Skip to page content

The Garrison, 151 Carlton Avenue, Fort Greene: 15 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect at $3,500 a Month

22 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerThe Garrison is a new eight-story building at 151 Carlton Avenue in Fort Greene, Brooklyn. It has 63 apartments. NYC Housing Connect ran two lotteries for its 130% AMI one-bedrooms. The first offered 19 at $3,661 a month, due July 3, 2025. A "Units Still Available" lottery offered 15 at $3,500, due February 16, 2026. Both rents are over the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum and over HUD's figure for ZIP code 11205. As of October 23, 2026, a re-rental page listed four of the apartments.

Last checked: October 23, 2026, against the Housing Connect listings for lottery 7409 and lottery 7099, their rent tables and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, each read at the start and end of the work; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's 421-a page, re-rental page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings filings (job B00577160), older filings and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data (project 77066); the City's lottery data by lottery and by building; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 2073, lot 21; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; iAfford's re-rental page and its application form; and two New York YIMBY reports (September 2021 and June 2025). How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

The Garrison in numbers
  • 15one-bedrooms in the "Units Still Available" lottery
  • $3,500the rent in that lottery, at 130% AMI
  • 19one-bedrooms in the first lottery, at $3,661
  • 63apartments in the permit and the certificate of occupancy
  • February 16, 2026the second lottery's deadline
  • July 3, 2025the first lottery's deadline

Source: Housing Connect listings for lotteries 7409 and 7099, read October 23, 2026; Department of Buildings job B00577160 and its certificate of occupancy records.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
Rendering at dusk of an eight-story apartment building faced in dark gray brick with light vertical bands, glass balconies at the corners and a set-back roof level with plants, a pale stone ground floor with a lit lobby entrance, a red-brick building at right, a parked pickup truck and a striped parking lane in the foreground
Rendering of The Garrison, 151 Carlton Avenue, from its Housing Connect listing, which does not name who made it. Shown at its original size. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7409 (rendering; maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, The Garrison Units Still Available (lottery 7409) (the listing's 480 x 407 image placed at its original size on a plain light gray 1600 x 900 background (not enlarged)).

What Was Built at The Garrison, 151 Carlton Avenue

The Garrison is a new eight-story building with 63 apartments and a store on the ground floor. Its permit calls it a "NEW EIGHT STORY AND CELLAR MIXED USE BUILDING."

  • Names and addresses: Housing Connect calls it "The Garrison" at 151 Carlton Avenue. HPD's data calls it "151 CARLTON AVE APARTMENTS". PLUTO, ACRIS and older City filings use 340 Myrtle Avenue for the same lot.
  • Permit: job B00577160 lists eight stories, 85 feet, 63 apartments and 62,405 square feet.
  • Certificates of occupancy: the first, dated May 20, 2025, covers 63 dwelling units. A final one was issued March 13, 2026.
  • Owner: the permit's owner field names Bruklyn Builders Inc. The 2023 deed and PLUTO name 340 Myrtle Development LLC.
  • Architect: the permit's applicant firm is S. Wieder Architect P.C.
  • Before construction: a 2022 filing was for "FULL DEMOLITION OF EXISTING 1-STORY BUILDING" at 340 Myrtle Avenue.
  • The store: three 2026 sign permits are for "MET FRESH".
Rendering of an open living and kitchen space with floor-to-ceiling windows on two sides looking over low brick buildings toward a city skyline, a white armchair and sofa, a wood kitchen island with a dark counter and two stools, a dark tiled wall with open shelves and light wood floors
Rendering of a living room and kitchen at The Garrison from the Housing Connect listing. The listing does not give apartment sizes. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7409 (rendering; maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, The Garrison Units Still Available (lottery 7409) (the listing's 640 x 480 image placed at its original size on a plain light gray 1600 x 900 background (not enlarged)).
The Garrison at 151 Carlton Avenue, from the permit filing to the second lottery
  • August 23, 2021the new building application is filed.
  • August 18, 2023340 Myrtle Development LLC buys the lot for $13,220,000.
  • September 9, 2024the new building permit is issued.
  • May 20, 2025the first certificate of occupancy is issued.
  • June 4 to July 3, 2025the first Housing Connect lottery, 7099, takes applications.
  • January 15 to February 16, 2026the "Units Still Available" lottery, 7409, takes applications.
  • March 13, 2026the final certificate of occupancy is issued.
  • October 5, 2026the City's lottery data shows both lotteries in "Tenant Selection".

What it means: the first certificate of occupancy came before the first lottery opened.

Source: Department of Buildings job B00577160 and certificate of occupancy records; ACRIS; the City's lottery data.

Where the sources differ on the building
  • Apartment count63 in the permit, the certificates, HPD's data and PLUTO. Sign and scaffold filings list 58; a curb cut filing lists 66.
  • The 2021 planYIMBY's September 2021 report on permits for 340 Myrtle Avenue described "a seven-story mixed-use building" with "43 residences". It named Rawlings Architects. The permit now lists eight stories, 63 apartments and S. Wieder Architect P.C. No record opened explains the change.
  • DeveloperYIMBY's June 2025 report says "Developed by Bruklyn Builders Inc." and names Input Creative Studio for the interiors.

What it means: this report prints each figure with its source.

Source: the filings, records and reports named.

The Program the Listings Name

Both listings say the building "is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421-a Tax Incentive Program". The first listing's description says "421a (16) Affordability Option C, the units will be marketed at 130% AMI".

421-a in HPD's words
  • 421-a"The 421-a Tax Incentive is a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings."
  • Option C, under 421-a(16)"At least 30% of the units must be affordable at up to 130% of AMI"; "The project cannot receive any government subsidies".
  • Common areasaffordable units "must share the same common entrances and common areas as the market rate units".

What it means: the listing says the exemption is "anticipated". No document opened says it was granted.

Source: HPD's 421-a page, section "421-a (16) Affordable Housing New York Program"; Housing Connect listing for lottery 7099.

Where The Garrison Is: Fort Greene, Brooklyn, ZIP 11205

The building is in Fort Greene, ZIP code 11205, in Brooklyn Community District 2 and City Council District 35. Fort Greene Park is about 0.2 miles away in a straight line.

The location in the records
  • Fort Greenethe permit's neighborhood field, the certificate records and the City's lottery data (area BK0203). The listing says "the heart of Fort Greene".
  • ZIP code 11205the listings, the permit, HPD's data, PLUTO and GeoSearch.
  • The lotBrooklyn block 2073, lot 21. PLUTO lists it as a corner lot at 340 Myrtle Avenue.
  • Nearby, in the listingPS 20 The Clinton Hill School, about 0.2 miles, and The Brooklyn Hospital Center, about 0.3 miles.

What it means: VoucherMatch's ZIP list files 11205 under Fort Greene and Clinton Hill.

Source: the records named; distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point.

StationLinesDistanceAccessible
Fulton StGabout 0.4 milesNo
Clinton-Washington AvsGabout 0.5 milesNo
Lafayette AvCabout 0.5 milesNo
DeKalb AvB, Q, Rabout 0.5 milesYes
Nevins St2, 3, 4, 5about 0.5 milesNo
Atlantic Av-Barclays Ctr2, 3, 4, 5, B, Qabout 0.6 milesYes
Atlantic Av-Barclays CtrD, N, Rabout 0.7 milesYes

What it means: the listing names DeKalb Ave with "B,D,N,Q,R" trains; the MTA's data lists B, Q and R there. The listing leaves out Lafayette Av.

Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.

  • Bus: the listing names a stop at Vanderbilt Avenue and DeKalb Avenue, about 0.3 miles away.
  • Along the lines: see voucher apartments near the G train and the C train.

Two Lotteries, All One-Bedrooms at 130% AMI

Every lottery apartment at The Garrison is a one-bedroom at 130% AMI. The first lottery had 19 and the second had 15.

One-bedrooms in each Housing Connect lottery for The Garrison
View the data table
LotteryApartments
7099, due July 3, 202519
7409, due February 16, 202615

What it means: HPD's production data counts 19 middle-income one-bedrooms in the building.

Source: Housing Connect listings for lotteries 7099 and 7409, counted by VoucherMatch from their unit rows, read October 23, 2026. The City's lottery data gives the same counts.

Key pointthe second lottery is named "The Garrison Units Still Available". Its listing says only that 15 apartments are offered. It does not say why they were still available or how many people applied the first time.
Rendering of an empty open kitchen with a light wood peninsula topped in dark stone with a black faucet, dark gray cabinets, a built-in microwave above a wall oven, a stainless-steel refrigerator, small framed prints on a white wall and light wood floors
Rendering of a kitchen at The Garrison from the Housing Connect listing, which does not name who made it or say which apartments it shows. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7409 (rendering; maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, The Garrison Units Still Available (lottery 7409) (the listing's 640 x 480 image placed at its original size on a plain light gray 1600 x 900 background (not enlarged)).

Rents and Income Ranges at 151 Carlton Avenue on Housing Connect

The second lottery's rent is $3,500 a month, and the first lottery's was $3,661. Both took one to three people, with incomes up to $198,510 a year.

LotteryRentPeopleYearly income
7409, 12 apartments$3,5001 to 3$125,623 to $198,510
7409, 3 apartments$3,5001 to 3$125,932 to $198,510
7099, 19 apartments$3,6611 to 3$125,520 to $198,510

What it means: the second listing's rent table prints $125,623 for all 15 apartments. Three of its unit rows say $125,932. Ask the hotline which applies.

Source: Housing Connect listings for lotteries 7409 and 7099, read October 23, 2026. The top of each range is for three people.

Household sizeMaximum yearly income
1 person$154,440
2 people$176,410
3 people$198,510

What it means: income before taxes has to be at or under the number for the household's size.

Source: both listings give the same maximums.

The gaps a household could fall into
  • Under $125,623below the second lottery's minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • One person over $154,440above the maximum.
  • Two people over $176,410, or three over $198,510above the maximum.
  • Four or more peopleno apartment in either listing takes them.
  • Assetsboth rent tables list an asset limit of $220,480.

What it means: the FAQ sets the asset limit at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's AMI level.

Source: VoucherMatch's reading of the listings' incomes; asset limits from their rent tables.

The first lottery's figures in the listing and in the news
  • Income rangeYIMBY's June 2025 report printed "$125,520 to $189,540". The listing now shows $125,520 to $198,510.
  • Rent and countYIMBY printed 19 one-bedrooms at $3,661, the same as the listing.
  • Second lotteryits rent is $161 lower, but its minimum income is higher.

What it means: no page opened says why the figures differ.

Source: New York YIMBY, June 21, 2025; Housing Connect listings, October 23, 2026; difference by VoucherMatch.

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

Neither rent at The Garrison fits under the 2026 CityFHEPS one-bedroom maximum of $2,734. The $3,500 rent is $766 over it before utility allowances.

These were city lotteries on NYC Housing Connect, and both listings name HPD as the agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Monthly rent at The Garrison, rent plus utility allowances, and the 2026 CityFHEPS one-bedroom maximum, in dollars
RentRent plus allowances2026 maximum
View the data table
LotteryRentRent plus allowances2026 maximum
7409$3,500$3,688$2,734
7099$3,661$3,849$2,734

What it means: with allowances, the rents are $954 and $1,115 over.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listings; maximum and allowances from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, which calls the maximums the amounts "if all utilities are included in the lease". The allowance adds the one-bedroom "Electric with Cooking Range" ($126) and "Electric Heat Only" ($62) lines: $188, by VoucherMatch's addition.

Key pointboth listings say "Tenants are responsible for electricity including stove and heat. Rent includes hot water." So the chart uses only the electric cooking and electric heat lines. DSS decides which allowances apply.
Rendering of a bedroom with a gray upholstered bed and bench on a gray rug, two black reading lamps, a framed abstract print, a small dressing table with a round mirror and stool, a potted tree and a floor-to-ceiling window over brick row houses
Rendering of a bedroom at The Garrison from the Housing Connect listing, which does not name who made it. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7409 (rendering; maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, The Garrison Units Still Available (lottery 7409) (the listing's 640 x 480 image placed at its original size on a plain light gray 1600 x 900 background (not enlarged)).

How The Garrison's Rents Compare With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 11205

Both lottery rents are above HUD's fiscal year 2027 one-bedroom figure for ZIP code 11205, which is $3,410 a month. The $3,500 rent is $90 above it, and the $3,661 rent was $251 above.

Monthly one-bedroom lottery rents at The Garrison against HUD's fiscal year 2027 figure for ZIP code 11205, in dollars
Lottery rentHUD figure, ZIP 11205
View the data table
LotteryLottery rentHUD figure, ZIP 11205
7409$3,500$3,410
7099$3,661$3,410

What it means: HUD's figure includes most utilities. The lottery rent leaves out electricity, so the gap is wider once bills are paid.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listings; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026.

How The Garrison Was Financed

Property records show private mortgages, most recently a $49,975,000 agreement with Zions Bancorporation in June 2025. No document in the index names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as lender.

Recorded documents on Brooklyn block 2073, lot 21, since 2023
DateDocumentPartiesAmount
August 18, 2023DeedF&D Myrtle Realty Co., LLC to 340 Myrtle Development LLC$13,220,000
August and December 2023Mortgages340 Myrtle Development LLC to S3 RE 340 Myrtle Funding LLC$8,900,000; $18,000,000; $6,600,000
September 26, 2024Easement340 Myrtle Development LLC to the NYS Department of Environmental Conservationnone listed
June 20, 2025Mortgage and agreement340 Myrtle Development LLC to Zions Bancorporation, N.A.$16,965,371.82; $49,975,000

What it means: the index does not say what the easement covers. HPD's 421-a page says an Option C project "cannot receive any government subsidies".

Source: ACRIS, Brooklyn block 2073, lot 21.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at The Garrison

Neither listing names a preference group or a disability set-aside. Tenants pay electricity, and the listing says the building is pet-friendly.

Preferences in the listings
  • Community board, City employees, veteransnone named in either listing.
  • Disability set-asidesnone named.
  • What the FAQ saysthe community board preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."

What it means: ask the hotline before counting on a preference here.

Source: Housing Connect listings for lotteries 7409 and 7099; Housing Connect FAQ, "What are the preferences?".

What the building has: listed, extra cost, not stated
  • Listeda gym, media room, recreation room, business center, rooftop terrace, sundeck, "BBQ Grills & Prep kitchen", co-working space, storage, package lockers, a "Digital doorman", an elevator and an accessible entrance.
  • In the apartmentsair conditioning, hardwood floors, a patio or balcony and an intercom.
  • LaundryHousing Connect lists a "Shared laundry room". iAfford's page lists "In-unit Washer/dryer". Ask which applies.
  • Pets"The building is pet-friendly." No pet rules or fees are stated.
  • Utilitiestenants pay "electricity including stove and heat". "Rent includes hot water."
  • Fees to applyeach listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
  • Not statedapartment sizes, bathrooms, and whether any amenity costs extra.

What it means: the listing also calls the building "Smoke-free".

Source: Housing Connect listings; iAfford's re-rental record.

Rendering of a roof terrace at sunset with a long stone counter holding a built-in grill, two dining tables with wooden chairs, planters with shrubs and small trees, gray paving stones and a city skyline in the distance
Rendering of the roof terrace with grills at The Garrison from the Housing Connect listing. The listing names "BBQ Grills & Prep kitchen" among the amenities. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7409 (rendering; maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, The Garrison Units Still Available (lottery 7409) (the listing's 640 x 360 image placed at its original size on a plain light gray 1600 x 900 background (not enlarged)).
Watch outall seven listing images, checked October 23, 2026, appear to be computer renderings, not photographs. The listing does not label them or name who made them. This report calls each one a rendering. The listing's living room image was left out for space.

What Happened After the Housing Connect Lotteries at 151 Carlton Avenue

Applications for the second lottery were due February 16, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, both lotteries are in "Tenant Selection".

How a Housing Connect lottery is filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documentsthe applicant answers a request for documents, which "includes all required items to submit".
  4. 4TimingHPD's guide says "It may take 2 to 12 months for applications to be processed."

What it means: the lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased.

Source: steps one and three from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two and four from HPD's applying guide.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"

What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where openings at The Garrison are posted, checked October 23, 2026
  • Housing Connectneither lottery was among the 23 rentals in the open-lottery search, at 12:01 a.m. or at 12:15 a.m. No newer listing for the building was found there or in the City's lottery data.
  • Paper routeunder "Apply by Mail", Housing Connect said "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" The Garrison Units Still Available, C/O Iafford, 365 Flushing Ave Suite 503, Brooklyn, NY 11205. The listing gives no return address or postmark rule.
  • Postmarkfor the first lottery, YIMBY wrote "Applications must be postmarked or submitted online no later than July 3, 2025."
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HPD's re-rental page lists iAfford among the companies to contact.

What it means: the City's data shows no new lottery for the building.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search and listings; the City's lottery data; HPD; YIMBY.

iAfford's re-rental listing for The Garrison, read October 23, 2026
  • What it lists"The Garrison - OM Units": four one-bedrooms at $3,500, at 130% AMI, for one to three people earning $125,623 to $198,510.
  • How it worksits application form says "Applications are selected on a first-come, first-served basis."
  • How to send itthe form says "Send by standard mail only" but also "Email completed application to:" an iAfford address. It gives no mailing address.
  • Voucher rulethe form says a voucher holder "must still meet the maximum income and household size requirements."
  • Whom to askiAfford's re-rental page, 718-412-2600 extension 255, or info@iafford.nyc.

What it means: this is not a Housing Connect lottery, and the page gives no deadline.

Source: iAfford's re-rental page and its application form for "151 Carlton Avenue - 7477/OM".

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About The Garrison

The rents, incomes, deadlines and lottery status are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.

Known and not yet known on October 23, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedhow many lottery apartments have been offered or leased, and why 15 were advertised again.
  • Not settledwhich minimum income applies to three apartments in the second lottery, and whether laundry is shared or in the unit.
  • Not confirmedwhether the 421-a exemption was granted, and what the state easement covers.
  • Not explainedhow iAfford's four apartments relate to the 15 in the second lottery.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

What it means: check each line again before acting on it.

Source: Housing Connect listings and FAQ; city records named above; iAfford.

If You Need an Apartment Now

No Housing Connect lottery is open at The Garrison, so a household that needs to move sooner has to look elsewhere.

  • Open in Brooklyn now: Housing Connect's search listed 12 Brooklyn rentals on October 23, 2026, including 899 Fulton Street in Clinton Hill.
Brooklyn apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to The Garrison first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was The Garrison at 151 Carlton Avenue on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes, twice. Lottery 7099 offered 19 one-bedrooms at $3,661 a month, due July 3, 2025. Lottery 7409, "The Garrison Units Still Available", offered 15 at $3,500, due February 16, 2026. As of October 23, 2026, the City's data listed both in "Tenant Selection", and neither was in the open-lottery search.

What is the rent at The Garrison?

The rent in the second lottery is $3,500 a month for a one-bedroom at 130% AMI. The first lottery's rent was $3,661. Tenants pay electricity, including the stove and heat. Rent includes hot water. The listings do not give apartment sizes or say whether any amenity costs extra.

How much do you have to earn for The Garrison?

The second lottery's rent table starts at $125,623 a year, though three of its unit rows say $125,932. The top limit is $154,440 for one person, $176,410 for two and $198,510 for three. Households of four or more do not fit. Voucher holders skip the minimum on Housing Connect.

Does The Garrison take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts vouchers, but the rent must fit the voucher. The $3,500 rent is $766 over the 2026 CityFHEPS one-bedroom maximum of $2,734, and $954 over with utility allowances. The first lottery's $3,661 rent was further over. NYCHA and HPD set their own Section 8 limits, so ask your agency first.

Is 340 Myrtle Avenue the same building as The Garrison?

Yes. PLUTO, ACRIS and older City filings use 340 Myrtle Avenue for Brooklyn block 2073, lot 21. That is the lot of 151 Carlton Avenue, the address in both listings and the permit. HPD calls the project "151 CARLTON AVE APARTMENTS", and the owner of record is 340 Myrtle Development LLC.

Are the rents at The Garrison below market?

No, not by HUD's figure. HUD's fiscal year 2027 one-bedroom figure for ZIP code 11205 is $3,410 a month. The $3,500 lottery rent is $90 above it, and the earlier $3,661 rent was $251 above. HUD's figure includes most utilities, while the lottery rent leaves out electricity.

Can I still apply to The Garrison?

Not through Housing Connect as of October 23, 2026. Both deadlines have passed, and neither lottery was in the open-lottery search. iAfford's re-rental page listed four one-bedrooms at $3,500 that day, filled "first-come, first-served". Call iAfford at 718-412-2600 extension 255 before sending anything, and never pay to apply.

Sources for this article (22)
  1. lottery 7409 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. lottery 7099 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  4. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  5. 421-a page (nyc.gov)
  6. re-rental page (nyc.gov)
  7. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  8. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  9. filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. older filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  13. by lottery (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  14. by building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  15. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  16. ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
  17. GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
  18. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  19. station data (data.ny.gov)
  20. re-rental page (iaffordny.com)
  21. September 2021 (newyorkyimby.com)
  22. June 2025 (newyorkyimby.com)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.