Skip to page content

2683 Creston Avenue in Fordham: 5 Affordable Studios on Housing Connect, From $2,000 a Month

20 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answerAs of October 20, 2026, NYC Housing Connect lists lottery 7741, "2683 Creston Avenue," in Fordham, the Bronx. It has 5 studio apartments at 80% AMI, each for $2,000 a month, for one or two people. Applications are not open yet, and the listing has no deadline. The building permit is for a new 6-story building with 22 apartments. With a voucher, the minimum income does not apply, and the rent is under the 2026 CityFHEPS studio maximum.

Last checked: October 20, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7741, read at the start and end of the day's work, and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, which did not list it; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings filings (jobs X01157822 and X01153629), older filings and certificates of occupancy (DOB NOW and older); HPD's Affordable Housing Production by Building data; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Bronx block 3316, lot 56; City Planning's GeoSearch; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's subway and rail station data; New York YIMBY's report of January 23, 2025; and the Bronx Times report of January 31, 2025. The listing sets the rules; confirm there before you apply. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

2683 Creston Avenue in numbers
  • 5studio apartments on Housing Connect, all at 80% AMI
  • $2,000the monthly rent for each studio
  • $75,840the lowest yearly income the listing accepts without a voucher
  • 22apartments in the building permit
  • 6stories in the building permit
  • Not openno deadline posted as of October 20, 2026
Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
Photograph of a subway station stair under a steel structure, with a black sign reading Kingsbridge Rd Station and a green circle with the number 4, a dark red roof over the stair, green iron columns and railings, a white globe lamp at right, and the side of a white van at left in front of a brick building
The street stair of the Kingsbridge Rd station on the 4 line in May 2026, about 0.11 miles from 2683 Creston Avenue in a straight line. It is not the building. Photo: Sashimi-b, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Sashimi-b, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped and reduced).

What Is Being Built at 2683 Creston Avenue

2683 Creston Avenue is a new 6-story building with 22 apartments in the Department of Buildings' records. Five of them, all studios, are on Housing Connect.

  • Permit: job X01157822 was filed January 14, 2025. It reads "New 6 story residential building with 22 dwelling units."
  • Size: 6 stories, 70 feet and 22 dwelling units, with 10,664.7 square feet of construction floor area, in the filing.
  • Owner: the building filings and PLUTO name 2683 Creston LLC.
  • Old building: the demolition filing describes "a three story house" with 2 apartments.
  • Plans: GRID Drafting and Consulting LLC files the plans. YIMBY and the Bronx Times call the firm the architect of record.
  • Status: the first permit for the building was issued October 30, 2025. No certificate of occupancy was in either City dataset on October 20, 2026.
Where the records disagree
QuestionOne recordAnother record
HeightPermit: 70 feetYIMBY: "60-foot-tall"
Floor areaPermit: 10,664.7 square feet of constructionYIMBY: "11,840 square feet designated for residential space"
Floor areaPLUTO: 10,364 square feet of building areaBronx Times: "11,840 square feet of space"
OwnerBuilding permit and PLUTO: 2683 Creston LLCDemolition filing: New Leaf Development LLC

What it means: every record gives 6 stories and 22 apartments. The two news reports were written from the January 2025 filing.

Source: Department of Buildings jobs X01157822 and X01153629; PLUTO; New York YIMBY, January 23, 2025; Bronx Times, January 31, 2025.

2683 Creston Avenue, from a house to Housing Connect
  • November 21, 20242683 Creston LLC buys the lot for $975,000. The deed is recorded December 2, 2024.
  • January 8, 2025demolition is filed for the house on the lot.
  • January 14, 2025the new 6-story building is filed.
  • July 24, 2025the plan is approved.
  • September 12, 2025the demolition is signed off.
  • October 30, 2025the first building permit is issued.
  • December 8, 2025the owner signs two mortgages with Northeast Community Bank.
  • April 6, 2026the structural job is signed off.
  • October 14, 2026the plumbing job is signed off.
  • October 20, 2026Housing Connect lists 5 studios with rents and no deadline.

What it means: the building is new, on the lot of a house torn down in 2025.

Source: Department of Buildings jobs X01157822 (I1, S3, S5) and X01153629; ACRIS, Bronx block 3316, lot 56.

Which Program Sets These Rents

The listing does not name a program. Its only description is "5 studio units at 80% AMI." No record opened for this report names a tax exemption, a City loan or a regulatory agreement for the lot.

HPD's production data, updated September 30, 2026, had no record for 2683 Creston Avenue. It does list three other new buildings close by on Creston Avenue.

Other new Creston Avenue buildings in HPD's production data
BuildingHPD startCounted unitsDistance
2680 Creston AvenueOctober 26, 202353 of 5468 feet
2692 Creston AvenueJuly 20, 20214 of 12129 feet
2702 Creston AvenueOctober 30, 202522 of 73221 feet

What it means: HPD files every counted unit in these three as "middle income." They are separate buildings, and no record ties them to 2683 Creston Avenue.

Source: HPD, Affordable Housing Production by Building, updated September 30, 2026; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from each record's map point to the listing's.

Where 2683 Creston Avenue Is

The building is on Creston Avenue in Fordham, the Bronx, in ZIP code 10468. YIMBY and the Bronx Times place it "between East 196th Street and East Kingsbridge Road."

What the records call the area
  • City Planning's GeoSearchFordham.
  • New York YIMBY and the Bronx TimesFordham.
  • Department of Buildings"Bedford Park," its neighborhood tag on the filings for the lot.
  • The listingit names no neighborhood. Its nearby places include Poe Park and St. James Park.
Record2683 Creston Avenue
Block and lotBronx block 3316, lot 56
Lot size2,500 square feet, 25 feet wide
ZoningR8
Community boardBronx 7
City Council district14
ZIP code10468

What it means: PLUTO already shows the new building, with 6 floors and 22 apartments. See voucher apartments in ZIP code 10468 and Section 8 apartments in Fordham.

Source: PLUTO; Department of Buildings data. The ZIP code is the same in the listing, the permit, PLUTO and GeoSearch.

Photograph from a covered subway platform above the street, looking across four tracks to a second platform with white lamp posts and a sign reading Kingsbridge Rd, with a tall pale gray apartment building with orange trim and a lower red brick building behind it under a pale sky
Both platforms of the Kingsbridge Rd station on the 4 line in January 2025. The buildings behind are not 2683 Creston Avenue. Photo: Adam Moss, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Adam Moss, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped and reduced from the 3840-pixel Commons rendition).

Rents and Income Ranges for 2683 Creston Avenue on Housing Connect

The listing has one rent: $2,000 a month for each of 5 studios at 80% AMI. Without a voucher, a household must earn at least $75,840 a year.

ApartmentsRentPeopleYearly income
5 studios, 80% AMI$2,0001 or 2$75,840 to $108,560

What it means: there are no one-bedrooms or larger apartments in this lottery.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7741, read October 20, 2026. The top of the range is for two people.

Household sizeLeast you can earnMost you can earn
1 person$75,840$95,040
2 people$75,840$108,560

What it means: income before taxes must fall inside the range for the household's size.

Source: the same listing.

Yearly income range for a studio at 2683 Creston Avenue without a voucher, by household size, in dollars, October 20, 2026
Least you can earnMost you can earn
View the data table
Household sizeLeast you can earnMost you can earn
1 person$75,840$95,040
2 people$75,840$108,560

What it means: one person has a $19,200 window, by VoucherMatch's subtraction. Two people have $32,720.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7741.

Where a household's income leads to no apartment
  • Under $75,840below the minimum, unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • One person over $95,040over the limit.
  • Two people over $108,560over the limit.
  • Three or more peopleno apartment. Each studio takes one or two people.

The FAQ says minimum incomes exist "To ensure that households are not paying more than one third of their incomes in rent." The listing does not say how its figures were set.

Key pointthe asset limit is $135,680, in the listing's rent table. The FAQ sets it at "the maximum income limit for a four (4)-person household" at the apartment's level.

Can You Use CityFHEPS or Section 8 at 2683 Creston Avenue?

Yes. Housing Connect accepts vouchers, and a voucher holder does not have to meet the minimum income. The $2,000 rent is $604 under the 2026 CityFHEPS studio maximum of $2,604. The listing does not say which utilities the rent includes.

The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Lowest and highest listed monthly rent at 2683 Creston Avenue against the 2026 CityFHEPS studio maximum, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
Studio$2,000$2,000$2,604

What it means: the rent is 76.8% of the studio maximum, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.

Source: rent from the Housing Connect listing; maximum from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, "if all utilities are included in the lease."

Watch outthe maximums assume the rent covers all utilities. The listing does not say which utilities are included. A voucher program subtracts a utility allowance when tenants pay. This report subtracts none, because the listing names no utility.

How the Rent Compares With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 10468

The $2,000 rent is $420 below HUD's studio estimate of $2,420 for ZIP code 10468. HUD's figure includes utilities; the listing does not say what the rent includes.

Lowest and highest listed monthly rent at 2683 Creston Avenue against HUD's fiscal year 2027 studio fair market rent for ZIP code 10468, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 10468
View the data table
Apartment sizeLowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent, ZIP 10468
Studio$2,000$2,000$2,420

What it means: the rent is 82.6% of HUD's figure, by VoucherMatch's arithmetic.

Source: rent from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, utilities included.

How 2683 Creston Avenue Is Financed

Property records show a $975,000 land purchase in 2024 and two 2025 mortgages from Northeast Community Bank. No record names HPD or the Housing Development Corporation as a lender.

DateDocumentPartiesAmount
November 21, 2024Deedto 2683 Creston LLC$975,000
November 21, 2024Mortgage2683 Creston LLC and Gazivoda Capital Corp.$650,000
December 8, 2025Two mortgages2683 Creston LLC and Northeast Community Bank$487,500 and $4,000,000
December 8, 2025Assignment of leases and rents2683 Creston LLC and Northeast Community Bank$4,487,500

What it means: the two bank mortgages add up to the $4,487,500 in the assignment, by VoucherMatch's addition.

Source: ACRIS, Bronx block 3316, lot 56. The 2024 mortgage was marked satisfied on December 8, 2025.

No announcement of the financing was found, and no City agency names the project.

Preferences, Building Features and Transit at 2683 Creston Avenue

The listing posts no preferences, set-asides or amenities yet. HPD's FAQ describes the usual preference groups, which each building's advertisement confirms.

Who gets preference: what is posted and what HPD says in general
  • In this listingno preference or set-aside rows as of October 20, 2026.
  • Disabilitythe FAQ says "Federal disability statutes give preference to five percent (5%) of units" for mobility disabilities. "Another two percent (2%)" go to hearing or vision disabilities.
  • Community boardthis preference "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."
  • Where the final list appearsproject preferences "are listed in the advertisement for the development."
What is known about the building's features
  • In the listingno amenities are listed.
  • In the news reportsYIMBY describes "a 20-foot-long rear yard," from the 2025 filing.
  • Not statedlaundry, pets, parking, apartment sizes, fees and who pays for heat, hot water and electricity.
Photograph from a train above a park in early spring, with tall bare trees, curving paved paths, a basketball court, a green soccer field and blue courts, a row of parked cars along a street at left and brick and pale apartment buildings behind under a gray sky
St. James Park seen from a 4 train near the Kingsbridge Road station in March 2019. The listing names the park among nearby places, about 0.21 miles from the building in a straight line. Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Tdorante10, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped and reduced).
StationLinesDistanceAccessible
Kingsbridge Rd (Concourse)B, D0.09 milesYes
Kingsbridge Rd (Jerome Av)40.11 milesNo
Fordham Rd (Jerome Av)40.44 milesYes
Fordham Rd (Concourse)B, D0.44 milesNo
Fordham (Metro-North)Harlem Line0.45 milesYes
Bedford Park Blvd-Lehman College40.50 milesNo

What it means: the walk is longer. The listing names the 4 train's Kingsbridge Rd and the B and D trains' Fordham Rd, not the other two stations of those names.

Source: the MTA's subway and rail station data; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point (40.867359, -73.8951595). "Accessible" is the MTA's own field.

  • Buses: the listing names the Fordham Plaza bus terminal and a stop at East Fordham Rd and Walton Av, 0.54 and 0.44 miles away by VoucherMatch's measure.
  • Close by, per the listing: P.S. 246 Poe Center, about 0.08 miles away, Poe Park, about 0.18 miles, and St. James Park, about 0.21 miles.
  • Along the lines: see apartments near the 4 train and the D train.
Photograph of an underground subway platform with blue columns labeled Kingsbridge Road, yellow edge strips, a stair down in the middle under a red Exit sign naming Kingsbridge Road, Grand Concourse and Veterans Hospital, and a silver train with open doors at right
A platform at the Kingsbridge Road station on the B and D lines in April 2025, about 0.09 miles from the building in a straight line. Photo: Adam Moss, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Adam Moss, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped and reduced).

How to Be Ready When the 2683 Creston Avenue Lottery Opens

Applications are not open yet, but a household can get ready now.

At the start and end of work on October 20, 2026, the listing had no deadline and no advertisement. It was not among the 20 rental lotteries in the open-lottery search.

Getting ready for the 2683 Creston Avenue lottery
  1. 1Make or update a profileat housingconnect.nyc.gov. Housing Connect gives a log number only to profiles that are complete.
  2. 2Watch the listinga deadline will show on the page for lottery 7741.
  3. 3Check your rowone or two people, with income inside the range above or a voucher.
  4. 4Apply once"Submit ONLY one application per household." HPD's guide says chances are the same "no matter when you submit your application, as long as it is before the deadline."
  5. 5Paper routethe listing has no "Apply by Mail" address yet. Check the listing again once a deadline is posted.

What it means: nothing can be sent yet, online or by mail.

Source: Housing Connect FAQ and listing; HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing" (June 2020).

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
What happens after a Housing Connect deadline, in HPD's words
  • Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers."
  • Review orderthe developer "reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories)."
  • 2 to 12 monthsthe time HPD's guide says it "may take" for applications to be processed.
  • If your number is reached"you will only have a few business days to submit your documents."
  • Later openingsHPD's guide says apartments that open at turnover, "called re-rental units," are posted on Housing Connect.

What it means: a household may wait months after a deadline.

Source: HPD, "Applying for Affordable Housing"; Housing Connect FAQ.

Documents to gather now
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About the Lottery

The rent, incomes and asset limit are posted. The deadline, the advertisement and the utilities are not.

Known and not yet known on October 20, 2026
  • Knownone rent with income ranges for 5 studios, an asset limit and the listing's nearby places.
  • Not posteda deadline, the advertisement, preferences and set-asides, a paper-form address, photos and a marketing agent's name.
  • Not statedwho pays for utilities, pets, apartment sizes, amenities, a building website, the program and a move-in date.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays."
Watch outthe listing has no photos, and no rendering of the building was found. The pictures in this report show nearby stations and parks, not 2683 Creston Avenue, as of October 20, 2026.
Photograph of a small white wooden farmhouse with a brown shingle roof, a red brick chimney, green shutters and a long front porch with a white railing, behind bare tree branches, with brick buildings in the background
Poe Cottage, the white farmhouse in Poe Park, in 2007. The listing names Poe Park among nearby places, about 0.18 miles from the building in a straight line. Photo: Zoirusha, public domain, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped). Photo: Zoirusha, public domain, via Wikimedia Commons (cropped and reduced).

If You Need an Apartment Sooner

Nothing is open at 2683 Creston Avenue yet. A household that must move soon needs another route.

  • Open in the Bronx now: the open-lottery search listed 354 East 194th Street, due October 23, 2026; 1677 Eastburn Avenue, October 29; 3180 Villa Avenue, October 30; and One River Park, 355 Exterior Street, November 6.
Bronx apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 2683 Creston Avenue first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Bronx listings

Frequently Asked Questions

When can I apply for 2683 Creston Avenue on Housing Connect?

Not yet. The building is Housing Connect lottery 7741, "2683 Creston Avenue." On October 20, 2026, the listing showed a rent but no deadline. It was not in the open-lottery search. No opening date is published. A household can finish its Housing Connect profile now and watch the listing for a deadline.

What is the rent at 2683 Creston Avenue?

The rent is $2,000 a month for each of the five studios, all at 80% AMI. This is the listing's rent as read on October 20, 2026. The lottery has no one-bedrooms or larger apartments. The listing does not say which utilities the rent includes, so the full monthly cost may be higher.

How much do you have to earn for 2683 Creston Avenue?

Without a voucher, at least $75,840 a year. One person can earn up to $95,040. Two people can earn up to $108,560. Households of three or more do not fit, because each studio is for one or two people. With a voucher or rental subsidy, the Housing Connect FAQ says the minimum does not apply.

Does 2683 Creston Avenue take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Yes. The Housing Connect FAQ accepts Section 8 and CityFHEPS, and minimum income does not apply with a voucher. The $2,000 studio rent is $604 under the 2026 CityFHEPS studio maximum of $2,604. The FAQ says the rent should be within your program's limits. Ask your program how it treats utilities.

Is 2683 Creston Avenue the same as 2683 Creston Ave?

Yes. Housing Connect calls the lottery "2683 Creston Avenue," and its building line reads "2683 Creston Ave." City records file it as Bronx block 3316, lot 56. It is one new 6-story building with 22 apartments in ZIP code 10468. News reports place it in Fordham; building filings tag the area Bedford Park.

Can a couple apply for a studio at 2683 Creston Avenue?

Yes, by the listing's own figures. Each studio takes one or two people. Two people need a combined yearly income of $75,840 to $108,560 without a voucher. With a voucher, the minimum does not apply. A household of three or more has no row in the listing's rent table.

Are the rents at 2683 Creston Avenue below market?

Yes, against HUD's figure. HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for a studio in ZIP code 10468 is $2,420. The $2,000 rent is $420 below it, or 82.6% of it. HUD's figure includes utilities, and the listing does not say which utilities its rent includes.

Sources for this article (19)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7741 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  4. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  5. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  6. filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  7. older filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  8. DOB NOW (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  9. older (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. Affordable Housing Production by Building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
  13. GeoSearch (geosearch.planninglabs.nyc)
  14. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  15. subway (data.ny.gov)
  16. rail (data.ny.gov)
  17. January 23, 2025 (web.archive.org)
  18. January 31, 2025 (bxtimes.com)
  19. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.