940 and 942 Woodycrest Avenue in Highbridge: 40 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,283 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 24, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists one lottery, number 7749, for two new buildings at 940 and 942 Woodycrest Avenue in Highbridge, the Bronx. It has 40 apartments at 80% AMI, 20 in each building. One-bedrooms rent for $2,283 a month and two-bedrooms for $2,713. Applications are not open yet, and the listing has no deadline. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply.
Last checked: October 24, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7749, read twice that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it either time; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 485-x page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings filings (jobs X01255584 and X01233373), older job records and certificates of occupancy (DOB NOW and older); HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Bronx block 2504; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; and the MTA's subway and rail station data. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 40apartments in lottery 7749, 20 at each address
- 99 and 99apartments in the two building filings
- $2,283the rent for each of 20 one-bedrooms
- $2,713the rent for each of 20 two-bedrooms
- 13 and 14stories at 940 and 942 in the filings
- Not openno deadline in the listing as of October 24, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standardAn amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Being Built at 940 and 942 Woodycrest Avenue
Two new buildings are going up side by side, with 99 apartments each in the Department of Buildings' records. One Housing Connect lottery covers 20 apartments in each.
| Record | 940 Woodycrest Avenue | 942 Woodycrest Avenue |
|---|---|---|
| DOB job | X01255584 | X01233373 |
| Filing text | "PROPOSED NEW 13 STORY BUILDING" | "PROPOSED NEW 14 STORY BUILDING" |
| Apartments | 99 | 99 |
| Height | 120 feet | 129 feet |
| Plans approved | November 14, 2025 | August 13, 2025 |
| Building permit | February 18, 2026 | May 5, 2026 |
What it means: no certificate of occupancy was in the City's data for either building through October 23, 2026.
Source: Department of Buildings job filings, read October 24, 2026. Both name the same owner company and Nikolai Katz Architect as applicant.
- One project in the records: the 940 filing asks for "the same examiner as job #X01233373-I1 as this is one zoning lot with the same owner and applicant."
- One lottery: the listing is titled "940 & 942 Woodycrest Avenue Apartments." Its description reads "(40) 485X ANNY units at 80% AMI; (20) units per building."
- Floor area: 62,583.9 square feet at 940 and 62,640.8 square feet at 942, in the filings.
- Not on HPD's list: HPD's production data has no row for either address. Other Woodycrest Avenue buildings appear there.
What 485-x Means Here
485-x is a property tax break for new buildings that set aside affordable apartments. HPD calls it "Affordable Neighborhoods for New Yorkers," or ANNY, the word in this listing.
- What it isthe law gives "a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings."
- How long rents stay low"All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Same doorsthe apartments "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units."
- Options"The requirements for ANNY Program Benefits are determined by building size, location and tenure." No record opened names the option used here.
- June 1, 2025the 14-story building at 942 is filed.
- July 8, 2025942 Woodycrest LLC buys lot 16 for $5,370,300.
- July 23, 2025the 13-story building at 940 is filed.
- September 3, 2025a filing asks to merge lots 6, 15 and 16 "INTO ONE ZONING LOT, REMAINING SEPARATE TAX LOTS." It is approved February 18, 2026.
- October 27, 2025a deed moves lot 15 from 942 Woodycrest LLC to 940 Woodycrest LLC, with no amount.
- December 2025foundation and earthwork permits are issued for both.
- February and May 2026the main building permits are issued, and bank mortgages are signed for each lot.
- October 2026changes to both plans are approved, still 13 and 14 stories.
- October 24, 2026Housing Connect lists 40 apartments with no deadline.
What it means: building work had permits by May 2026, and no record gives a move-in date.
Source: Department of Buildings filings; ACRIS.
| Question | One record | Another record |
|---|---|---|
| Owner | PLUTO: 940 Woodycrest LLC and 942 Woodycrest LLC | DOB: one owner company for both jobs |
| The lots | DOB: two new buildings with permits | PLUTO 26v2: vacant land on both |
| Map points | Listing: the two points are 67 feet apart | DOB's points are about 100 feet from the listing's 940 point |
| Lot 6 | ACRIS: 936 Woodycrest Avenue, owned by Woodycrest Propco LLC | The zoning-lot filing joins it with lots 15 and 16 |
What it means: PLUTO lists lot 6 as a 4-story building from 1902. No record opened says what the zoning-lot merger allows.
Source: Housing Connect listing; Department of Buildings data; PLUTO; ACRIS.
Where 940 and 942 Woodycrest Avenue Are
Both lots are on Woodycrest Avenue in Highbridge, the Bronx, in ZIP code 10452. The 161 St-Yankee Stadium station is 0.26 miles away in a straight line.
- Department of Buildings"Highbridge," its tag on both jobs.
- City Planning's GeoSearchHighbridge, ZIP code 10452, for both addresses.
- PLUTOBronx block 2504, lots 15 and 16; zoning R7-1; Community District 204; Council District 16; the 44th Precinct.
- Lot sizeeach lot is 50 feet wide, with 5,685 and 5,531 square feet.
The records opened do not name cross streets. See voucher apartments in ZIP code 10452 and Section 8 apartments in Highbridge.

Rents and Income Ranges at 940 and 942 Woodycrest Avenue on Housing Connect
All 40 apartments are at 80% AMI. The lowest income accepted without a voucher is $84,858 a year, for a one-bedroom at 942.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 one-bedrooms at 940 | $2,283 | 1 to 3 | $85,680 to $122,160 |
| 10 one-bedrooms at 942 | $2,283 | 1 to 3 | $84,858 to $122,160 |
| 10 two-bedrooms at 940 | $2,713 | 2 to 5 | $101,863 to $146,560 |
| 10 two-bedrooms at 942 | $2,713 | 2 to 5 | $101,863 to $146,560 |
What it means: the top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7749, read October 24, 2026. Each of its 40 apartment records matches its row.
Watch outthe one-bedrooms rent for $2,283 at both addresses, but the apartment records print different minimum incomes: $85,680 at 940 and $84,858 at 942. The listing's rent table prints $85,680 for all 20. The listing does not say why. Ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990.
| Household size | Maximum yearly income, 80% AMI |
|---|---|
| 1 person | $95,040 |
| 2 people | $108,560 |
| 3 people | $122,160 |
| 4 people | $135,680 |
| 5 people | $146,560 |
What it means: income before taxes must be at or under the figure for the household's size.
Source: the listing prints the same maximums for each household size at both addresses.
View the data table
| Household size | One-bedrooms | Two-bedrooms |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | 20 | 0 |
| 2 people | 20 | 20 |
| 3 people | 20 | 20 |
| 4 people | 0 | 20 |
| 5 people | 0 | 20 |
What it means: one person can apply only for a one-bedroom, and four or five people only for a two-bedroom.
Source: the listing's household sizes for each apartment; counts by VoucherMatch.
- Under $84,858below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
- $84,858 to $85,679only the one-bedrooms at 942 fit, by their apartment records.
- Two or three people, $85,680 to $101,862only the one-bedrooms fit.
- Four or five people under $101,863nothing fits without a voucher.
- Over the maximum for your sizenothing fits. The cut-off is $146,560 for five people.
The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set.
Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 940 and 942 Woodycrest Avenue?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. Both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum: the one-bedrooms by $451 and the two-bedrooms by $284. The listing does not say which utilities the rents include.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,283 | $2,283 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,713 | $2,713 | $2,997 |
What it means: each size has one rent at both addresses, so the lowest and highest bars match.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
| Family size | Bedrooms | 2026 payment standard |
|---|---|---|
| 1 or 2 | 1 | $2,734 |
| 3 or 4 | 2 | $2,997 |
What it means: DSS-8r ties each amount to family size. The listing allows sizes outside these rows, such as three people in a one-bedroom or five in a two-bedroom. Ask DSS or your caseworker how CityFHEPS treats that.
Source: DSS-8r, 2026 payment standards.
Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. The listing names no utility, so this report subtracts no utility allowance.
- Credit check: the FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8: the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)." See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 10452
The one-bedrooms are $107 below HUD's estimate for ZIP code 10452. The two-bedrooms are $93 above it.
View the data table
| Apartment | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10452 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,283 | $2,283 | $2,390 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,713 | $2,713 | $2,620 |
What it means: the "affordable" two-bedroom rent is above HUD's figure for this ZIP code. If tenants also pay utilities, the gap grows.
Source: rents from the listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.
See CityFHEPS apartments in Highbridge, one-bedroom voucher apartments in Highbridge and two-bedroom voucher apartments there.
How 940 and 942 Woodycrest Avenue Are Financed
Property records show bank mortgages on each lot in 2026. No City loan or HPD agreement appears in the records opened.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| July 7, 2025 | Mortgage, lot 16 | 942 Woodycrest LLC and 936 Woodycrest Funding L.P. | $6,500,000 |
| July 8, 2025 | Deed, lot 16 | Seven companies to 942 Woodycrest LLC | $5,370,300 |
| October 27, 2025 | Deed, lot 15 | 942 Woodycrest LLC to 940 Woodycrest LLC | none listed |
| February 24, 2026 | Two mortgages, lot 16 | 942 Woodycrest LLC and Northeast Community Bank | $20,980,419 and $3,135,522 |
| May 19, 2026 | Three mortgages, lot 15 | 940 Woodycrest LLC and Cross River Bank | $17,180,634, $2,805,499 and $763,867 |
What it means: the 2026 mortgages add up to $24,115,941 at 942 and $20,750,000 at 940, by VoucherMatch's addition. Their text was not read.
Source: ACRIS, read October 24, 2026.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 940 and 942 Woodycrest Avenue
The listing posts no preferences, set-asides or amenities yet. HPD's general rules are below.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 24, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
- Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Postedtwo addresses, apartment sizes, rents, incomes, asset limits and nearby places.
- Not statedamenities, laundry, pet rules, parking, apartment sizes in square feet and who pays for utilities.
- No picturesthe listing has no photos, and no rendering was found.
| Station | Lines | Straight-line distance | Accessible in the MTA's data |
|---|---|---|---|
| 161 St-Yankee Stadium | 4 | 0.26 miles | Yes |
| 161 St-Yankee Stadium | B, D | 0.27 miles | Yes |
| Yankees-E 153 St | Metro-North Hudson Line | 0.37 miles | Yes |
| 155 St, in Manhattan | B, D | 0.49 miles | No |
| 167 St | 4 | 0.51 miles | No |
What it means: the listing's point for 942 is 67 feet away, and the walk is longer than a straight line.
Source: the MTA's subway and rail station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's point for 940 (40.8308475, -73.9289675).

- Parks: the listing names Macombs Dam Park, about 0.23 miles from that point, and Rev. T. Wendell Foster Park, about 0.28 miles.
- Along the line: see apartments near the 4 train.

How to Apply to the 940 and 942 Woodycrest Avenue Lottery
Applications are not open yet. One lottery covers both buildings, so one application covers both addresses.
On two reads on October 24, 2026, the listing had no deadline and no advertisement. It was not among the 21 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Log numbers go to applicants "whose applicant profiles (Household Info) are complete."
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7749.
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above. One person fits only a one-bedroom.
- 4Apply oncethe FAQ says "Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- 5Paper routethe listing has no "Apply by Mail" address yet. The FAQ says to "Refer to the details of any open lottery" for one.
What it means: the listing gives no mail address, return address or postmark rule yet.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing."
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives to hear about "the status of your application."
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- Later openingsapartments that open at turnover "are called re-rental units." The FAQ says some may be offered "outside of Housing Connect" during "a temporary waiver period."
What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680 for both apartment sizes. The FAQ sets it at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About Lottery 7749
Rents, incomes and asset limits are posted. A deadline, an advertisement and a mail address are not.
- Known40 apartments, 20 per building, their rents, income ranges and asset limits.
- Not posteda deadline, an advertisement, a paper-application address, preferences and set-asides.
- Not statedutilities, amenities, pet rules, a website, a marketing agent, move-in dates and why the one-bedroom minimums differ.
- The picturesnone of the photographs in this report shows 940 or 942 Woodycrest Avenue. On October 24, 2026, the listing had no photos, and no rendering was found from the architect, the owners or the City.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at either address, and no certificate of occupancy is on record. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in the Bronx now: the open-lottery search listed 1677 Eastburn Avenue, due October 29, 2026; 3180 Villa Avenue, due October 30, 2026; and One River Park, 355 Exterior Street, due November 6, 2026.
Studio, $2,604 a monthConcourse, BronxAccepts HASA
Studio, $2,400 a monthMorrisania, BronxAccepts HASA
3 bedrooms, $3,550 a monthMorrisania, BronxAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · VASH · HASA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in the Bronx and CityFHEPS apartments in the Bronx.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 940 and 942 Woodycrest Avenue on Housing Connect?
Not yet. Both buildings are in one Housing Connect lottery, number 7749, listed as "940 & 942 Woodycrest Avenue Apartments." On October 24, 2026, the listing showed rents but no deadline, and it was not in the open-lottery search. Finish your Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.
What is the rent at 940 and 942 Woodycrest Avenue?
One-bedrooms rent for $2,283 a month and two-bedrooms for $2,713, at both addresses. All 40 apartments are at 80% AMI. These are the listing's rents on October 24, 2026. The listing does not say which utilities the rents include, so ask the hotline before you count on a total cost.
How much do you have to earn for 940 and 942 Woodycrest Avenue?
Without a voucher, from $84,858 a year for a one-bedroom at 942, or $85,680 at 940. Two-bedrooms start at $101,863. The most is $146,560, for five people in a two-bedroom. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum income does not apply at all.
Does 940 or 942 Woodycrest Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. The one-bedrooms are $451 under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum and the two-bedrooms $284 under. The FAQ says rent should be within your program's limits, so check with your agency or caseworker first.
Are 940 and 942 Woodycrest Avenue the same building?
No. They are two new buildings on next-door lots, with separate permits for 13 and 14 stories and 99 apartments each. The 940 filing calls them "one zoning lot with the same owner and applicant." One Housing Connect lottery, 7749, covers 20 apartments in each building, so one application covers both.
What program is the Woodycrest Avenue lottery in?
The listing names 485-x, which HPD calls "Affordable Neighborhoods for New Yorkers," or ANNY. It is a property tax break for new buildings. HPD says "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable." HPD lists several options set by building size and place, and no record opened names the one used here.
Are the rents at 940 and 942 Woodycrest Avenue below market?
Partly, compared with HUD's figures. The $2,283 one-bedrooms are $107 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10452. The $2,713 two-bedrooms are $93 above it. HUD's figures include utilities, and the listing does not say which utilities its rents include.
Sources for this article (18)
- lottery 7749 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- older job records (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DOB NOW (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- older (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- subway (data.ny.gov)
- rail (data.ny.gov)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Harlem, Manhattan
West Harlem Renaissance
- From $1,346 a month
- Applications were due May 28, 2026

Prospect Lefferts Gardens, Brooklyn
151 Hawthorne Street
- From $1,836 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 24, 2026

West Farms, Bronx
Longfellow Marmion Apartments
- From $1,369 a month
- Applications were due October 8, 2026

Washington Heights, Manhattan
205 Cabrini Boulevard
- From $3,195 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 24, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.