Skip to page content

165 Willoughby Street and Four More Towers in Downtown Brooklyn: 100 Affordable Apartments in Five Housing Connect Lotteries, From $2,063 a Month

25 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerFive new towers on one Downtown Brooklyn block had five NYC Housing Connect lotteries in 2026: 165 and 163 Willoughby Street, 106 and 104 Fleet Place, and 283 Flatbush Avenue Extension. Each lottery offered 20 apartments at 80% AMI, 100 in all. Studios rented for $2,063 a month, one-bedrooms for $2,199 and two-bedrooms for $2,616. Applications were due between June 29 and August 3, 2026. As of October 21, 2026, every rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum. The City's data lists all five lotteries in "Tenant Selection".

Last checked: October 21, 2026, against the Housing Connect listings for lottery 7519, 7529, 7549, 7566 and 7559, their rent tables and the site's open-lottery search, read at the start and the end; the Housing Connect FAQ; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings DOB NOW filings (jobs B01097098, B01083521, B01097108, B01098704 and B01097093) and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data; the City's lottery data and lottery building data; PLUTO; ACRIS for Brooklyn block 2062; City Planning's address search; HPD's 485-x page, Inclusionary Housing page, re-rentals page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; and New York YIMBY's lottery reports for 165 Willoughby (April 29), 104 Fleet (June 25), 163 Willoughby (July 8) and 283 Flatbush Avenue Extension (July 17). How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

The five Willoughby, Fleet and Flatbush towers in numbers
  • 100apartments in five Housing Connect lotteries, 20 in each
  • 495apartments in the five buildings, 99 each in city records
  • $2,063the studio rent in all five lotteries
  • $2,616the two-bedroom rent in all five lotteries
  • June 29 to August 3, 2026the five application deadlines
  • July 16 to September 25, 2026the first certificates of occupancy

What it means: the 495 is VoucherMatch's sum of five buildings of 99.

Source: the five Housing Connect listings, read October 21, 2026; DOB NOW filings and certificate of occupancy records.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
Photograph of a green iron subway entrance with a black sign reading DeKalb Avenue Station, round B, Q and R line symbols and Elevator at DeKalb Avenue, beside a curved wall of dark glazed brick with weeds at its base and a tall black iron fence above
Not the five towers: the DeKalb Avenue station entrance from Fleet Street and Flatbush Avenue Extension, photographed in July 2013. Photo by Harrison Leong, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Harrison Leong, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to the entrance at right (1596 x 898 of 2816 x 2112) to leave out people on the sidewalk, scaled to 1600 x 900 (1.003 times)).

What Was Built at 165 Willoughby Street, Fleet Place and Flatbush Avenue Extension

Five towers of 29 or 30 stories went up on one block, each with 99 apartments. City records tie them together as one project, so this report covers all five.

The five buildings in Department of Buildings records
AddressDOB jobStories, heightFirst certificate
165 Willoughby StreetB0109709829, 297 feetJuly 21, 2026
163 Willoughby StreetB0108352129, 295 feetSeptember 25, 2026
106 Fleet PlaceB0109710830, 298 feetJuly 16, 2026
104 Fleet PlaceB0109870430, 300 feetJuly 16, 2026
283 Flatbush Avenue ExtensionB0109709329, 296 feetAugust 20, 2026

What it means: all five buildings have the City's sign-off to be lived in.

Source: DOB NOW new building jobs and certificate of occupancy records, read October 21, 2026. Every job and certificate lists 99 dwelling units.

  • One project in the records: one zoning lot description and one declaration, dated August 28, 2024, cover all five lots. The five owner companies signed the same loan papers in March 2026.
  • One architect: every new building job names the firm JFA Architects & Engineers DPC. One 104 Fleet Place filing refers to the 165 Willoughby job by number.
  • Developer: YIMBY's four reports name The Jay Group. The 104 Fleet Place DOB filing gives "THE JAY GROUP" as the owner's business.
  • Five lotteries: Housing Connect ran each address as its own lottery, each with its own application.
  • No project name: no city record or listing opened gives the five towers one name.
Photograph looking up at a green street sign reading Flatbush Avenue Extension on a gray metal pole, in front of a dark office building with bands of windows
A Flatbush Avenue Extension street sign in Downtown Brooklyn, photographed in November 2022. Photo by Kidfly182, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Kidfly182, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 (2048 x 1152) and reduced to 1600 x 900; not enlarged).
Where the records differ
QuestionOne recordAnother record
StoriesDOB: 29 at 165, 163 and 283; 30 at 104 and 106PLUTO: 30 floors each. YIMBY: 27 at 165 and 163
ApartmentsDOB and certificates: 99 eachYIMBY: "430 residences" at 165 and "90" at 163. PLUTO: 33 at 104 Fleet
Lot of 165PLUTO and certificates: lot 21DOB's BBL field, HPD and the City's lottery data: lot 24
Mix at 163Listing: 5 studios, 5 one-bedrooms, 10 two-bedroomsHPD data: 20 studios
Architect's nameDOB: JFA Architects & Engineers DPCYIMBY: "J Frankl Architects" in three reports

What it means: the City's sign-offs count 99 apartments in each building. Ask the hotline if a number matters to you.

Source: DOB NOW, PLUTO 26v2, HPD's production data, the City's lottery data and New York YIMBY.

The Programs the Listings Name

All five listings name 485-x, the City's newest tax break for new buildings. One also names the Inclusionary Housing Program.

485-x and Inclusionary Housing in the listings and in HPD's words
  • The listings165 Willoughby is "being constructed through the Inclusionary Housing Program and is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 485-X Tax Incentive Program." 163 Willoughby, 106 Fleet and 283 Flatbush Avenue Extension say "anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 485-X." 104 Fleet says "being constructed through the 485-X Incentive Program."
  • 485-xHPD says the law provides "a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings." It adds: "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
  • OptionsHPD sets the rental options by building size. Option A is for "Large Rental Projects with 100 or more residential dwelling units." Option B is for "Modest Rental Projects with at least 6 and no more than 99 residential dwelling units." No record opened names the option chosen here.
  • Inclusionary HousingHPD says the program "is designed to promote and preserve affordable housing where zoning has been modified to encourage new development." The 165 listing names no part of it.

What it means: no document opened says the exemption was granted.

Source: the five Housing Connect listings; HPD's 485-x and Inclusionary Housing pages, read October 21, 2026.

Where the Five Towers Are, and the 283 Flatbush Avenue Mix-Up

The towers fill most of Brooklyn block 2062 in Downtown Brooklyn, ZIP code 11201. One listing gives the wrong street and ZIP code for its building.

What the records call the area
  • The listingsfour advertisements place the buildings in "Downtown Brooklyn."
  • Department of Buildings"Downtown Brooklyn-DUMBO-Boerum Hill," its tag on all five jobs.
  • City Planning's address search"Fort Greene" for 165 Willoughby Street. YIMBY's April report also said Fort Greene.
  • PLUTOblock 2062, lots 1, 18, 19, 21 and 24; zoning C6-4; Community District 2; Council District 35; the 88th Precinct.
Watch outthe building at 283 Flatbush Avenue Extension is in Downtown Brooklyn, ZIP code 11201. Lottery 7559's listing gives "283 FLATBUSH AVENUE," ZIP code 11217, and a map point in Prospect Heights. The City's lottery data ties it to a 4-story lot at 281 Flatbush Avenue. DOB, PLUTO and the certificate all place it on Flatbush Avenue Extension. VoucherMatch measures the listing's map point at 0.99 miles from the block.
Other addresses the 283 Flatbush Avenue Extension lot goes by
RecordAddress it givesZIP code
DOB and certificate283 Flatbush Avenue Extension11201
PLUTO277 Flatbush Avenue Extension11201
HPD data287 Flatbush Avenue Extension11201
ACRIS, 2024 and 2026275 and 277 Flatbush Avenue Extnot listed
Lottery 7559283 Flatbush Avenue11217

What it means: every City record for the lot puts it on Flatbush Avenue Extension.

Source: the records named, read October 21, 2026. HPD names the project "283 FLATBUSH AVE EXT APARTMENTS".

See voucher apartments in ZIP code 11201 and Section 8 apartments in Downtown Brooklyn.

Photograph of a low tan brick building marked NYC Transit System with a large round vent and a roll-down gate, orange traffic barrels and a person walking in front, a car wash sign at right, and tall brick apartment buildings behind, one with a yellow phone-number sign, under a clear blue sky
Flatbush Avenue Extension at the south end of Prince Street in January 2011, looking east, years before the towers were filed. PLUTO lists a NYC Transit Authority lot, 161 Prince Street, on block 2062. Photo by Jim.henderson, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Jim.henderson, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 (2076 x 1168) and reduced to 1600 x 900; not enlarged).

Rents and Income Ranges in the Five Housing Connect Listings

Every listing used the same rents and the same incomes. Without a voucher, the lowest income accepted was $75,669 a year, for a studio.

Lottery apartments at each address, all at 80% AMI
AddressLotteryStudiosOne-bedroomsTwo-bedrooms
165 Willoughby Street75195015
163 Willoughby Street75295510
106 Fleet Place75495510
104 Fleet Place75665510
283 Flatbush Avenue Extension75595510

What it means: 165 Willoughby had no one-bedrooms. The five lotteries held 25 studios, 20 one-bedrooms and 55 two-bedrooms.

Source: the five listings' unit records, counted by VoucherMatch, read October 21, 2026. The City's lottery data gives the same counts.

ApartmentRentPeopleYearly income
Studio$2,0631 or 2$75,669 to $108,560
One-bedroom$2,1991 to 3$81,018 to $122,160
Two-bedroom$2,6162 to 5$97,235 to $146,560

What it means: the top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Source: the five listings, read October 21, 2026; each apartment record matches its row. The asset limit is $135,680 for every type.

Household sizeMaximum yearly income, 80% AMI
1 person$95,040
2 people$108,560
3 people$122,160
4 people$135,680
5 people$146,560

What it means: income before taxes had to be at or under the figure for the household's size.

Source: all five listings print these maximums.

Where a household's income led to no apartment, without a voucher
  • Under $75,669below every minimum.
  • Three people under $81,018nothing fit. At 165 Willoughby, with no one-bedrooms, three people needed $97,235.
  • Four or five people under $97,235nothing fit.
  • Over the maximum for your sizenothing fit. One person over $95,040 fit no apartment.
Watch outYIMBY's April 29 report on 165 Willoughby printed incomes of "$75,669 to $103,680" for studios and "$97,235 to $140,000" for two-bedrooms. The listing now shows $108,560 and $146,560. No page opened says when the figures changed. YIMBY's June and July reports give $146,560 as the top.

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

Every rent in the five lotteries is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, even after utility allowances. These were City lotteries on NYC Housing Connect. Four listings name HPD as the agency, and 106 Fleet Place names the Housing Development Corporation (HDC).

The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lottery rents at the five towers against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, by size, in dollars a month
Lowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
Studio$2,063$2,063$2,604
One-bedroom$2,199$2,199$2,734
Two-bedroom$2,616$2,616$2,997

What it means: each size had one rent, so the two rent bars match.

Source: rents from the five listings; maximums from DSS-8r, "if all utilities are included in the lease," in effect since April 1, 2026.

All five advertisements say tenants pay electricity, including the stove and heat, and that "Rent includes hot water." So VoucherMatch subtracts DSS-8r's "Electric with Cooking Range" and "Electric Heat Only" allowances.

Apartment sizeCityFHEPS maximumLess both allowancesLottery rent
Studio$2,604$2,441$2,063
One-bedroom$2,734$2,546$2,199
Two-bedroom$2,997$2,748$2,616

What it means: the rents are $378, $347 and $132 under the adjusted maximums.

Source: DSS-8r 2026 allowances ($111 and $52 for a studio, $126 and $62 for a one-bedroom, $167 and $82 for a two-bedroom); subtraction by VoucherMatch.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11201

The lottery rents are about half of HUD's figures for ZIP code 11201. Each is more than $1,800 below.

Lottery rents at the five towers against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11201, in dollars a month
Lowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11201
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11201
Studio$2,063$2,063$3,890
One-bedroom$2,199$2,199$4,100
Two-bedroom$2,616$2,616$4,460

What it means: the rents are $1,827, $1,901 and $1,844 below, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic. Tenants also pay electricity.

Source: rents from the five listings; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, which include most utilities.

How the Five Towers Were Financed

Property records show one buyer in 2024, a split into five owner companies in 2025, and joint loan papers in 2026. The text of the papers was not read.

Recorded documents for Brooklyn block 2062
DateDocumentPartiesAmount
August 28, 2024Two deeds147 Prince Street LLC and 165 Willoughby Street LLC to 102 Fleet Realty LLC$50,000,000 and $12,500,000
August 28, 2024Air rights, zoning lot, declaration, mortgage102 Fleet Realty LLC, 147 Prince Street LLC, G4 18270, LLC$12,500,000 air rights; $49,500,000 mortgage
April 11, 2025Five deeds102 Fleet Realty LLC to one company per lotnone listed
June 5, 2025Mortgages and two agreements, lot 21165 Willoughby LLC, Ponce Bank, The City of New York$30,961,766 and $6,338,234
March 20, 2026Three agreements and an assignment of leases and rentsall five owner companies and SM Finance III LLC$7,907,631.83, $81,216,466.84 and $122,536,245.88; $264,000,000 assignment

What it means: the 2024 zoning papers also list lots 5, 6 and 17. The 2025 owners are 287 Flatbush Ext LLC, 165 Willoughby LLC, 159 Willoughby Realty LLC, 104 Fleet Realty LLC and 106 Fleet Realty LLC. The 2026 papers write "165 Willoughby Realty LLC."

Source: ACRIS; recorded August 30, 2024, May 8 and June 26, 2025, and April 21, 2026.

HPD's production data gives 165 Willoughby a project start date of June 5, 2025, and the other four dates from March 10 to 18, 2026. HPD defines that date as "the date of the project loan closing and regulatory agreement," or the "notice of intent to market affordable units."

Brooklyn block 2062, from one purchase to five lotteries
  • August 28, 2024the lots are bought, and one zoning lot is recorded.
  • September 17 and November 25, 2024the five new buildings are filed.
  • April 11, 2025the land is split into one owner company per lot.
  • May 28 to July 29, 2025the five plans are approved and building permits follow.
  • March 20, 2026the five owners sign joint loan papers.
  • April 27, 2026the first lottery, for 165 Willoughby, opens.
  • June 29 to August 3, 2026the five deadlines.
  • July 16 to September 25, 2026the first certificates of occupancy.

What it means: only 106 Fleet Place had its certificate before its deadline.

Source: ACRIS; DOB NOW; certificates of occupancy; the City's lottery data.

Preferences, Building Features and Transit at the Five Towers

Only the 165 Willoughby listing still shows preferences. All five list the same kind of amenities, and most shared spaces cost extra.

Preferences in the listings, read October 21, 2026
  • 165 Willoughby (lottery 7519)"Mobility" 5% and "Vision/Hearing" 2%, both set-asides; "Community Board Resident (Brooklyn CB 02)" 20%; "Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran" 10%. The City's data shows the same shares.
  • The other fourno preference or set-aside rows in the listings or in the City's data.
  • HPD's rulethe FAQ says the community preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."

What it means: no page opened says why only one listing shows preferences.

Source: the five listings; the City's lottery data; the Housing Connect FAQ.

What the buildings have: listed, extra cost, not stated
  • In the apartments"Washers and dryers in units," "Dishwasher in unit," "Air-conditioning" and "Smart controls for heating/cooling," in all five lists.
  • Extra costeach advertisement marks shared spaces, such as the spa and pool, with "*" and says "(*fees apply)."
  • Utilitiestenants pay electricity, including the stove and heat. Rent includes hot water.
  • Petstwo pets up to 60 pounds, with breed limits, in all five.
  • Fees to applyeach listing's deposit or application fee field is set to no.
  • Not statedthe amenity fees, apartment sizes and bathrooms. The 283 Flatbush list leaves out "Elevator."

What it means: the 163 Willoughby advertisement also names "a rock-climbing wall* and a pickleball court*."

Source: the five listings.

StationDaytime linesStraight-line distanceAccessible in the MTA's data
DeKalb AvB, Q, R0.11 milesYes
Hoyt St2, 30.19 milesPartly
Jay St-MetroTechR0.20 milesYes
Jay St-MetroTechA, C, F0.27 milesYes
Nevins St2, 3, 4, 50.29 milesNo
Hoyt-Schermerhorn StsA, C, G0.30 milesNo

What it means: the other buildings' listing points are 36 to 126 feet away, except 283's, which is wrong.

Source: the MTA's station data; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from lottery 7519's map point (40.692192, -73.982197).

Photograph of an empty subway platform with white tiled columns marked Hoyt and Hoyt Street, a yellow platform edge at left, a pink marble wall base at right and an exit sign for Elm Pl and Fulton St in the distance
The platform at Hoyt St on the 2 and 3 lines, about 0.19 miles from the towers in a straight line, photographed in December 2022. Photo by Kidfly182, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Kidfly182, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 (2048 x 1152) and reduced to 1600 x 900; not enlarged).

What Happens After the Housing Connect Lotteries and Where Openings Are Posted

All five deadlines have passed. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, each lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".

The five lotteries and who ran them
AddressLotteryApplicationsPaper forms requested from
165 Willoughby Street7519April 27 to June 29, 2026Affordable for NY, 365 Flushing Avenue, Suite 505
104 Fleet Place7566June 22 to July 14, 2026Iafford NY, 365 Flushing Avenue, Suite 503
106 Fleet Place7549June 29 to July 21, 2026Iafford NY, 365 Flushing Avenue, Suite 503
163 Willoughby Street7529July 6 to July 27, 2026"365 Flushing ave suite 503"
283 Flatbush Avenue Extension7559July 13 to August 3, 2026Iafford NY, 365 Flushing Avenue, Suite 503

What it means: those addresses were where to ask for paper forms. No listing gave a return address or postmark rule. YIMBY wrote that applications had to be "postmarked or submitted online" by each deadline.

Source: the City's lottery data for the dates; each listing's "Apply by Mail" address, Brooklyn, NY 11205.

How the 100 apartments are filled, in HPD's words
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents." You "will only have a few business days."
  4. 4Timing"You may hear about the status of your application within two to twelve months after the deadline."

What it means: the City's data does not say how many apartments are leased.

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Asset limit. $135,680 for every apartment type, the four-person maximum at 80% AMI
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 21, 2026
  • Housing Connectnone of the five was among the 19 rentals in the open-lottery search, at the start or the end. No newer listing for these addresses was there.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect." HPD's re-rentals page links both agents, "Affordable for New York" and "iAfford."
  • Agents' pagesboth load their listings by script, and VoucherMatch could not read them.

What it means: as of October 21, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search and borough count (9 Brooklyn rentals); HPD's re-rentals page.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Five Towers

Rents, incomes, deadlines and lottery status are published. How many apartments are leased is not.

Known and not yet known on October 21, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedhow many lottery apartments are offered or leased, any waiting list, the amenity fees and apartment sizes.
  • Not explainedwhy only 165 Willoughby shows preferences, why its income caps changed after April, and why lottery 7559 lists the wrong street.
  • Not confirmedthe 485-x option, whether the exemption was granted, and what the City agreements on lot 21 cover.
  • Pictures left outthe five listings carry 196 images, 72 of them different, all renderings. The street views for 104 Fleet Place and 283 Flatbush Avenue Extension show garbled lettering on a planter and a food cart, a sign of a generated or edited image. The listings share their images, so this report uses none of them. The photos here show the street and stations nearby.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays."
Photograph of a tall dark tower rising behind a domed classical bank building with columns, framed by trees in spring leaf, with a glass tower at right, blue umbrellas and a green construction fence reading Brooklyn Tower at the bottom
Not the five towers: Albee Square, a plaza near the DeKalb Avenue station, with a domed bank building and a tall tower behind it, in April 2026. Photo by ajay_suresh, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: ajay_suresh, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (16:9 crop (3840 x 2160) from the middle of a 3840 x 5760 copy, leaving out people in the foreground, reduced to 1600 x 900; not enlarged).

If You Need an Apartment Now

No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.

  • Open in Brooklyn now: Housing Connect's search listed nine Brooklyn rentals on October 21, 2026, including 1832 Fulton Street and 899 Fulton Street.
Brooklyn apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to Willoughby Street first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was 165 Willoughby Street on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. 165 Willoughby Street was lottery 7519, with 5 studios at $2,063 a month and 15 two-bedrooms at $2,616, at 80% AMI. Applications were due June 29, 2026. Four more towers on the block had their own lotteries. As of October 21, 2026, the City's data listed all five in "Tenant Selection".

What is the rent at 165 and 163 Willoughby Street and 104 and 106 Fleet Place?

All five lotteries used the same rents. Studios were $2,063 a month, one-bedrooms $2,199 and two-bedrooms $2,616, at 80% AMI. 165 Willoughby had no one-bedrooms. Tenants pay electricity, including the stove and heat, and rent includes hot water. The listings say many shared spaces cost extra.

How much do you have to earn for the Willoughby Street and Fleet Place lotteries?

Without a voucher, from $75,669 a year for a studio. One-bedrooms started at $81,018 and two-bedrooms at $97,235. The most was $95,040 for one person and $146,560 for five. One person earning over $95,040 fit no apartment. With a voucher, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum income does not apply.

Do these Downtown Brooklyn towers take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts both, and every rent fits under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum. After subtracting the electric allowances, the studios are $378 under, the one-bedrooms $347 under and the two-bedrooms $132 under. The FAQ says rent should be within your program's limits. Ask DSS or the housing authority before applying anywhere.

Is the 283 Flatbush Avenue lottery in Prospect Heights or Downtown Brooklyn?

Downtown Brooklyn. Lottery 7559, "283 Flatbush Avenue Apartments," is for the tower at 283 Flatbush Avenue Extension, ZIP code 11201. The listing drops "Extension," gives ZIP code 11217 and puts its map point in Prospect Heights. PLUTO lists the lot as 277 Flatbush Avenue Extension, and HPD's data says 287.

Are 165 Willoughby Street and 104 Fleet Place one building?

No. They are two of five separate towers on Brooklyn block 2062, each with 99 apartments and its own certificate of occupancy. One zoning lot, one 2024 buyer and joint 2026 loan papers tie them together. The same architect firm filed all five. Each had its own Housing Connect lottery.

Are the rents at the five towers below market?

Yes, by HUD's figures. The $2,063 studios are $1,827 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11201. The one-bedrooms are $1,901 below and the two-bedrooms $1,844 below. HUD's figures include most utilities, and tenants here pay electricity, so the real gap is a little smaller.

Sources for this article (26)
  1. lottery 7519 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. 7529 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. 7549 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  4. 7566 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  5. 7559 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  6. open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  7. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  8. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  9. DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  13. lottery building data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  14. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  15. ACRIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  16. address search (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
  17. 485-x page (nyc.gov)
  18. Inclusionary Housing page (nyc.gov)
  19. re-rentals page (nyc.gov)
  20. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  21. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  22. station data (data.ny.gov)
  23. 165 Willoughby (newyorkyimby.com)
  24. 104 Fleet (newyorkyimby.com)
  25. 163 Willoughby (newyorkyimby.com)
  26. 283 Flatbush Avenue Extension (newyorkyimby.com)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.