1451 Sutter Avenue, East New York: 17 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,000 a Month
Quick answer1451 Sutter Avenue is a new seven-story building in East New York, Brooklyn, with 85 apartments in its permit. NYC Housing Connect listed 17 of them, studios, one- and two-bedrooms at 80% AMI, for $2,000 to $2,419 a month. Applications were due January 2, 2026. As of October 22, 2026, every rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size. The City's lottery data lists the lottery as in "Tenant Selection". VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list.
Last checked: October 22, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7382, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, the Housing Connect FAQ, CityFHEPS form DSS-8r, Department of Buildings job 321385522 and its permits, the certificate of occupancy records, HPD's production data (project 77900), the City's lottery data, PLUTO, ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 4257, HPD's 485-x page, 421-a page and applying guide, HDC's re-rental search, the marketing agent's property page, a 2018 report by New York YIMBY, and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 17apartments in the Housing Connect lottery, all at 80% AMI
- 85apartments in the building, in the permit and HPD's data
- $2,000the lowest rent, a studio
- $2,419the highest rent, a two-bedroom
- January 2, 2026the application deadline
- March 6, 2026the final certificate of occupancy
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7382, read October 22, 2026; Department of Buildings job 321385522 and its certificate of occupancy records; HPD project 77900.
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.

What Was Built at 1451 Sutter Avenue
1451 Sutter Avenue is a seven-story building with 85 apartments in its new building permit. The final certificate of occupancy was issued March 6, 2026.
- Names: Housing Connect calls the lottery "1451 Sutter Avenue Apartments". Its map lists the address as 1451 Sutter Ave. No other building name was found in the records opened.
- Permit: Department of Buildings job 321385522 lists 7 stories, 70 feet and 85 dwelling units. The job was signed off March 6, 2026.
- Certificates of occupancy: the first, dated December 11, 2025, covers 85 dwelling units. The final one, dated March 6, 2026, also covers 85.
- Owner: the permit names MSH Equities LLC. PLUTO, the City's lot database, names 1451 Sutter LLC.
- Design and building: the permit's applicant is a registered architect; the filing names no firm. The first permit, issued March 18, 2021, names Skyward Developers Inc as general contractor. Later renewals name A Plus 1 Management Inc, Blue Shine Builders Inc and Innovative Constr NYC LLC.
- The lot: PLUTO lists a 100 by 100 foot lot with 85 homes, one other unit and 1,200 square feet of retail space.

- August 7, 20171451 Sutter Ave LLC buys the property for $900,000.
- December 24, 2018the new building application is filed.
- July 24, 2019the demolition of a one-story building is signed off.
- July 29, 2019the new building plans are approved.
- March 18, 2021the first new building permit is issued.
- September 29, 20231451 Sutter LLC buys the property for $3,000,000.
- December 9, 2025the Housing Connect lottery opens.
- December 11, 2025the first certificate of occupancy is issued.
- January 2, 2026applications are due.
- March 6, 2026the final certificate of occupancy is issued.
What it means: the building had its first certificate two days after the lottery opened.
Source: ACRIS; Department of Buildings jobs 321385522 and 322060149, permit and certificate records; the City's lottery data.
- Size in 2018YIMBY reported on December 28, 2018 that permits were filed for "two four-story residential buildings". It said 1451 Sutter would be 50 feet tall with 10 apartments. The current permit says 7 stories, 70 feet and 85 apartments.
- The second buildinga separate permit job for a four-story, 10-apartment building at 1453 Sutter Avenue is still on file. No certificate of occupancy was found for it. The listing does not mention it.
- Household sizesReside New York's page lists "1-3" people and income of "$68,572-$116,640". The listing takes one to five people, with incomes up to $146,560.
What it means: the listing is the record for this lottery. Ask the hotline about any figure that differs.
Source: New York YIMBY; Department of Buildings jobs 321385522 and 321385513; Reside New York; Housing Connect listing.
The Programs the Listing Names
The listing names two tax programs. Its description reads "485-x - 17 units at 80% AMI". Its program line says the building "is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421a Tax incentive program".
- 485-xHPD says the law provides "a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings and Eligible Conversions, except for hotels". It is open to buildings that "commence construction after June 15, 2022".
- 421-aHPD says "The 421-a Tax Incentive is a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings."
What it means: the listing names both programs. No record opened says which one the building receives.
Source: HPD's 485-x and 421-a pages; the Housing Connect listing.
Where 1451 Sutter Avenue Is
The building is in East New York, Brooklyn, in ZIP code 11208. It is in Brooklyn Community District 5 and City Council District 42.
- East New YorkCity Planning's address search. The Department of Buildings names the area "East New York-City Line".
- The lotBrooklyn block 4257, lot 40. YIMBY wrote in 2018 that the site is "between Grant Avenue and Eldert Lane".
- Next doorthe listing names Robert E. Venable Park, under 0.1 miles from its map point.
- ZIP code 11208in the listing, Department of Buildings, HPD and PLUTO records.
What it means: VoucherMatch files the building under East New York, as on its page for Section 8 apartments in East New York.
Source: the records named.
| Station | Daytime lines | Distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grant Av | A | about 0.2 miles | No |
| Euclid Av | A, C | about 0.4 miles | Yes |
| 80 St | A | about 0.5 miles | No |
| 88 St | A | about 0.8 miles | No |
| Crescent St | J, Z | about 0.8 miles | No |
| Shepherd Av | C | about 0.9 miles | No |
What it means: Grant Av is the closest stop. The listing labels it "A,S" and Shepherd Ave "A,C".
Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.
- Buses and parks: the listing names bus stops at 101 Ave/80 St, Fountain Ave/Blake Ave and Atlantic Av/Chestnut St, about 0.5 to 0.7 miles away. It also names Tudor Park and Cypress Hills Playground, each about 0.5 miles away.
- Along the line: see apartments near the A train.
17 Apartments in the Lottery, From Studios to Two-Bedrooms
The listing has 7 studios, 3 one-bedrooms and 7 two-bedrooms. All 17 are set at 80% AMI.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Apartments |
|---|---|
| Studio | 7 |
| One-bedroom | 3 |
| Two-bedroom | 7 |
What it means: HPD's data and the City's lottery data give the same counts. The other 68 apartments are not in the lottery.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7382, counted by VoucherMatch from its 17 unit rows, read October 22, 2026.
- Studiosone or two people.
- One-bedroomsone to three people.
- Two-bedroomstwo to five people.
- Asset limitthe rent table lists $135,680 for every apartment. The FAQ sets the limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household".

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 1451 Sutter Avenue
The 17 apartments rent for $2,000 to $2,419 a month. The lowest minimum income is $68,572 a year, and the highest maximum is $146,560.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 7 studios | $2,000 | 1 or 2 | $68,572 to $108,560 |
| 3 one-bedrooms | $2,092 | 1 to 3 | $71,726 to $122,160 |
| 7 two-bedrooms | $2,419 | 2 to 5 | $82,938 to $146,560 |
What it means: the minimum is the same for every household size in an apartment type.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7382, read October 22, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household.
| Household size | Most you can earn | Apartments open to you |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $95,040 | studio, one-bedroom |
| 2 people | $108,560 | all three sizes |
| 3 people | $122,160 | one-, two-bedroom |
| 4 people | $135,680 | two-bedroom |
| 5 people | $146,560 | two-bedroom |
What it means: income before taxes has to be at or under the number for the household's size. No apartment takes six or more people.
Source: the same listing, 80% AMI.
- Below every minimumunder $68,572 for one or two people, under $71,726 for three, and under $82,938 for four or five, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Between the limitsno gap. For each household size, the ranges of the apartments it can rent overlap.
- Above the maximumover the number in the table above for the household's size.
- Six or more peopleno apartment in this lottery.
What it means: a household without a voucher needed at least $68,572 a year.
Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the listing's income ranges.

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches
Every rent in the lottery is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its apartment size. That holds even after the utility allowances that match the listing are taken off.
This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | 2026 CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $2,000 | $2,000 | $2,604 |
| One-bedroom | $2,092 | $2,092 | $2,734 |
| Two-bedroom | $2,419 | $2,419 | $2,997 |
What it means: each size has one rent. The studio is $604 under its maximum, the one-bedroom $642 under and the two-bedroom $578 under.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, dated October 14, 2026, effective April 1, 2026, which calls them "the maximum rent amounts if all utilities are included in the lease".
Watch outthe listing says "The tenant is responsible for electricity which includes electric stove, heat and hot water." The matching 2026 DSS-8r lines are "Electric with Cooking Range" and "Total (Electric Heat & Hot Water)". Together they are $200 for a studio, $232 for a one-bedroom and $305 for a two-bedroom. Taken off, the maximums become $2,404, $2,502 and $2,692, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic. The $2,419 two-bedroom is then $273 under. DSS decides which lines apply.
- One personDSS-8r pairs a family of one with a studio, $2,604.
- One or two peopleone bedroom, $2,734.
- Three or four peopletwo bedrooms, $2,997.
- Credit checkthe FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
What it means: the CityFHEPS amount follows family size. Ask DSS before relying on any figure.
Source: DSS-8r, 2026 payment standards; Housing Connect FAQ.
- Section 8: NYCHA and HPD set their own limits. See the New York City Housing Authority page and Section 8 payment standards in NYC for 2026.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 11208
Every lottery rent is below HUD's estimate for ZIP code 11208. The two-bedroom comes closest, at $371 under.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11208 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $2,000 | $2,000 | $2,430 |
| One-bedroom | $2,092 | $2,092 | $2,560 |
| Two-bedroom | $2,419 | $2,419 | $2,790 |
What it means: the studio is $430 under, the one-bedroom $468 under. HUD's figure includes most utilities, and these rents do not include electricity, so the true gaps are smaller.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026.
- Apartments in this ZIP code: see voucher apartments in ZIP 11208 and CityFHEPS apartments in East New York.
How 1451 Sutter Avenue Was Financed
Property records show mortgages from Ponce Bank recorded in December 2024 and December 2025. No City loan was found in the records opened.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sept. 29, 2023 | Deed | 1451 Sutter Ave LLC to 1451 Sutter LLC | $3,000,000 |
| Sept. 29, 2023 | Loan papers | 1451 Sutter LLC and TFG Holdings NY LLC | $1,500,000 |
| Dec. 13, 2024 | Two mortgages | 1451 Sutter LLC to Ponce Bank | $15,514,000 and $2,726,000 |
| Dec. 13, 2024 | Agreement | 1451 Sutter LLC and Ponce Bank | $2,360,000 |
| May 6, 2025 | Agreement and declaration | with the owners of 628 and 642 Eldert Lane | $630,000 in the index |
| Dec. 16, 2025 | Mortgage | 1451 Sutter LLC to Ponce Bank, N.A. | $4,900,000 |
| Dec. 16, 2025 | Agreement | 1451 Sutter LLC and Ponce Bank, N.A. | $25,500,000 |
What it means: $15,514,000, $2,726,000 and $2,360,000 add up to $20,600,000, the amount on a December 2024 lease assignment. Adding the $4,900,000 mortgage gives $25,500,000, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic. The index does not say what the agreements cover.
Source: ACRIS, Brooklyn block 4257, lot 40. PLUTO names the owners of 628 and 642 Eldert Lane as Belmont Gardens and Parkside Court housing development fund companies.
HPD's production data lists the building as project 77900, started November 5, 2025. It counts 17 low-income apartments out of 85.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at 1451 Sutter Avenue
The listing names no preference groups or set-asides. Tenants pay for electricity, including the stove, heat and hot water.
- In the listingthe preference section is empty on the listing as read October 22, 2026.
- In the FAQthe community preference applies "For developments financed by the City". It "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption".
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, if you are unsure how your application was ranked.
What it means: no preference is printed for this lottery, so none is assumed here.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7382; Housing Connect FAQ.
- Listed on Housing Connecta shared laundry room, air-conditioning, an elevator and an accessible entrance. The building is listed as smoke-free.
- Pets"One pet per family is welcome. weight limit of 30 lbs. No pet deposit required."
- Utilities"The tenant is responsible for electricity which includes electric stove, heat and hot water."
- Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
- Not statedapartment sizes in square feet, bathrooms, amenity fees and parking.
What it means: the kitchen photos show electric coil burners, which matches the listing's text.
Source: Housing Connect listing.

What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted
Applications for the 17 apartments were due January 2, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".
- 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
- 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
- 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
- 4TimingHPD's guide says "It may take 2 to 12 months for applications to be processed."
What it means: the lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased. The guide adds that "you may not be contacted, even if you could have qualified."
Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
What it means: HPD's guide says "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents".
Source: Housing Connect FAQ.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Housing Connectlottery 7382 was not among the 21 rentals in the site's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found there or in the City's lottery data. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
- Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HDC's re-rental search listed 24 advertisements, none for this building.
- Marketing agentthe listing's "Apply by Mail" section said "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" 1451 Sutter Avenue Apartments C/O Reside New York, 349 Keap Street, Brooklyn, NY 11211. Reside New York's property page labels it "Closed Project".
- Postmarkthe listing gives no postmark rule and no return address.
What it means: as of October 22, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.
Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search and borough count (9 Brooklyn rentals); the City's lottery data; HDC's re-rental data; the listing; Reside New York.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 1451 Sutter Avenue
The rents, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.
- Not publishedhow many lottery apartments have been offered or leased, and whether the building keeps a waiting list.
- Not statedhow the 68 apartments outside the lottery are rented, and at what rents.
- Not confirmedwhether the building receives 485-x or 421-a, since the listing names both.
- Not explainedwhy the marketing agent's page lists one to three people and a lower top income than the listing.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
What it means: check each line again before acting on it.
Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; HPD project 77900; city records named above.
If You Need an Apartment Now
No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.
- Open in East New York now: Housing Connect's search listed 803 Glenmore Avenue Apartments, due October 28, 2026, and 719 & 721 Snediker Avenue, due November 9, 2026.
3 bedrooms, $3,373 a monthEast New York, BrooklynAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · NYCHA
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthEast New York, BrooklynAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · NYCHA
3 bedrooms, $3,700 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts CityFHEPS
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Brooklyn, CityFHEPS apartments in Brooklyn and voucher studios in East New York.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
Was 1451 Sutter Avenue on NYC Housing Connect?
Yes. 1451 Sutter Avenue was lottery 7382 on NYC Housing Connect, named "1451 Sutter Avenue Apartments". It listed 17 studios, one- and two-bedrooms at $2,000 to $2,419 a month. Applications were due January 2, 2026. As of October 22, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection", and no waiting list was posted.
What is the rent at 1451 Sutter Avenue?
Lottery rents run from $2,000 to $2,419 a month. The 7 studios are $2,000, the 3 one-bedrooms $2,092 and the 7 two-bedrooms $2,419. Tenants pay for electricity, including the stove, heat and hot water. The listing names no application fee. One pet up to 30 pounds is allowed, with no pet deposit.
How much do you have to earn for 1451 Sutter Avenue?
From $68,572 a year for a studio. The minimum is $71,726 for a one-bedroom and $82,938 for a two-bedroom. The top limit runs from $95,040 for one person to $146,560 for five people. All 17 apartments are at 80% AMI. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the FAQ says the minimum does not apply.
Does 1451 Sutter Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Housing Connect accepts both, and every lottery rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size. The closest is the $2,419 two-bedroom. It is $578 under the $2,997 maximum, or $273 under once the matching utility allowances are taken off. Ask DSS or the housing authority before you rely on it.
Is 1451 Sutter Avenue a 485-x or a 421-a building?
The listing names both, and no record opened settles it. Its description reads "485-x - 17 units at 80% AMI". Its program line says the building is anticipated to receive a tax exemption "through the 421a Tax incentive program". HPD's production data lists the project but not the program. The Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, can confirm.
Are the rents at 1451 Sutter Avenue below market?
Yes, by HUD's figure. HUD's fiscal year 2027 figures for ZIP code 11208 are $2,430 for a studio, $2,560 for a one-bedroom and $2,790 for a two-bedroom. Each lottery rent is $371 to $468 below them. HUD's figure includes most utilities, and these rents do not include electricity.
Sources for this article (16)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7382 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- certificate of occupancy records (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- 421-a page (nyc.gov)
- applying guide (nyc.gov)
- re-rental search (nychdc.com)
- property page (residenewyork.com)
- New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
292 East 51st Street Apartments
- From $1,574 a month
- Applications due November 16, 2026

Arverne, Queens
3-06 Beach 68th Street Apartments
- From $2,749 a month
- Applications due November 13, 2026

Jamaica, Queens
97-36 Brisbin Street
- From $2,092 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
1131 East 211 Street
- From $1,974 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.