancy

What it means: the lottery covers about one in four of the building's apartments, at three income levels.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7325, read October 21, 2026; Department of Buildings job 340797141 and its certificate of occupancy records.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
A wide avenue at dusk looking north toward a tall stone clock tower with a gold dome, with a dark glass skyscraper and a brick apartment building on the left, low shops and parked cars along the street, trees on the right, and one person crossing the road far ahead
Fourth Avenue in Brooklyn looking north to the Williamsburgh Savings Bank Tower, June 2024. Not 52 4th Avenue. Photo: CityLimitsJunction, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons, cropped. Photo: CityLimitsJunction, CC0 1.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 (rows 373 to 2387) and reduced 0.45 times).

What Was Built at 52 4th Avenue

52 4th Avenue is a 12-story building with 79 apartments, on the permit and the certificate of occupancy. The same lot also goes by 58 4th Avenue in Department of Buildings records.

  • Names and addresses: Housing Connect calls the lottery "52 4th Avenue Apartments". PLUTO, HPD's data and City Planning's address search use 52 4th Avenue. The permit and the certificates of occupancy use 58 4th Avenue. YIMBY writes 52 Fourth Avenue.
  • Permit: new building job 340797141 lists 12 stories, 125 feet, 79 dwelling units and 76,232 square feet of construction. The zoning field reads C4-4D.
  • What stood there before: on December 9, 2020, applications were filed to demolish seven two- and three-story buildings at 52, 54, 56, 58 and 60 4th Avenue and 360 and 362 Dean Street.
  • Certificate of occupancy: the first one, dated May 29, 2026, covers 79 dwelling units. It was renewed on August 4, 2026.
  • Owner: the permit names RJ 4th Ave LLC. ACRIS shows a July 29, 2025 deed from RJ 4th Ave LLC to 52 4th Ave Holdings LLC, which PLUTO now lists as owner.
  • Architect and developer: YIMBY's reports say the building was "Designed by Gertler & Wente Architects and developed by Metropolitan Realty Exemptions under the RJ 4th Avenue LLC".
Watch outthe records do not agree on size. YIMBY described "a nine-story mixed-use building" with "53 residences" in 2020, and "a nine-story residential building" with "52 residences" in 2025. The permit and the certificate of occupancy say 12 stories and 79 units, and the listing says "12-story". Several DOB NOW filings tied to the same job list 53 units. PLUTO still shows 9 floors and no homes.
52 4th Avenue, from the first filings to the lottery
  • December 9, 2020demolition applications are filed for the seven old buildings.
  • December 16, 2020the new building application is filed.
  • July 20, 2021deeds move the lots to RJ 4th Ave LLC.
  • November 17, 2021the new building job is fully permitted.
  • February 1, 2022YIMBY reports "the land cleared" and excavation "set to begin".
  • December 7, 2023HPD's project start date.
  • July 29, 2025the lot is deeded to 52 4th Ave Holdings LLC.
  • December 15, 2025the Housing Connect lottery opens.
  • January 5, 2026applications are due.
  • May 29, 2026the first certificate of occupancy is issued.

What it means: the lottery took applications about five months before the first certificate of occupancy.

Source: Department of Buildings job 340797141, demolition jobs and certificate of occupancy records; ACRIS, Brooklyn block 198; HPD project 72421; the City's lottery data; New York YIMBY, February 1, 2022.

The Programs the Listing Names

The listing says the building "is being constructed through the Mandatory Inclusionary Program and 421a(16) Tax Exemption Program" of HPD.

The two programs in HPD's words
  • Mandatory Inclusionary HousingHPD says it "requires a share of new housing in medium- and high-density areas that are rezoned to promote new housing production" to "be permanently affordable".
  • 421-a(16)HPD's page says a 2017 law "renamed tax exemptions issued pursuant to Real Property Tax Law Section 421-a as the Affordable New York Housing Program".
  • How long 421-a(16) rules last"Projects that do not receive the enhanced 35 year benefit would have to comply with the affordability requirements and other requirements for 35 years." Projects with that benefit "would have a 40 year compliance period."
  • Rental optionsthe 421-a(16) section lists rental Options A, B and C, and Options E, F and G for an "extended restriction period (40 years from completion)".

What it means: the listing names no 421-a(16) option, and no document opened says which one applies.

Source: Housing Connect listing; HPD's Inclusionary Housing page and the "421-a (16) Affordable Housing New York Program" section of HPD's 421-a page, read October 21, 2026.

Where 52 4th Avenue Is

52 4th Avenue is in Boerum Hill, Brooklyn, in ZIP code 11217. It is in Brooklyn Community District 2 and City Council District 33.

The location in the records
  • Boerum Hillthe listing ("the heart of Boerum Hill"), City Planning's address search and YIMBY.
  • Downtown Brooklyn-DUMBO-Boerum Hillthe area name in Department of Buildings and certificate of occupancy records.
  • The lotBrooklyn block 198, lot 34. PLUTO lists it as a corner lot. YIMBY says it sits "at the corner of Dean Street and Fourth Avenue".
  • ZIP code 11217in the listing, the certificate of occupancy, HPD and PLUTO records.

What it means: VoucherMatch files the building under Boerum Hill.

Source: the records named.

A two-story red brick library with pale stone trim, carved urns and tall barred arched windows, a rounded rear wing, a bare street tree and a no-standing sign on the sidewalk, a gray parked car and a bicycle locked to a pole in front
The Brooklyn Public Library's Pacific branch at 4th Avenue and Pacific Street, March 2019. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons, cropped. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 and reduced (0.29 times the original)).
StationDaytime linesDistanceAccessible
Atlantic Av-Barclays CtrD, N, Rabout 0.05 milesYes
Atlantic Av-Barclays Ctr2, 3, 4, 5about 0.13 milesYes
Atlantic Av-Barclays CtrB, Qabout 0.16 milesYes
Bergen St2, 3about 0.28 milesNo
Fulton StGabout 0.35 milesNo
Lafayette AvCabout 0.36 milesNo
Nevins St2, 3, 4, 5about 0.36 milesNo

What it means: the D, N and R platform is under a tenth of a mile away. The listing lists Union St as "D,N,R"; the MTA's data lists only the R there by day.

Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer. "Accessible" is the MTA's own field.

  • Other stops in the listing: a bus stop at Atlantic Ave and 4 Av, about 0.1 miles away, and Atlantic Terminal, about 0.16 miles. The listing names no bus route.
  • Along the lines: see apartments near the D train and the 2 train.
A subway platform with a green riveted column marked Atlantic Avenue, a yellow tactile strip along the edge, a D train arriving with its headlights on, a countdown sign above, and a few riders waiting, seen from behind
A D train arriving on the northbound 4th Avenue line platform at Atlantic Av-Barclays Ctr, December 2024. Photo: IliketrainsR211T, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons, cropped. Photo: IliketrainsR211T, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 and reduced (0.29 times the original)).

19 Apartments in the Lottery, at Three Income Levels

The 19 lottery apartments are 17 one-bedrooms and two two-bedrooms. Seven are at 40% AMI, eight at 60% AMI and four at 130% AMI.

Apartments in the Housing Connect lottery for 52 4th Avenue, by income level, October 2026
View the data table
Income levelApartments
40% AMI7
60% AMI8
130% AMI4

What it means: 15 of the 19 apartments are at the two lower income levels.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7325, counted by VoucherMatch from its 19 unit rows, read October 21, 2026. The City's lottery data gives the same counts.

Watch outHPD's production data for project 72421 counts 20 apartments: 8 very low income, 8 low income and 4 middle income, with 17 one-bedrooms and 3 two-bedrooms. The listing and the lottery data count 19, with 7 at 40% AMI and 2 two-bedrooms. No page opened says why. Ask the hotline, 212-863-7990.

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 52 4th Avenue

The 19 apartments rent for $869 to $3,674 a month. The lowest minimum income is $39,395 a year, and the highest maximum is $198,510.

Rents and incomes by apartment type, lottery 7325
ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
5 one-bedrooms, 40% AMI$8691 to 3$39,395 to $61,080
2 two-bedrooms, 40% AMI$9762 to 5$48,343 to $73,280
8 one-bedrooms, 60% AMI$1,3991 to 3$57,566 to $91,620
3 one-bedrooms, 130% AMI$3,2531 to 3$121,132 to $198,510
1 one-bedroom, 130% AMI$3,6741 to 3$135,566 to $198,510

What it means: the four 130% AMI one-bedrooms carry two different rents. The listing does not say why.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7325, read October 21, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Household sizeIncome ranges in the listingApartments open to it
1 person$39,395 to $47,520; $57,566 to $71,280; $121,132 to $154,440One-bedrooms
2 people$39,395 to $54,280; $57,566 to $81,420; $121,132 to $176,410All types
3 people$39,395 to $91,620; $121,132 to $198,510All types
4 people$48,343 to $67,840Two-bedrooms
5 people$48,343 to $73,280Two-bedrooms

What it means: income before taxes has to fall inside one of the ranges for the household's size.

Source: the same listing; ranges that touch or overlap are joined by VoucherMatch.

The income gaps: incomes no apartment accepts
  • One personunder $39,395, from $47,521 to $57,565, from $71,281 to $121,131, or over $154,440.
  • Two peopleunder $39,395, from $54,281 to $57,565, from $81,421 to $121,131, or over $176,410.
  • Three peopleunder $39,395, from $91,621 to $121,131, or over $198,510.
  • Four peopleunder $48,343, or over $67,840.
  • Five peopleunder $48,343, or over $73,280.

What it means: a household of one earning $90,000 fits no apartment, unless it has a voucher or rental subsidy.

Source: VoucherMatch's reading of the listing's incomes.

Watch outYIMBY's December 25, 2025 report printed other incomes. It gave "$39,189 to $58,320" for the $869 one-bedrooms and "$57,360 to $87,480" for the $1,399 one-bedrooms, and a top of $189,540. The listing, read on October 21, 2026, shows the figures above. No page opened says why they differ. Ask the hotline, 212-863-7990.
Key pointthe listing's rent table sets asset limits of $67,840 at 40% AMI, $101,760 at 60% AMI and $220,480 at 130% AMI. It marks no apartment as a project-based voucher unit.

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

15 of the 19 rents at 52 4th Avenue are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size. The three $3,253 one-bedrooms are $519 over, and the $3,674 one-bedroom is $940 over.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lottery rent at 52 4th Avenue against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, by apartment type, in dollars a month
Lottery rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment typeLottery rentCityFHEPS maximum
One-bedroom, 40% AMI$869$2,734
Two-bedroom, 40% AMI$976$2,997
One-bedroom, 60% AMI$1,399$2,734
One-bedroom, 130% AMI$3,253$2,734
One-bedroom, 130% AMI$3,674$2,734

What it means: the 40% and 60% AMI apartments are under the maximum by $1,335 to $2,021 a month.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, in effect since April 1, 2026, which apply "if all utilities are included in the lease".

The listing says: "Tenants are responsible for electricity, including stove, heat, and hot water." So VoucherMatch subtracts DSS-8r's "Electric with Cooking Range" and "Total (Electric Heat & Hot Water)" allowances.

Rents against the CityFHEPS maximum less utility allowances
Apartment typeRentMaximum less allowancesDifference
One-bedroom, 40% AMI$869$2,502$1,633 under
Two-bedroom, 40% AMI$976$2,692$1,716 under
One-bedroom, 60% AMI$1,399$2,502$1,103 under
One-bedroom, 130% AMI$3,253$2,502$751 over
One-bedroom, 130% AMI$3,674$2,502$1,172 over

What it means: the same 15 apartments stay under, and the four 130% AMI apartments stay over.

Source: DSS-8r, 2026 payment standards and utility allowances ($126 and $106 for a one-bedroom, $167 and $138 for a two-bedroom); subtraction by VoucherMatch.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11217

All five rents are below HUD's figures for ZIP code 11217. The gap runs from $426 for the $3,674 one-bedroom to $3,484 for the $976 two-bedrooms.

Lottery rent at 52 4th Avenue against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11217, in dollars a month
Lottery rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11217
View the data table
Apartment typeLottery rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11217
One-bedroom, 40% AMI$869$4,100
Two-bedroom, 40% AMI$976$4,460
One-bedroom, 60% AMI$1,399$4,100
One-bedroom, 130% AMI$3,253$4,100
One-bedroom, 130% AMI$3,674$4,100

What it means: the lottery rents leave out electricity for the stove, heat and hot water, which tenants pay. Even so, each one is below HUD's figure.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, which include most utilities.

How 52 4th Avenue Was Financed

Property records show a $42,000,000 mortgage and consolidation agreement dated September 2, 2026. The lender is Counterpointe-MassMutual Mortgage Lending LLC, and the borrower is 52 4th Ave Holdings LLC.

Recorded documents for Brooklyn block 198, lot 34
DateDocumentPartiesAmount
December 14, 2021Two mortgagesRJ 4th Ave LLC to Popular Bank$15,096,921 and $3,403,079
December 7, 2023DeclarationRJ 4th Ave LLCnone listed
July 29, 2025DeedRJ 4th Ave LLC to 52 4th Ave Holdings LLC$10,000,000
July 29, 2025Three mortgages52 4th Ave Holdings LLC to S3 RE 52 4th Ave Funding LLC$8,011,830.74, $14,400,000 and $4,250,000
July 29, 2025AgreementS3 RE 52 4th Ave Funding LLC, the City and HPDnone listed
September 2, 2026Mortgage and consolidation52 4th Ave Holdings LLC to Counterpointe-MassMutual Mortgage Lending LLC$42,000,000

What it means: the December 7, 2023 declaration is dated the same day as HPD's project start. The index does not say what it or the 2025 agreement with HPD contains.

Source: ACRIS, Brooklyn block 198, lot 34, read October 21, 2026.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at 52 4th Avenue

The listing sets aside apartments for people with disabilities and gives preference to two groups. Tenants pay electricity, and the listing's application-fee field is set to no.

Set-asides and preferences in the listing
  • Mobility5% of apartments, a set-aside.
  • Vision/Hearing2% of apartments, a set-aside.
  • Community Board Resident (Brooklyn CB 02)20% of apartments.
  • Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran10% of apartments.
  • The FAQ's community preferenceit is "For developments financed by the City". The FAQ's municipal employee text describes "five percent (5%) of the units in HPD- or HDC-financed developments".

What it means: the listing sets 10% for municipal employees and veterans together. The FAQ text describes 5% for municipal employees. Ask the hotline about that difference.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7325; the City's lottery data, which shows the same four shares; Housing Connect FAQ.

What the building has: listed, extra cost, not stated
  • Building, per the listingbike storage lockers, package lockers, outdoor areas, a recreation room, an outdoor terrace, a rooftop terrace, a "Digital doorman", an elevator, an accessible entrance, a dog washing station, a gymnasium and storage.
  • In the apartments, per the listing"Washers and dryers in units".
  • Rulesthe building is listed as "Smoke-free" and "Pet-friendly".
  • Pets"One pet allowed -40lb. weight limit per pet & some additional restrictions. A one-time, refundable pet deposit of $300 is required."
  • Utilitiestenants pay electricity, "including stove, heat, and hot water".
  • Not statedwhether any amenity costs extra, apartment sizes and bathrooms.

What it means: the only extra cost the listing names is the $300 pet deposit.

Source: Housing Connect listing, advertisement text and amenity list.

Watch outas of October 21, 2026, this guide leaves out all eight of the listing's images. One appears digitally altered. The kitchen rendering shows a gas range, but the listing says tenants pay electricity "including stove". Ask the hotline which is right. The photos here show places near the building, not the building.

What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 19 apartments were due January 5, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".

How the 19 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4TimingHPD's guide says "You may hear about the status of your application within two to twelve months after the deadline." The deadline was January 5, 2026.

What it means: the lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased. The guide adds that "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents".

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Asset limit. $67,840, $101,760 or $220,480, by income level
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
  • Voucher. proof of the subsidy and the rent it covers

What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ; the listing's rent table.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 21, 2026
  • Housing Connectlottery 7325 was not among the 19 rentals in the site's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found there or in the City's lottery data. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect".
  • Paper applicationsthe listing's "Apply by Mail" address was "52 4th Avenue Apartments c/o 5 Star Affordable Inc. 139 Tompkins Avenue", Brooklyn, NY 11206. That is where a paper form was requested.
  • PostmarkYIMBY wrote that applications had to be "postmarked or submitted online no later than January 5, 2026." The listing gives no postmark rule.
  • Leasing sitethe listing's website link points back to Housing Connect. It names no separate leasing page.

What it means: as of October 21, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search and borough count (9 Brooklyn rentals); the City's lottery data; the listing; New York YIMBY.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 52 4th Avenue

The rents, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.

Known and not yet known on October 21, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedhow many lottery apartments have been offered or leased, and whether the building keeps a waiting list.
  • Not explainedwhy HPD's data counts 20 apartments, why YIMBY printed other incomes and a smaller building, and why two 130% AMI rents differ.
  • Not confirmedwhich 421-a(16) option applies, and whether the exemption was granted.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

What it means: check each line again before acting on it.

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; city records named above.

If You Need an Apartment Now

No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.

  • Open nearby now: Housing Connect's search listed Sackett Apartments, also called 224 3rd Avenue, due October 26, 2026. It also listed 899 Fulton Street, also called 486 Clinton Avenue, due November 10, 2026.
Brooklyn apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 52 4th Avenue first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings

A row of four-story red and pink brick rowhouses with stoops behind street trees in autumn, a red fire alarm post and a black car at the curb, a one-way sign and pedestrian signal on a pole, and a person walking away across a crosswalk
Rowhouses in Boerum Hill, Brooklyn, October 2015. The street is not named in the photo's record. Photo: Qz2247, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons, cropped. Photo: Qz2247, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 (removes a pedestrian at the left edge) and reduced (0.47 times the original)).

Frequently Asked Questions

Was 52 4th Avenue on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. 52 4th Avenue Apartments was lottery 7325 on NYC Housing Connect. It offered 19 apartments at 40%, 60% and 130% AMI, from $869 to $3,674 a month. Applications were due January 5, 2026. As of October 21, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection", and no waiting list was posted.

What is the rent at 52 4th Avenue?

Five one-bedrooms at 40% AMI rent for $869 a month, and two two-bedrooms for $976. Eight one-bedrooms at 60% AMI rent for $1,399. At 130% AMI, three one-bedrooms rent for $3,253 and one for $3,674. Tenants pay electricity, including the stove, heat and hot water.

How much do you have to earn for 52 4th Avenue?

At least $39,395 a year for an $869 one-bedroom, $48,343 for a $976 two-bedroom and $57,566 for a $1,399 one-bedroom. The most is $198,510, for three people at 130% AMI. A household of four needs $48,343 to $67,840. With a voucher, the FAQ says the minimum does not apply.

Does 52 4th Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts both, but the rent must fit the voucher. The 15 apartments at 40% and 60% AMI are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums, even after the electric allowances. The four 130% AMI one-bedrooms, at $3,253 and $3,674, are over. Ask DSS or the housing authority before applying anywhere.

Is 58 4th Avenue the same as 52 4th Avenue?

Yes, by city records. Both addresses point to Brooklyn block 198, lot 34. The permit and the certificates of occupancy use 58 4th Avenue. PLUTO, HPD's data and Housing Connect use 52 4th Avenue. YIMBY calls it 52 Fourth Avenue. The site once held seven small buildings, at 52 to 60 4th Avenue and 360 and 362 Dean Street.

Is 52 4th Avenue in Boerum Hill or Park Slope?

It is in Boerum Hill. The listing says "the heart of Boerum Hill", and City Planning's address search agrees. It sits in Brooklyn Community District 2 and ZIP code 11217. The nearest subway stop is the D, N and R platform at Atlantic Av-Barclays Ctr, about 0.05 miles away in a straight line.

Are the rents at 52 4th Avenue below market?

Yes, by HUD's figures. Each rent is below HUD's fiscal year 2027 figure for ZIP code 11217, by $426 to $3,484 a month. HUD's figures include most utilities. At this building, tenants also pay electricity for the stove, heat and hot water, so the full cost is higher than the rent.

Sources for this article (21)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7325 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  4. job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  5. DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  6. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  7. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  8. lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  9. lottery building data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. ACRIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. address search (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
  13. 421-a page (nyc.gov)
  14. Inclusionary Housing page (nyc.gov)
  15. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  16. December 24, 2020 (newyorkyimby.com)
  17. February 1, 2022 (newyorkyimby.com)
  18. December 25, 2025 (newyorkyimby.com)
  19. station data (data.ny.gov)
  20. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  21. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.