1727 Boston Road in Crotona Park East: 19 Housing Connect Apartments in an Eight-Story Building, From $2,063 a Month
Quick answer1727 Boston Road is an eight-story, 99-apartment building in Crotona Park East, the Bronx. City records also give its address as 1723 Boston Road. NYC Housing Connect lottery 7570 listed 19 apartments at 80% AMI, with rents of $2,063 to $2,616 a month. Applications were due June 15, 2026. As of October 24, 2026, the lottery was not open. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and every rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum.
Last checked: October 24, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7570, its rent table and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, each read at the start and the end; the Housing Connect FAQ; the City's lottery data and lottery building data; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building and by Project (project 78512); Department of Buildings DOB NOW filings (job X01112246), older job filings and certificates of occupancy; PLUTO; ACRIS for Bronx block 2940, lots 51 and 53; City Planning's address search; HPD's 485-x page and applying guide; New York YIMBY (September 30, 2024 and January 24, 2026); CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 19apartments in Housing Connect lottery 7570, all at 80% AMI
- 99apartments in the building, on its certificate of occupancy
- 8stories, in the Department of Buildings filing
- $2,063the lowest rent, a studio
- $2,616the highest rent, a two-bedroom
- June 15, 2026the application deadline in the listing
What it means: the lottery covers about one apartment in five.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7570 and its rent table, read October 24, 2026; DOB job X01112246 and certificate of occupancy 2009881-0000001.
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Was Built at 1727 Boston Road
An eight-story apartment building was built on top of an older two-story building. The Department of Buildings (DOB) filed the job as "New Building with Existing Elements to Remain." PLUTO, the City's lot database, says the older building dates from 1936.
The DOB job says: "PROPOSED VERTICAL AND HORIZONTAL EXTENSION, ADDING 6 STORIES TO AN EXISTING 2 STORY AND CELLAR COMMUNITY FACILITY BUILDING." The filing lists no apartments before the work and 99 after it. So no one lived in the old building, by DOB's count.
| Record | What it says |
|---|---|
| Stories | 2 before, 8 after |
| Apartments | 0 before, 99 after |
| Height | 30 feet before, 74 feet after |
| Job cost filed | $18,989,000 |
| Permit issued | July 17, 2025 |
| Certificate of occupancy | September 23, 2026, 99 apartments |
What it means: the City signed off on 99 apartments about three months after the lottery deadline.
Source: DOB NOW job X01112246, filed September 27, 2024; DOB's certificate of occupancy data.
- Names on the records: the listing says 1727 Boston Road. DOB, PLUTO and the certificate use 1723 Boston Road. HPD's building row says 1737 Boston Road. City Planning's address search puts all three on the same lot, Bronx block 2940, lot 53.
- Architect: DOB names Kao Hwa Lee Architects PC as the applicant on the main job.
- Developer: New York YIMBY reported on January 24, 2026 that the building is "developed by Watermark Capital Group." No City record opened names that company.
- Owner of the lot: PLUTO names Jehova Shalom, Inc. ACRIS shows a memorandum of lease dated October 31, 2024 from Jehova Shalom, Inc. to 1725 Boston Rd LLC.
- The site before: YIMBY wrote that it was the Dover Theater, built in the 1930s, which "closed in the 1980s and subsequently served as a church."
- The program line: "This building is anticipated to receive a Tax exemption through the 485x Tax Incentive program of the New York City Department of Housing Preservation and Development."
Watch outon October 24, 2026, the listing carried five renderings. This guide leaves out all five. The kitchen rendering shows what looks like a gas range with burner grates, but the listing says the stove is electric. The lobby rendering shows the same garbled number on every mailbox. The photos here show stations and parks near the building, not the building.

The 485-x Program in HPD's Words
HPD's page says 485-x was adopted "to provide a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings and Eligible Conversions, except for hotels." It also says: "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Option Afor 100 or more apartments, "25% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% Area Median Income (AMI)."
- Option Bfor 6 to 99 apartments, "20% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% AMI."
- Option Cfor 6 to 10 apartments, "At least half of the units must be rent stabilized."
- Not statedthe listing names no option, and no record opened says which one applies. HPD's project data lists "485-X" as the "planned tax benefit."
- 1936the two-story building is built, in PLUTO.
- September 27, 2024the eight-story job is filed with DOB.
- October 31, 2024a memorandum of lease to 1725 Boston Rd LLC is signed, in ACRIS.
- December 13, 2024lots 51 and 53 are described as one zoning lot, in ACRIS.
- July 17, 2025DOB issues the permit.
- January 24, 2026YIMBY reports the frame "six stories high."
- March 19, 2026HPD's project start date.
- May 22, 2026the lottery opens, in the City's lottery data.
- June 15, 2026applications are due, in the listing.
- September 23, 2026DOB issues a certificate of occupancy for 99 apartments.
What it means: HPD defines its start date as "the date of the project loan closing and regulatory agreement" or "the notice of intent to market affordable units."
Source: PLUTO; DOB NOW; ACRIS; New York YIMBY; HPD production data; the City's lottery data; the Housing Connect listing.
- New or preservationthe listing calls these "newly constructed units." HPD's production data says "New Construction." HPD's lottery building data says "Preservation." DOB calls it a new building with existing parts kept.
- Apartment countthe listing and the City's lottery data list 19. HPD's production data counts 20, with 10 two-bedrooms where the listing has 9.
- Building sizeDOB, the certificate and PLUTO say 99 apartments. YIMBY reported 98 and 85 feet tall. DOB's filing says 74 feet.
- Namethe listing's text says "1727 Boston St Apartments." Its title says "1727 Boston Road Apartments."
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990.
Where 1727 Boston Road Is
The building is in Crotona Park East, in the listing and in DOB's records, in ZIP code 10460. City Planning's address search calls the area East Morrisania.
- LotBronx block 2940, lot 53, in PLUTO.
- DistrictsCommunity District 3, Council District 15 and the 42nd Precinct, in PLUTO.
- Next doorDOB says the building at 1749 Boston Road, lot 51, "SHALL BE MERGED AS A SINGLE ZONING LOT" with this one.
- YIMBY's description"located at the confluence of Boston Road and Southern Boulevard."
Rents and Income Limits in the 1727 Boston Road Lottery on Housing Connect
Rents run from $2,063 a month for a studio to $2,616 for a two-bedroom. All 19 apartments are at 80% AMI.
| Apartment | Count | Rent | Household size |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio, 80% AMI | 5 | $2,063 | 1 or 2 people |
| 1 bedroom, 80% AMI | 5 | $2,199 | 1 to 3 people |
| 2 bedrooms, 80% AMI | 9 | $2,616 | 2 to 5 people |
What it means: nearly half the apartments are two-bedrooms.
Source: the rent table of Housing Connect lottery 7570, read October 24, 2026; its 19 apartment records give the same counts and rents.
| Household size | Studio | 1 bedroom | 2 bedrooms |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $75,669 to $95,040 | $81,018 to $95,040 | Not allowed |
| 2 people | $75,669 to $108,560 | $81,018 to $108,560 | $97,235 to $108,560 |
| 3 people | Not allowed | $81,018 to $122,160 | $97,235 to $122,160 |
| 4 people | Not allowed | Not allowed | $97,235 to $135,680 |
| 5 people | Not allowed | Not allowed | $97,235 to $146,560 |
What it means: the top of each range is for the household's size, and the bottom is the same for every size.
Source: the same rent table, yearly household income.
- One or two peopleincome under $75,669 a year.
- Three peopleunder $81,018.
- Four or five peopleunder $97,235.
- Over the topone person over $95,040, two over $108,560, three over $122,160, four over $135,680, five over $146,560.
- Six or more peopleno apartment allows a household that large.
- Assetsthe limit is $135,680 for every apartment, in the rent table.
What it means: between those floors and ceilings, there is no gap.
Source: VoucherMatch's comparison of the listing's minimum and maximum incomes.

Can You Use Section 8 or CityFHEPS at 1727 Boston Road?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and minimum income does not apply with one. Every rent here is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size.
View the data table
| Apartment | Rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | $2,063 | $2,604 |
| 1 bedroom | $2,199 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,616 | $2,997 |
What it means: rents are $541, $535 and $381 under the maximum, by VoucherMatch's subtraction.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7570; DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, maximums "if all utilities are included in the lease."
The listing says: "Tenants are responsible for electricity including electric stove and heat. Rent covers hot water." So VoucherMatch takes off two DSS-8r allowances: "Electric with Cooking Range" and "Electric Heat Only."
| Apartment | Less the allowances | Rent | Room left |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $2,441 | $2,063 | $378 |
| 1 bedroom | $2,546 | $2,199 | $347 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,748 | $2,616 | $132 |
What it means: the two-bedroom has the least room, $132 a month.
Source: DSS-8r 2026 maximums less "Electric with Cooking Range" ($111, $126 and $167) and "Electric Heat Only" ($52, $62 and $82); subtraction by VoucherMatch.
- Housing Connect's rule"Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
- Proof"the marketing agent will contact you for proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers."
- Agencies and guidessee the New York City Housing Authority page, CityFHEPS vs Section 8, Section 8 utility allowances in NYC and NYC Section 8 payment standards for 2026.
Are the Rents at 1727 Boston Road Below Market?
Barely, by HUD's figures. Each rent is below HUD's fiscal year 2027 rent for its size in ZIP code 10460. The two-bedroom is only $4 a month under.
View the data table
| Apartment | Rent | HUD figure |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | $2,063 | $2,280 |
| 1 bedroom | $2,199 | $2,390 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,616 | $2,620 |
What it means: rents are $217, $191 and $4 under HUD's figures.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7570; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026. ZIP code 10460 is confirmed by PLUTO, DOB and HPD.
HUD's figures include most utilities. Tenants here pay electricity, including heat and the stove. So the real gap is smaller, and for the two-bedroom it may be gone. Listings that take vouchers in this ZIP code are on the Section 8 apartments in 10460 page.
How 1727 Boston Road Was Financed
Property records show three mortgages from 1725 Boston Rd LLC to Oak Boston LLC, dated July 2025. They add up to $25,000,000, by VoucherMatch's addition.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oct. 31, 2024 | Memorandum of lease | Jehova Shalom, Inc. and 1725 Boston Rd LLC | $2,400,000 |
| Oct. 31, 2024 | Agreement | 1749 Boston Rd Realty LLC and 1725 Boston Rd LLC | $330,931.25 |
| Oct. 31, 2024 | Easement | 1749 Boston Rd Realty LLC and 1725 Boston Rd LLC | Not stated |
| Dec. 13, 2024 | Zoning lot description | 1749 Boston Rd Realty LLC and Jehova Shalom, Inc. | Not stated |
| July 2025 | Three mortgages | 1725 Boston Rd LLC and Oak Boston LLC | $1,500,000, $20,400,000 and $3,100,000 |
| July 17, 2025 | Sundry agreement | Oak Boston LLC and OakNorth Bank PLC | Not stated |
What it means: none of these 2024 and 2025 documents names HPD or another City agency.
Source: ACRIS, read October 24, 2026; amounts as ACRIS lists them. Each mortgage has a matching assignment of leases and rents.
- The news report: YIMBY wrote that Watermark Capital Group "is constructing the new building with a $25 million loan secured from Oak Funding last July." ACRIS names the lender as Oak Boston LLC.
- City money: the listing names a tax exemption only. HPD's project data puts the project in its "Multifamily Incentives Program." No record opened shows a City loan.

Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 1727 Boston Road
The listing names no preference or set-aside. It lists a shared laundry room and air-conditioning. Tenants pay electricity, including heat.
- Listednone. The listing's preference and set-aside list is empty.
- The usual rulesthe FAQ says federal law gives "preference to five percent (5%) of units" for a household member with a mobility disability. This listing does not show it.
- Community boardthe FAQ says that preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990.
- Listed"Shared laundry room," "Air-conditioning," "Energy-efficient appliances," and, in the listing's words, "High-end kitchen appliances" and "High-end countertops and finishes."
- Utilities"Tenants are responsible for electricity including electric stove and heat. Rent covers hot water."
- Pets"2 pets allowed, maximum of 40 lbs. Breed restrictions apply."
- Feesthe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
- Parkingthe listing does not mention it. YIMBY reported "50 enclosed parking spaces" in 2024. Any cost is not published.
- Not statedapartment sizes, bathrooms, elevators and the marketing agent's name.
| Station | Lines | Distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| 174 St | 2, 5 | 0.04 miles | No |
| West Farms Sq-E Tremont Av | 2, 5 | 0.49 miles | No |
| Freeman St | 2, 5 | 0.53 miles | No |
| Whitlock Av | 6 | 0.75 miles | No |
| E 180 St | 2, 5 | 0.85 miles | Yes |
What it means: the listing also names bus stops at Southern Blvd/E 176 St, 0.23 miles away, and E 180 St/Boston Rd, 0.65 miles away.
Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.
What Happens After the 1727 Boston Road Housing Connect Lottery
Applications were due June 15, 2026. On October 24, 2026, lottery 7570 was not among the 21 rentals in Housing Connect's open-lottery search, at the start or the end.
The City's lottery data, in a row dated September 7, 2026, lists the status as "Tenant Selection." No later status is published.
- 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
- 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
- 4Timing"You may hear about the status of your application within two to twelve months after the deadline."
What it means: your Housing Connect dashboard shows your status.
Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.
- ID for every adult. "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
- Speed. HPD says "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Housing Connectno newer listing for this building was in the open-lottery search. New lotteries post at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
- Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect."
- Paper formsthe listing's "Apply by Mail" address read "727 Boston Rd C/O 365 Flushing Ave," Brooklyn, NY 11205. It gave no return address or postmark rule.
- No websitethe listing's development website is Housing Connect itself.
What it means: as of October 24, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application for these apartments.
Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search and borough count (3 Bronx rentals); the listing; the FAQ.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 1727 Boston Road
Rents, incomes, the deadline and the tax program are published. The marketing agent's name is not.
- Not publishedthe marketing agent, apartment sizes, parking costs and how many lottery apartments are leased.
- Not explainedwhy HPD's lottery data says "Preservation," why HPD counts 20 apartments and the listing 19, and why the mail address reads "727 Boston Rd."
- Not confirmedwhether the 485-x exemption was granted, and which option applies.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

If You Need an Apartment Now
No application is open here. A household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.
- Open in the Bronx now: Housing Connect's search listed 1677 Eastburn Avenue, due October 29, 2026; 3180 Villa Avenue, due October 30, 2026; and One River Park, due November 6, 2026.
3 bedrooms, $3,500 a monthTremont, BronxAccepts NYCHA · HASA · CityFHEPS
Studio, $2,400 a monthBronxAccepts HASA · NYCHA · SHARE
1 bedroom, $2,600 a monthBronxAccepts HASA · SHARE
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in the Bronx or CityFHEPS apartments in the Bronx.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
Was 1727 Boston Road on NYC Housing Connect?
Yes. 1727 Boston Road was lottery 7570 on NYC Housing Connect, listed as "1727 Boston Road Apartments." It offered 19 apartments at 80% AMI, from $2,063 to $2,616 a month. Applications were due June 15, 2026. On October 24, 2026, the lottery was not in the open-lottery search, and City data said "Tenant Selection."
Is 1727 Boston Road the same as 1723 Boston Road?
Yes. The listing uses 1727 Boston Road. DOB, PLUTO and the certificate of occupancy use 1723 Boston Road, and HPD's building row says 1737. City Planning's address search puts all three on one lot, Bronx block 2940, lot 53. The listing's text also says "1727 Boston St Apartments."
What is the rent at 1727 Boston Road?
Rents are $2,063 a month for a studio, $2,199 for a one-bedroom and $2,616 for a two-bedroom, all at 80% AMI. There are 5 studios, 5 one-bedrooms and 9 two-bedrooms. Tenants pay electricity, including the electric stove and heat. The listing says rent covers hot water.
How much do you have to earn for 1727 Boston Road?
Without a voucher, at least $75,669 a year for a studio, $81,018 for a one-bedroom and $97,235 for a two-bedroom. The top limit runs from $95,040 for one person to $146,560 for five. Households of six or more fit no apartment. With a voucher, minimum income does not apply.
Does 1727 Boston Road take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts both, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. Every rent is $381 to $541 under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum. After taking off DSS-8r electric allowances, the two-bedroom has $132 a month of room left. Ask your agency what it will approve.
Is 1727 Boston Road new construction?
The records disagree. DOB filed it as a new building with existing parts kept: six stories added to a two-story building from 1936, with no apartments before and 99 after. The listing says "newly constructed," and HPD's production data says "New Construction." HPD's lottery building data says "Preservation."
Can I still apply to 1727 Boston Road?
No application was open on October 24, 2026. The deadline in the listing was June 15, 2026, and the lottery was not in Housing Connect's open-lottery search. The FAQ says vacant units may be offered "outside of Housing Connect." New lotteries post on housingconnect.nyc.gov, and the hotline is 212-863-7990.
Sources for this article (20)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7570 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- lottery building data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- by Project (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- older job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- address search (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- applying guide (nyc.gov)
- September 30, 2024 (newyorkyimby.com)
- January 24, 2026 (newyorkyimby.com)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

Concourse, Bronx
Urban Horizons
- From $1,417 a month
- Applications were due May 6, 2026

East Harlem, Manhattan
Peter Jay Sharp Residence
- From $1,323 a month
- Applications were due July 23, 2026

Prospect Lefferts Gardens, Brooklyn
151 Hawthorne Street
- From $1,836 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 24, 2026

West Farms, Bronx
Longfellow Marmion Apartments
- From $1,369 a month
- Applications were due October 8, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.