Brownsville Crossing, 216 Sackman Street, 177 Hegeman Avenue and 47 New Lots Avenue: 34 Affordable Apartments in Brownsville on Housing Connect, From $545 a Month
Quick answerBrownsville Crossing is three new buildings in Brownsville, Brooklyn: 216 Sackman Street, 177 Hegeman Avenue and 47 New Lots Avenue. NYC Housing Connect lottery 7413 offered 34 apartments at 30% to 70% AMI. Rents run from $545 for a studio to $2,610 for a three-bedroom. In one three-bedroom, the tenant pays 30% of income. Applications were due April 14, 2026. As of October 23, 2026, the City's data lists the lottery in "Tenant Selection". Every listed rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum.
Last checked: October 23, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7413, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, read at the start and the end; the Housing Connect FAQ; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings job records for jobs 321596386, 321596395 and 321596340, and their certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data (project 65600); the City's lottery data and lottery building data; PLUTO; ACRIS for Brooklyn blocks 3693, 3628 and 3855; City Planning's address search; HPD's Neighborhood Construction Program page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; HDC's re-rental search; Alembic's Brownsville Crossing page; Spring Leasing and Management's featured projects page; CityLand's report of September 9, 2019; New York YIMBY's reports of December 12, 2019 and October 21, 2024; Brooklyn Paper's report of April 10, 2026; and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 34apartments in Housing Connect lottery 7413
- 42apartments in the three buildings, on their certificates of occupancy
- $545the lowest rent, for two studios at 30% AMI
- $2,610the highest rent, for three three-bedrooms at 70% AMI
- 1three-bedroom where the tenant pays 30% of income
- April 14, 2026the application deadline
What it means: the lottery covered 34 of the 42 apartments.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7413, read October 23, 2026; Department of Buildings certificates of occupancy.
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.

What Was Built at Brownsville Crossing
Brownsville Crossing is one project on three City-owned lots. It has two four-story buildings and one six-story building, with 42 apartments. Each building has a certificate of occupancy.
- 216 Sackman Street: four stories, 42 feet and 13 apartments. Department of Buildings job 321596386 files it as 120 Liberty Avenue. Its final certificate of occupancy came on September 11, 2026.
- 177 Hegeman Avenue: four stories, 42 feet and 12 apartments. Job 321596395 files it as 609 Osborne Street, and PLUTO as 615 Osborn Street. Its latest certificate, dated September 25, 2026, is a renewal, not a final one.
- 47 New Lots Avenue: six stories, 65 feet and 17 apartments. Job 321596340 got its final certificate on October 19, 2026.
- One project: HPD's data lists all three under project 65600, "BROWNSVILLE SOUTH." One deed and one set of loans cover all three lots. They were signed November 14, 2023. The City's lottery data ties all three to lottery 7413.
- Who built it: CityLand and Alembic's page name Alembic Community Development and JMR Residential. The architect is Urban Quotient. Alembic names Crescent-Nuvo Group, LLC as general contractor and "The Housing Partnership" as a partner.

Key pointone project, many names. Housing Connect says "Brownsville Crossing." HPD's data says "BROWNSVILLE SOUTH." The lots are also known as 120-122 Liberty Avenue and 609-615 Osborn Street. The listing's mail address says "Bronxville Crossing."
- May 28, 2014an HPD emergency demolition of a four-story building on the Osborn Street lot is signed off.
- June 25, 2019Brooklyn Community Board 16 votes to approve the project, 16 to 4.
- September 25, 2019the City Council approves it.
- December 10 and 12, 2019the three new building applications are filed.
- November 14, 2023the City deeds the lots to HP South Liberty Housing Development Fund Company, and the loans are signed.
- November 16 and December 12, 2023the building permits are issued.
- February 12, 2026the Housing Connect lottery opens.
- March 12 to April 30, 2026first certificates of occupancy for all three buildings.
- April 14, 2026applications are due.
- September 11 and October 19, 2026final certificates for 216 Sackman Street and 47 New Lots Avenue.
What it means: all three buildings could be lived in before the deadline.
Source: Department of Buildings jobs 321596386, 321596395, 321596340 and 320950725, and their certificates; ACRIS; the City's lottery data; CityLand, September 9, 2019.
| Question | One record | Another record |
|---|---|---|
| Apartments in all | CityLand, 2019: "approximately 41" | Certificates, HPD and Alembic: 42 |
| Shop space at 47 New Lots | CityLand: 2,056 square feet | Alembic: "approximately 1,390 square feet" |
| One-bedrooms in the lottery | Brooklyn Paper, April 10: seven | Listing and City data: 15 |
| Top income in the listing | Brooklyn Paper: $140,630 | Listing, October 23: $147,280 |
What it means: this guide prints the listing's figures as read October 23, 2026. YIMBY's 2019 report gave 2,052 square feet of shop space.
Source: the records named.
The Program the Listing Names
The listing names HPD's Neighborhood Construction Program and "LIHTC," the federal Low-Income Housing Tax Credit. It says "This building is being constructed through the Neighborhood Construction Program."
- What it funds"the new construction of infill rental housing with up to 30 units affordable to low, moderate and middle income households earning up to 165% Area Median Income (AMI)."
- City-owned sitessponsors may be picked "to purchase City-owned sites." HPD says "disposition will be for $1 per lot."
- Who borrowsthe borrower must be "a Housing Development Fund Corporation," alone or with partners.
- Tax creditsAlembic's page lists "9% Low-Income Housing Tax Credit equity from National Equity Fund."
Where the Three Brownsville Crossing Buildings Are
All three buildings are in Brownsville, Brooklyn, ZIP code 11212, in Community District 16. Two sit about 0.1 miles apart near New Lots Avenue. The third, 216 Sackman Street, is about 1.1 miles north.
| Address | Lot | Location on record | Council district |
|---|---|---|---|
| 216 Sackman St | Block 3693, lot 22 | "southwest corner of Liberty Avenue and Sackman Street" | 37 |
| 177 Hegeman Ave | Block 3628, lot 9 | "northeast corner of Osborn Street and Hegeman Avenue" | 42 |
| 47 New Lots Ave | Block 3855, lot 40 | "between Mother Gaston Boulevard and Christopher Avenue" | 42 |
What it means: City Planning's address search places both 216 Sackman Street and 120 Liberty Avenue on lot 22, and 177 Hegeman Avenue and 609 Osborn Street on lot 9. See Section 8 apartments in Brownsville and voucher apartments in ZIP code 11212.
Source: PLUTO; the City's lottery building data; locations quoted from CityLand, 2019; distance by VoucherMatch in a straight line.
34 Apartments in the Lottery, From 30% to 70% AMI
The lottery had 8 studios, 15 one-bedrooms, 5 two-bedrooms and 6 three-bedrooms. Thirteen are at 216 Sackman Street, 12 at 177 Hegeman Avenue and 9 at 47 New Lots Avenue.
View the data table
| Building | Studios | One-bedrooms | Two- and three-bedrooms |
|---|---|---|---|
| 216 Sackman Street | 2 | 7 | 4 |
| 177 Hegeman Avenue | 4 | 5 | 3 |
| 47 New Lots Avenue | 2 | 3 | 4 |
What it means: 216 Sackman Street has three two-bedrooms and one three-bedroom; 177 Hegeman Avenue has three three-bedrooms; 47 New Lots Avenue has two of each.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7413, counted by VoucherMatch from its 34 unit rows, read October 23, 2026.
Watch out47 New Lots Avenue has 17 apartments, but only 9 were in this lottery. Alembic says one is "a super's unit to serve all three buildings." No page opened says how the other seven are filled. Ask the Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990.
Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for Brownsville Crossing
The listing has 11 rents, from $545 to $2,610 a month, at five income levels. The lowest income it accepts for a rent-paying apartment is $22,492 a year.
| Apartment | Count | Rent | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio, 30% AMI | 2 | $545 | $22,492 to $40,710 |
| Studio, 40% AMI | 1 | $788 | $30,823 to $54,280 |
| Studio, 50% AMI | 1 | $1,031 | $39,155 to $67,850 |
| Studio, 60% AMI | 3 | $1,274 | $47,486 to $81,420 |
| Studio, 70% AMI | 1 | $1,517 | $55,818 to $94,990 |
| 1BR, 30% AMI | 1 | $693 | $28,080 to $45,810 |
| 1BR, 40% AMI | 1 | $996 | $38,469 to $61,080 |
| 1BR, 50% AMI | 4 | $1,300 | $48,892 to $76,350 |
| 1BR, 60% AMI | 1 | $1,604 | $59,315 to $91,620 |
| 1BR, 70% AMI | 8 | $1,908 | $69,738 to $106,890 |
| 2BR, 50% AMI | 1 | $1,543 | $58,629 to $91,600 |
| 2BR, 70% AMI | 4 | $2,272 | $83,623 to $128,240 |
| 3BR, 30% AMI | 1 | 30% of income | Up to $63,120 |
| 3BR, 50% AMI | 2 | $1,767 | $67,749 to $105,200 |
| 3BR, 70% AMI | 3 | $2,610 | $96,652 to $147,280 |
What it means: studios allow one or two people, one-bedrooms one to three, two-bedrooms two to five, and three-bedrooms three to seven.
Source: Housing Connect listing and rent table for lottery 7413, read October 23, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

View the data table
| Household size | Apartments that allow this size |
|---|---|
| 1 person | 23 |
| 2 people | 28 |
| 3 people | 26 |
| 4 people | 11 |
| 5 people | 11 |
| 6 people | 6 |
| 7 people | 6 |
What it means: a household of four or more fits only the 11 two- and three-bedrooms.
Source: the listing's household-size ranges; counts by VoucherMatch, with the 30%-of-income three-bedroom included.
- One personunder $22,492 or over $83,160.
- Two peopleunder $22,492 or over $94,990.
- Three peopleunder $28,080 or over $106,890.
- Four peopleunder $58,629 or over $118,720.
- Five peopleunder $58,629 or over $128,240.
- Six or seven peopleunder $67,749, or over $137,760 for six and $147,280 for seven.
Below those floors, the only apartment left is the 30%-of-income three-bedroom, which needs Section 8. It takes three to seven people. The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent."

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches
Every listed rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size, even after the utility allowance. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply.
This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $545 | $1,517 | $2,604 |
| One-bedroom | $693 | $1,908 | $2,734 |
| Two-bedroom | $1,543 | $2,272 | $2,997 |
| Three-bedroom | $1,767 | $2,610 | $3,753 |
What it means: the highest rent of each size is $1,087, $826, $725 and $1,143 under the maximum, by VoucherMatch's subtraction.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, in effect since April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."
The listing says: "Rent includes heating and hot water. Tenant responsible for electricity and electric stove." So VoucherMatch took off DSS-8r's "Electric with Cooking Range" allowance. It is $111 for a studio and $126 for a one-bedroom. It is $167 for a two-bedroom and $209 for a three-bedroom. The highest rents still sit $976, $700, $558 and $934 under. HRA decides which allowance applies.
- Whereone three-bedroom at 30% AMI, at 47 New Lots Avenue.
- Rentthe rent table says "Eligible tenant pays 30% of their income."
- Who can applythe listing says "An applicant must qualify for section 8 and will pay 30% of their income."
- Incomethe rent table lists $0 to $45,810 for three people, up to $0 to $63,120 for seven. The unit data lists a $7,166 minimum. Ask the hotline which applies.
- The listing's flagthe rent table marks this type as project-based voucher, "isPBV."

- Credit check: the FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8: NYCHA and HPD set their own limits. See the New York City Housing Authority page, Section 8 payment standards in NYC for 2026 and Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
- Comparing programs: CityFHEPS vs Section 8, and CityFHEPS apartments in Brownsville.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11212
Every listed rent is below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11212. The highest one-bedroom rent is $482 under HUD's figure.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11212 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Studio | $545 | $1,517 | $2,280 |
| One-bedroom | $693 | $1,908 | $2,390 |
| Two-bedroom | $1,543 | $2,272 | $2,620 |
| Three-bedroom | $1,767 | $2,610 | $3,280 |
What it means: the highest rents are $763, $482, $348 and $670 below HUD's figures, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.
- Utilities: HUD's figure includes them. Here tenants pay electricity, including the stove, so the full monthly cost is higher than the rent.
- Nearby: see voucher studios in Brownsville and voucher one-bedrooms in Brownsville.
How Brownsville Crossing Was Financed
On November 14, 2023, the City deeded the three lots to HP South Liberty Housing Development Fund Company for $10. The same day, the owners signed loans from Citizens Bank, the City and CPC Mortgage Company.
| Document | Date and parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Deed | Nov. 14, 2023: City of New York to HP South Liberty HDFC | $10 |
| Mortgages | Nov. 14, 2023: three with Citizens Bank, N.A. | $29,992,775 |
| Mortgage | Nov. 14, 2023: The City of New York | $2,878,000 |
| Mortgage | Nov. 14, 2023: CPC Mortgage Company LLC | $111,750 |
| Mortgage | June 25, 2026: Citizens Bank, N.A. | $1,500,000 |
What it means: the CPC loan was assigned to the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation the same day. Brownsville Crossing Owner LLC signed each loan with the HDFC.
Source: ACRIS, Brooklyn blocks 3693, 3628 and 3855. The Citizens Bank figure adds $3,968,029, $4,888,334 and $21,136,412, the total of the bank's recorded agreement.
Alembic's page gives a "DEVELOPMENT COST" of $36.8 million. YIMBY wrote in 2024 that the money came from tax credits, HPD's program and a Freddie Mac loan. It named the lender as "Community Preservation Corporation (CPC)."
Preferences, Building Features and Transit at Brownsville Crossing
The listing posted four preference groups, five amenities and its utility terms. It also named nearby stations.
- Mobility disability5% of apartments, a set-aside.
- Hearing or vision disability2%, a set-aside.
- Brooklyn Community Board 16 residents20%.
- Municipal employees and military veterans10%, listed as "Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran."

- Listed amenities"Bike storage lockers," "Shared laundry room," "Smoke-free," "Outdoor areas" and "Bus stop/Public transportation access."
- In the advertisement"Live-In Superintendent" and "Card Operated Laundry rooms*(*additional fees apply)."
- Included in the rentheat and hot water.
- Tenant payselectricity, with an electric stove.
- Feesthe listing marks no deposits or application fees.
- Not statedpets, apartment sizes in square feet, and floors.
| Station | Lines in the MTA's data | Nearest building | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|
| New Lots Av | L | 47 New Lots Ave | 0.23 miles |
| Atlantic Av | L | 216 Sackman St | 0.23 miles |
| Sutter Av | L | 216 Sackman St | 0.31 miles |
| New Lots Av | L | 177 Hegeman Ave | 0.35 miles |
| Broadway Junction | A, C | 216 Sackman St | 0.38 miles |
| Junius St | 3 | 47 New Lots Ave | 0.42 miles |
| Rockaway Av | 3 | 177 Hegeman Ave | 0.44 miles |
| Livonia Av | L | 47 New Lots Ave | 0.48 miles |
What it means: the MTA's data marks Livonia Av as accessible and the others as not. The listing names the 3 and 4 at Junius St and Rockaway Av; the MTA's data lists daytime 3 service.
Source: the MTA's subway station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from each lot's PLUTO point, so the walk is longer.
- Buses and rail, per the listing: the B14, B60 and B35 buses, and the East New York station, about 0.26 miles from 216 Sackman Street.
- Along the lines: see apartments near the L train.
What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted
Applications for the 34 apartments were due April 14, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection."
- 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
- 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
- 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
- 4Timing"You may hear about the status of your application within two to twelve months after the deadline."
What it means: the lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased. HPD adds that "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Asset limits. the rent table lists $50,880 at 30% AMI, $67,840 at 40%, $84,800 at 50%, $101,760 at 60% and $118,720 at 70%
- Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"
What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ; the listing's rent table.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Housing Connectlottery 7413 was not among the 23 rentals in the open-lottery search. No newer listing for these buildings was found there or in the City's lottery data.
- Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect." HDC's re-rental search had none here.
- Marketing agentpaper forms were requested from "Bronxville Crossing c/o Spring Leasing 401 Franklin Avenue Ste 314," Garden City, NY 11530. The listing gave no return address or postmark rule.
- Agent's websitethe listing links Spring's featured projects page. It did not list Brownsville Crossing on October 23, 2026.
What it means: as of October 23, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.
Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search; the City's lottery data; HDC's re-rental search; the listing.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About Brownsville Crossing
The rents, incomes, preferences, utilities and lottery status are on record. How the other apartments at 47 New Lots Avenue are filled is not.
- Knownrents and incomes for 34 apartments. Also asset limits, preferences, utilities, permits and certificates.
- Not explainedseven apartments at 47 New Lots Avenue were not in this lottery. Alembic names only the super's unit.
- Not settledthe income floor for the 30%-of-income three-bedroom: $0 in the rent table, $7,166 in the unit data.
- Not stated in the listingwhether the apartments are rent stabilized. Brooklyn Paper wrote that they are.
- Not statedhow many people applied, and how many apartments are leased.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays," per the FAQ.
If You Need an Apartment Now
The Brownsville Crossing lottery is past its deadline. On October 23, 2026, the open-lottery search listed 12 Brooklyn rentals. Near these buildings, 803 Glenmore Avenue is due October 28. 719 & 721 Snediker Avenue is due November 9. 926 Mother Gaston Boulevard is due November 10.
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthBrownsville, BrooklynAccepts FHEPS · CityFHEPS
2 bedrooms, $2,900 a monthBrooklynAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · CityFHEPS
3 bedrooms, $3,600 a monthEast New York, BrooklynAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · NYCHA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Brooklyn and CityFHEPS apartments in Brooklyn.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
Was Brownsville Crossing on NYC Housing Connect?
Yes. Brownsville Crossing was Housing Connect lottery 7413. It offered 34 apartments at 216 Sackman Street, 177 Hegeman Avenue and 47 New Lots Avenue in Brownsville. Applications opened February 12, 2026. They were due April 14, 2026. On October 23, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection," and it was not in the open-lottery search.
What is the rent at Brownsville Crossing?
Rents run from $545 a month for a studio at 30% AMI to $2,610 for a three-bedroom at 70% AMI. One more three-bedroom charges 30% of income and needs Section 8. Heat and hot water are included. Tenants pay electricity, including the electric stove. These are the listing's figures as read October 23, 2026.
How much do you have to earn for Brownsville Crossing?
Without a voucher, you need at least $22,492 a year, for a 30% AMI studio. The most is $147,280, for seven people in a 70% AMI three-bedroom. Each apartment has its own range by household size. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the minimum income does not apply, the FAQ says. But the rent must fit your program.
Does Brownsville Crossing take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. Every listed rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size, even after the electric allowance. One three-bedroom at 47 New Lots Avenue requires Section 8, and its tenant pays 30% of income.
Is 216 Sackman Street the same as 120 Liberty Avenue?
Yes, by city records. City Planning's address search puts 216 Sackman Street and 120 Liberty Avenue on Brooklyn block 3693, lot 22. Building permits use 120 Liberty Avenue; Housing Connect uses 216 Sackman Street. Likewise, 177 Hegeman Avenue and 609 Osborn Street share block 3628, lot 9, and PLUTO calls it 615 Osborn Street.
Is Brownsville Crossing the same as Brownsville South?
Yes. HPD's production data lists the three buildings as project 65600, "BROWNSVILLE SOUTH," with 42 apartments. Housing Connect and the developer Alembic call it Brownsville Crossing. The owners on the 2023 loans are Brownsville Crossing Owner LLC and HP South Liberty Housing Development Fund Company. All three lots were City-owned before November 2023.
Are the rents at Brownsville Crossing below market?
Yes, by HUD's measure. Every listed rent is below HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11212. The highest studio rent is $763 under it, and the highest three-bedroom rent is $670 under. HUD's figures include utilities, and tenants here pay electricity, so the real gap is a little smaller.
Sources for this article (22)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7413 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- job records (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- lottery building data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- address search (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- Neighborhood Construction Program page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- re-rental search (nychdc.com)
- Brownsville Crossing page (alembiccommunity.com)
- featured projects page (springmanagement.net)
- report of September 9, 2019 (citylandnyc.org)
- December 12, 2019 (newyorkyimby.com)
- October 21, 2024 (newyorkyimby.com)
- report of April 10, 2026 (brooklynpaper.com)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
292 East 51st Street Apartments
- From $1,574 a month
- Applications due November 16, 2026

Arverne, Queens
3-06 Beach 68th Street Apartments
- From $2,749 a month
- Applications due November 13, 2026

Jamaica, Queens
97-36 Brisbin Street
- From $2,092 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
1131 East 211 Street
- From $1,974 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.