726 Belmont Avenue in East New York: 2 Affordable Two-Bedrooms on Housing Connect, From $2,452 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 20, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7740, "726 Belmont Avenue Apartments," in East New York, Brooklyn. It has 2 two-bedroom apartments at 80% AMI, each for $2,452 a month, for two to five people. Applications are not open yet, and the listing has no deadline. City records show a new 3-story building with 6 apartments at 726 Belmont Avenue. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply, and the rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS two-bedroom maximum.
Last checked: October 20, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7740, read at the start and end of the day's work, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it either time; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r (dated October 14, 2026); Department of Buildings filings (job B01209812), permits, older filings and certificates of occupancy (DOB NOW and older); HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 4034, lot 12; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; and the MTA's subway station data. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 2two-bedroom apartments on Housing Connect, both at 80% AMI
- $2,452the monthly rent for each one
- $99,909the lowest yearly income the listing accepts without a voucher
- 6apartments in the building permit
- 3stories in the building permit
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 20, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Being Built at 726 Belmont Avenue
726 Belmont Avenue is a new 3-story building with 6 apartments in the Department of Buildings' records. Two of them, both two-bedrooms, are on Housing Connect.
- Permit: job B01209812 was filed April 22, 2025. It reads "PROPOSED THREE (3) STORY NEW BUILDING."
- Size: 3 stories, 33 feet and 6 dwelling units, with 5,723 square feet of construction floor area, in the filing.
- Plans: filed by a professional engineer. No record opened names an architect.
- Status: the building permit was renewed February 18, 2026, to run to December 31, 2026. No certificate of occupancy was in either City dataset on October 20, 2026.
Is It 726 or 728 Belmont Avenue?
City records put the new building at 726 Belmont Avenue. The listing uses both numbers: its name says 726, and its building line says "728 BELMONT AVENUE."
| Record | 726 Belmont Avenue | 728 Belmont Avenue |
|---|---|---|
| Housing Connect | Lottery name | Building and unit lines; the map point |
| Lot | Block 4034, lot 12 | Block 4034, lot 13 |
| PLUTO | Vacant lot, 726 Belmont LLC | 2-story house, 2 units, built 1901 |
| Buildings filings | New 3-story building, 6 units | 2018 interior renovation, 2 units |
| GeoSearch | Lot 12 | Lot 13 |
What it means: the new building is on lot 12. The 2018 job at 728 says "NO CHANGES TO USE, EGRESS, OR OCCUPANCY." Ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, which address the lease will carry.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7740; PLUTO 26v2; Department of Buildings jobs B01209812 and 321705589; City Planning GeoSearch.
| Record | Date | Owner named |
|---|---|---|
| Building permit and work permits | 2025 | 340 Bradford LLC |
| Deed | September 23, 2025 | 340 Bradford LLC to 726 Belmont LLC |
| Two plan amendments | June and September 2026 | 114 Arlington LLC |
| PLUTO | 2026 | 726 Belmont LLC |
What it means: the records name three companies. No record opened explains how they are related, so this report does not say.
Source: Department of Buildings job B01209812 (filings I1, S1 to S8, P1 and P2); ACRIS document 2025100800948001; PLUTO.
- March 13, 2025340 Bradford LLC buys the lot for $335,000.
- April 22, 2025the new 3-story building is filed.
- June 16, 2025the plan is approved.
- August 2025permits are issued for the fence, excavation, foundation and structure.
- October 1, 2025the building permit is issued.
- August 26, 2026the plumbing, foundation and structural jobs are signed off.
- September 18, 2026the sprinkler job is signed off, and a plan change is approved.
- October 20, 2026Housing Connect lists 2 two-bedrooms with a rent and no deadline.
What it means: all eight work jobs were signed off by September 18, 2026, but no certificate of occupancy was on file.
Source: Department of Buildings job B01209812 and its permits; ACRIS, Brooklyn block 4034, lot 12.
Which Program Sets These Rents
The listing does not name a program. Its only description is "2 units for 80% AMI."
HPD's production data, updated September 30, 2026, had no record for 726 Belmont Avenue. No record opened names a tax exemption, a City loan or a regulatory agreement for the lot.
Where 726 Belmont Avenue Is
The building is on Belmont Avenue in East New York, Brooklyn, in ZIP code 11208.
- City Planning's GeoSearchEast New York.
- Department of Buildings"East New York (North)," its neighborhood tag on the filings.
- The listingit names no neighborhood.
| Record | 726 Belmont Avenue |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Brooklyn block 4034, lot 12 |
| Lot size | 2,750 square feet, 27.5 by 100 feet |
| Zoning | R5 |
| Community board | Brooklyn 5 |
| City Council district | 42 |
| ZIP code | 11208 |
What it means: see voucher apartments in ZIP code 11208 and Section 8 apartments in East New York.
Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the permit, PLUTO and GeoSearch.

Rents and Income Ranges for 726 Belmont Avenue on Housing Connect
The listing has one rent: $2,452 a month for each of 2 two-bedrooms at 80% AMI. Without a voucher, a household must earn at least $99,909 a year.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $2,452 | 2 to 5 | $99,909 to $146,560 |
What it means: there are no studios, one-bedrooms or larger apartments in this lottery.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7740, read October 20, 2026. The top of the range is for five people.
View the data table
| Household size | Least you can earn | Most you can earn |
|---|---|---|
| 2 people | $99,909 | $108,560 |
| 3 people | $99,909 | $122,160 |
| 4 people | $99,909 | $135,680 |
| 5 people | $99,909 | $146,560 |
What it means: two people have an $8,651 window, by VoucherMatch's subtraction. Three have $22,251, four have $35,771 and five have $46,651.
Source: the same listing.
- Under $99,909below the minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
- One personno apartment. Each two-bedroom takes two to five people.
- Two people over $108,560over the limit.
- Six or more peopleno apartment in this lottery.
The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set.
Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680, in the listing's rent table. The FAQ sets it at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.
Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 726 Belmont Avenue?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. The $2,452 rent is $545 under the 2026 CityFHEPS two-bedroom maximum of $2,997. The listing does not say which utilities the rent includes.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 bedrooms | $2,452 | $2,452 | $2,997 |
What it means: the rent is 81.8% of the two-bedroom maximum, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rent from the Housing Connect listing; maximum from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
- Two peopleDSS-8r's chart pairs a family of 1 or 2 with one bedroom, at $2,734. The $2,452 rent is under that too.
- Three or four peopletwo bedrooms, at $2,997.
- Five peopleDSS-8r pairs 5 or 6 with three bedrooms, at $3,753. Ask HRA which figure applies in a two-bedroom.
- Credit checkthe FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. The listing does not say which utilities are included. A voucher program subtracts a utility allowance when tenants pay. This report subtracts none, because the listing names no utility.
- Section 8: the FAQ names "Section 8 (HPD or NYCHA)" among accepted subsidies. See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rent Compares With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 11208
The $2,452 rent is $338 below HUD's two-bedroom estimate of $2,790 for ZIP code 11208. HUD's figure includes utilities; the listing does not say what the rent includes.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11208 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 bedrooms | $2,452 | $2,452 | $2,790 |
What it means: the rent is 87.9% of HUD's figure, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rent from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.
How 726 Belmont Avenue Is Financed
Property records show a $335,000 land purchase in March 2025 and no mortgage on the lot. No record names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Document | Date signed | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deed | March 13, 2025 | Three Apples, Inc. to 340 Bradford LLC | $335,000 |
| Certificate | April 21, 2025 | 340 Bradford LLC | none listed |
| Zoning lot description | April 21, 2025 | a title insurance company | none listed |
| Deed | September 23, 2025 | 340 Bradford LLC to 726 Belmont LLC | none listed |
What it means: the second deed was recorded November 13, 2025. ACRIS's index does not show what the certificate says.
Source: ACRIS, Brooklyn block 4034, lot 12, read October 20, 2026.
No announcement of the project or its financing was found.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 726 Belmont Avenue
The listing posts no preferences, set-asides or amenities yet.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 20, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
- Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Where the final list appearsproject preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
- In the listingno amenities are listed.
- In the filingsa sprinkler system, a "SPLIT SYSTEM INSTALLATION" and an "8 LINEAR FEET CURB CUT."
- Not statedlaundry, pets, parking, apartment sizes, fees and who pays for heat, hot water and electricity.
| Station | Lines | Distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shepherd Av | C | 0.17 miles | No |
| Van Siclen Av | C | 0.40 miles | No |
| New Lots Av | 3 | 0.42 miles | No |
| Cleveland St | J | 0.54 miles | No |
| Van Siclen Av | 3 | 0.59 miles | No |
| Euclid Av | A, C | 0.60 miles | Yes |
What it means: the walk is longer. The listing shows the A and C at Shepherd Ave; the MTA's data lists only the C there by day.
Source: the MTA's subway station data, daytime lines; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point (40.672292, -73.882788). "Accessible" is the MTA's own field.

- Buses: the listing names stops at Sutter Av and Berriman St, Barbey St and Hendrix St, about 0.17, 0.23 and 0.32 miles away by VoucherMatch's measure. It names no routes.
- Close by, per the listing: P.S. 158, about 0.12 miles away, Liberty Avenue Middle School, 0.34 miles, and Martin Luther King Jr. Playground, 0.51 miles.
- Along the lines: see apartments near the C train and the 3 train.
How to Be Ready When the 726 Belmont Avenue Lottery Opens
Applications are not open yet, but a household can get ready now.
At the start and end of work on October 20, 2026, the listing had no deadline and no advertisement. It was not among the 20 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Housing Connect gives a log number only to profiles that are complete.
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7740.
- 3Check your rowtwo to five people, with income inside the range above or a voucher.
- 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- 5Paper routethe listing has no "Apply by Mail" address yet. Check the listing again once a deadline is posted.
What it means: nothing can be sent yet, online or by mail.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing" (June 2020).
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- Review orderthe developer "reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories)."
- 2 to 12 monthsthe time HPD's guide says it "may take" for applications to be processed.
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- Later openingsHPD's guide says apartments that open at turnover, "called re-rental units," are posted on Housing Connect. The current FAQ says that during "a temporary waiver period" they "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect."
What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Lottery
The rent, incomes and asset limit are posted. The deadline, the advertisement and the utilities are not.
- Not posteda deadline, the advertisement, preferences and set-asides, a paper-form address, photos and a marketing agent's name.
- Not statedwho pays for utilities, pets, apartment sizes, amenities, a building website, the program and a move-in date.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays."
Watch outthe listing has no photos, and no rendering of the building was found. The pictures in this report show nearby stations and the 75th Precinct, not 726 Belmont Avenue, as of October 20, 2026.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 726 Belmont Avenue yet. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in East New York now: the open-lottery search listed 803 Glenmore Avenue Apartments, due October 28, 2026, and 719 & 721 Snediker Avenue, due November 9. It listed nine open rental lotteries in Brooklyn in all.

3 bedrooms, $3,373 a monthEast New York, BrooklynAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · NYCHA
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthEast New York, BrooklynAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · NYCHA
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts FHEPS · CityFHEPS
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Brooklyn and CityFHEPS apartments in Brooklyn.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 726 Belmont Avenue on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7740, "726 Belmont Avenue Apartments." On October 20, 2026, the listing showed a rent but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.
What is the rent at 726 Belmont Avenue?
The rent is $2,452 a month for each of the two two-bedroom apartments, both at 80% AMI. This is the listing's rent as read on October 20, 2026. The lottery has no studios, one-bedrooms or larger apartments. The listing does not say which utilities the rent includes, so the full monthly cost may be higher.
How much do you have to earn for 726 Belmont Avenue?
Without a voucher, at least $99,909 a year. The most is $108,560 for two people, $122,160 for three, $135,680 for four and $146,560 for five. One person, or six or more, does not fit, because each apartment takes two to five people. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the FAQ says the minimum does not apply.
Does 726 Belmont Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. The $2,452 rent is $545 under the 2026 CityFHEPS two-bedroom maximum of $2,997. It is also under the $2,734 one-bedroom figure that DSS-8r pairs with two people. Ask your program how it treats utilities.
Is 726 Belmont Avenue the same as 728 Belmont Avenue?
No, they are two lots, but the listing uses both. Its name says 726 Belmont Avenue, and its building line says 728. City records put the new 3-story building at 726, on block 4034, lot 12. PLUTO lists 728, on lot 13, as a two-family house built in 1901. Ask the hotline which address the lease carries.
Can a single person apply for 726 Belmont Avenue?
No, not by the listing's own figures. Each two-bedroom takes two to five people, so a household of one has no row in the rent table. A household of two needs a combined yearly income of $99,909 to $108,560 without a voucher. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply, but the size rule still does.
Are the rents at 726 Belmont Avenue below market?
Yes, against HUD's figure. HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for a two-bedroom in ZIP code 11208 is $2,790. The $2,452 rent is $338 below it, or 87.9% of it. HUD's figure includes utilities, and the listing does not say which utilities its rent includes.
Sources for this article (17)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7740 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- permits (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- older filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DOB NOW (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- older (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- subway station data (data.ny.gov)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
292 East 51st Street Apartments
- From $1,574 a month
- Applications due November 16, 2026

Arverne, Queens
3-06 Beach 68th Street Apartments
- From $2,749 a month
- Applications due November 13, 2026

Jamaica, Queens
97-36 Brisbin Street
- From $2,092 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
1131 East 211 Street
- From $1,974 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.