Skip to page content

Tower 162, 89-61 162nd Street, Jamaica: 18 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $1,609 a Month

24 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answer89-61 162nd Street is a new 12-story building with 89 apartments in Jamaica, Queens. Its listing calls it Tower 162. NYC Housing Connect advertised 18 of the apartments. Rents run from $1,609 for a one-bedroom to $3,323 for a two-bedroom. Applications were due April 1, 2026. As of October 22, 2026, the 14 rents at 60% AMI are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums, and the four at 100% AMI are over them. The City's lottery data lists the lottery in "Tenant Selection".

Last checked: October 22, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7487, its rent table and the site's open-lottery search, read at the start and the end; the Housing Connect FAQ; the listing for Jamaica Central, lottery 7594; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings DOB NOW filings for jobs Q01150733 and Q01161511 and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data (project 76940); the City's lottery data and lottery building data; PLUTO; ACRIS for Queens block 9761; City Planning's address search; HPD's 485-x page, UAP fact sheet, re-rental page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; HDC's re-rental search; reports by New York YIMBY (January 22, 2025 and March 13, 2026) and QNS (January 22, 2025 and March 13, 2026); and the MTA's station data. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

89-61 162nd Street in numbers
  • 18apartments in the Housing Connect lottery
  • 89apartments in the building, in city records
  • $1,609the lowest rent, for six one-bedrooms at 60% AMI
  • $3,323the highest rent, for one two-bedroom at 100% AMI
  • April 1, 2026the application deadline
  • April 2, 2026the first certificate of occupancy

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7487, read October 22, 2026; Department of Buildings job Q01150733 and its certificate of occupancy records.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
Rendering of a 12-story apartment building with white panels framed by rust-red side walls and vertical strips, rows of square windows, a glass storefront base with three street trees, and plain white blocks standing in for the neighboring buildings under a blue sky
Rendering of 89-61 162nd Street from its Housing Connect listing, which does not name who made it. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7487 (rendering; maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, 89-61 162nd Apartments (lottery 7487) (shown at native size (1213 x 683, not enlarged) centered on a plain light gray background (no crop, no blurred fill)).

What Was Built at 89-61 162nd Street

89-61 162nd Street is a new 12-story building with 89 apartments and a commercial space. City records and the listing use a few names for it.

  • Names: Housing Connect calls the lottery "89-61 162nd Apartments". The listing's description says "Introducing Tower 162". Its paper-application address says "Towers 162". PLUTO names the owner Tower 162 LLC.
  • Permit: Department of Buildings job Q01150733 reads "PROPOSED 12-STORY & CELLAR MIXED-USE BUILDING TOTAL OF 89 DWELLING UNITS." It lists 123 feet and 77,483.3 square feet of construction floor area.
  • Certificate of occupancy: the first one, dated April 2, 2026, covers 89 dwelling units. A "Renewal With Change" followed on August 25, 2026.
  • Owner: PLUTO and ACRIS name Tower 162 LLC. The permit lists the owner as a corporation.
  • Architect: the permit's applicant is the firm JFA Architects & Engineers DPC. YIMBY and QNS name the same firm.
  • PLUTO: 12 floors, 89 homes and 90 units in all, built in 2025, on a 10,320-square-foot lot.
Rendering of a lobby with a white marble-look floor, a wood-panel wall with a lit sign reading 162nd Street, brown armchairs around round wire tables, black-framed glass doors and trees seen through tall windows
Rendering of the lobby from the Housing Connect listing; the wall sign reads '162nd Street'. The listing names an elevator and an accessible entrance. Photo: NYC Housing Connect listing for lottery 7487 (rendering; maker not named), lottery listing rendering, via NYC Housing Connect, 89-61 162nd Apartments (lottery 7487) (shown at native size (893 x 669, not enlarged) centered on a plain light gray background (no crop)).
89-61 162nd Street, from the old building to the lottery
  • January 8, 2025a demolition job is filed for the "existing three story building".
  • January 16, 2025the new building application is filed.
  • February 26, 2025Sor-San Realty Corp. deeds the lot to Tower 162 LLC.
  • May 13, 2025the new building application is approved.
  • August 26, 2025the demolition is signed off.
  • October 21, 2025HPD's project start date.
  • March 10, 2026the Housing Connect lottery opens.
  • April 1, 2026applications are due.
  • April 2, 2026the first certificate of occupancy is issued.

What it means: the building's first certificate of occupancy came the day after the deadline.

Source: Department of Buildings jobs Q01161511 and Q01150733; ACRIS, Queens block 9761, lot 14; HPD project 76940; the City's lottery data.

The Programs the Listing Names

The listing says the building "is being constructed through the Universal Affordability Preference and 485x Tax Exemption Program".

The two programs in HPD's words
  • Universal Affordability Preference (UAP)HPD says UAP "was established in December 2024 under the New York City Zoning Resolution." Under it, "buildings in medium- and high-density residential districts across the city can build 20% more housing if the additional homes are permanently affordable."
  • 485-xHPD says the tax exemption "was created to support the creation of affordable housing in New York City." It adds: "All Affordable Housing Units will be permanently affordable".
  • 485-x Option Afor projects with "100 or more residential dwelling units". "25% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% Area Median Income".
  • 485-x Option Bfor projects with "at least 6 and no more than 99 residential dwelling units". "20% of the units must be Affordable Housing Units at an average of 80% AMI".

What it means: the listing names no 485-x option. No document opened says which option applies or whether the exemption was granted.

Source: Housing Connect listing; HPD's UAP fact sheet (April 2025) and 485-x page, read October 22, 2026.

Where 89-61 162nd Street Is

89-61 162nd Street is in Jamaica, Queens, in ZIP code 11432. It is in Queens Community District 12 and City Council District 27.

The location in the records
  • JamaicaCity Planning's address search, the Department of Buildings' area name and the listing, which says "in the heart of Jamaica".
  • The lotQueens block 9761, lot 14. PLUTO calls it an inside lot, zoned C4-4D, in the special district coded DJ.
  • Cross streets, per the newsYIMBY and QNS place the lot "between 89th Avenue and Jamaica Avenue".
  • ZIP code 11432in the listing, Department of Buildings, HPD and PLUTO records.

What it means: VoucherMatch files the building under Jamaica.

Source: the records named; New York YIMBY and QNS, January 22, 2025.

StationLinesStraight-line distanceAccessible (MTA)
Jamaica Center-Parsons/ArcherE, J, Zabout 0.27 milesYes
Parsons BlvdFabout 0.33 milesNo
169 StFabout 0.43 milesNo
Sutphin Blvd-Archer Av-JFK AirportE, J, Zabout 0.62 milesYes
Sutphin BlvdFabout 0.67 milesNo
Jamaica-179 StFabout 0.90 milesYes

What it means: the nearest subway stop is Jamaica Center, for the E, J and Z.

Source: the MTA's station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point, so the walk is longer.

  • Buses and rail: the listing names bus stops at Jamaica Av/160 St, about 0.13 miles away, and Merrick Blvd/90 Ave, about 0.20 miles. It names Jamaica as a train station, about 0.63 miles away.
  • Parks: the listing names Rufus King Park, about 0.33 miles away, and Captain Tilly Park, about 0.49 miles.
  • Along the lines: see apartments near the E train and the F train, or Section 8 apartments in Jamaica.
A green railed subway stair on a street corner with a sign reading Parsons Blvd Station and an orange F symbol, beside a restaurant and a pizza shop, with parked cars at right and a crosswalk in front
A street entrance to the Parsons Blvd station on the F line, at Parsons Boulevard and Hillside Avenue; the station is about 0.33 miles from the building in a straight line. Photographed in March 2019 by Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped); the shops shown may have changed. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 1600 x 900 from 5472 x 3648 (reduced, not enlarged)).

Jamaica Central Is a Separate Listing

Jamaica Central, at 89-25 162nd Street, is a separate building with its own lottery. City records show two projects, not one.

89-61 and 89-25 162nd Street in city records
Record89-61 162nd Street89-25 162nd Street
Lot, Queens block 9761Lot 14Lot 30
Permit jobQ01150733, 12 storiesQ00721898, 14 stories
Owner in PLUTOTower 162 LLCVaja Jamaica Building B LLC
Architect on permitJFA Architects & Engineers DPCS. Wieder Architect P.C.
Programs in listingUAP and 485-xInclusionary Housing and 421-a
HPD project7694077262

What it means: the zoning lot record for 89-61 covers lot 14 only. No record opened ties the two projects.

Source: DOB NOW filings, PLUTO, HPD production data and both Housing Connect listings, read October 22, 2026.

  • Jamaica Central's lottery: lottery 7594 listed 15 three-bedrooms. Five at 40% AMI rent for $1,323, and ten at 70% AMI rent for $2,586. Applications were due August 3, 2026. The City's lottery data lists it in "Tenant Selection".

18 Apartments in the Lottery, at 60% and 100% AMI

The 18 lottery apartments are nine one-bedrooms and nine two-bedrooms. Fourteen are at 60% AMI and four are at 100% AMI.

Apartments in the Housing Connect lottery for 89-61 162nd Street, by size and income level
60% AMI100% AMI
View the data table
Apartment size60% AMI100% AMI
One-bedroom63
Two-bedroom81

What it means: eight of the 18 apartments are two-bedrooms at 60% AMI.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7487, counted by VoucherMatch from its 18 unit rows, read October 22, 2026. HPD's production data and the City's lottery data give the same counts.

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 89-61 162nd Street

The 18 apartments rent for $1,609 to $3,323 a month. The lowest minimum income is $60,789 a year, and the highest maximum is $183,200.

Rent, household size and yearly income for each apartment type at 89-61 162nd Street
ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
6 one-bedrooms, 60% AMI$1,6091 to 3$60,789 to $91,620
8 two-bedrooms, 60% AMI$1,9082 to 5$72,960 to $109,920
3 one-bedrooms, 100% AMI$2,7871 to 3$101,178 to $152,700
1 two-bedroom, 100% AMI$3,3232 to 5$121,475 to $183,200

What it means: the lowest income in each range is the listing's minimum for that apartment.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7487, read October 22, 2026. The top of each range is for the largest household allowed.

Household size60% AMI maximum100% AMI maximum
1 person$71,280$118,800
2 people$81,420$135,700
3 people$91,620$152,700
4 people$101,760$169,600
5 people$109,920$183,200

What it means: income before taxes has to be at or under the number for the household's size.

Source: the same listing.

The income gaps: incomes no apartment accepts
  • One person$71,281 to $101,177.
  • Two people$81,421 to $101,177.
  • Three people$91,621 to $101,177.
  • Four people$101,761 to $121,474. Only two-bedrooms take four or five people.
  • Five people$109,921 to $121,474.
  • Below $60,789no apartment, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy. Four or five people need at least $72,960.

What it means: each gap sits between the top of the 60% range and the lowest 100% minimum for that size.

Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the listing's incomes.

The listing today and the March 2026 news reports
  • Income rangesYIMBY and QNS printed $62,572 to $87,480 for the 60% one-bedrooms and a top of $175,000. The listing now shows $60,789 to $91,620 and a top of $183,200.
  • Asset limitsQNS printed $97,200 at 60% AMI and $162,000 at 100%. The rent table now lists $101,760 and $169,600.
  • Rents and countsthe same in the listing and both reports.
  • SizeYIMBY and QNS wrote 61,415 square feet in January 2025. The permit lists 77,483.3 square feet of construction floor area, and PLUTO lists 72,917 square feet of building area.

What it means: no page opened says when or why the incomes changed.

Source: New York YIMBY and QNS, March 13, 2026, and January 22, 2025; Housing Connect listing and permit, October 22, 2026.

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

The 14 apartments at 60% AMI are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums. The four at 100% AMI are $53 and $326 a month over them.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lowest and highest lottery rent at 89-61 162nd Street against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, by size, in dollars a month
Lowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
One-bedroom$1,609$2,787$2,734
Two-bedroom$1,908$3,323$2,997

What it means: the lowest rent in each size is the 60% AMI rent, and the highest is the 100% AMI rent.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, which calls them the maximum rent "if all utilities are included in the lease", in effect since April 1, 2026.

The listing says: "Tenants are responsible for electricity, including stove and heat. Gas hot water is included in the rent." So VoucherMatch subtracts DSS-8r's "Electric with Cooking Range" and "Electric Heat Only" allowances.

Apartment sizeCityFHEPS maximumLess both allowances60% AMI rent
One-bedroom$2,734$2,546$1,609
Two-bedroom$2,997$2,748$1,908

What it means: the 60% AMI rents are $937 and $840 under the adjusted maximum. The 100% AMI rents are $241 and $575 over it.

Source: DSS-8r, 2026 payment standards and utility allowances ($126 and $62 for a one-bedroom, $167 and $82 for a two-bedroom); subtraction by VoucherMatch.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figures for ZIP Code 11432

The 60% AMI rents are a little over half of HUD's figures for ZIP code 11432. The 100% AMI one-bedrooms are $253 under HUD's figure, and the 100% AMI two-bedroom is $13 over it.

Lowest and highest lottery rent at 89-61 162nd Street against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11432, in dollars a month
Lowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11432
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 11432
One-bedroom$1,609$2,787$3,040
Two-bedroom$1,908$3,323$3,310

What it means: the lottery rents leave out electricity, which tenants pay. The $3,323 two-bedroom is above HUD's figure even before that bill.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, which include most utilities.

How 89-61 162nd Street Was Financed

Property records show mortgages from Valley National Bank to Tower 162 LLC in 2025 and 2026. No document in the index names HPD, HDC or the City as a party.

Recorded documents for Queens block 9761, lot 14, since 2025
DateDocumentPartiesAmount
February 26, 2025DeedSor-San Realty Corp. to Tower 162 LLC$4,350,000
February 26, 2025MortgageTower 162 LLC to Valley National Bank$2,400,000
March 3, 2025Zoning lot descriptionTower 162 LLCnone listed
October 21, 2025Sundry agreementTower 162 LLCnone listed
February 20, 2026Mortgage and agreementTower 162 LLC and Valley National Bank$3,600,000 and $6,000,000

What it means: the index does not say what the October 2025 agreement covers. It is dated the same day as HPD's project start.

Source: ACRIS, Queens block 9761, lot 14.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at 89-61 162nd Street

The listing gave preference to Queens Community Board 12 residents and to City workers and veterans. Tenants pay electricity, and the listing names no amenity fees.

Preferences in the listing
  • Community Board Resident (Queens CB 12)20%.
  • Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran10%.
  • Disability set-asidesnone listed. The FAQ says federal law gives "preference to five percent (5%) of units" for a household member with a mobility disability, and 2% for a hearing or vision disability.

What it means: the FAQ says the community preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing". No page opened says how it applied here. Ask the hotline.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7487 and FAQ; the City's lottery data.

What the building has: listed, extra cost, not stated
  • Building, per the listinga shared laundry room, an outdoor terrace, an elevator, an accessible entrance and a smoke-free policy. The description adds "a bike room".
  • Utilitiestenants pay electricity, including the stove and heat. Gas hot water is included in the rent.
  • Pets"One pet allowed -40lb. weight limit per pet & some additional restrictions."
  • Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
  • Not statedamenity fees, apartment sizes, bathrooms and appliances.

What it means: the listing calls the apartments "spacious"; that is the advertisement's word.

Source: Housing Connect listing.

Watch outthe listing's kitchen rendering, left out here, shows a range with what look like gas burner grates. The listing says tenants pay electricity "including stove". Ask the marketing agent which stove the apartments have.
A black sign with gold letters reading Rufus King Park and the Parks Department leaf, on a cream-painted iron gate between two pillars, with grass, trees and a paved path behind
The gate of Rufus King Park, which the listing names as a nearby park, about 0.33 miles from the building in a straight line. Photographed in June 2013 by DanTD, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: DanTD, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped to 1600 x 900 from 4000 x 3000 (reduced, not enlarged)).

What Happens After the Housing Connect Lottery and Where Openings Are Posted

Applications for the 18 apartments were due April 1, 2026. On the City's lottery data, last updated October 5, 2026, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".

How the 18 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4City check"After the developer verifies your eligibility, HPD or HDC will review your file for accuracy."
  5. 5TimingHPD's guide says "You may hear about the status of your application within two to twelve months after the deadline."

What it means: the lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased. The guide adds that "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents".

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to five from HPD's applying guide.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Asset limits. the rent table lists $101,760 at 60% AMI and $169,600 at 100% AMI
  • Rent history or credit. proof of 12 months of full rent payments, or a credit review
  • Voucher. proof of the subsidy and the rent it covers

What it means: the request for documents lists the exact papers.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ; the listing's rent table.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 22, 2026
  • Housing Connectlottery 7487 was not among the 21 rentals in the site's open-lottery search. No newer listing for the building was found there or in the City's lottery data. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HDC's re-rental search showed none for this building.
  • Marketing agentpaper applications were requested from "Towers 162 c/o Taxace NY LLC, 139 Trompkins Avenue", Brooklyn, NY 11206, as the listing spells it. HPD's re-rental page lists Taxace NY among companies to contact. Its "Available Units" page showed nothing at this address.
  • PostmarkYIMBY and QNS wrote that applications had to be "postmarked or submitted online" by April 1, 2026. The listing gives no postmark rule.

What it means: as of October 22, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search and borough count (3 Queens rentals in the count, 4 in the search); the City's lottery data; HDC's re-rental page; HPD's re-rental page; Taxace NY; the listing.

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 89-61 162nd Street

The rents, incomes, deadline and lottery status are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.

Known and not yet known on October 22, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedhow many lottery apartments have been offered or leased, whether the building keeps a waiting list, apartment sizes and appliances.
  • Not explainedwhy the incomes changed after March 2026, why no disability set-aside is listed, and whether the stove is gas or electric.
  • Not confirmedwhether the 485-x exemption was granted and which option applies.
  • Imagesevery listing image is a rendering. Four interior renderings of a bathroom, hallways and elevators were left out: they are small, and nothing in them ties them to this building.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov.

What it means: check each line again before acting on it.

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; city records named above.

If You Need an Apartment Now

No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.

  • Open in Queens now: Housing Connect's search listed 83-12 Broadway, due October 28, 2026; 42-78 65 Place, due November 2; DOMI at 29-24 40th Avenue, due November 10; and 6-05 129th Street, due November 11.
Queens apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 89-61 162nd Street first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Queens listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was 89-61 162nd Street on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. 89-61 162nd Street was lottery 7487 on NYC Housing Connect, listed as "89-61 162nd Apartments". It offered 18 apartments at 60% and 100% AMI, from $1,609 to $3,323 a month. Applications were due April 1, 2026. As of October 22, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection", and no waiting list was posted.

What is the rent at Tower 162 in Jamaica?

The 14 apartments at 60% AMI rent for $1,609 for a one-bedroom and $1,908 for a two-bedroom. The four at 100% AMI rent for $2,787 and $3,323. Tenants pay electricity, including the stove and heat. Gas hot water is included in the rent. The listing names no amenity fees.

How much do you have to earn for 89-61 162nd Street?

At 60% AMI, from $60,789 a year, up to $71,280 for one person and $109,920 for five. At 100% AMI, from $101,178, up to $183,200 for five people. Some incomes fit no apartment, such as $71,281 to $101,177 for one person. With a voucher, the FAQ says the minimum does not apply.

Does 89-61 162nd Street take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts both, but the rent must fit the voucher. The 14 rents at 60% AMI are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums, even after subtracting electric allowances. The four rents at 100% AMI are $53 and $326 over the maximums. Ask DSS or the housing authority before applying anywhere.

Is Tower 162 the same building as 89-61 162nd Street?

Yes. The listing's description calls 89-61 162nd Street "Tower 162", and its paper-application address says "Towers 162". PLUTO and ACRIS name the owner Tower 162 LLC. Housing Connect lists the lottery as "89-61 162nd Apartments". The permit, the certificates of occupancy and HPD all use 89-61 162nd Street.

Is 89-61 162nd Street part of Jamaica Central?

No. Jamaica Central is at 89-25 162nd Street, on a different lot of the same block. It has its own permit, owner, architect, programs and lottery, number 7594. That lottery listed 15 three-bedrooms at $1,323 and $2,586, due August 3, 2026. No record opened ties the two projects.

Are the rents at 89-61 162nd Street below market?

Mostly, by HUD's figures. The 60% AMI rents are a little over half of HUD's 2027 figures for ZIP code 11432. The 100% AMI one-bedrooms are $253 under HUD's $3,040, but tenants also pay electricity. The $3,323 two-bedroom is $13 above HUD's $3,310.

Can I still apply to 89-61 162nd Street?

Not through this lottery. Applications were due April 1, 2026, and lottery 7487 was not in Housing Connect's open-lottery search on October 22, 2026. No waiting list or re-rental for the building was posted. New lotteries appear on Housing Connect. The hotline, 212-863-7990, can answer questions about this one.

Sources for this article (24)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7487 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. listing for Jamaica Central, lottery 7594 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  4. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  5. DOB NOW filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  6. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  7. production data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  8. lottery data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  9. lottery building data (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. ACRIS (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. address search (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
  13. 485-x page (nyc.gov)
  14. UAP fact sheet (nyc.gov)
  15. re-rental page (nyc.gov)
  16. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  17. re-rental search (nychdc.com)
  18. January 22, 2025 (newyorkyimby.com)
  19. March 13, 2026 (newyorkyimby.com)
  20. January 22, 2025 (qns.com)
  21. March 13, 2026 (qns.com)
  22. station data (data.ny.gov)
  23. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  24. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.