183-03 Hillside Avenue, Jamaica Estates: 14 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,722 a Month
Quick answer183-03 Hillside Avenue is a new seven-story building with 46 apartments in Jamaica Estates, Queens. NYC Housing Connect advertised 14 of them at 130% AMI: four studios at $2,722 and ten one-bedrooms at $2,823 a month. Applications were due February 24, 2026. As of October 23, 2026, the City's data lists the lottery in "Tenant Selection". Both rents are above the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list.
Last checked: October 23, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7431, its rent table and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, each read on October 22 and again on October 23; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 421-a page, re-rental page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings job filings (job 421684868), DOB NOW filings and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data (project 77951); the City's lottery data (by lottery and by building); PLUTO; City Planning's address search; ACRIS records for Queens block 9950, lot 64; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; the marketing agent's page for the building; and a New York YIMBY report of June 5, 2020. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 14apartments in the Housing Connect lottery, all at 130% AMI
- 46apartments in the building, in city records
- $2,722the rent for a studio
- $2,823the rent for a one-bedroom
- February 24, 2026the application deadline
- June 15, 2026the first certificate of occupancy
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7431, read October 22 and 23, 2026; Department of Buildings job 421684868 and its certificate of occupancy records.
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.

What Was Built at 183-03 Hillside Avenue
183-03 Hillside Avenue is a new seven-story building with 46 apartments. The lot was a parking lot before, YIMBY reported in 2020.
- NameHousing Connect calls the lottery "183-03 Hillside Avenue Apartments." HPD's data names the project "183-03 HILLSIDE AVENUE." It is Queens block 9950, lot 64.
- Permitjob 421684868 lists seven stories, 75 feet, 46 dwelling units and 55,923 square feet of construction floor area.
- Certificates of occupancythe first, dated June 15, 2026, covers 46 dwelling units. A renewal without change followed on September 10, 2026.
- Ownerthe permit names Ciampa Managment Corp. (spelled that way). Earlier filings name Piermont Properties. The deed and PLUTO name 18303HILLSIDEAVE LLC.
- Architectthe permit's applicant firm is Marin Architects, P.C.
- Marketing agentthe listing's mail address is in care of Reside New York, in Brooklyn.
What it means: people could move in under a certificate of occupancy from June 2026.
Source: Department of Buildings job 421684868 and its DOB NOW filings; certificate of occupancy data; ACRIS; PLUTO; HPD project 77951, each read October 22 or 23, 2026.
- October 15, 2019183-03 Hillside Partners LLC buys the lot for $4,200,000.
- June 4, 2020the new building job is filed.
- August 10, 2021the plan is approved.
- June 3, 2022the new building job is fully permitted.
- January 19, 202318303HILLSIDEAVE LLC buys the lot for $5,180,850.
- February 21, 2024two mortgages to Popular Bank.
- December 1, 2025HPD's project start date.
- February 2 to 24, 2026the Housing Connect lottery takes applications.
- June 15, 2026the first certificate of occupancy.
- October 5, 2026the City's lottery data shows "Tenant Selection".
What it means: the lottery ran before the first certificate was issued.
Source: ACRIS; Department of Buildings job 421684868 and certificate records; HPD project 77951; the City's lottery data.

- Height75 feet in the permit. YIMBY wrote "85-foot-tall."
- Corner or notYIMBY wrote "the corner lot" at "the intersection of 183rd Street and Hillside Avenue." PLUTO codes the lot as an inside lot.
- Floor area55,923 square feet in the permit and in YIMBY. PLUTO lists a building area of 45,094.
- Apartments46 in the permit, the certificates, HPD's data and PLUTO's residential count. PLUTO counts 48 units in all.
- Year builtPLUTO lists 2024. The first certificate of occupancy is dated June 15, 2026.
What it means: the 2020 report describes the plans as filed then; the permit and the certificates describe the building today.
Source: the filings, records and report named.
The 421-a Tax Program the Listing Names
The listing says "This building is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421a Tax incentive program". Its short description reads "421a (16)".
HPD's page says "The 421-a Tax Incentive is a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings." For 421-a(16), it says projects that do not get the enhanced benefit "would have to comply with the affordability requirements and other requirements for 35 years."
| Option | What HPD's page requires |
|---|---|
| A | "25% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 40% of AMI, 10% at up to 60% of AMI, and 5% at up to 130% of AMI" |
| B | "30% of the units must be affordable: at least 10% at up to 70% of AMI and 20% at up to 130% of AMI." |
| C | "At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI" |
What it means: the page says the program is for projects that "commence construction between January 1, 2016 and June 15, 2022". No record opened says which option applies, or whether the exemption was granted.
Source: HPD's 421-a page, 421-a(16) section, read October 22, 2026.
Where 183-03 Hillside Avenue Is: Jamaica Estates, Queens, ZIP 11432
The building is on Hillside Avenue in Jamaica Estates, Queens, in ZIP code 11432. It is in Queens Community District 8 and City Council District 24.
- Jamaica EstatesCity Planning's address search. The permit's area is "Jamaica Estates-Holliswood."
- JamaicaYIMBY's 2020 headline. Its text says Jamaica Estates.
- The streeta DOB filing puts the building's new curb cut 65 feet 11 inches "from the intersection formed by Hillside Avenue and Dalny Road."
- The lotQueens block 9950, lot 64, 13,200 square feet, 80 by 165 feet, zoned R6A.
- ZIP code 11432the listing, the permit, the certificates, PLUTO and the address search.
What it means: the site's nearest apartment page is Section 8 apartments in Jamaica.
Source: the records named; New York YIMBY, June 5, 2020.
- The other building: 184-12 Hillside Avenue is a separate project. It is listed on Housing Connect as lottery 7745, with four apartments and no deadline as of October 23, 2026. The two listings' map points are about 330 feet apart, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 183-03 Hillside Avenue
The 14 apartments rent for $2,722 or $2,823 a month. All are at 130% AMI. The lowest minimum income is $99,875 a year, and the highest maximum is $198,510.
| Apartment | Rent | Apartments | People |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio, 130% AMI | $2,722 | 4 | 1 to 2 |
| One-bedroom, 130% AMI | $2,823 | 10 | 1 to 3 |
What it means: the one-bedroom costs $101 more a month than the studio, and only the one-bedrooms take three people.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7431, read October 22 and 23, 2026.
| Household size | Studio | One-bedroom |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $99,875 to $154,440 | $104,195 to $154,440 |
| 2 people | $99,875 to $176,410 | $104,195 to $176,410 |
| 3 people | not listed | $104,195 to $198,510 |
What it means: income has to be inside the range for the household's size and the apartment.
Source: the same listing, yearly income before taxes.
- Under $99,875below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
- One or two people$99,875 to $104,194 reaches the studios only. From $104,195, both sizes.
- Three people$104,195 to $198,510 reaches the one-bedrooms only.
- Four or more peopleno apartment in the listing takes them.
- Assetsthe rent table lists a limit of $220,480 for both sizes.
What it means: the FAQ sets the asset limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's AMI level.
Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the listing's incomes; asset limit from the listing's rent table.
- Listingincomes from $99,875 to $198,510, for one to three people.
- Reside New York's page"Required Income $99,738-$189,540" for "1-3" people. It labels the building "Upcoming Project".
- Rentsboth give $2,722 and $2,823.
What it means: no page opened says why the income figures differ. Ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990.
Source: Housing Connect listing; Reside New York, each read October 22, 2026.

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches
Neither rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size. The studio is $118 over, and the one-bedroom $89 over.
This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment | Lottery rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | $2,722 | $2,604 |
| One-bedroom | $2,823 | $2,734 |
What it means: both rents are above the maximum before any utility is counted.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, which gives them "if all utilities are included in the lease".
- What tenants pay"The tenant is responsible for electricity, including stove and heat."
- Electric stovethe DSS-8r "Electric with Cooking Range" line is $111 for a studio and $126 for a one-bedroom.
- Electric heatthe "Electric Heat Only" line is $52 and $62.
- Studio$2,722 plus $163 is $2,885, which is $281 over the maximum.
- One-bedroom$2,823 plus $188 is $3,011, which is $277 over the maximum.
What it means: DSS decides the amount, so ask your caseworker. The listing does not say who pays for hot water.
Source: DSS-8r 2026 utility allowances; Housing Connect listing; sums by VoucherMatch.
- Credit check: the FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8: NYCHA and HPD set their own limits. See the New York City Housing Authority page and Section 8 payment standards in NYC for 2026.
- Utilities and vouchers: read how the Section 8 utility allowance works and CityFHEPS vs Section 8.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 11432
Both lottery rents are below HUD's estimate for their size in ZIP code 11432. The studio is $168 under, and the one-bedroom $217 under.
View the data table
| Apartment | Lottery rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11432 |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | $2,722 | $2,890 |
| One-bedroom | $2,823 | $3,040 |
What it means: tenants here pay for electricity. With the DSS allowances above, the studio comes to $2,885, about the same as HUD's $2,890 (VoucherMatch's arithmetic).
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, which include most utilities.
- Apartments in this ZIP code: see voucher apartments in ZIP 11432 and CityFHEPS apartments in Jamaica.
How 183-03 Hillside Avenue Was Financed
Property records show private bank loans from Popular Bank. No recorded document opened names HPD or another City agency as lender.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| October 15, 2019 | Deed | to 183-03 Hillside Partners LLC | $4,200,000 |
| January 19, 2023 | Deed | to 18303HILLSIDEAVE LLC | $5,180,850 |
| February 21, 2024 | Mortgage | 18303HILLSIDEAVE LLC to Popular Bank | $13,792,964 |
| February 21, 2024 | Mortgage | the same two companies | $2,707,036 |
What it means: each mortgage came with an assignment of leases and rents for the same amount. The index does not say whether the two loans add up or overlap.
Source: ACRIS, Queens block 9950, lot 64.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 183-03 Hillside Avenue
The listing shows no preference groups. Pets are not allowed, except service animals, and tenants pay for electricity.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows.
- Community preference, in the FAQit applies "For developments financed by the City". It "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Disability preference, in the FAQ"five percent (5%) of units" for a mobility disability and "Another two percent (2%)" for a hearing or vision disability.
What it means: no page opened says how the disability preferences applied here. Ask HPD's hotline.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7431; Housing Connect FAQ.
- Shared spaces, per the listinga gym, a recreation room, an outdoor terrace, a rooftop terrace, a shared laundry room, bike storage lockers, storage and an elevator.
- In the apartments, per the listingair conditioning, a dishwasher, "High-end kitchen appliances" and "Energy-efficient appliances."
- Safety, per the listingsecurity cameras, an intercom, and a smoke-free building.
- Pets"No pets are allowed. Service animals are allowed as an exemption."
- Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
- Not statedwhether storage or bike lockers cost extra, apartment sizes in square feet, and bathrooms.
What it means: YIMBY wrote in 2020 of "23 enclosed parking spaces"; the listing gives no parking count or price.
Source: Housing Connect listing.

| Station | Lines | Distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jamaica-179 St | F | about 0.29 miles | Yes |
| 169 St | F | about 0.82 miles | No |
| Parsons Blvd | F | about 1.37 miles | No |
| Jamaica Center-Parsons/Archer | E, J, Z | about 1.44 miles | Yes |
What it means: the F line is the only subway within a mile.
Source: the MTA's station data, "Accessible" from its ADA field; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.
- Rail and buses, per the listing: Hollis station on the Long Island Rail Road, about 0.69 miles, and a bus stop at "178 St / Hillside," about 0.38 miles.
- Parks, per the listing: Major Mark Park, about 0.54 miles, and Peters Field, about 0.60 miles.
- Along the line: see apartments near the F train.
What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted
Applications for the 14 apartments were due February 24, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".
- 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
- 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
- 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
- 4Check"After the developer verifies your eligibility, HPD or HDC will review your file for accuracy."
- 5TimingHPD's guide says "It may take 2 to 12 months for applications to be processed."
What it means: the guide also warns "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents". The lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased.
Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to five from HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Housing Connectlottery 7431 was not among the 21 rentals in the open-lottery search on October 22, or the 23 on October 23. No newer listing for this lot was in it or in the City's lottery data. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
- Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HPD's re-rental page lists Reside New York among the companies to contact.
- Marketing agentthe listing's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" 183-03 Hillside Avenue Apartments C/O Reside New York, 349 Keap Street, Brooklyn, NY 11211.
- Postmarkthe listing gives no return address or postmark rule.
What it means: as of October 23, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.
Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search; the City's lottery data; HPD's re-rental page; the listing.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 183-03 Hillside Avenue
The rents, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.
- Not publishedhow many lottery apartments have been offered or leased, and whether the building keeps a waiting list.
- Not statedwho pays for hot water and cooking, beyond the listing's electricity sentence.
- Not explainedwhy the income figures differ between the listing and Reside New York.
- Not confirmedwhich 421-a option applies, and whether the exemption was granted.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
What it means: check each line again before acting on it.
Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; city records named above.
If You Need an Apartment Now
No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.
- Open in Queens now: Housing Connect's search listed 83-12 Broadway, due October 28, 2026; 42-78 65 Place Apartments, November 2; DOMI, November 10; and 6-05 129th Street Apartments, November 11.
4 bedrooms, $3,500 a monthJamaica, Queens
2 bedrooms, $2,900 a monthJamaica, QueensAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · NYCHA
3 bedrooms, $3,555 a monthJamaica, QueensAccepts CityFHEPS · HASA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Queens listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Queens, CityFHEPS apartments in Queens and studio voucher apartments in Jamaica.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
Was 183-03 Hillside Avenue on NYC Housing Connect?
Yes. It was lottery 7431 on NYC Housing Connect, named "183-03 Hillside Avenue Apartments". It offered four studios at $2,722 and ten one-bedrooms at $2,823 a month, all at 130% AMI. Applications were due February 24, 2026. As of October 23, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection".
What is the rent at 183-03 Hillside Avenue?
The lottery rents are $2,722 a month for a studio and $2,823 for a one-bedroom. The listing says tenants pay for electricity, "including stove and heat." Pets are not allowed, except service animals. The listing shows no application fee. Its amenities include a gym, a rooftop terrace and a shared laundry room.
How much do you have to earn for 183-03 Hillside Avenue?
From $99,875 a year for a studio and $104,195 for a one-bedroom. The top limit runs from $154,440 for one person to $198,510 for three people. No apartment takes four or more people. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the FAQ says the minimum income does not apply.
Does 183-03 Hillside Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Housing Connect accepts both, but both rents are above the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The studio is $118 over $2,604, and the one-bedroom $89 over $2,734. The FAQ says rent "should be within maximum limits" of the voucher. Ask DSS or the housing authority before you count on either apartment.
Is 183-03 Hillside Avenue the same project as 184-12 Hillside Avenue?
No. City records show two projects. 184-12 Hillside Avenue is a six-story, 20-apartment 485-x building on Queens block 9931, lot 29, with a different owner and architect. Its lottery, 7745, has four apartments and no deadline as of October 23, 2026. 183-03 is a seven-story, 46-apartment 421-a building on block 9950, lot 64.
Is 183-03 Hillside Avenue in Jamaica or Jamaica Estates?
City Planning's address search places it in Jamaica Estates, and the permit's area is Jamaica Estates-Holliswood. New York YIMBY's 2020 headline said Jamaica. All agree on ZIP code 11432 in Queens. The nearest subway is Jamaica-179 St on the F line, about 0.29 miles away in a straight line.
Are the rents at 183-03 Hillside Avenue below market?
Yes, slightly below HUD's figures. HUD's fiscal year 2027 figures for ZIP code 11432 are $2,890 for a studio and $3,040 for a one-bedroom. The lottery rents are $168 and $217 under them. HUD's figures include most utilities, and tenants here pay for electricity, so the full cost is close.
Can I still apply to 183-03 Hillside Avenue?
No application is open as of October 23, 2026. The deadline was February 24, 2026, and lottery 7431 was not in Housing Connect's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found. Watch housingconnect.nyc.gov for new lotteries, and ask Reside New York about vacancies, as HPD's re-rental page suggests.
Sources for this article (21)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7431 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 421-a page (nyc.gov)
- re-rental page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- by lottery (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- by building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- address search (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- page for the building (residenewyork.com)
- report of June 5, 2020 (newyorkyimby.com)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
292 East 51st Street Apartments
- From $1,574 a month
- Applications due November 16, 2026

Arverne, Queens
3-06 Beach 68th Street Apartments
- From $2,749 a month
- Applications due November 13, 2026

Jamaica, Queens
97-36 Brisbin Street
- From $2,092 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
1131 East 211 Street
- From $1,974 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.