The Franklin, 280 West 132nd Street, Harlem: 16 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,998 a Month
Quick answerThe Franklin at 280 West 132nd Street is a new eight-story building with 52 apartments in Harlem, Manhattan. NYC Housing Connect advertised 16 of them, all at 130% AMI: nine one-bedrooms at $2,998 and seven two-bedrooms at $3,243 a month. Applications were due February 5, 2026. As of October 22, 2026, the City's data lists the lottery in "Tenant Selection". Both rents are over the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list.
Last checked: October 22 and 23, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7301, its rent table and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, each read at the start and the end of the work; the Housing Connect FAQ; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings DOB NOW filings for job M00686955 and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data (project 77635); the City's lottery data and lottery building data; PLUTO; ACRIS for Manhattan block 1937, lot 65; City Planning's address search; HPD's 421-a page, re-rental page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; HDC's re-rental search; Reside New York's property page; the leasing site The Franklin; New York YIMBY's March 9, 2022 report; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.
- 16apartments in the Housing Connect lottery
- 52apartments in the building, in city records
- $2,998the rent for each of the nine one-bedrooms
- $3,243the rent for each of the seven two-bedrooms
- February 5, 2026the application deadline
- September 24, 2025the first certificate of occupancy
What it means: the building had its first certificate of occupancy before the lottery opened.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7301, read October 22 and 23, 2026; Department of Buildings job M00686955 and its certificate of occupancy records.
- Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
- Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
- Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
- Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
- CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
- Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
- Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
- FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
- Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.

What Was Built at The Franklin, 280 West 132nd Street
The Franklin is an eight-story building with 52 apartments on West 132nd Street in Harlem. City records give it three street names.
- Names and addresses: Housing Connect calls the lottery "The Franklin Apartments" at 280 W 132nd St. The first certificate of occupancy uses 282 West 132nd Street. PLUTO, the City's lot database, lists the lot under Frederick Douglass Boulevard.
- Permit: Department of Buildings job M00686955 reads "Hereby filing a new 8 Story mixed use development." It lists 85 feet, 52 dwelling units and 52,052.6 square feet of construction floor area.
- One zoning lot: the same filing says the project "is on a single zoning lot with existing building "273 West 131 st' block 1937, lot 1." That older building is a separate lot.
- Certificate of occupancy: the first one, dated September 24, 2025, covers 52 dwelling units. The records list five renewals "Without Change", the latest on September 2, 2026.
- Architect: the permit's applicant is the firm Fischer Makooi Architects PLLC.
- Owner: PLUTO and ACRIS name 2460 FDB LP. The leasing site's team page shows the Timber Equities logo and says "Timber strives to enhance the communities it serves".

- Heightthe permit says 85 feet. YIMBY's March 9, 2022 report on the filing said "84-foot-tall".
- Floor areathe permit lists 52,052.6 square feet. YIMBY wrote that the building "will yield 89,022 square feet".
- Apartmentsthe permit, the certificates of occupancy and HPD's data say 52. PLUTO lists 94 residential units on lot 65.
- UseYIMBY wrote that the 52 homes were "most likely condos". The listing advertises rentals.
- ParkingYIMBY reported "56 enclosed parking spaces". The listing names garages and assigned parking spaces but no count.
What it means: no record opened explains the PLUTO count or the floor-area figure. Ask the Department of Buildings or the leasing office.
Source: DOB job M00686955; certificate of occupancy records; HPD project 77635; PLUTO (version 26v2); New York YIMBY, March 9, 2022, read through the Internet Archive.
- February 28, 2022the new building application is filed.
- November 18, 2022a deed moves lot 65 from 273 W 131 LLC to 2460 FDB LP for $2,418,900.
- June 20, 2023the plans are approved.
- February 21, 2024the first permit is issued.
- April 17, 2024three mortgages with Webster Bank are dated.
- August 7, 2025HPD's project start date.
- September 24, 2025the first certificate of occupancy is issued.
- December 31, 2025the Housing Connect lottery opens.
- February 5, 2026applications are due.
- March 20, 2026HPD's building completion date.
What it means: the first certificate of occupancy came about three months before the lottery opened.
Source: DOB job M00686955; certificate of occupancy records; ACRIS, Manhattan block 1937, lot 65; HPD project 77635; the City's lottery data.
The Program the Listing Names
The listing says: "This building is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421a Tax incentive program of the New York City Department of Housing Preservation and Development".
- 421-a in HPD's words: "The 421-a Tax Incentive is a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings."
- Two programs on HPD's page: HPD describes the "421-a (1-15) Program" and the "421-a (16) Affordable Housing New York Program". Each has its own rules.
- What is not stated: the listing names neither program and no option. No document opened says which applies or whether the exemption was granted.
Where The Franklin Is
The Franklin is in Harlem, Manhattan, in ZIP code 10027. It is in Manhattan Community District 10 and City Council District 9.
- Harlemthe leasing site and the floor plans say "Harlem, NYC". City Planning's address search says Central Harlem.
- Harlem (North)the area name in Department of Buildings records.
- The lotManhattan block 1937, lot 65, building number 1091747.
- ZIP code 10027in the listing, Department of Buildings, HPD and PLUTO records.
What it means: VoucherMatch files the building under Harlem.
Source: the records named.
| Station | Lines | Distance | Accessible |
|---|---|---|---|
| 135 St | B, C | about 0.25 miles | No |
| 125 St | A, B, C, D | about 0.33 miles | Yes |
| 135 St | 2, 3 | about 0.37 miles | Yes |
| 125 St | 2, 3 | about 0.47 miles | No |
| 125 St | 1 | about 0.56 miles | No |
| 137 St-City College | 1 | about 0.62 miles | Yes |
What it means: the closest station, 135 St on the B and C, has no accessible entrance in the MTA's data.
Source: the MTA's station data, lines by day and the "ADA" field; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.
16 Apartments in the Lottery, All at 130% AMI
The 16 lottery apartments are nine one-bedrooms and seven two-bedrooms. All are at 130% AMI. The listing has no studios and no lower income levels.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Apartments |
|---|---|
| One-bedroom | 9 |
| Two-bedroom | 7 |
What it means: the listing description says "16 units will be rented as Affordable Units at 130%".
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7301, counted by VoucherMatch from its 16 unit rows, read October 22 and 23, 2026. The City's lottery data and HPD's production data give the same counts.

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for The Franklin
The one-bedrooms rent for $2,998 and the two-bedrooms for $3,243 a month. Yearly income has to be between $108,412 and $238,160, depending on size.
| Apartments | Rent | People | Yearly income |
|---|---|---|---|
| 9 one-bedrooms | $2,998 | 1 to 3 | $108,412 to $198,510 |
| 7 two-bedrooms | $3,243 | 2 to 5 | $118,732 to $238,160 |
What it means: every household needs at least $108,412 a year, unless it has a voucher or rental subsidy.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7301, read October 22 and 23, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.
| Household size | One-bedroom range | Two-bedroom range |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $108,412 to $154,440 | Not allowed |
| 2 people | $108,412 to $176,410 | $118,732 to $176,410 |
| 3 people | $108,412 to $198,510 | $118,732 to $198,510 |
| 4 people | Not allowed | $118,732 to $220,480 |
| 5 people | Not allowed | $118,732 to $238,160 |
What it means: income before taxes has to fit the range for the household's size.
Source: the same listing.
- Below $108,412no apartment, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
- Four or five peopleonly the seven two-bedrooms, from $118,732 a year.
- Six or more peopleno apartment takes more than five.
- Assetsthe rent table sets an asset limit of $220,480 for both sizes.
What it means: with only one income level, there is no lower-rent option in this lottery.
Source: the listing's rent table and household sizes.

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches
Both rents are over the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums: the one-bedroom by $264 and the two-bedroom by $246 a month. Once tenant-paid utilities are counted, the gaps grow.
This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lottery rent | CityFHEPS maximum |
|---|---|---|
| One-bedroom | $2,998 | $2,734 |
| Two-bedroom | $3,243 | $2,997 |
What it means: each size has one rent, so the lowest and highest rent are the same figure.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, which calls them "the maximum rent amounts if all utilities are included in the lease", in effect since April 1, 2026.
The listing says: "Tenant is responsible for electric including stove, heat, and hot water." So VoucherMatch subtracts two DSS-8r rows: "Electric with Cooking Range" and "Total (Electric Heat & Hot Water)".
| Apartment size | CityFHEPS maximum | Less both allowances | Lottery rent |
|---|---|---|---|
| One-bedroom | $2,734 | $2,502 | $2,998 |
| Two-bedroom | $2,997 | $2,692 | $3,243 |
What it means: the one-bedroom rent is $496 over the adjusted maximum, and the two-bedroom is $551 over.
Source: DSS-8r, 2026 utility allowances ($126 and $106 for a one-bedroom, $167 and $138 for a two-bedroom); subtraction by VoucherMatch.
- Credit check: the FAQ says "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."
- Section 8: NYCHA and HPD set their own limits. See the New York City Housing Authority page and Section 8 payment standards in NYC for 2026. For allowances, read Section 8 utility allowances in NYC.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 10027
Both lottery rents are above HUD's fiscal year 2027 figures for ZIP code 10027. The one-bedroom is $398 over, and the two-bedroom is $413 over.
View the data table
| Apartment size | Lottery rent | HUD fair market rent, ZIP 10027 |
|---|---|---|
| One-bedroom | $2,998 | $2,600 |
| Two-bedroom | $3,243 | $2,830 |
What it means: these "affordable" rents are above HUD's figures even before the electric bill, which tenants pay.
Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, which include most utilities.
- Apartments in this ZIP code: see voucher apartments in ZIP 10027.
How The Franklin Was Financed
Property records show three Webster Bank mortgages on the lot in April 2024. In May 2026 they were assigned to LRECS Holdings IIA, L.L.C., and an agreement for $35,600,000 was recorded.
| Date | Document | Parties | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| November 18, 2022 | Deed | 273 W 131 LLC to 2460 FDB LP | $2,418,900 |
| November 18, 2022 | Zoning lot description and easements | 2460 FDB LP and 273 W 131 LLC | none listed |
| April 17, 2024 | Three mortgages | 2460 FDB LP and Webster Bank, National Association | $19,038,338, $6,016,662 and $1,400,000 |
| December 18, 2025, and February 11, 2026 | Declarations | 2460 FDB LP | none listed |
| May 4, 2026 | Mortgage assignments | Webster Bank to LRECS Holdings IIA, L.L.C. | none listed |
| May 4, 2026 | New mortgage and agreement | 2460 FDB LP and LRECS Holdings IIA, L.L.C. | $9,145,000 and $35,600,000 |
What it means: the three 2024 mortgages add up to $26,455,000, and with the $9,145,000 mortgage to $35,600,000, by VoucherMatch's sum. The index does not say what the declarations cover.
Source: ACRIS, Manhattan block 1937, lot 65.
Preferences, Building Features and Fees at The Franklin
The listing names no preferences or set-asides. Tenants pay for electricity, including the stove, heat and hot water.
- Listednone. The listing's preference list is empty, and the City's lottery data shows no preference shares for this lottery.
- The FAQ's rulethe community preference is "For developments financed by the City". It "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
- Disability preferencesthe FAQ describes 5% of units for mobility and 2% for hearing or vision disabilities. The listing does not list them.
What it means: no page opened says why the list is empty. Ask the hotline, 212-863-7990.
Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7301; the City's lottery data; Housing Connect FAQ.
- In the apartments, per the listingair-conditioning, a dishwasher, washers and dryers, and "High-end kitchen appliances".
- Building, per the listinga "virtual doorman", an elevator, an accessible entrance, package lockers, security cameras, common area Wi-Fi, a gym, a recreation room, a rooftop terrace, storage and bike storage lockers. It is smoke-free.
- Parkingthe listing names "Garages" and "Assigned parking spaces". It gives no price.
- Pets"up to 2 pets per unit with a weight limit of 45 lbs. per pet".
- Utilities"Tenant is responsible for electric including stove, heat, and hot water."
- Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
- Not statedany amenity or parking fees, apartment sizes and bathrooms.
What it means: the description calls the building "a modern, boutique living experience"; those are the advertisement's words.
Source: Housing Connect listing.


Watch outVoucherMatch left out two rooftop images from the listing, checked October 22, 2026. One carries a camera date of July 16, 2025. The leasing site shows both scenes with people added, and it says its photographs "employ virtual staging methods". VoucherMatch could not confirm they are unaltered photographs of this roof.
What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted
Applications for the 16 apartments were due February 5, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".
- 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
- 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
- 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
- 4TimingHPD's guide says "You may hear about the status of your application within two to twelve months after the deadline." The deadline was February 5, 2026.
What it means: the lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased. The guide adds that "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents".
Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.
- ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
- Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
- Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
- Asset limit. the rent table lists $220,480
- Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
- Voucher. proof of the subsidy and the rent it covers
What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.
Source: Housing Connect FAQ; the listing's rent table.
Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
- Housing Connectlottery 7301 was not among the 21 rentals in the open-lottery search on October 22, or the 23 on October 23. No newer listing for the building was found there or in the City's lottery data. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
- Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HDC's re-rental search counted 24 advertisements, none for this building.
- Marketing agentpaper applications were requested from "The Franklin Apartments C/O Reside New York 349 Keap Street", Brooklyn, NY 11211. Reside New York's page labels the building "Upcoming Project". HPD's re-rental page lists Reside New York among the agents that post re-rentals.
- Market-rate leasingthe leasing site names Living New York, a brokerage. Its availability page names Marble Hill and gives every apartment the same 858 square feet, so VoucherMatch did not use its figures.
What it means: as of October 23, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.
Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search and borough count (3 Manhattan rentals); the City's lottery data; HDC's re-rental data; the listing; Reside New York; the leasing site.
What Is Known and Not Yet Known About The Franklin
The rents, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.
- Not publishedhow many lottery apartments have been offered or leased, whether the building keeps a waiting list, and any parking or amenity fees.
- Not explainedwhy the preference list is empty, and why PLUTO counts 94 residential units.
- Not confirmedwhether the 421-a exemption was granted, and which program or option applies.
- Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov. Reside New York lists 718-387-4448.
What it means: check each line again before acting on it.
Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; Reside New York; city records named above.
If You Need an Apartment Now
No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.
- Open in Manhattan now: Housing Connect's search listed 345 East 17th Street, due November 9, 2026; Artifact No. 1861 Phase II, due November 16, 2026; and 1 Gouverneur Lane, due November 17, 2026.
3 bedrooms, $3,577 a monthHarlem, Manhattan
3 bedrooms, $3,532 a monthManhattan
3 bedrooms, $2,816 a monthHarlem, ManhattanAccepts Section 8 (HCV) · HASA · EHV
Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Manhattan listings
- Near the building: browse Section 8 apartments in Harlem and CityFHEPS apartments in Harlem.
- Anywhere in the borough: see Section 8 apartments in Manhattan and CityFHEPS apartments in Manhattan.
- No voucher yet: read how to get a housing voucher in NYC, compare CityFHEPS vs Section 8, or see low-income apartments in New York City.
Frequently Asked Questions
Was The Franklin at 280 West 132nd Street on NYC Housing Connect?
Yes. The Franklin Apartments was lottery 7301 on NYC Housing Connect. It offered 16 apartments at 130% AMI, at $2,998 for a one-bedroom and $3,243 for a two-bedroom. Applications were due February 5, 2026. As of October 22, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection", and no waiting list was posted.
What is the rent at The Franklin in Harlem?
The nine one-bedrooms rent for $2,998 a month, and the seven two-bedrooms rent for $3,243. Tenants also pay for electricity, which covers the stove, heat and hot water. The listing names garages and parking spaces but gives no price. It does not give apartment sizes.
How much do you have to earn for The Franklin?
At least $108,412 a year for a one-bedroom, up to $154,440 for one person and $198,510 for three. A two-bedroom needs $118,732, up to $238,160 for five people. Households earning less qualify only with a voucher or rental subsidy, which the FAQ says lifts the minimum.
Does The Franklin take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?
Housing Connect accepts both, but the rent must fit the voucher. Here it does not by the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The one-bedroom is $264 over and the two-bedroom $246 over. After subtracting electric allowances, the gaps are $496 and $551. Ask DSS or the housing authority before applying anywhere.
Is 282 West 132nd Street the same building as 280 West 132nd Street?
Yes. The first certificate of occupancy and YIMBY's 2022 report use 282 West 132nd Street. Later certificates and Housing Connect use 280. Both name the same lot, Manhattan block 1937, lot 65, and building number 1091747. PLUTO lists the lot under Frederick Douglass Boulevard.
Did The Franklin have a community board preference?
No preference is listed. The listing's preference list is empty, and the City's data shows no preference shares. The FAQ says the community preference applies to City-financed buildings and not to ones that "only receive a tax exemption". The listing names the 421-a tax exemption. Ask the hotline, 212-863-7990.
Are the rents at The Franklin below market?
No, not by HUD's figures. Both lottery rents are above HUD's 2027 figures for ZIP code 10027. The one-bedroom is $398 above $2,600, and the two-bedroom is $413 above $2,830. HUD's figures include most utilities, while tenants here also pay for electricity.
Sources for this article (22)
- Housing Connect listing for lottery 7301 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
- DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
- DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- lottery building data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- ACRIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
- address search (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
- 421-a page (nyc.gov)
- re-rental page (nyc.gov)
- Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
- re-rental search (nychdc.com)
- property page (residenewyork.com)
- The Franklin (thefranklinnyc.com)
- March 9, 2022 report (newyorkyimby.com)
- Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
- station data (data.ny.gov)
- housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Stay Updated on Housing
Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected
More new affordable buildings

East Flatbush, Brooklyn
292 East 51st Street Apartments
- From $1,574 a month
- Applications due November 16, 2026

Arverne, Queens
3-06 Beach 68th Street Apartments
- From $2,749 a month
- Applications due November 13, 2026

Jamaica, Queens
97-36 Brisbin Street
- From $2,092 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026

Williamsbridge, Bronx
1131 East 211 Street
- From $1,974 a month
- No application deadline posted as of October 20, 2026
Find Your Next Home
Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.