4225 Napier Avenue in Woodlawn: 2 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,225 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 20, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7715, "4225 Napier Avenue Apartments," in Woodlawn, the Bronx. It has two apartments at 80% AMI: one one-bedroom at $2,225 a month and one three-bedroom at $2,942. Applications are not open yet. The listing has no deadline. The building permit is for a new four-story building with 10 apartments. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply, and both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum.
Last checked: October 20, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7715, read twice that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings filings (jobs X01233626 and X01048544) and certificates of occupancy; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Bronx block 3363, lot 46; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; and the MTA's subway and rail station data. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 2apartments on Housing Connect, both at 80% AMI
- 10apartments in the building permit
- $2,225the one-bedroom's rent
- $2,942the three-bedroom's rent
- 4stories in the building permit
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 20, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Being Built at 4225 Napier Avenue
4225 Napier Avenue is a new four-story building with 10 apartments in the Department of Buildings' records. Two of them are on Housing Connect.
- Permit: job X01233626 was filed May 30, 2025. It reads "New 4 Story Residential Building."
- Size: 4 stories, 41 feet, 10 dwelling units and 7,930 square feet of floor area, in the filing.
- Owner: the filing names an individual owner. A December 2025 deed and PLUTO name Vacaj LLC.
- Plans: the filing's applicant is a registered architect. Its firm field reads "NODE ARCH, ENGIN, CONSULT, PC."
- Status: the first permit for the building was issued October 23, 2025. No certificate of occupancy was in the City's data on October 20, 2026.
- Program: the listing says only "2 affordable units." It names no tax exemption or zoning program, and no record opened names one.
| Question | One record | Another record |
|---|---|---|
| Address | Listing and permits: 4225 Napier Avenue | PLUTO and ACRIS: 40 East 235 Street |
| Owner | Permit: an individual | Deed and PLUTO: Vacaj LLC |
| Finished? | PLUTO: built in 2025 | No certificate of occupancy on record |
What it means: the two addresses are one lot. The permit, PLUTO and ACRIS all use block 3363, lot 46.
Source: Department of Buildings job X01233626; PLUTO (version 26v2); ACRIS, Bronx block 3363, lot 46; certificates of occupancy data.
- April 18, 2024the lot is sold for $600,000, by a deed recorded April 23.
- May 28, 2024demolition is filed for a "single family house and accessory 2 car garage."
- May 30, 2025the new four-story building is filed.
- July 28, 2025the plans are approved.
- October 23, 2025the first building permit is issued.
- December 5, 2025the lot is deeded to Vacaj LLC, which signs two mortgages with Northeast Community Bank.
- October 20, 2026Housing Connect lists two apartments with rents and no deadline.
What it means: the building replaces a one-family house and its garage.
Source: Department of Buildings jobs X01233626 and X01048544; ACRIS.
Watch outthe listing's first image, labelled "Rendering," is left out of this report. It shows three floors. The permit is for four stories and 41 feet. Ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, which is right. (October 20, 2026.)

Where 4225 Napier Avenue Is
The building is on Napier Avenue in Woodlawn, the Bronx, in ZIP code 10470. City Planning's GeoSearch places the lot's other address, 40 East 235 Street, in Woodlawn.
- City Planning's GeoSearchWoodlawn, for 40 East 235 Street and for nearby addresses on Napier Avenue.
- Department of Buildings"Wakefield-Woodlawn," its neighborhood tag on the filings.
- VoucherMatch's ZIP data10470 covers Wakefield and Woodlawn.
- The listingit names no neighborhood. Its nearby places include Woodlawn station and Van Cortlandt Park.
| Record | 4225 Napier Avenue |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Bronx block 3363, lot 46 |
| Lot size | 4,850 square feet, 50 by 97 feet |
| Zoning | R5 |
| Community board | Bronx 12 |
| City Council district | 11 |
| ZIP code | 10470 |
What it means: there is no Woodlawn page on VoucherMatch yet, so see voucher apartments in ZIP code 10470 and Section 8 apartments in nearby Wakefield.
Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the permit, PLUTO and GeoSearch.
Rents and Income Ranges for 4225 Napier Avenue on Housing Connect
The listing has two rents: $2,225 for the one-bedroom and $2,942 for the three-bedroom. The lowest income it accepts without a voucher is $84,926 a year.
| Apartment | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 one-bedroom, 80% AMI | $2,225 | 1 to 3 | $84,926 to $122,160 |
| 1 three-bedroom, 80% AMI | $2,942 | 3 to 7 | $117,875 to $168,320 |
What it means: there is one apartment of each size, so each size has one winner.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7715, read October 20, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
| Household size | Maximum yearly income |
|---|---|
| 1 person | $95,040 |
| 2 people | $108,560 |
| 3 people | $122,160 |
| 4 people | $135,680 |
| 5 people | $146,560 |
| 6 people | $157,440 |
| 7 people | $168,320 |
What it means: income before taxes must be at or under the figure for the household's size.
Source: the same listing.
View the data table
| Household size | Apartments open by income |
|---|---|
| 1 person | 1 |
| 2 people | 1 |
| 3 people | 2 |
| 4 people | 1 |
| 5 people | 1 |
| 6 people | 1 |
| 7 people | 1 |
What it means: only a three-person household can apply for both, and only with $117,875 to $122,160 for the three-bedroom.
Source: the listing's household sizes and income ranges, without a voucher; counts by VoucherMatch.
- Under $84,926below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
- One persononly $84,926 to $95,040 fits.
- Four to seven people under $117,875nothing fits without a voucher.
- Over the maximum for your sizenothing fits. The cut-off is $168,320 for seven people.
The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set.
Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 4225 Napier Avenue?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. Both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size: the one-bedroom by $509 and the three-bedroom by $811.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,225 | $2,225 | $2,734 |
| 3 bedrooms | $2,942 | $2,942 | $3,753 |
What it means: the one-bedroom is $509 under the maximum and the three-bedroom $811 under, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. This listing has no advertisement yet, so it does not say which utilities are included. A voucher program subtracts a utility allowance when tenants pay. This report subtracts none, because the listing names no utility.
- Accepted"Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA), CityFHEPS, ISS, Medicaid Waiver, and VASH."
- If reachedthe marketing agent "will contact you for proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers."
- Credit check"Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8: see the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 10470
Both rents are below HUD's estimates for ZIP code 10470. The one-bedroom is $165 below and the three-bedroom $348 below.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10470 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,225 | $2,225 | $2,390 |
| 3 bedrooms | $2,942 | $2,942 | $3,290 |
What it means: the one-bedroom is 93.1% of HUD's figure and the three-bedroom 89.4%, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, utilities included.
- Utilities: HUD's figure includes them. If tenants pay for electricity or gas, each apartment costs more than its rent.
- Nearby: see CityFHEPS apartments in Wakefield and three-bedroom voucher apartments in Wakefield.
How 4225 Napier Avenue Is Financed
Property records show two mortgages from Northeast Community Bank, signed December 5, 2025. No record names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| April 18, 2024 | Deed | to an individual | $600,000 |
| February 25, 2025 | Zoning lot document | an individual | none stated |
| December 5, 2025 | Deed | to Vacaj LLC | none stated |
| December 5, 2025 | Two mortgages | Vacaj LLC and Northeast Community Bank | $300,000 and $1,500,000 |
| December 5, 2025 | Assignment of leases and rents | Vacaj LLC and Northeast Community Bank | $1,800,000 |
What it means: the two mortgages add up to the $1,800,000 in the assignment, by VoucherMatch's addition.
Source: ACRIS, Bronx block 3363, lot 46. The December documents were recorded December 10, 2025.
HPD's production data had no record for the lot on October 20, 2026. No announcement of the financing was found.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 4225 Napier Avenue
The listing posts no preferences or set-asides yet, and it names 14 amenities.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 20, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
- Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Where the final list appearsproject preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
- In the apartments"High-end kitchen appliances," "High-end countertops and finishes," "Energy-efficient appliances," "Air-conditioning," "Smart controls for heating/cooling" and "Patio or balcony."
- In the building"Security cameras," "Package lockers," "Intercommunication device," "Accessible entrance" and "Smoke-free."
- Also listed"Cable or satellite TV," "Bus stop/Public transportation access" and "Jogging/walking/bike path or access to one nearby."
- Not statedwhether any of these costs extra, the pet policy, and who pays for heat, hot water and electricity.

| Station | Lines | Distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| Woodlawn (Metro-North) | Harlem Line | 0.66 miles | No |
| Woodlawn | 4 | 0.75 miles | No |
| 233 St | 2, 5 | 0.95 miles | Yes |
| 225 St | 2, 5 | 0.97 miles | No |
| Wakefield (Metro-North) | Harlem Line | 1.24 miles | No |
What it means: the walk is longer. The listing names Woodlawn (Metro-North) and 233 St, but not the 4 train's Woodlawn station.
Source: the MTA's subway and rail station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.8964966, -73.8750614). "Accessible" is the MTA's own flag.
- Buses: the listing names stops at "Webster Av/Bronx River Pkwy" and "Woodlawn Ave @ Scott Ave."
- Close by, per the listing: Woodlawn Playground, about 0.29 miles away; P.S. 019 Judith K. Weiss, about 0.44 miles; and Van Cortlandt Park, about 0.58 miles, by VoucherMatch's measure.
- Along the lines: see apartments near the 2 train and the 4 train.

How to Be Ready When the 4225 Napier Avenue Lottery Opens
Applications are not open yet. A household can finish its profile and gather papers now.
On two reads on October 20, 2026, the listing had no deadline and no advertisement. It was not among the 20 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search. The Bronx lotteries in that search were other buildings.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Housing Connect gives log numbers only to profiles that are complete.
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7715.
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above, and again with the advertisement.
- 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- 5Paper routeHousing Connect's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" 4225 Napier Avenue Apartments, C/O Reside New York, 349 Keap Street, Brooklyn, NY 11211, for this listing.
What it means: that address is where to ask for a paper form. The listing gives no return address or postmark rule yet, and it does not name a marketing agent.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing" (June 2020).
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives to hear "about the status of your application."
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- Before a leasea credit check or rental history, except for applicants "qualifying with rental subsidy."
- Later openingsHPD's guide says apartments that open at turnover, "called re-rental units," are posted on Housing Connect.
What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680 for both apartments in the listing's rent table. The FAQ sets the rental limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Lottery
The rents, incomes and asset limit are posted. The deadline, the advertisement and the utilities are not.
- Knowntwo rents with income ranges, an asset limit, 14 amenities, two floor-plan images and a mail address for paper forms.
- Not posteda deadline, the advertisement, preferences and set-asides, and a marketing agent's name.
- Not statedwho pays for utilities, pets, fees, a building website, the program behind the two apartments and a move-in date.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays."

If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 4225 Napier Avenue, and no certificate of occupancy is on record.
- Open in the Bronx now: on October 20, 2026, the open-lottery search listed 354 East 194th Street, due October 23, 2026; 1677 Eastburn Avenue, October 29; 3180 Villa Avenue, October 30; and One River Park, 355 Exterior Street, November 6.
3 bedrooms, $3,633 a monthWakefield, BronxAccepts HASA · CityFHEPS · NYCHA
3 bedrooms, $3,753 a monthWakefield, BronxAccepts CityFHEPS · NYCHA · FHEPS
2 bedrooms, $2,997 a monthWakefield, BronxAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · EHV · CityFHEPS
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in the Bronx and CityFHEPS apartments in the Bronx.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 4225 Napier Avenue on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7715, "4225 Napier Avenue Apartments." On October 20, 2026, the listing showed two rents but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.
What is the rent at 4225 Napier Avenue?
The rent is $2,225 a month for the one-bedroom and $2,942 for the three-bedroom. Both apartments are at 80% AMI. These are the listing's rents as read on October 20, 2026. The listing does not yet say which utilities the rents include, so the full monthly cost may be higher.
How much do you have to earn for 4225 Napier Avenue?
Without a voucher, from $84,926 a year for the one-bedroom and $117,875 for the three-bedroom. The most is $168,320, for seven people in the three-bedroom. One person must earn $84,926 to $95,040. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum does not apply.
Does 4225 Napier Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. The $2,225 one-bedroom is $509 under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum. The $2,942 three-bedroom is $811 under the three-bedroom amount. The FAQ says the rent should be within your program's limits.
Is 4225 Napier Avenue the same as 40 East 235 Street?
They are one lot. Housing Connect and the building permits use 4225 Napier Avenue. PLUTO and property records list Bronx block 3363, lot 46, as 40 East 235 Street. That lot once held a one-family house and garage. City Planning's GeoSearch places the address in Woodlawn, ZIP code 10470.
Who can apply for the three-bedroom at 4225 Napier Avenue?
Households of three to seven people. Without a voucher, the household must earn at least $117,875 a year. The top limit runs from $122,160 for three people to $168,320 for seven. So a three-person household without a voucher has a narrow range. With a voucher, the minimum does not apply.
Are the rents at 4225 Napier Avenue below market?
Yes, by HUD's figures. The $2,225 one-bedroom is $165 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10470. The $2,942 three-bedroom is $348 below HUD's $3,290 figure. HUD's figures include utilities, and the listing does not yet say which utilities its rents include.
Sources for this article (15)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7715 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- subway (data.ny.gov)
- rail (data.ny.gov)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
292 East 51st Street Apartments
- From $1,574 a month
- Applications due November 16, 2026

Arverne, Queens
3-06 Beach 68th Street Apartments
- From $2,749 a month
- Applications due November 13, 2026

Jamaica, Queens
97-36 Brisbin Street
- From $2,092 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
1131 East 211 Street
- From $1,974 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.