138 Osborn Street in Brownsville: 19 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,713 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 22, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7746, "138 Osborn Street Apartments," in Brownsville, Brooklyn. It has 19 apartments, all at 80% AMI: 14 two-bedrooms at $2,713 a month and five three-bedrooms at $3,107. Applications are not open yet. The listing has no deadline. The building is still under construction. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply, and both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum.
Last checked: October 22, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7746, read three times that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it any of those times; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 485-x page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r (dated October 14, 2026); Department of Buildings filings (job B01208799) and older job records; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 3523, lot 28; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; and the MTA's station data. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 19apartments on Housing Connect
- 99apartments in the building permit
- $2,713the rent for each of 14 two-bedrooms
- $3,107the rent for each of five three-bedrooms
- 9stories in the building permit
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 22, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- 485-xA property tax exemption for new apartment buildings in New York City, run by HPD. HPD's page says "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standardAn amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Being Built at 138 Osborn Street
138 Osborn Street is a planned nine-story building with 99 apartments. It replaces a one-story commercial building. The first permit for the new building was issued on May 8, 2026.
- Permit: job B01208799 was filed April 10, 2025. It reads "PROPOSING NEW 9 STORY MIXED-USE BUILDING."
- Size: nine stories, 95 feet, 99 dwelling units and 81,126.5 square feet of floor area.
- Owner: the building filings name WestOrchard Management. The 2025 deed and PLUTO name Osborn Commons LLC.
- Plans: filed by BMG Design Build LLC under a registered architect's license.
- Listing name: Housing Connect calls it "138 Osborn Street Apartments." Its address line reads "138 Osborn St."

Watch outthe listing's only picture was left out. On October 22, 2026, it showed a finished nine-story building with balconies and shop windows. City records show the building was still being built, with no certificate of occupancy. VoucherMatch could not confirm that the picture is an unaltered photograph of this building.
- April 10, 2025the nine-story, 99-apartment building is filed.
- July 16, 2025a filing seeks "Full Demolition of Existing one story building."
- October 22, 2025Osborn Commons LLC buys the lot for $6,235,000 and signs two mortgages.
- January 15, 2026the demolition job is signed off.
- May 4, 2026the building plans are approved. The first permit follows on May 8.
- September 10, 2026Osborn Commons LLC signs new mortgage papers with Popular Bank.
- October 22, 2026Housing Connect lists 19 apartments with rents and no deadline.
What it means: a change to the plumbing plans, filed September 9, 2026, was still with a plan examiner in the City's data on October 22.
Source: Department of Buildings jobs B01208799 and B01238267; ACRIS.
| Question | One record | Another record |
|---|---|---|
| Owner name | Building filings: WestOrchard Management | Deed and PLUTO: Osborn Commons LLC |
| What is on the lot | Permits: a new nine-story building | PLUTO (version 26v2): a one-story store building from 1960 |
| Affordable apartments | Listing summary: 20, with one "donated to HPS" | Listing unit records: 19 |
| Street address | Listing, permits and PLUTO: 138 Osborn Street | A 2015 lot filing: "LOT#28 (150 OSBORN STREET)" |
What it means: all of these records point to one lot, Brooklyn block 3523, lot 28. The demolition was signed off in January 2026, so PLUTO's building record is older than the permits.
Source: Department of Buildings jobs B01208799, B01238267 and 321157797; PLUTO; ACRIS; Housing Connect listing.
What 485-x Means for These 19 Apartments
The listing's summary reads "(20) 485x ANNY affordable units at 80% AMI." HPD's page calls 485-x the "Affordable Neighborhoods for New Yorkers Tax Incentive program," or ANNY.
- What it is"a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings."
- How long rents stay set"All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Shared spacesall rental apartments "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units."
- Before a listingprojects send "the Notice of Intent to begin marketing to HPD Marketing."
| Option | Building size | What HPD's page requires |
|---|---|---|
| A | 100 or more apartments | "25% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% Area Median Income (AMI)" |
| B | 6 to 99 apartments | "20% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% AMI" |
| C | 6 to 10 apartments | "At least half of the units must be rent stabilized." |
What it means: no record opened names the 485-x option this building uses.
Source: HPD's 485-x page, read October 22, 2026.
Where 138 Osborn Street Is
The building is in Brownsville, Brooklyn, in ZIP code 11212. The Department of Buildings tags the job "Brownsville."
| Record | 138 Osborn Street |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Brooklyn block 3523, lot 28 |
| Lot size | 22,492 square feet, an irregular lot |
| Zoning | R6, with a C1-3 commercial overlay |
| Community board | Brooklyn 16 |
| City Council district | 41 |
| ZIP code | 11212 |
What it means: the nearest bus stop the listing names is Pitkin Av/Osborn St, about 0.06 miles away. See voucher apartments in ZIP code 11212 and Section 8 apartments in Brownsville.
Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the permits and PLUTO.
- SchoolsP.S. 298 Dr. Betty Shabazz, 0.12 miles; P.S. 327 Dr. Rose B. English, 0.18 miles; Uncommon Brownsville North Elementary School, 0.26 miles.
- ParksBetsy Head Park and Hilltop Playground, each 0.52 miles.
- Policethe 73rd Precinct, 0.28 miles.
- HospitalOne Brooklyn Health-Brookdale University Hospital Medical Center, 0.99 miles.
Rents and Income Ranges for 138 Osborn Street on Housing Connect
The listing has two rents: $2,713 a month for a two-bedroom and $3,107 for a three-bedroom. The lowest income it accepts without a voucher is $101,863 a year.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 14 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $2,713 | 2 to 5 | $101,863 to $146,560 |
| 5 three-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $3,107 | 3 to 7 | $117,669 to $168,320 |
What it means: every apartment is at one income level, 80% AMI.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7746, read October 22, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
| Household size | Two-bedroom | Three-bedroom |
|---|---|---|
| 2 people | $101,863 to $108,560 | Not offered |
| 3 people | $101,863 to $122,160 | $117,669 to $122,160 |
| 4 people | $101,863 to $135,680 | $117,669 to $135,680 |
| 5 people | $101,863 to $146,560 | $117,669 to $146,560 |
| 6 people | Not offered | $117,669 to $157,440 |
| 7 people | Not offered | $117,669 to $168,320 |
What it means: income before taxes must fall inside the range for the household's size. Not offered means that apartment does not allow that household size.
Source: the same listing.
View the data table
| Household size | Apartments that allow this size |
|---|---|
| 1 person | 0 |
| 2 people | 14 |
| 3 people | 19 |
| 4 people | 19 |
| 5 people | 19 |
| 6 people | 5 |
| 7 people | 5 |
What it means: a one-person household fits no apartment in this listing.
Source: the listing's household-size ranges; counts by VoucherMatch.
- Under $101,863below every minimum.
- One personno apartment allows one person.
- Two people over $108,560over the only limit for two.
- Three people earning $101,863 to $117,668only the two-bedrooms fit.
- Six or seven peopleonly the three-bedrooms fit, from $117,669 up to $157,440 or $168,320.
- Above $168,320over every limit in the listing.
The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set.
Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 138 Osborn Street?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. Both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size, by $284 and $646.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 bedrooms | $2,713 | $2,713 | $2,997 |
| 3 bedrooms | $3,107 | $3,107 | $3,753 |
What it means: the two-bedrooms are $284 under and the three-bedrooms $646 under, by VoucherMatch's subtraction.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
Key pointthe listing does not yet say which utilities are in the rent. So this guide adds no utility allowance. If tenants pay for some utilities, HRA counts an allowance on top of the rent. Ask HRA and the marketing agent before you sign.
- Family sizeDSS-8r lists one or two people with one bedroom at $2,734, three or four with two bedrooms at $2,997, and five or six with three bedrooms at $3,753.
- Two peopleeven the one-bedroom figure, $2,734, is $21 over the two-bedroom rent, by VoucherMatch's subtraction. Ask HRA which figure applies to you.
- Seven peopleDSS-8r lists seven or eight people with four bedrooms at $4,077.
- Credit check"Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)" among accepted subsidies. See the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- GuidesCityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11212
The two-bedroom rent is a little above HUD's estimate for ZIP code 11212. The three-bedroom rent is below it.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11212 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 bedrooms | $2,713 | $2,713 | $2,620 |
| 3 bedrooms | $3,107 | $3,107 | $3,280 |
What it means: the two-bedrooms are $93 above HUD's figure and the three-bedrooms $173 below, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.
- Utilities: HUD's figure includes them. The listing does not yet say what tenants pay, so the full monthly cost here is not known.
- Nearby: see CityFHEPS apartments in Brownsville, two-bedroom voucher apartments in Brownsville and three-bedroom voucher apartments in Brownsville.
How 138 Osborn Street Is Financed
Property records show a $6,235,000 purchase on October 22, 2025, with two loans from ICE Lender Holdings LLC. In September 2026, new mortgage papers were signed with Popular Bank. No record names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Document | Date and parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Deed | October 22, 2025: Osborn Belmont Properties, LLC to Osborn Commons LLC | $6,235,000 |
| Mortgage | October 22, 2025: Osborn Commons LLC and ICE Lender Holdings LLC | $8,650,000 |
| Mortgage | October 22, 2025: the same two parties | $6,500,000 |
| Mortgage | September 10, 2026: Osborn Commons LLC and Popular Bank | $15,802,879 |
| Mortgage | September 10, 2026: the same two parties | $5,047,121 |
| Agreement | September 10, 2026: the same two parties | $22,302,879 |
What it means: the earlier loans were assigned on September 10, 2026, in papers naming ICE Lender Holdings LLC, Popular Bank and Santander Bank, N.A. ACRIS's index does not show what the agreements say.
Source: ACRIS, Brooklyn block 3523, lot 28. Names are printed as ACRIS shows them.
No announcement of the financing was found. No news report on this building was found either.

Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 138 Osborn Street
The listing posts no preferences, amenities or utility terms yet. It lists nearby stations and bus stops.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 22, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
- Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Where the final list appearsproject preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
- Listed amenitiesnone as of October 22, 2026.
- Included in the rentnot stated.
- Tenant paysnot stated.
- Not statedpets, apartment sizes, fees, a move-in date and a building website.
- From the permita "MIXED-USE" building, so the plans include space that is not housing.
| Station | Lines in the MTA's data | Straight-line distance | Accessible in the MTA's data |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sutter Av | L | 0.36 miles | No |
| Rockaway Av | 3 | 0.45 miles | No |
| Junius St | 3 | 0.51 miles | No |
| Atlantic Av | L | 0.53 miles | No |
| Livonia Av | L | 0.55 miles | Yes |
| Rockaway Av | C | 0.66 miles | No |
What it means: the listing tags Junius St with the 3 and 4. The MTA's data lists daytime 3 service there.
Source: the MTA's subway station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.669047, -73.9087512).
- Buses, per the listing: Pitkin Av/Osborn St, 0.06 miles; Pitkin Av/Mother Gaston Blvd, 0.11 miles; and Pitkin Av/Thomas S Boyland St, 0.23 miles, by VoucherMatch's measure.
- Along the line: see apartments near the L train.

How to Be Ready When the 138 Osborn Street Lottery Opens
Applications are not open yet. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile, check its income and gather papers now.
On three reads on October 22, 2026, the listing had no deadline. It was not among the 21 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search. Brooklyn's 10 open rental lotteries were other buildings.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Keep your household and income details up to date.
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7746.
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above, and again when the full listing is posted.
- 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- 5Paper routethe listing has no "Apply by Mail" address yet. Check the listing for it once a deadline is posted.
What it means: the listing gives no mail address, return address or postmark rule yet.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing."
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives for hearing "about the status of your application."
- If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
- Before a leasea credit and rental-history review, except for applicants "qualifying with rental subsidy."
- Later openingsHPD's guide says apartments that open at turnover, "called re-rental units," are on Housing Connect. The current FAQ says that during "a temporary waiver period" they "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect."
What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline, and later openings may be posted elsewhere.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680 for both apartment types. The FAQ sets the rental limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Lottery
The rents, incomes and asset limit are posted. The deadline, preferences, utilities and amenities are not.
- Knowntwo rents with income ranges for 19 apartments, one asset limit, and the building's permit, size and lot.
- Not posteda deadline, preferences and set-asides, a mail address for paper forms, and a marketing agent's name.
- Not statedutilities, pets, amenities, apartment sizes and floors, a move-in date, and which 485-x option applies.
- Not explainedthe summary's "(1) unit donated to HPS." The listing does not say what HPS is.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 138 Osborn Street yet. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in Brooklyn now: the open-lottery search listed 1832 Fulton Street Apartments, due October 23, 2026; Sackett Apartments, 224 3rd Avenue, October 26; 803 Glenmore Avenue Apartments, October 28; Farragut Residences, October 30; Cantilever House, November 4; 228 North 7th Street Apartments, November 6; 719 & 721 Snediker Avenue, November 9; 926 Mother Gaston Boulevard Apartments and 899 Fulton Street, November 10; and 292 East 51st Street Apartments, November 16.
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts FHEPS · CityFHEPS
3 bedrooms, $3,373 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · HASA · CityFHEPS
2 bedrooms, $2,900 a monthBrooklynAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · CityFHEPS
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Brooklyn and CityFHEPS apartments in Brooklyn.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 138 Osborn Street on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7746, "138 Osborn Street Apartments." On October 22, 2026, the listing showed rents but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.
What is the rent at 138 Osborn Street?
The rent is $2,713 a month for a two-bedroom and $3,107 for a three-bedroom. These are the listing's rents as read on October 22, 2026. There are 14 two-bedrooms and five three-bedrooms, all at 80% AMI. The listing does not yet say which utilities the rent includes, so the full monthly cost is not known.
How much do you have to earn for 138 Osborn Street?
Without a voucher, from $101,863 a year for a two-bedroom and $117,669 for a three-bedroom. The most is $168,320, for seven people in a three-bedroom. No apartment allows one person. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum income does not apply.
Does 138 Osborn Street take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. Both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size: $284 under for a two-bedroom and $646 under for a three-bedroom. The FAQ says the rent should be within your program's limits.
Is 138 Osborn Street the same as 150 Osborn Street?
They are one lot. Housing Connect, the building permits and PLUTO use 138 Osborn Street for Brooklyn block 3523, lot 28. A 2015 Department of Buildings filing that merged land into lot 28 called it "150 OSBORN STREET." The listing's name is "138 Osborn Street Apartments." The deed buyer is Osborn Commons LLC.
Is the 138 Osborn Street building finished?
No. On October 22, 2026, City records showed it under construction. The first permit for the nine-story, 99-apartment building was issued May 8, 2026. No certificate of occupancy was found in the City's data. The listing gives no move-in date. Watch the listing for updates before you plan a move.
Are the rents at 138 Osborn Street below market?
Partly. The three-bedrooms are $173 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11212. The two-bedrooms are $93 above HUD's figure. HUD's figures include utilities. The listing does not yet say what tenants pay for utilities, so the gap may be larger than shown.
Sources for this article (13)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7746 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- older job records (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
292 East 51st Street Apartments
- From $1,574 a month
- Applications due November 16, 2026

Arverne, Queens
3-06 Beach 68th Street Apartments
- From $2,749 a month
- Applications due November 13, 2026

Jamaica, Queens
97-36 Brisbin Street
- From $2,092 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
1131 East 211 Street
- From $1,974 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.