Skip to page content

The Hana, 45-10 215th Place, Bayside: 12 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $2,890 a Month

20 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerThe Hana at 45-10 215th Place is a new five-story building with 38 apartments in Bayside, Queens. NYC Housing Connect advertised 12 of them, all at 130% AMI. Rents run from $2,890 for a studio to $3,380 for a two-bedroom. Applications were due January 29, 2026. As of October 23, 2026, every rent is over the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size. The City's lottery data lists the lottery in "Tenant Selection". VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list.

Last checked: October 23, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7379, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, read at the start and the end; the Housing Connect FAQ; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings job filings for jobs 440608941 and 421909750, DOB NOW filings and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data (project 77560); the City's lottery data and lottery building data; PLUTO; ACRIS for Queens block 7334, lot 70; City Planning's address search; HPD's 421-a page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; Reside New York's property page; New York YIMBY reports of July 17, 2020, May 19, 2022, December 26, 2023 and January 10, 2026; and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

The Hana in numbers
  • 12apartments in the Housing Connect lottery, all at 130% AMI
  • 38apartments in the building, in city records
  • $2,890the lowest rent, for six studios
  • $3,380the highest rent, for one two-bedroom
  • January 29, 2026the application deadline
  • June 3, 2026the first certificate of occupancy

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7379, read October 23, 2026; Department of Buildings job 440608941 and its certificate of occupancy record.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
Rendering at dusk of a five-story corner building with light gray metal panels, tall black-framed windows, planted terraces with glass railings on the top floor and a black ground floor of lit shop windows under placeholder signs, with crosswalks, cars, street trees and small figures on the sidewalk
Rendering of The Hana at 45-06 215 Place (45-10 215th Place on Housing Connect) by Gerald J. Caliendo Architect, as reproduced by New York YIMBY in December 2023 under the address 215-20 Northern Boulevard. The Housing Connect listing carries a daytime rendering of the same design with the firm's title block. Photo: Gerald J. Caliendo, R.A., P.C. (architect's rendering; YIMBY credits 'Caliendo Architects'), architect's rendering of the building; allowed for new-development reports, via Gerald J. Caliendo Architect rendering, file from New York YIMBY (December 26, 2023) (reduced from 1920 x 1080 to 1600 x 900 (0.83 times); no crop).

What Was Built at The Hana, 45-10 215th Place

The Hana is a five-story building with 38 apartments. City records file it under three street addresses.

  • Names and addresses: Housing Connect calls the lottery "The Hana" at 45-10 215th Place. Its paper address reads "The Hana Apartments". The permit, the certificate of occupancy and HPD use 45-06 215 Place. PLUTO, the City's lot database, lists the lot as 215-16 Northern Boulevard.
  • Permit: Department of Buildings job 440608941 is a new building of five stories and 55 feet. It lists 38 dwelling units and 45,388 square feet of construction.
  • Certificate of occupancy: the first one, dated June 3, 2026, covers 38 dwelling units.
  • Owner: Dakota United Group LLC, in the permit, PLUTO and ACRIS.
  • Architect: the rendering in the listing carries the title block of Gerald J. Caliendo, R.A., P.C.
Rendering of a long building corridor with vertical wood slat walls lit from above, a pale stone tile floor, recessed square ceiling lights, a framed landscape picture at the far end and an arched niche with a blue cushioned bench
Rendering of a hallway at The Hana from its Housing Connect listing. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7379 (rendering; maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, The Hana (lottery 7379) (shown at native size (486 x 540) centered on a plain light gray background; not enlarged).
The Hana, from the lot purchase to the certificate of occupancy
  • January 18, 2018a deed moves the lot from Bayside Group LLC to Dakota United Group LLC.
  • November 1, 2019a job is filed to demolish a one-story commercial building on the lot.
  • July 16, 2020the new building application is filed.
  • December 22, 2023a $16,000,000 mortgage from Ponce Bank is signed.
  • April 23, 2024the new building permit is fully issued.
  • September 8, 2025HPD's project start date.
  • January 7, 2026the Housing Connect lottery opens.
  • January 29, 2026applications are due.
  • June 3, 2026the first certificate of occupancy is issued.

What it means: the certificate of occupancy came about four months after the deadline.

Source: ACRIS, Queens block 7334, lot 70; Department of Buildings jobs 421909750 and 440608941; the certificate of occupancy record; HPD project 77560; the City's lottery data.

What the Records and the News Say About The Hana

City records and four YIMBY reports do not agree on every number.

Where the records and reports differ
  • Apartment countthe permit, the certificate of occupancy, HPD and PLUTO say 38. YIMBY wrote 34 in July 2020 and again in January 2026. Its December 2023 report said 38.
  • DeveloperYIMBY's 2020 and 2026 reports say "Woodland Developments under the Dakota United Group LLC". Its 2022 and 2023 reports name West Egg Development. Records name only Dakota United Group LLC.
  • Other addressesYIMBY's 2023 report uses 215-20 Northern Boulevard. City Planning's address search puts that address on the same lot.

What it means: the records are the stronger source for size and owner.

Source: city records named above; New York YIMBY, July 17, 2020, May 19, 2022, December 26, 2023, and January 10, 2026.

The Program the Listing Names

The listing says the building "is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421a Tax Incentive program".

  • 421-a in HPD's words: "The 421-a Tax Incentive is a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings." HPD's page describes two versions, 421-a (1-15) and 421-a (16).
  • What the listing leaves out: it names no version and no option. No document opened says which applies.

Where The Hana Is in Bayside

The Hana is in Bayside, Queens, on a corner lot where 215th Place meets Northern Boulevard. City records put it in ZIP code 11361, Queens Community District 11 and City Council District 19.

The location in the records
  • Baysidein City Planning's address search, the permit and the listing.
  • The lotQueens block 7334, lot 70. PLUTO and a Department of Buildings filing call it a corner lot.
  • ZIP codecity records say 11361. The listing, the City's lottery data and Reside New York say 11360.

What it means: VoucherMatch files the building under ZIP code 11361.

Source: the records named.

PlaceListing's labelStraight-line distanceNotes
Northern Blvd/Bell BlvdBus stopabout 0.15 milesNamed in the listing
Bell Blvd/Northern BlvdBus stopabout 0.16 milesNamed in the listing
Bell Blvd/41 AvTrain stationabout 0.32 milesNamed in the listing
BaysideTrain stationabout 0.37 milesLong Island Rail Road, per YIMBY
Flushing-Main St (7)Not in listingabout 3.3 milesAccessible in the MTA's data
Jamaica-179 St (F)Subway stationabout 3.4 milesAccessible in the MTA's data

What it means: the closest subway stations are more than three miles away.

Source: the listing's nearby places and the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the trip is longer.

12 Apartments in the Lottery, All at 130% AMI

The 12 lottery apartments are six studios, five one-bedrooms and one two-bedroom. All 12 are at 130% AMI.

Apartments in the Housing Connect lottery for The Hana, by size, January 2026
View the data table
Apartment sizeApartments
Studio6
One-bedroom5
Two-bedroom1

What it means: half of the lottery apartments are studios.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7379, read October 23, 2026; the City's lottery data and HPD's project 77560 give the same counts.

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for The Hana

The 12 apartments rent for $2,890 to $3,380 a month. The lowest minimum income is $103,509 a year, and the highest maximum is $238,160.

ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
6 studios$2,8901 to 2$103,509 to $176,410
5 one-bedrooms$3,0201 to 3$108,549 to $198,510
1 two-bedroom$3,3802 to 5$122,572 to $238,160

What it means: each size has one minimum income for every household size.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7379, read October 23, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Household sizeMaximum incomeSizes that take it
1 person$154,440Studio, one-bedroom
2 people$176,410All three sizes
3 people$198,510One-bedroom, two-bedroom
4 people$220,480Two-bedroom only
5 people$238,160Two-bedroom only

What it means: income before taxes has to be at or under the number for the household's size.

Source: the same listing.

Who falls outside the ranges
  • Below $103,509no apartment, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • One or two people from $103,509 to $108,548only the six studios.
  • Four or five peopleat least $122,572, and only one apartment fits.

What it means: incomes over the maximum for the household's size fit no apartment.

Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the listing's incomes.

The listing today and the January 2026 reports
  • Studio rentYIMBY printed $2,974. The listing now shows $2,890.
  • One-bedroom rentYIMBY printed $3,084. The listing now shows $3,020.
  • Two-bedroom rent$3,380 in both.
  • IncomesYIMBY printed a range of $106,320 to $227,500. The listing now shows $103,509 to $238,160.
  • Marketing agent's pageReside New York shows "$2974 - 3,380.00 Per Month" and "$106,835-$227,500", and labels the building "Upcoming Project".

What it means: no page opened says when or why the figures changed.

Source: New York YIMBY, January 10, 2026; Reside New York and the Housing Connect listing, read October 23, 2026.

Rendering of a bathroom with white tiled walls, a lit rectangular mirror over a wood vanity with a white top, a white toilet with a small plant, a shower and tub with a tiled niche, and gray floor tiles
Rendering of a bathroom at The Hana from its Housing Connect listing. The listing does not give apartment sizes or the number of bathrooms. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7379 (rendering; maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, The Hana (lottery 7379) (shown at native size (648 x 540) centered on a plain light gray background; not enlarged).

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

None of the 12 rents is under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum for its size. They are $286 to $383 a month over.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lottery rent at The Hana against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, by size, in dollars a month
Lowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
Studio$2,890$2,890$2,604
One-bedroom$3,020$3,020$2,734
Two-bedroom$3,380$3,380$2,997

What it means: each size has one rent, so the lowest and highest bars match.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, which calls them "the maximum rent amounts if all utilities are included in the lease", in effect since April 1, 2026.

The listing says: "Tenants are responsible for electricity, including electric stove and electric heat." So VoucherMatch subtracts DSS-8r's "Electric with Cooking Range" and "Electric Heat Only" allowances. The listing does not say who pays for hot water, so nothing is subtracted for it.

Apartment sizeCityFHEPS maximumLess both allowancesLottery rent
Studio$2,604$2,441$2,890
One-bedroom$2,734$2,546$3,020
Two-bedroom$2,997$2,748$3,380

What it means: after the allowances, the rents are $449 to $632 over the adjusted maximum.

Source: DSS-8r, 2026 payment standards and utility allowances ($111 and $52 for a studio, $126 and $62 for a one-bedroom, $167 and $82 for a two-bedroom); subtraction by VoucherMatch.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11361

All three rents are under HUD's figures for ZIP code 11361, by $250 to $310 a month.

Lottery rent at The Hana against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11361, in dollars a month
Lowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11361
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11361
Studio$2,890$2,890$3,170
One-bedroom$3,020$3,020$3,330
Two-bedroom$3,380$3,380$3,630

What it means: tenants pay the electric bill on top of each rent.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026.

How The Hana Was Financed

Property records show one mortgage on the lot: $16,000,000 from Ponce Bank to Dakota United Group LLC, dated December 22, 2023.

DateDocumentPartiesAmount
January 18, 2018DeedBayside Group LLC to Dakota United Group LLCnone listed
March 16, 2022DeclarationBayside Group LLC and Dakota United Group LLCnone listed
December 22, 2023MortgageDakota United Group LLC and Ponce Bank$16,000,000
December 22, 2023Assignment of leases and rentsDakota United Group LLC and Ponce Bank$16,000,000

What it means: no HPD or HDC loan or agreement appears in the index for this lot.

Source: ACRIS, Queens block 7334, lot 70.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at The Hana

The listing names no preference or set-aside groups. Tenants pay electricity, and several shared spaces cost extra.

Preferences in the listing
  • Listed groupsnone. The listing's preference section is empty, and the City's lottery data shows none.
  • Community preference in the FAQit is "For developments financed by the City" and "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."

What it means: no page opened explains the empty list. Ask the hotline, 212-863-7990.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7379 and FAQ; the City's lottery data.

What the building has: listed, extra cost, not stated
  • Listed"Amenities include a *gym, *rooftop terrace, *storage, bike storage lockers, and *parking (*additional fees apply)."
  • Extra costthe gym, rooftop terrace, storage and parking carry the listing's fee mark. Bike storage lockers do not.
  • Utilitiestenants pay electricity, including the electric stove and electric heat.
  • Pets"One pet per apartment, with a $300 refundable up-front pet deposit."
  • Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
  • Not statedthe amenity fees, apartment sizes and who pays for hot water.

What it means: ask the marketing agent what each extra costs.

Source: Housing Connect listing.

Rendering of a gym with vertical wood slat walls, a stair-climber and an exercise bike in front, an elliptical and a reformer machine at right, and a weight rack, dumbbells and a mirrored wall at the back
Rendering of the gym at The Hana from its Housing Connect listing. The listing marks the gym as one of the amenities where additional fees apply. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7379 (rendering; maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, The Hana (lottery 7379) (shown at native size (864 x 540) centered on a plain light gray background; not enlarged).
Watch outthe listing says the stove is electric, but the listing's kitchen rendering, left out here, shows what looks like a gas range with burner grates. Ask the marketing agent.

What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 12 apartments were due January 29, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".

How the 12 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4TimingHPD's guide says "You may hear about the status of your application within two to twelve months after the deadline."

What it means: the guide adds that "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents".

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to four from HPD's applying guide.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Asset limit. the rent table lists $220,480 for all three sizes
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
  • Voucher. proof of the subsidy and the rent it covers

What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ; the listing's rent table.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 23, 2026
  • Housing Connectlottery 7379 was not among the 23 rentals in the site's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found there or in the City's lottery data. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". It points to HPD's and HDC's re-rental pages.
  • Marketing agentpaper applications were requested from "The Hana Apartments C/O Reside New York 349 Keap Street", Brooklyn, NY 11211.
  • PostmarkYIMBY wrote that applications had to be "postmarked or submitted online" by January 29, 2026. The listing gives no postmark rule.

What it means: as of October 23, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search (4 Queens rentals; its borough count says 3); the City's lottery data; the listing; Reside New York.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About The Hana

The rents, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. How many apartments are leased is not.

Known and not yet known on October 23, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedhow many lottery apartments have been offered or leased, whether the building keeps a waiting list, and the amenity fees.
  • Not explainedwhy the rents and incomes changed, why no preferences are listed, and which stove is installed.
  • Not confirmedwhether the 421-a exemption was granted and which version applies.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

What it means: check each line again before acting on it.

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; city records named above.

If You Need an Apartment Now

No waiting list is posted.

  • Open in Queens now: Housing Connect's search listed 6-05 129th Street, due November 11, 2026, and DOMI, due November 10, 2026.
Queens apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to The Hana first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Queens listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was The Hana at 45-10 215th Place on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. The Hana was lottery 7379 on NYC Housing Connect. It offered 12 apartments at 130% AMI, from $2,890 to $3,380 a month. Applications were due January 29, 2026. As of October 23, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection", and no waiting list was posted.

What is the rent at The Hana in Bayside?

The six studios rent for $2,890 a month, the five one-bedrooms for $3,020 and the one two-bedroom for $3,380. Tenants pay electricity, including the electric stove and heat. The listing says the gym, rooftop terrace, storage and parking cost extra. It does not say who pays for hot water.

How much do you have to earn for The Hana?

At least $103,509 a year for a studio, $108,549 for a one-bedroom and $122,572 for the two-bedroom. The maximum runs from $154,440 for one person to $238,160 for five. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum income does not apply.

Does The Hana take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts both, but the rent must fit the voucher. All 12 rents at The Hana are $286 to $383 a month over the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. After subtracting the electric allowances, the gap is $449 to $632. Ask DSS or the housing authority before applying anywhere.

Is 45-06 215th Place the same building as 45-10 215th Place?

Yes. The permit, the certificate of occupancy and HPD use 45-06 215 Place. Housing Connect uses 45-10 215th Place. PLUTO lists the lot, Queens block 7334, lot 70, as 215-16 Northern Boulevard. City Planning's address search puts 215-20 Northern Boulevard on the same lot.

Are the rents at The Hana below market?

Somewhat, by HUD's figures. The studio is $280 under HUD's 2027 figure for ZIP code 11361, the one-bedroom $310 under and the two-bedroom $250 under. HUD's figures include most utilities, while tenants here pay electricity. Every rent is over the CityFHEPS maximum for its size.

Is The Hana in ZIP code 11360 or 11361?

City records say 11361. The certificate of occupancy, HPD's data, PLUTO and City Planning's address search all use it. The Housing Connect listing, the City's lottery data and Reside New York's page say 11360. HUD's figures in this report are for 11361.

Sources for this article (23)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7379 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  4. job filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  5. DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  6. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  7. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  8. lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  9. lottery building data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. ACRIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. address search (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
  13. 421-a page (nyc.gov)
  14. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  15. property page (residenewyork.com)
  16. July 17, 2020 (newyorkyimby.com)
  17. May 19, 2022 (newyorkyimby.com)
  18. December 26, 2023 (newyorkyimby.com)
  19. January 10, 2026 (newyorkyimby.com)
  20. station data (data.ny.gov)
  21. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  22. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  23. re-rental pages (nychdc.com)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.