632 Eagle Avenue in Melrose: 3 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,225 a Month
Quick answerAs of October 22, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7743, "632 Eagle Avenue Apartments," in Melrose, the Bronx. It has three apartments at 80% AMI: two one-bedrooms at $2,225 a month and one two-bedroom at $2,579. Applications are not open yet. The listing has no deadline. The permit is for a new four-story building with 11 apartments. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply, and both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum.
Last checked: October 22, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7743, read twice that day, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 485-x page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings filings (jobs X01271675 and X01325474) and certificates of occupancy; HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Bronx block 2624, lot 2; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; and New York YIMBY's August 23, 2025 report. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 3apartments on Housing Connect, all at 80% AMI
- 11apartments in the building permit
- $2,225the rent for each of two one-bedrooms
- $2,579the rent for the one two-bedroom
- 4stories in the building permit
- Not openno deadline posted as of October 22, 2026
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- 485-xA property tax exemption for new apartment buildings in New York City, run by HPD. HPD's page says "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standardAn amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Is Being Built at 632 Eagle Avenue
632 Eagle Avenue is a new four-story building with 11 apartments in the Department of Buildings' records. Three of them are on Housing Connect.
- Permit: job X01271675 was filed August 14, 2025. It reads "PROPOSED NEW 4 STORY 11 UNIT RESIDENTIAL BUILDING."
- Size: 4 stories, 49 feet and 11 dwelling units, with 7,459.6 square feet of construction floor area.
- Owner: the filing names Revamp NYC. PLUTO and the 2025 deed name 632 Eagle Plaza LLC.
- Plans: AG Engineering PLLC filed them. New York YIMBY lists the same firm as "architect of record."
- Status: the first building permit was issued June 22, 2026. No certificate of occupancy was in the City's data on October 22, 2026.
| Question | One record | Another record |
|---|---|---|
| Height | Permit: 49 feet | YIMBY: "40-foot-tall" |
| Owner | Permit: Revamp NYC | Deed and PLUTO: 632 Eagle Plaza LLC |
| Neighborhood | Permits and YIMBY: Melrose | GeoSearch: Longwood |
What it means: the stories and apartment count match in every record. Only the height differs.
Source: Department of Buildings job X01271675; PLUTO; ACRIS; City Planning GeoSearch; New York YIMBY, August 23, 2025.
Watch outthe listing has no photo, rendering or floor plan, and no other picture of the building was found. The pictures here show places the listing names nearby.
- 1992PLUTO's year built for the two-story, one-family house on the lot.
- August 14, 2025the four-story building is filed.
- December 17, 2025632 Eagle Plaza LLC buys the lot for $575,000.
- January 5, 2026the plans are approved.
- June 17, 2026the demolition of the house is signed off.
- June 22, 2026the first building permit is issued.
- August 2026a sidewalk shed and scaffolding are filed "for proposed construction work."
- October 22, 2026Housing Connect lists three apartments with rents and no deadline.
What it means: the demolition filing describes the old house as one family, two stories and one dwelling unit.
Source: Department of Buildings jobs X01271675, X01325474, X01439659 and X01448276; ACRIS; PLUTO.
What 485-x Means for These 3 Apartments
The listing describes the lottery as "485-x Income Restricted units - 3 Apartments at 80% AMI." HPD's page says 485-x gives "a real property tax exemption for the construction of new Multiple Dwellings."
- How long"All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable."
- Same doorsthe apartments "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units."
- No separate floorthey "shall not be isolated to a specific floor or area."
- Homes torn downa site that held apartments three years before construction "must contain at least one Affordable Housing Unit for each dwelling unit that existed on such date."
- Before a listingprojects send "the Notice of Intent to begin marketing to HPD Marketing" after HPD approves their workbook.
| Option | Building size | What HPD's page requires |
|---|---|---|
| A | 100 or more apartments | "25% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% Area Median Income (AMI)" |
| B | 6 to 99 apartments | "20% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% AMI" |
| C | 6 to 10 apartments | "At least half of the units must be rent stabilized." |
What it means: the listing says only "485-x." No record opened names the option the owner chose.
Source: HPD's 485-x page, read October 22, 2026. It also lists a version of Option A for parts of Manhattan, Brooklyn and Queens, and Option D for homeownership.
Where 632 Eagle Avenue Is
The building is on Eagle Avenue in Melrose, the Bronx, in ZIP code 10455. YIMBY places the "interior lot" "between East 156th Street and Westchester Avenue."
| Record | 632 Eagle Avenue |
|---|---|
| Block and lot | Bronx block 2624, lot 2 |
| Lot size | 3,495 square feet, 33 by 115 feet |
| Zoning | R6 |
| Community board | Bronx 1 |
| City Council district | 17 |
| ZIP code | 10455 |
What it means: PLUTO still describes the old house, with two floors and one apartment. See voucher apartments in ZIP code 10455 and Section 8 apartments in the South Bronx.
Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the permits, PLUTO and GeoSearch.

Rents and Income Ranges for 632 Eagle Avenue on Housing Connect
The listing has two rents: $2,225 for each one-bedroom and $2,579 for the two-bedroom. The lowest income it accepts without a voucher is $83,143 a year.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 one-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $2,225 | 1 to 3 | $83,143 to $122,160 |
| 1 two-bedroom, 80% AMI | $2,579 | 2 to 5 | $98,435 to $146,560 |
What it means: there are no studios or three-bedrooms. Two of the three apartments are one-bedrooms.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7743, read October 22, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
| Household size | Maximum yearly income, 80% AMI |
|---|---|
| 1 person | $95,040 |
| 2 people | $108,560 |
| 3 people | $122,160 |
| 4 people | $135,680 |
| 5 people | $146,560 |
What it means: income before taxes must be at or under the figure for the household's size.
Source: the same listing.
View the data table
| Household size | Apartments open to the household by income |
|---|---|
| 1 person | 2 |
| 2 people | 3 |
| 3 people | 3 |
| 4 people | 1 |
| 5 people | 1 |
What it means: households of four or five can apply only for the one two-bedroom.
Source: the listing's household sizes and income ranges, without a voucher; counts by VoucherMatch.
- Under $83,143below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
- One persononly $83,143 to $95,040 fits, for a one-bedroom.
- Four or five people under $98,435nothing fits without a voucher.
- Over the maximum for your sizenothing fits. The cut-off is $146,560 for five people.
The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set.
Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 632 Eagle Avenue?
Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. Both rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for their size: each one-bedroom by $509 and the two-bedroom by $418. The listing does not yet say which utilities the rents include.
The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,225 | $2,225 | $2,734 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,579 | $2,579 | $2,997 |
What it means: each one-bedroom is $509 under the maximum and the two-bedroom $418 under.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. The listing does not say which utilities are included. A voucher program subtracts a utility allowance when tenants pay. This report subtracts none, because the listing names no utility.
- Accepted"Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA), CityFHEPS, ISS, Medicaid Waiver, and VASH."
- Credit check"Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8: see the New York City Housing Authority page and the 2026 payment standards.
- Guides: CityFHEPS vs Section 8 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 10455
Both rents are below HUD's estimates for ZIP code 10455, but only a little. The one-bedroom is $165 below HUD's figure, and the two-bedroom is $41 below.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10455 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | $2,225 | $2,225 | $2,390 |
| 2 bedrooms | $2,579 | $2,579 | $2,620 |
What it means: the one-bedroom is 93.1% of HUD's figure and the two-bedroom 98.4%, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.
- Utilities: HUD's figure includes them. Tenant-paid utilities would close the gap.
- Nearby: see CityFHEPS apartments in the South Bronx.

How 632 Eagle Avenue Is Financed
Property records show a $575,000 land purchase in December 2025 and loans from two private lenders. No record names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| December 17, 2025 | Deed | to 632 Eagle Plaza LLC | $575,000 |
| December 17, 2025 | Mortgage | 632 Eagle Plaza LLC and Broadview Capital LLC | $455,000 |
| April 27, 2026 | Mortgage | 632 Eagle Plaza LLC and Sterling Capital Funding LLC | $2,369,000 |
| April 27, 2026 | Agreement | 632 Eagle Plaza LLC and Sterling Capital Funding LLC | $420,000 |
| April 27, 2026 | Assignment of mortgage | Broadview Capital LLC to Sterling Capital Funding LLC | not stated |
What it means: the December loan passed to the April lender. ACRIS does not say whether the amounts overlap, so they are not added up here.
Source: ACRIS, Bronx block 2624, lot 2; the April documents were recorded May 6, 2026.
HPD's production data had no record for the lot on October 22, 2026. No announcement of the financing was found.
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 632 Eagle Avenue
The listing posts no preferences, set-asides or amenities yet. HPD's FAQ describes the usual preference groups, which each building's advertisement confirms.
- In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 22, 2026.
- Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
- Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Where the final list appearsproject preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
- Listed amenitiesnone as of October 22, 2026.
- Rear yardYIMBY reported a "20-foot-long rear yard" in the 2025 filing.
- Not statedlaundry, the pet policy, fees and who pays for heat, hot water and electricity.
| Station | Lines | Distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jackson Av | 2, 5 | 0.14 miles | No |
| 3 Av-149 St | 2, 5 | 0.38 miles | Yes |
| E 149 St | 6 | 0.45 miles | Yes |
| Prospect Av | 2, 5 | 0.51 miles | No |
| E 143 St-St Mary's St | 6 | 0.56 miles | No |
| Longwood Av | 6 | 0.74 miles | No |
What it means: the walk is longer than the straight line. The listing names all six stations.
Source: the MTA's station data, including its accessibility field; distances by VoucherMatch in a straight line from the listing's map point (40.8164431, -73.910579).
- Buses: the listing names stops at Bergen Ave/E 149 St, Melrose Av/E 149 St and Prospect Av/E 156 St.
- Close by, per the listing: St. Mary's Park, about 0.33 miles away, and NYC Health + Hospitals/Lincoln, about 0.73 miles, by VoucherMatch's measure.
- Along the line: see apartments near the 2 train and the 5 train.

How to Be Ready When the 632 Eagle Avenue Lottery Opens
Applications are not open yet. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile, check its income and gather papers now.
On two reads on October 22, 2026, the listing had no deadline, advertisement or mail address. It was not among the 21 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search.
- 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Housing Connect gives a log number only to profiles that are complete.
- 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7743.
- 3Find your rowcompare household size and income with the tables above, and again with the advertisement.
- 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
- 5Paper routethis listing gives no address yet for asking for a paper form. Watch the listing page for one.
What it means: check the listing for a mail address once it is posted. It gives no return address or postmark rule yet.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing."
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- Two to twelve monthsthe wait HPD's guide gives for hearing about the status of an application.
- If your number is reachedyou "will only have a few business days to submit your documents," HPD's guide says.
- Before a leasea credit review, except for applicants "qualifying with rental subsidy."
- Later openingsHPD's guide says apartments that open at turnover "are called re-rental units" and are posted on Housing Connect.
What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline.
Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680 for both apartment types. The FAQ sets the rental limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Lottery
The rents, incomes and asset limit are posted. The deadline, the advertisement and the mail address are not.
- Knowntwo rents with income ranges for three apartments, and an asset limit.
- Not posteda deadline, the advertisement, preferences, a mail address for paper forms and a marketing agent's name.
- Not statedutilities, pets, apartment sizes, amenities, photos, a building website and a move-in date.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

If You Need an Apartment Sooner
Nothing is open at 632 Eagle Avenue yet. A household that must move soon needs another route.
- Open in the Bronx now: the open-lottery search listed 354 East 194th Street, due October 23, 2026; 1677 Eastburn Avenue, October 29; 3180 Villa Avenue, October 30; and One River Park, 355 Exterior Street, November 6.
1 bedroom, $1,994 a monthBronxAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · NYCHA
3 bedrooms, $3,500 a monthMott Haven, BronxAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · CityFHEPS · HASA
3 bedrooms, $3,500 a monthSouth Bronx, BronxAccepts CityFHEPS · HASA · NYCHA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in the Bronx and CityFHEPS apartments in the Bronx.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I apply for 632 Eagle Avenue on Housing Connect?
Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7743, "632 Eagle Avenue Apartments." On October 22, 2026, the listing showed rents but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.
What is the rent at 632 Eagle Avenue?
The rent is $2,225 a month for each of the two one-bedrooms and $2,579 for the one two-bedroom. All three apartments are at 80% AMI. These are the listing's rents as read on October 22, 2026. The listing does not say which utilities the rents include, so the full monthly cost may be higher.
How much do you have to earn for 632 Eagle Avenue?
Without a voucher, from $83,143 a year for a one-bedroom and $98,435 for the two-bedroom. The most is $146,560, for five people in the two-bedroom. One person must earn $83,143 to $95,040. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum does not apply.
Does 632 Eagle Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. Each $2,225 one-bedroom is $509 under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum. The $2,579 two-bedroom is $418 under the two-bedroom amount. The FAQ says the rent should be within your program's limits.
Is 632 Eagle Avenue in Melrose or Longwood?
Records differ. The Department of Buildings tags the lot Melrose, and New York YIMBY places it in "Melrose, The Bronx." City Planning's GeoSearch labels the address Longwood. The listing names no neighborhood. All the records agree on ZIP code 10455 and on Bronx block 2624, lot 2.
Can a family of four apply at 632 Eagle Avenue?
Yes, for the two-bedroom only. The listing allows two to five people there, and a family of four needs $98,435 to $135,680 a year without a voucher. The one-bedrooms take one to three people. Since there is one two-bedroom, a family of four or five has one apartment to apply for.
Are the rents at 632 Eagle Avenue below market?
Slightly. The $2,225 one-bedroom is $165 below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10455. The $2,579 two-bedroom is $41 below HUD's $2,620 figure. HUD's figures include utilities. If tenants pay for gas or electricity, the real cost may match or pass HUD's figure.
Sources for this article (16)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7743 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
- GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- August 23, 2025 report (web.archive.org)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
292 East 51st Street Apartments
- From $1,574 a month
- Applications due November 16, 2026

Arverne, Queens
3-06 Beach 68th Street Apartments
- From $2,749 a month
- Applications due November 13, 2026

Jamaica, Queens
97-36 Brisbin Street
- From $2,092 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
1131 East 211 Street
- From $1,974 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.