Skip to page content

The Lirio, 364 West 54th Street, Hell's Kitchen: 44 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect From $863 a Month

23 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerThe Lirio is a new nine-story building at 364 West 54th Street, on the corner of Ninth Avenue in Hell's Kitchen, Manhattan. NYC Housing Connect advertised 44 of its 112 apartments at $863 to $3,650 a month. Applications were due October 5, 2026. As of October 20, 2026, no newer listing is open. A voucher reaches 32 of the 44 rents, up to the 2026 CityFHEPS limit. The rest of the building is supportive housing.

Last checked: October 20, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7597, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, the Housing Connect FAQ, CityFHEPS form DSS-8r, Department of Buildings job M08022866, the certificate of occupancy records, HPD's production data (project 69183), the City's lottery data, PLUTO, ACRIS records for Manhattan block 1044, City Planning Commission reports C 220221 (A) ZSM and C 220220 ZMM, the Zoning Resolution's adoption page, the developers' Community Board 4 presentation, HPD's pages on supportive housing and the Inclusionary Housing Program, HPD's applying guide, Hudson Companies' project page, reports by New York YIMBY, 6sqft, amNY, Commercial Observer and Curbed, and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

The Lirio in numbers
  • 44apartments in the Housing Connect lottery
  • $863the lowest monthly rent, for a two-bedroom
  • $3,650the highest monthly rent, for a two-bedroom
  • 112apartments in the building, in the permit and HPD's data
  • 9stories, in the permit and PLUTO
  • October 5, 2026the application deadline

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7597, read October 20, 2026; Department of Buildings job M08022866; HPD project 69183; PLUTO.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
Rendering of a nine-story building of red-brown brick with darker brick panels beside rows of black-framed windows, on a street corner with a traffic light, a row of blue bike-share bikes, street trees, a few small figures on the sidewalk, a long white building at left and taller towers behind under a cloudy blue sky
Rendering of The Lirio at Ninth Avenue and West 54th Street by CetraRuddy Architecture, from Hudson Companies' project page. The same rendering appears on the Housing Connect listing. Photo: CetraRuddy Architecture (rendering), published by The Hudson Companies, developer's project rendering, via The Hudson Companies, The Lirio project page (reduced from 2673 x 1500 to 1600 x 898 (0.6 times), no crop, centered on a plain light gray 1600 x 900 background).

What Was Built at The Lirio, 364 West 54th Street

The Lirio is a nine-story building with 112 apartments, office space for the MTA and stores. It stands on a former MTA parking lot at Ninth Avenue and West 54th Street.

  • Names: Housing Connect and Hudson Companies call it "The Lirio". HPD's data calls the project "HOUSING WORKS. 806 NINTH AVENUE. THE LIRIO".
  • Addresses: the listing, HPD and the permit use 364 West 54th Street. PLUTO uses 362 West 54th Street. City Planning, YIMBY and 6sqft use 806 Ninth Avenue.
  • Permit: new building job M08022866 lists 9 stories, 99 feet and 112 dwelling units. It was filed October 27, 2022. The first permit came April 26, 2024.
  • Owner: ACRIS records a deed from the City of New York to Housing Works Lirio Housing Development Fund Corporation, dated March 27, 2024. Later permits name Housing Is A Human Right LLC as owner.
  • Developers and architect: Hudson Companies says it worked "in partnership with Housing Works". The permit's applicant is CetraRuddy Architecture DPC.
  • The name: Hudson says it is "Named after the oldest living tree in NYC".
Rendering seen from above of a nine-story red-brown brick building on a street corner, with green planted roofs on two setbacks, a rooftop garden, solar panels and a gray screened rooftop structure, street trees along both sidewalks, crosswalks, cars and a yellow taxi on the avenue, and older walk-up buildings around it
Aerial rendering of The Lirio by CetraRuddy Architecture, showing the setbacks with green roofs and a rooftop garden. A smaller copy is on the Housing Connect listing. Shown at its own size on a plain background. Photo: CetraRuddy Architecture (rendering), architect's rendering, published on the Housing Connect listing, via NYC Housing Connect, The Lirio (lottery 7597) (shown at native 806 x 720 (not enlarged), no crop, centered on a plain light gray 1600 x 900 background).
The rest of the building, in its sources' words
  • Supportive apartmentsHudson says "The Lirio will provide 67 units of supportive housing for formerly homeless individuals."
  • Who they are forYIMBY wrote in 2024 that the 67 include "59 units targeted for long-term survivors of HIV/AIDS". The City Planning report says "59 of which would be supportive housing".
  • How they are filledthe listing says those units are for people "who are referred by city agencies". "The units listed in this notice are only those made available to the general public."
  • Not housingCity Planning describes about 30,466 square feet of MTA office space, about 6,935 square feet of retail and about 1,500 square feet "for tenant support services".

What it means: the lottery covered only the 44 apartments open to the public.

Source: Hudson Companies' project page; New York YIMBY, July 19, 2024; City Planning Commission report C 220221 (A) ZSM, June 8, 2022; Housing Connect listing.

806 Ninth Avenue, from parking lot to lottery
  • 2009HPD gets the right to sell the lot in the Western Rail Yards rezoning, per City Planning.
  • March 2019Hudson and Housing Works are picked for the site, per their presentation to Community Board 4.
  • March 2, 2022Community Board 4 votes 32 to 7 to recommend disapproval, with conditions.
  • June 8, 2022the City Planning Commission approves the land use applications.
  • August 11, 2022the zoning text change is adopted, per City Planning's Zoning Resolution site.
  • March 27, 2024the City deeds the lot, and the loans are signed.
  • July 17, 2024groundbreaking, per amNY.
  • September 14, 2026the Housing Connect lottery opens, per the City's lottery data.
  • October 5, 2026applications are due.

What it means: no certificate of occupancy for the building was in the City's certificate data on October 20, 2026.

Source: City Planning Commission reports C 220221 (A) ZSM and C 220220 ZMM; Community Board 4 presentation, September 30, 2021; ACRIS; amNY; the City's lottery data.

Where the sources differ on the building
  • Floor area157,283 square feet in the permit. Hudson's page says "145K". The 2022 City Planning report says about 129,509.
  • Height99 feet in the permit. The 2022 City Planning report gives a "maximum building height of 95 feet".
  • Income levelsin 2022, City Planning described the 44 units as for households "earning between 40 and 80 percent of AMI". The 2026 listing runs from 30% to 120% AMI.
  • Council approvalCurbed wrote that the project was approved "In July" 2022. Commercial Observer wrote "August 2022".

What it means: no page opened explains the floor area or height differences.

Source: the filings, reports and articles named.

The Programs the Listing Names

The listing says the building "is being constructed through the Supportive Housing Loan Program and The Inclusionary Housing Program" of HPD.

The two programs in HPD's words
  • Supportive Housing Loan Program"Projects developed with SHLP funding must provide 60% of units for homeless, disabled individuals or homeless families with a disabled head-of-household. The remaining 40% can be rented to households from the community earning up to 60% of the Area Median Income."
  • Inclusionary Housing Program"The Inclusionary Housing Program (IHP) is designed to promote and preserve affordable housing where zoning has been modified to encourage new development." HPD lists several parts, including Mandatory and Voluntary Inclusionary Housing.
  • What no record sayswhich part of the Inclusionary Housing Program applies. The listing's top level, 120% AMI, is above the 60% on HPD's SHLP page.

What it means: no page opened explains how the two programs fit together here.

Source: Housing Connect listing; HPD's supportive housing and Inclusionary Housing Program pages.

Where The Lirio Is: Hell's Kitchen, Manhattan, ZIP 10019

The building is at the corner of Ninth Avenue and West 54th Street, in ZIP code 10019. It is in Manhattan Community District 4 and City Council District 3.

The location in the records
  • Hell's Kitchenthe listing says "Hell's Kitchen neighborhood of Manhattan". The permit's neighborhood field reads "Hell's Kitchen". City Planning wrote "Clinton/Hell's Kitchen".
  • The lotManhattan block 1044. The permit uses lot 15. PLUTO lists condominium lot 7502.
  • Next doorCity Planning says the rest of the old lot holds "the five-story MTA Rail Control Center (RCC) and Power Control Center (PCC) building".
  • ZIP code 10019the listing, the permit, HPD's data and PLUTO.

What it means: VoucherMatch files the building under Hell's Kitchen, the listing's word.

Source: the records named.

Photograph of West 54th Street with a tall windowless gray-paneled building and a long low gray building behind it, an ornate stone courthouse at left, a street lamp, dumpsters, and NYPD cars, an FDNY ambulance and other emergency vehicles parked along the curb under a blue sky
The MTA Rail Control Center at 354 West 54th Street in May 2026. City Planning says it shares the old lot with The Lirio, which stands at the Ninth Avenue end of the block. Photo: Oleg Yunakov, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Oleg Yunakov, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 and reduced from 5712 x 4284).
Subway stations nearest The Lirio
StationLinesDistanceStep-free access
50 StC, Eabout 0.2 milesDowntown only
50 St1about 0.3 milesNo
57 St-7 AvN, Q, R, Wabout 0.3 milesYes
7 AvB, D, Eabout 0.3 milesNo
59 St-Columbus Circle1, A, B, C, Dabout 0.3 milesYes
49 StN, R, Wabout 0.4 milesUptown only

What it means: the listing leaves out the C and E at 50 St, the closest station. It lists "1,2" at 50th St, where the MTA's data lists the 1.

Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.

  • Along the lines: see voucher apartments near the C train and the E train.
Photograph of an empty underground subway platform with white tiled walls, a black and white mosaic sign reading 50th St, blue steel columns marked 50 Street, ceiling lights and a red No Exit sign
The downtown C and E platform at 50 St in 2022, about 0.2 miles in a straight line from The Lirio. Photo: GeneralPunger, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: GeneralPunger, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 16:9 and reduced from 4000 x 3000).

44 Lottery Apartments at Five Income Levels

The lottery had 42 two-bedrooms and 2 three-bedrooms. Most, 25 of 44, were two-bedrooms at 77% AMI for $2,772 a month.

The 44 Housing Connect apartments at The Lirio, by income level (count)
View the data table
Income levelApartments
30% AMI, two-bedroom5
77% AMI, two-bedroom25
80% AMI, three-bedroom2
100% AMI, two-bedroom8
120% AMI, two-bedroom4

What it means: the City's lottery data counts 5 extremely low, 27 low and 12 moderate-income apartments, which matches these rows.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7597, read October 20, 2026.

HPD's data counts all 112 apartments: 51 studios, 6 one-bedrooms, 53 two-bedrooms and 2 three-bedrooms. It puts 72 at extremely low income, 27 at low, 12 at moderate and 1 "other".

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 364 West 54th Street

Rents run from $863 to $3,650 a month. Two to seven people can apply, earning $35,315 to $219,840 a year, depending on the apartment.

Rents and income ranges at The Lirio, by apartment type
ApartmentRentHouseholdYearly income
Two-bedroom, 30% AMI$8632 to 5 people$35,315 to $54,960
Two-bedroom, 77% AMI$2,7722 to 5 people$100,766 to $141,064
Three-bedroom, 80% AMI$3,1863 to 7 people$116,400 to $168,320
Two-bedroom, 100% AMI$3,2682 to 5 people$117,772 to $183,200
Two-bedroom, 120% AMI$3,6502 to 5 people$130,869 to $219,840

What it means: each row has one minimum income for every household size. The top of each range is the largest household's limit.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7597, read October 20, 2026.

Maximum yearly income by household size at The Lirio
Household30% AMI77% AMI120% AMI
2 people$40,710$104,489$162,840
3 people$45,810$117,579$183,240
4 people$50,880$130,592$203,520
5 people$54,960$141,064$219,840

What it means: the 100% AMI limits are $135,700, $152,700, $169,600 and $183,200. The three-bedroom limits run from $122,160 for 3 people to $168,320 for 7.

Source: Housing Connect listing.

The gaps a household could fall into
  • One personno apartment. Every row starts at two people.
  • Under $35,315below every minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Between the bandstwo to five people earning above the 30% AMI limit and under $100,766 fit no apartment.
  • Two people, $104,490 to $117,771above the 77% limit and below the 100% minimum.
  • Six or seven peopleonly the two three-bedrooms fit, from $116,400 to $157,440 for six and $168,320 for seven.
  • Asset limits$50,880 at 30% AMI, $130,592 at 77%, $135,680 at 80%, $169,600 at 100% and $203,520 at 120%.

What it means: the FAQ sets the asset limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at that AMI level.

Source: Housing Connect listing and rent table; gaps by VoucherMatch from the listing's own ranges.

Rendering of a bathroom with gray striped wall tile, a white bathtub with a wall shower head, a light wood vanity with a white sink, a mirror and light above it, a white wall cabinet, a toilet with a rubber duck on folded towels, and a small potted plant
Rendering of a bathroom at The Lirio from its Housing Connect listing, which does not name who made it. Shown whole on a plain background. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7597 (rendering; maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, The Lirio (lottery 7597) (reduced from 2000 x 1500 to 1200 x 900 (0.6 times), no crop, centered on a plain light gray 1600 x 900 background).
Watch outYIMBY printed the three-bedroom rent as $2,772, with incomes "ranging from $102,206 to $168,320". The listing shows $3,186 and a $116,400 minimum on October 20, 2026. 6sqft printed $3,186. Use the listing's figures, and ask the hotline if in doubt.

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

Three of the five rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum: 32 of the 44 apartments. The 100% and 120% AMI two-bedrooms, at $3,268 and $3,650, are above the $2,997 two-bedroom maximum.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lowest and highest monthly rent at The Lirio against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rent2026 maximum
View the data table
ApartmentLowest rentHighest rent2026 maximum
Two-bedroom$863$3,650$2,997
Three-bedroom$3,186$3,186$3,753

What it means: the $2,772 two-bedroom is $225 under the maximum, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, which gives maximums "if all utilities are included in the lease".

ApartmentRentPlus electricity2026 maximum
Two-bedroom, 30% AMI$863$1,005$2,997
Two-bedroom, 77% AMI$2,772$2,914$2,997
Three-bedroom, 80% AMI$3,186$3,362$3,753

What it means: the listing says "Rent includes water and gas for heating. Tenant responsible for electricity". So only the electric line is added. The $2,772 rent stays $83 under.

Source: DSS-8r's 2026 "Electric" line, $142 for a two-bedroom and $176 for a three-bedroom.

Key pointthe listing does not say whether the stove is gas or electric. If it is electric, DSS uses its "Electric with Cooking Range" line, $167 for a two-bedroom, and the $2,772 rent stays $58 under. DSS decides which allowance applies.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 10019

Every lottery rent is below HUD's fiscal year 2027 figure for ZIP code 10019. The top rent, $3,650, is $770 below the $4,420 two-bedroom figure.

Lowest and highest monthly rent at The Lirio against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 10019, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rentHUD figure, ZIP 10019
View the data table
ApartmentLowest rentHighest rentHUD figure, ZIP 10019
Two-bedroom$863$3,650$4,420
Three-bedroom$3,186$3,186$5,590

What it means: HUD's figure includes most utilities. With the $142 electric line, the $3,650 rent is still $628 below, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026.

How The Lirio Was Financed

Property records show five mortgages signed on March 27, 2024, the day the City deeded the lot. The news reports give three different totals.

Mortgages recorded on Manhattan block 1044, March 27, 2024
LenderDocumentsTotal
Webster Bank3 mortgages$104,491,729
City of New York, HPD1 mortgage$40,090,259
Merchants Capital1 mortgage$988,550

What it means: the five come to $145,570,538. The borrowers are the Housing Development Fund Corporation and Housing Is A Human Right LLC.

Source: ACRIS, Manhattan block 1044, recorded April 5, 2024; totals by VoucherMatch's addition.

  • YIMBY and amNY: both reported "$119 million" in financing. YIMBY said March 2024; amNY said "In April".
  • Commercial Observer: "more than $104.5 million in construction financing". It also wrote that HPD gave "$42.4 million". ACRIS shows a $42,455,740 Webster Bank mortgage and a $40,090,259 HPD mortgage.
  • 6sqft: "$62 million in construction financing", citing a press release.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at The Lirio

The listing set aside apartments for people with disabilities and gave preference to Manhattan Community Board 4 residents and to City workers and veterans. Tenants pay electricity.

Preferences in the listing
  • Mobility disability5% of apartments.
  • Vision or hearing disability2%.
  • "Community Board Resident (Manhattan CB 04)"20%.
  • "Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran"10%.

What it means: the FAQ says project preferences "may include" veterans. This listing combines City workers and veterans at 10%.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7597; the City's lottery data.

What the building has: listed and not stated
  • Listedbike storage lockers, shared laundry room, gym, community center, media room, outdoor areas, elevator, and a smoke-free building.
  • In the advertisement's words"24-hour attended lobby, on-site resident manager, sun terrace, fitness center, library, party rooms, and elevator".
  • Utilitiestenants pay electricity. Water and gas for heating are included.
  • Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
  • Not statedpets, apartment sizes, bathrooms and any amenity fees.

What it means: no amenity in the list is marked as extra cost.

Source: Housing Connect listing.

Watch out, October 20, 2026VoucherMatch left out the renderings in the developers' 2021 Community Board 4 presentation. They show gray brick, while the listing's renderings show red-brown brick. A site photo in that file is a Street View image. A small listing image is a thumbnail of the corner rendering at the top.

What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 44 apartments were due October 5, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Active".

How the 44 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3TimingHPD's guide says "You may hear about the status of your application within two to twelve months after the deadline."
  4. 4No replythe guide adds that "you may not be contacted, even if you could have qualified."

What it means: the lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased.

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"

What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 20, 2026
  • Housing Connectlottery 7597 was not among the 20 rentals in the site's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found there. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect", on HPD's and HDC's re-rental pages.
  • Paper routeunder "Apply by Mail", Housing Connect said "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" P.O. Box 1103, 25 New York Avenue, Sound Beach, NY 11789. The listing gives no return address or postmark rule.
  • PostmarkYIMBY wrote that applications had to be "postmarked or submitted online no later than October 5, 2026".
  • Who runs the lotterythe listing does not name a marketing agent. 6sqft wrote that questions "must be referred to NYC’s Housing Connect department by dialing 311."

What it means: as of October 20, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search (2 Manhattan rentals); the City's lottery data; the listing.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About The Lirio

The rents, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. A move-in date is not.

Known and not yet known on October 20, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publisheda certificate of occupancy, a move-in date, how many apartments are leased, and whether the building keeps a waiting list.
  • Not statedthe pet policy, the stove type, apartment sizes and who runs the lottery.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

What it means: YIMBY wrote in 2024 that completion was "slated for November 2026, as noted on site".

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; city records named above.

If You Need an Apartment Now

No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.

  • Open in Manhattan now: Housing Connect's search listed 345 East 17th Street Apartments, due November 9, 2026, and 1 Gouverneur Lane, due November 17, 2026.
Manhattan apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to The Lirio first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Manhattan listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was The Lirio at 364 West 54th Street on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. The Lirio was lottery 7597 on NYC Housing Connect. It offered 44 apartments at 364 West 54th Street in Hell's Kitchen for $863 to $3,650 a month. Applications were due October 5, 2026. As of October 20, 2026, no newer listing for the building was open, and no waiting list was posted.

What is the rent at The Lirio?

Rents run from $863 to $3,650 a month. Five two-bedrooms rent for $863 and 25 for $2,772. Eight rent for $3,268 and four for $3,650. The two three-bedrooms rent for $3,186. Tenants pay electricity. Water and gas for heating are included in the rent.

How much do you have to earn for The Lirio?

It depends on the apartment. The lowest minimum is $35,315 a year, for the $863 two-bedrooms. The other minimums run from $100,766 to $130,869. The top limit is $219,840, for five people at 120% AMI. A household with a voucher does not have to meet the minimum.

Does The Lirio take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts both, and the minimum income does not apply to voucher holders. Three rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums: $863 and $2,772 for a two-bedroom, and $3,186 for a three-bedroom. The $3,268 and $3,650 two-bedrooms are above the $2,997 maximum. Ask DSS or your housing authority first.

Is 806 Ninth Avenue the same building as 364 West 54th Street?

Yes. City Planning, YIMBY and 6sqft use 806 Ninth Avenue. The listing, HPD and the building permit use 364 West 54th Street. PLUTO uses 362 West 54th Street. It is one building on Manhattan block 1044, at the corner of Ninth Avenue and West 54th Street, called The Lirio.

Is The Lirio supportive housing?

Partly. Hudson says 67 of the 112 apartments are supportive housing for formerly homeless individuals. The listing says those are filled by referral from city agencies. The 44 lottery apartments were open to the public. The building also holds MTA offices, stores and space for tenant support services.

Are the rents at The Lirio below market?

Yes, by HUD's figure. HUD's fiscal year 2027 two-bedroom figure for ZIP code 10019 is $4,420. The highest lottery rent, $3,650, is $770 below it. The three-bedroom rent of $3,186 is $2,404 below HUD's $5,590. HUD's figures include most utilities; tenants here pay electricity.

Can I still apply to The Lirio?

No application is open as of October 20, 2026. The deadline was October 5, 2026, and lottery 7597 was not in Housing Connect's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found. Watch housingconnect.nyc.gov for new lotteries, and check HPD's and HDC's re-rental pages for vacant apartments.

Sources for this article (25)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7597 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  4. certificate of occupancy records (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  5. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  6. lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  7. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  8. C 220221 (A) ZSM (nyc.gov)
  9. C 220220 ZMM (nyc.gov)
  10. Zoning Resolution's adoption page (zoningresolution.planning.nyc.gov)
  11. Community Board 4 presentation (cbmanhattan.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. supportive housing (nyc.gov)
  13. Inclusionary Housing Program (nyc.gov)
  14. applying guide (nyc.gov)
  15. Hudson Companies' project page (hudsoninc.com)
  16. New York YIMBY (newyorkyimby.com)
  17. 6sqft (6sqft.com)
  18. amNY (amny.com)
  19. Commercial Observer (commercialobserver.com)
  20. Curbed (curbed.com)
  21. station data (data.ny.gov)
  22. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  23. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  24. HPD's (nyc.gov)
  25. HDC's (nychdc.com)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.