The Doria, 34-16 38th Street, Astoria: 23 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $1,069 a Month
Quick answerThe Doria at 34-16 38th Street is a new nine-story building with 89 apartments in Astoria, Queens. NYC Housing Connect advertised 23 of them. Rents run from $1,069 for a two-bedroom to $2,527 for a two-bedroom. Applications were due June 9, 2026. As of October 21, 2026, all 23 rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The City's lottery data lists the lottery in "Tenant Selection". VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list.
Last checked: October 21, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7554, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, read at the start and the end; the Housing Connect FAQ; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings DOB NOW filings for job Q01150703, older job filings and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data (project 76551); the City's lottery data and lottery building data; PLUTO; ACRIS for Queens block 645; City Planning's address search; HPD's 485-x page, Inclusionary Housing page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; City Planning's pages on Mandatory Inclusionary Housing and City of Yes for Housing Opportunity; HDC's re-rental search; reports by New York YIMBY (January 9, 2025 and May 29, 2026) and QNS (June 3, 2026); and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 23apartments in the Housing Connect lottery
- 89apartments in the building, in city records
- $1,069the lowest rent, for eight two-bedrooms at 40% AMI
- $2,527the highest rent, for two two-bedrooms at 80% AMI
- June 9, 2026the application deadline
- June 15, 2026the first certificate of occupancy
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7554, read October 21, 2026; Department of Buildings job Q01150703 and its certificate of occupancy records.
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.

What Was Built at The Doria, 34-16 38th Street
The Doria is a nine-story building with 89 apartments. It stands on five former lots that were merged into one.
- Names and addresses: Housing Connect calls the lottery "The Doria" at "34-16 38 Street". PLUTO, HPD and the permit use 34-16 38th Street. The listing's lead rendering shows "34-20" over the door, and YIMBY's January 2025 permit report used 34-20 38th Street.
- Permit: Department of Buildings job Q01150703 reads "PROPOSED 9 STORY + CELLAR RESIDENTIAL BUILDING". It lists 95 feet, 89 dwelling units and 80,894 square feet.
- Certificate of occupancy: the first one, dated June 15, 2026, covers 89 dwelling units. A renewal followed on September 2, 2026.
- Owner: the permit names 1605 NY Realty LLC. PLUTO and ACRIS name LIC 38 Realty LLC.
- Architect: the permit's applicant is the firm S. Wieder Architect P.C.
- Developer: YIMBY and QNS name Elmord. No city record opened names a developer.
- Parking: YIMBY wrote that the plans had "17 open parking spaces, 12 enclosed parking spaces". The listing names "Garages" and "Covered parking".
- January 2, 2025demolition filings for 34-10, 34-12, 34-20, 34-22 and 34-24 38th Street, and the new building application, are filed.
- May 22, 2025two deeds move the lots to LIC 38 Realty LLC, and three mortgages are signed.
- August 14, 2025all five demolitions are signed off.
- October 22, 2025HPD's project start date.
- October 23, 2025the new building permit is issued.
- May 18, 2026the Housing Connect lottery opens.
- June 9, 2026applications are due.
- June 15, 2026the first certificate of occupancy is issued.
- October 5, 2026the City's lottery data shows "Tenant Selection".
What it means: applications were due six days before the first certificate of occupancy.
Source: Department of Buildings jobs Q01150703, Q01140968, Q01140975, Q01140985, Q01140990 and Q01140995; ACRIS, Queens block 645; HPD project 76551; the City's lottery data.

The Programs the Listing Names
The listing says the building "is being constructed through the Inclusionary Housing Program and is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 485x Tax Incentive Program". Its short description reads "485x/MIH NOI as aCity of Yes project".
- 485-xHPD says "Affordable Neighborhoods for New Yorkers, a new tax exemption program also known as 485-x, was created to support the creation of affordable housing in New York City." It adds: "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable".
- 485-x Option Afor "Large Rental Projects with 100 or more residential dwelling units". "25% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% Area Median Income (AMI)".
- 485-x Option Bfor "Modest Rental Projects with at least 6 and no more than 99 residential dwelling units". "20% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% AMI". HPD also lists Options C and D.
- Mandatory Inclusionary Housing (MIH)City Planning says "Wherever MIH applies, any new building, enlargement or conversion above 10 units or 12,500 square feet must include a set percentage of permanently income-restricted affordable housing." HPD runs it.
- City of YesCity Planning says City of Yes for Housing Opportunity "is a zoning text amendment" that was "adopted by the City Council on December 5, 2024." HPD says it "created distinct requirements for projects which vested under the pre-COYHO MIH text and the post-COYHO MIH text."
What it means: the listing names no 485-x option and no MIH option. No document opened says which applies or whether the exemption was granted.
Source: Housing Connect listing; HPD's 485-x and Inclusionary Housing pages; City Planning's MIH and City of Yes pages, all read October 21, 2026.
Where The Doria Is
The Doria is in Astoria, Queens, in ZIP code 11101. It is in Queens Community District 1 and City Council District 22.
- AstoriaCity Planning's address search and the listing's description.
- Astoria (Central)the area name in Department of Buildings records and in the City's lottery building data (area QN0103).
- The lotQueens block 645, lot 38. PLUTO lists zoning R6A with a C1-3 overlay. YIMBY placed the site "between 34th and 35th Avenues".
- ZIP code 11101in the listing, Department of Buildings, HPD and PLUTO records, and the address search.
What it means: VoucherMatch files the building under Astoria.
Source: the records named.
| Station | Daytime lines | Straight-line distance | Accessible in the MTA's data |
|---|---|---|---|
| Steinway St | M, R | about 0.1 miles | No |
| 36 Av | N, W | about 0.4 miles | No |
| Broadway | N, W | about 0.4 miles | No |
| 46 St | M, R | about 0.5 miles | No |
| 36 St | M, R | about 0.5 miles | No |
| 39 Av-Dutch Kills | N, W | about 0.6 miles | No |
What it means: the M and R stop at Steinway St is the closest. The listing marks it "E,M,R"; the MTA's data lists the M and R there by day.
Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.
23 Apartments in the Lottery, at 40%, 60% and 80% AMI
The 23 lottery apartments are nine one-bedrooms and 14 two-bedrooms. Eight are at 40% AMI, four at 60% and 11 at 80%.
View the data table
| Apartment size | 40% AMI | 60% AMI | 80% AMI |
|---|---|---|---|
| One-bedroom | 0 | 0 | 9 |
| Two-bedroom | 8 | 4 | 2 |
What it means: every apartment at 40% and 60% AMI is a two-bedroom.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7554, counted by VoucherMatch from its 23 unit rows, read October 21, 2026. HPD's production data counts 8 very low-income and 15 low-income units of 89.

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for The Doria
The 23 apartments rent for $1,069 to $2,527 a month. The lowest minimum income is $50,229 a year, and the highest maximum is $146,560.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8 two-bedrooms, 40% AMI | $1,069 | 2 to 5 | $50,229 to $73,280 |
| 4 two-bedrooms, 60% AMI | $1,798 | 2 to 5 | $75,223 to $109,920 |
| 9 one-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $2,182 | 1 to 3 | $83,452 to $122,160 |
| 2 two-bedrooms, 80% AMI | $2,527 | 2 to 5 | $100,218 to $146,560 |
What it means: only the one-bedrooms take a household of one.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7554, read October 21, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
| Household size | 40% AMI maximum | 60% AMI maximum | 80% AMI maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 person | none | none | $95,040 |
| 2 people | $54,280 | $81,420 | $108,560 |
| 3 people | $61,080 | $91,620 | $122,160 |
| 4 people | $67,840 | $101,760 | $135,680 |
| 5 people | $73,280 | $109,920 | $146,560 |
What it means: income before taxes has to be at or under the number for the household's size.
Source: the same listing. "None" means no apartment at that level takes one person.
- One personbelow $83,452 or above $95,040.
- Two people$54,281 to $75,222, and $81,421 to $83,451.
- Three people$61,081 to $75,222.
- Four people$67,841 to $75,222.
- Five people$73,281 to $75,222.
- Below $50,229no apartment, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
What it means: each gap sits between the top of one income level and the lowest minimum of the next one that takes that household size.
Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the listing's incomes.
- Asset limits: the rent table lists $67,840 at 40% AMI, $101,760 at 60% and $135,680 at 80%.
- News reports: YIMBY's May 29, 2026 report and QNS's June 3, 2026 report print the same rents, counts and income ranges as the listing today.
Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches
All 23 rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. They stay under after the utility allowances are taken off.
This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|---|
| One-bedroom | $2,182 | $2,182 | $2,734 |
| Two-bedroom | $1,069 | $2,527 | $2,997 |
What it means: the $2,527 two-bedroom is the closest to its maximum, at $470 under.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, which calls them "the maximum rent amounts if all utilities are included in the lease", in effect since April 1, 2026.
The listing says: "Tenant is responsible for electricity, including stove, hot water, and heat." So VoucherMatch subtracts DSS-8r's "Electric with Cooking Range" and "Total (Electric Heat & Hot Water)" allowances.
| Apartment size | CityFHEPS maximum | Less both allowances | Lottery rents |
|---|---|---|---|
| One-bedroom | $2,734 | $2,502 | $2,182 |
| Two-bedroom | $2,997 | $2,692 | $1,069, $1,798 and $2,527 |
What it means: the one-bedroom is $320 under the adjusted maximum, and the $2,527 two-bedroom is $165 under. DSS decides which lines apply.
Source: DSS-8r, 2026 payment standards and utility allowances ($126 and $106 for a one-bedroom, $167 and $138 for a two-bedroom); subtraction by VoucherMatch.
- Credit check: the FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Maximum income: a voucher removes the minimum, not the maximum. The limits above still apply.
- Section 8: the FAQ names "Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers (HPD or NYCHA)". See the New York City Housing Authority page and Section 8 payment standards in NYC for 2026. For allowances, read Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.
How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11101
Every lottery rent is far below HUD's figures for ZIP code 11101. The closest is the $2,527 two-bedroom, $1,653 under.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lowest rent | Highest rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 11101 |
|---|---|---|---|
| One-bedroom | $2,182 | $2,182 | $3,840 |
| Two-bedroom | $1,069 | $2,527 | $4,180 |
What it means: the lottery rents leave out electricity for the stove, hot water and heat, which tenants pay. The one-bedroom is $1,658 under HUD's figure before that bill.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, which include most utilities.
- Apartments in this ZIP code: see voucher apartments in ZIP 11101 and Section 8 apartments in Astoria.
How The Doria Was Financed
Property records show three mortgages from BCC Funding CRF LLC to LIC 38 Realty LLC, dated May 22, 2025. Together they come to $34,250,000, by VoucherMatch's sum.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| May 22, 2025 | Two deeds | Prior owners, one of them Empire MG Properties, LLC, to LIC 38 Realty LLC | $4,250,000 and $7,750,000 |
| May 22, 2025 | Three mortgages | LIC 38 Realty LLC to BCC Funding CRF LLC | $7,800,000, $22,423,000 and $4,027,000 |
| October 22, 2025 | Sundry agreement | BCC Funding CRF LLC with the City of New York | none listed |
| August 10, 2026 | Mortgage assignments and an agreement | BCC Funding CRF LLC to MF1 Capital LLC; agreement between LIC 38 Realty LLC and MF1 Capital LLC | $34,250,000 on the agreement |
What it means: the index does not say what the agreement with the City covers. No HPD or HDC loan was found in the records opened.
Source: ACRIS, Queens block 645.
Preferences, Building Features and Fees at The Doria
The listing gave preference to Queens Community Board 1 residents and to City workers and veterans. It lists no disability set-aside. Tenants pay electricity, including the stove, hot water and heat.
- Community Board Resident (Queens CB 01)20%.
- Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran10%.
- Disability set-asidesnone listed. The listing's description reads "485x/MIH NOI as aCity of Yes project, therefore, does not require UFAS units."
What it means: the FAQ says the community preference does "not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption." The listing still shows it. Ask the hotline how it was applied.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7554; the City's lottery data gives the same 20% and 10%.
- In the apartments, per the listingwashers and dryers, a dishwasher, air-conditioning, energy-efficient appliances and an intercom.
- Building, per the listingan elevator, an accessible entrance, security cameras, common area Wi-Fi, a gym, a yoga and dance studio, a business center, a co-working space, barbecue grills and a prep kitchen, outdoor areas and a dog park.
- Marked but not explainedthe advertisement puts an asterisk (*) beside the gym, the lounge and the grilling text. It gives no note saying what the mark means.
- Utilitiestenants pay electricity, including the stove, hot water and heat.
- Pets"Only one pet permitted per apartment, with a maximum weight of 25 lbs."
- Smokingthe listing says smoke-free.
- Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
- Not statedparking or amenity fees, apartment sizes and bathrooms.
What it means: ask the marketing agent whether the marked spaces cost extra.
Source: Housing Connect listing.
What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted
Applications for the 23 apartments were due June 9, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".
- 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
- 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
- 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
- 4TimingHPD's guide says "You may hear about the status of your application within two to twelve months after the deadline." The deadline was June 9, 2026.
What it means: the lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased. The guide adds that "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents".
Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Asset limits. $67,840, $101,760 or $135,680, by income level
- Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
- Voucher. proof of the subsidy and the rent it covers
What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ; the listing's rent table.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Housing Connectlottery 7554 was not among the 19 rentals in the site's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found there or in the City's lottery data. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
- Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HDC's re-rental search listed 24 advertisements, none for this building.
- Marketing agentthe listing's "Apply by Mail" address was "The Doria C/O Affordable for NY 365 Flushing Avenue Suite 505", Brooklyn, NY 11205. That is where a paper form was requested with a self-addressed envelope. The listing gives no return address and no postmark rule.
- PostmarkYIMBY and QNS wrote that applications had to be "postmarked or submitted online" by June 9, 2026.
What it means: as of October 21, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.
Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search; the City's lottery data; HDC's re-rental data; the listing; YIMBY; QNS.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About The Doria
The rents, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.
- Not publishedhow many lottery apartments have been offered or leased, whether the building keeps a waiting list, and any parking or amenity fees.
- Not explainedwhat the asterisks in the advertisement mean, and how the community preference applied.
- Not confirmedwhether the 485-x exemption was granted, which option applies, and which MIH option applies.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.
What it means: check each line again before acting on it.
Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; city records named above.
If You Need an Apartment Now
No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.
- Open in Queens now: Housing Connect's search listed 83-12 Broadway, due October 28, 2026; 42-78 65 Place, due November 2; DOMI at 29-24 40th Avenue, due November 10; and 6-05 129th Street, due November 11.
2 bedrooms, $2,816 a monthJamaica, Queens
3 bedrooms, $3,555 a monthJamaica, QueensAccepts CityFHEPS · HASA
2 bedrooms, $2,900 a monthJamaica, QueensAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · NYCHA
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Queens listings
- Voucher in hand: browse Section 8 apartments in Queens and CityFHEPS apartments in Queens.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, compare CityFHEPS vs Section 8, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
Was The Doria at 34-16 38th Street on NYC Housing Connect?
Yes. The Doria was lottery 7554 on NYC Housing Connect. It offered 23 apartments at 40%, 60% and 80% AMI, from $1,069 to $2,527 a month. Applications were due June 9, 2026. As of October 21, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection", and no waiting list was posted.
What is the rent at The Doria in Astoria?
The nine one-bedrooms rent for $2,182 a month. The 14 two-bedrooms rent for $1,069, $1,798 or $2,527, by income level. Tenants pay electricity, including the stove, hot water and heat. The listing allows one pet of up to 25 pounds and does not state any parking or amenity fees.
How much do you have to earn for The Doria?
From $50,229 a year for the 40% two-bedrooms, up to $146,560 for five people at 80% AMI. One person needs $83,452 to $95,040. Some incomes fit no apartment, such as $54,281 to $75,222 for two people. With a voucher, the FAQ says the minimum does not apply.
Does The Doria take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Housing Connect accepts both, but the rent must fit the voucher. All 23 rents at The Doria are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums, even after subtracting the electric allowances. The $2,527 two-bedroom is the closest, $165 under the adjusted figure. Ask DSS or the housing authority before applying anywhere.
Is 34-20 38th Street the same building as The Doria?
Yes, in the records opened. 34-20 38th Street was one of five old lots merged into Queens block 645, lot 38. YIMBY's 2025 permit report used that address, and the listing's rendering shows "34-20" over the door. The permit, certificates and Housing Connect use 34-16 38th Street.
Is The Doria in Astoria or Long Island City?
Astoria, in the records opened. City Planning's address search and the listing say Astoria, and Department of Buildings records say Astoria (Central). The building is in Queens Community District 1, ZIP code 11101. Its closest subway stop is Steinway St on the M and R, about 0.1 miles away.
Are the rents at The Doria below market?
Yes, by HUD's figures. The one-bedroom rent of $2,182 is $1,658 under HUD's 2027 figure for ZIP code 11101. The two-bedrooms are $1,653 to $3,111 under HUD's $4,180. Tenants also pay electricity for the stove, hot water and heat, which HUD's figures include.
Sources for this article (24)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7554 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- older job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- lottery building data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- address search (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- 485-x page (nyc.gov)
- Inclusionary Housing page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- Mandatory Inclusionary Housing (nyc.gov)
- City of Yes for Housing Opportunity (nyc.gov)
- re-rental search (nychdc.com)
- January 9, 2025 (newyorkyimby.com)
- May 29, 2026 (newyorkyimby.com)
- QNS (qns.com)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
292 East 51st Street Apartments
- From $1,574 a month
- Applications due November 16, 2026

Arverne, Queens
3-06 Beach 68th Street Apartments
- From $2,749 a month
- Applications due November 13, 2026

Jamaica, Queens
97-36 Brisbin Street
- From $2,092 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
1131 East 211 Street
- From $1,974 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.