Skip to page content

50 Commercial Street, Greenpoint: 10 Affordable Apartments on Housing Connect, From $1,929 a Month

24 min readBy VoucherMatch Editorial Team
Quick answer50 Commercial Street is a new five-story building with 32 apartments in Greenpoint, Brooklyn. NYC Housing Connect advertised 10 of them: one- and two-bedrooms at 80% and 130% AMI, from $1,929 to $4,244 a month. Applications were due May 14, 2026. As of October 24, 2026, the City's data lists the lottery in "Tenant Selection". The two 80% AMI rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums; the two 130% AMI rents are over them.

Last checked: October 24, 2026, against the Housing Connect listing for lottery 7516, its rent table and Housing Connect's open-lottery search, each read at the start and end of the work; the Housing Connect FAQ; HPD's Inclusionary Housing page, 421-a page, re-rental page and guide Applying for Affordable Housing; CityFHEPS form DSS-8r; Department of Buildings filings (job B00596151), older filings and certificates of occupancy; HPD's production data by project and by building; the City's lottery data by lottery and by building; PLUTO; ACRIS records for Brooklyn block 2482, lot 1; the State Department of Environmental Conservation's files for site C224278; Langan's project page; Reside New York's page for the building; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents; the MTA's station data; and New York YIMBY reports of December 29, 2018, August 23, 2022 and April 24, 2026. How VoucherMatch reports these guides and corrects errors: how we report.

50 Commercial Street in numbers
  • 10apartments in the Housing Connect lottery
  • 32apartments in the building, in the permit and the certificate
  • $1,929the lowest rent, a one-bedroom at 80% AMI
  • $4,244the highest rent, a two-bedroom at 130% AMI
  • May 14, 2026the application deadline
  • April 29, 2026the first certificate of occupancy

What it means: the building was signed off for living in while the lottery was taking applications.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7516, read October 24, 2026; Department of Buildings job B00596151 and its certificate of occupancy.

Words used in this report
  • Area median income (AMI)The middle income for the area, adjusted for household size. A lottery apartment "at 60% AMI" is for households earning up to about 60% of it. The agency's income chart turns each level into dollar limits.
  • Lottery (NYC Housing Connect)Every complete application gets a random log number. The marketing agent works through applications in log-number order within each preference group, so applying early does not help.
  • Minimum incomeThe lowest yearly income the listing accepts for an apartment, so the rent is not too large a share of income. Housing Connect does not apply it to households with a voucher or rental subsidy.
  • Marketing agentThe company the building hires to run its lottery and check applicants' papers.
  • Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8)Rental help run by a housing authority. You find a home, and the agency checks the unit, rent and your household before it approves payment.
  • CityFHEPS (New York City)The City Fighting Homelessness and Eviction Prevention Supplement: a City-funded rent supplement that the Department of Social Services (DSS) pays straight to the landlord.
  • Payment standard (the CityFHEPS maximum in this report)An amount the agency uses to work out housing assistance for a unit size and area. It does not mean that any home at that rent will be approved.
  • Utility allowanceThe agency's estimate of the cost of utilities you must pay. It is not a promise to pay your actual bills.
  • FMR and SAFMRHUD rent estimates for an area (Fair Market Rent) or ZIP code (Small Area Fair Market Rent). They include rent and most tenant-paid utilities. Your agency may use a different payment standard.
  • Certificate of occupancyThe Department of Buildings' sign-off that a building, or part of it, can be lived in.
Watch outon October 24, 2026, VoucherMatch left out all 14 pictures in the Housing Connect listing. Two of its photos show the same staged bedroom with the same bedding, one with bare trees outside and one with trees in full leaf. The set could not be confirmed as unaltered photographs of this building, so its renderings were left out too. The pictures here come from the project's engineer, a state filing and Wikimedia Commons.
Photograph of a five-story building with red brick sections and black-framed window bays, black cantilevered balconies, a sidewalk shed and scaffold along the ground floor, and a contractor's blue banner at the left, under a blue sky with clouds
50 Commercial Street in Greenpoint, Brooklyn, near the end of construction. The building has a certificate of occupancy dated April 29, 2026. Photograph by Langan, the project's environmental engineer, from its project page. Photo: Langan (Langan Engineering, Environmental, Surveying, Landscape Architecture and Geology, D.P.C.), Project photograph published by a firm on the project team; allowed for new-development reports (Jake, 2026-10-04 and 2026-10-06), via Langan, project page '50 Commercial Street' (995 x 554 PNG scaled 1.5 times to 1493 x 831 and centered on a plain light-gray (#f2f2f2) 1600 x 900 background; not cropped).

What Was Built at 50 Commercial Street

50 Commercial Street is a new five-story, 60-foot building with 32 apartments and space for shops. The permit calls it a "PROPOSED NEW 5-STORY MIXED-USE BUILDING WITH 32 DWELLING UNITS AND COMMERCIAL SPACE ON THE FIRST FLOOR".

  • Names and addresses: Housing Connect calls the lottery "50 Commercial Street Apartments" and the building "50 Commercial St". PLUTO, the City's lot database, lists the lot as 44 Commercial Street. Older deeds use 44-46 Commercial Street.
  • Permit: Department of Buildings job B00596151 lists 5 stories, 60 feet, 32 dwelling units and 40,219 square feet of construction.
  • Certificate of occupancy: the first one, dated April 29, 2026, covers 32 dwelling units. A renewal with changes was issued on August 31, 2026.
  • Owner: PLUTO and the City's older filings name Rimani Realty LLC.
  • Design: the permit's applicant is T.F. Cusanelli & Filletti Architect.
  • Condominium: a 2026 filing split the lot into two commercial units and one "RESIDENTIAL APARTMENT HOUSE". It says the apartments are "NOT FOR INDIVIDUAL SALE."
Photograph inside an unfinished ground-floor space with a bare concrete floor, tall black-framed glass walls on both sides with notices taped to the left wall, a glass door at the far end and red brick buildings across the street
Inside the ground floor of 50 Commercial Street during an inspection, with its glass street walls. The permit calls for commercial space on the first floor. Photograph by Langan, from its 2024-2026 Periodic Review Report published by the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation. Photo: Langan (in the 2024-2026 Periodic Review Report for NYSDEC site C224278), Photograph in a report filed with and published by a government agency; allowed for new-development reports (Jake, 2026-10-04 and 2026-10-06), via NYSDEC DECinfo files for site C224278, 2024-2026 Periodic Review Report (May 27, 2026) (1027 x 770 JPEG extracted from PDF page 82, scaled 1.169 times to 1200 x 900 and centered on a plain light-gray (#f2f2f2) 1600 x 900 background; not cropped).
50 Commercial Street, from purchase to the certificate
  • May 23, 2018a deed transfers the lot to Rimani Realty LLC.
  • December 20, 2018job 322066474 proposes a nine-story building with 27 dwelling units. Its status still reads "PLAN EXAM - IN PROCESS".
  • November 16, 2021new building job B00596151 is filed. It is approved on January 17, 2023.
  • February 15, 2024loans from Ponce Bank and agreements with HPD are signed. HPD's project starts the same day.
  • April to May 2024the old buildings on the site are torn down, per the state's fact sheet.
  • August 2, 2024the first permit for the new building.
  • January 2025the state certifies that the site's cleanup requirements were met.
  • April 23 to May 14, 2026the Housing Connect lottery takes applications.
  • April 29, 2026the first certificate of occupancy, for 32 dwelling units.

What it means: the certificate belongs to the 2021 job, B00596151, not the 2018 plan.

Source: ACRIS; Department of Buildings jobs B00596151 and 322066474 and the certificate records; HPD project 73556; the State Department of Environmental Conservation's January 2025 fact sheet; the City's lottery data.

Where the sources differ on the building
  • Heightthe permit, the certificate and the state's fact sheet say five stories. New York YIMBY's April 24, 2026 report calls it "a nine-story mixed-use building". The nine-story plan is the 2018 filing, job 322066474.
  • Apartmentsthe permit, the certificate and HPD count 32. YIMBY's 2026 report says "the structure yields 27 residences", the figure in the 2018 filing. PLUTO lists 12.
  • Top incomesYIMBY and Reside New York's page give a top income of $227,500. The listing on October 24, 2026 gives $238,160.
  • Retailthe permit says commercial space on the first floor. Langan's page says "4,450 SF of retail space".

What it means: this report uses the permit, the certificate and the listing as read on October 24, 2026. Ask the hotline if your income is near a top limit.

Source: the filings, records and reports named.

The Programs the Listing Names

The listing says the building "is being constructed through the Inclusionary Housing Program and is anticipated to receive a Tax Exemption through the 421a Tax Incentive program".

Inclusionary Housing and 421-a in HPD's words
  • Inclusionary Housing ProgramHPD says it "is designed to promote and preserve affordable housing where zoning has been modified to encourage new development."
  • 421-aHPD says "The 421-a Tax Incentive is a partial tax exemption for new multiple dwellings." Its page has separate sections for "421-a (1-15)" and "421-a (16)".
  • HPD's own recordproject 73556 lists the program group "Multifamily Incentives Program" and the planned tax benefit "421a".

What it means: the listing names neither 421-a section nor an Inclusionary Housing program area, and no record opened confirms the exemption.

Source: the listing; HPD's Inclusionary Housing and 421-a pages; HPD's production data, all read October 24, 2026.

What Stood Here and How the Site Was Cleaned Up

The site was a brownfield, land with contamination, and it went through New York State's Brownfield Cleanup Program as site C224278.

The cleanup, in the State Department of Environmental Conservation's words
  • Past uses"a gasoline filing station with petroleum bulk storage and junk storage (1929 to 1983), iron works (1887 to 1916), light manufacturing (1930s), and a lumber and building material warehouse (1942 to 2010)."
  • What was doneremoval of about 3,300 tons of soil and two underground storage tanks, groundwater treatment and a barrier against groundwater from nearby sites.
  • Controls kept in placea "Cover System", a "Sub-Slab Depressurization System" and a groundwater barrier with monitoring, plus an environmental easement.
  • Resultthe state "has determined that the cleanup requirements" were met and issued a Certificate of Completion.

What it means: the fact sheets name the Greenpoint Library and Brooklyn Community Board 1 as places to read the project files.

Source: the State Department of Environmental Conservation's December 2024 and January 2025 fact sheets for site C224278; the 2024-2026 Periodic Review Report, prepared by Langan and dated May 27, 2026.

Photograph of two white vent pipes rising from gray metal boxes on aluminum stands behind a pipe railing on a roof, with dark-brick apartment buildings and a clear blue sky behind
Vent stacks on the roof of 50 Commercial Street, part of the sub-slab depressurization system the state lists as an engineering control. Photograph by Langan, from its 2024-2026 Periodic Review Report published by the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation. Photo: Langan (in the 2024-2026 Periodic Review Report for NYSDEC site C224278), Photograph in a report filed with and published by a government agency; allowed for new-development reports (Jake, 2026-10-04 and 2026-10-06), via NYSDEC DECinfo files for site C224278, 2024-2026 Periodic Review Report (May 27, 2026) (1027 x 770 JPEG extracted from PDF page 84, scaled 1.169 times to 1200 x 900 and centered on a plain light-gray (#f2f2f2) 1600 x 900 background; not cropped).

Where 50 Commercial Street Is

The building is on Commercial Street in Greenpoint, Brooklyn, in ZIP code 11222. It is in Brooklyn Community District 1 and City Council District 33.

The location in the records
  • Greenpointthe Department of Buildings and the state's fact sheet both say Greenpoint.
  • Streetsthe state says the site "is bound by Commercial Street to the north" and "Clay Street to the south". YIMBY called it "a triangular plot at the intersection of Commercial and Clay Streets".
  • The lotBrooklyn block 2482, lot 1. The state's cleanup site also takes in lots 7 and 8.
  • NearbyLangan's page says the building is "a short distance from Greenpoint Landing".
  • On VoucherMatchapartments near the building are on the page for voucher apartments in ZIP 11222.

What it means: the listing's map point, 40.7366067, -73.9575841, is the point used for the distances below.

Source: the records and reports named.

Photograph across the water of a waterfront skyline with several tall residential towers, one with a crane beside it, a ferry on the river and a low green park along the shore
The Greenpoint Landing towers seen from a ferry on the East River, September 14, 2023. Langan's page says 50 Commercial Street is a short distance from Greenpoint Landing; the building itself is not visible here. Photograph by Jim.henderson, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons; resized. Photo: Jim.henderson, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons (Commons 3840 x 2160 rendition of the 4556 x 2563 original resized to 1600 x 900; not cropped).
Subway stations nearest 50 Commercial Street
StationLinesDistanceAccessible
Greenpoint AvGabout 0.40 milesYes
Vernon Blvd-Jackson Av7about 0.47 milesNo
Hunters Point Av7about 0.60 milesNo
21 StGabout 0.66 milesNo
Nassau AvGabout 0.89 milesNo

What it means: three of these stations are in Queens, across Newtown Creek, so the walk is much longer than the line.

Source: the MTA's station data, lines from its daytime routes field and "Accessible" from its ADA field; straight-line distances by VoucherMatch from the listing's map point.

Photograph in a white-tiled subway passage of a person in a wheelchair, seen from behind, rolling into an open steel elevator under a sign reading Elevator to Queens with a G train symbol
The elevator to Queens-bound G trains at the Greenpoint Av station, about 0.40 miles from 50 Commercial Street, when the MTA opened the station's elevators on December 10, 2020. Photograph by Marc A. Hermann, MTA, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons; cropped. Photo: Marc A. Hermann / Metropolitan Transportation Authority, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons (from the MTA's Flickr) (Commons 3840 x 2816 rendition of the 5062 x 3712 original cropped (centre) and resized to 1600 x 900).
  • Buses, per the listing: stops at Franklin St/Green St (about 0.22 miles) and Freeman St/McGuinness Blvd (about 0.28 miles).
  • Parks, per the listing: Hunter's Point South Park (about 0.43 miles) and American Playground (about 0.54 miles).
  • Along the line: see apartments near the G train.

10 Apartments at Two Income Levels

The lottery has five one-bedrooms and five two-bedrooms. Six are at 80% AMI and four are at 130% AMI.

Apartments in the Housing Connect lottery for 50 Commercial Street, by size and income level
One-bedroomTwo-bedroom
View the data table
Income levelOne-bedroomTwo-bedroom
80% AMI24
130% AMI31

What it means: there are no studios or three-bedrooms. The other 22 apartments in the building are not in the lottery.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7516, counted by VoucherMatch from its 10 unit rows, read October 24, 2026.

Rents and Income Ranges in the Housing Connect Listing for 50 Commercial Street

The rent runs from $1,929 to $4,244 a month. Incomes run from $74,778 to $238,160 a year, for one to five people.

ApartmentRentApartmentsPeople
One-bedroom, 80% AMI$1,92921 to 3
Two-bedroom, 80% AMI$2,24742 to 5
One-bedroom, 130% AMI$3,59531 to 3
Two-bedroom, 130% AMI$4,24412 to 5

What it means: a household of six or more fits no apartment in this lottery.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7516, read October 24, 2026.

Yearly income allowed at 80% AMI, by household size
HouseholdOne-bedroomTwo-bedroom
1 person$74,778 to $95,040none
2 people$74,778 to $108,560$90,618 to $108,560
3 people$74,778 to $122,160$90,618 to $122,160
4 peoplenone$90,618 to $135,680
5 peoplenone$90,618 to $146,560

What it means: the minimum is the same for every household size in each apartment type.

Source: the same listing, yearly income before taxes.

Yearly income allowed at 130% AMI, by household size
HouseholdOne-bedroomTwo-bedroom
1 person$131,898 to $154,440none
2 people$131,898 to $176,410$159,086 to $176,410
3 people$131,898 to $198,510$159,086 to $198,510
4 peoplenone$159,086 to $220,480
5 peoplenone$159,086 to $238,160

What it means: the asset limit is $135,680 at 80% AMI and $220,480 at 130% AMI, per the listing's rent table.

Source: the same listing.

The income gaps: where no apartment fits
  • One person$95,041 to $131,897.
  • Two people$108,561 to $131,897.
  • Three people$122,161 to $131,897.
  • Four people$135,681 to $159,085.
  • Five people$146,561 to $159,085.
  • Six or moreno apartment in this lottery.

What it means: incomes below $74,778 (one to three people) or $90,618 (four or five) reach no apartment unless the household has a voucher or rental subsidy.

Source: VoucherMatch's arithmetic from the listing's incomes.

Which Rents a CityFHEPS or Section 8 Voucher Reaches

The two 80% AMI rents are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums, even after utility allowances. The two 130% AMI rents are over them.

This was a city lottery on NYC Housing Connect, and the listing names HPD as its agency. The Housing Connect FAQ says: "Minimum income requirements do not apply if you have a voucher or a rental subsidy. However, rent should be within maximum limits allowed by your voucher or rental assistance program."

Monthly rent at 50 Commercial Street against the 2026 CityFHEPS maximum, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
View the data table
ApartmentLowest rentHighest rentCityFHEPS maximum
One-bedroom$1,929$3,595$2,734
Two-bedroom$2,247$4,244$2,997

What it means: before allowances, the 80% AMI rents are $805 and $750 under; the 130% AMI rents are $861 and $1,247 over.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; maximums from DSS-8r, effective April 1, 2026, which gives them "if all utilities are included in the lease".

Key pointthe listing says "Tenants are responsible for electricity, which includes the stove, heat, and hot water." So this report took off two DSS-8r allowances: "Electric with Cooking Range" ($126 for one bedroom, $167 for two) and "Total (Electric Heat & Hot Water)" ($106 and $138).
ApartmentRentMaximum less allowancesDifference
One-bedroom, 80% AMI$1,929$2,502$573 under
Two-bedroom, 80% AMI$2,247$2,692$445 under
One-bedroom, 130% AMI$3,595$2,502$1,093 over
Two-bedroom, 130% AMI$4,244$2,692$1,552 over

What it means: DSS decides the amount for each household, so ask your caseworker before you sign anything.

Source: DSS-8r maximums and allowances; rents from the listing; differences by VoucherMatch.

How the Rents Compare With HUD's Figure for ZIP Code 11222

Three lottery rents are below HUD's figure for ZIP code 11222. The 130% AMI two-bedroom, at $4,244, is $34 above it.

Monthly lottery rent at 50 Commercial Street against HUD's fiscal year 2027 fair market rent for ZIP code 11222, in dollars
Lowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent
View the data table
ApartmentLowest rentHighest rentHUD fair market rent
One-bedroom$1,929$3,595$3,870
Two-bedroom$2,247$4,244$4,210

What it means: the 80% AMI rents are $1,941 and $1,963 below HUD's figures. The 130% AMI one-bedroom is $275 below. The lottery rents leave out electricity.

Source: rents from the Housing Connect listing; HUD's Small Area Fair Market Rents for fiscal year 2027, in effect since October 1, 2026, which include most utilities.

How 50 Commercial Street Was Financed

Property records show two mortgages from Ponce Bank and two agreements with HPD, all dated February 15, 2024. HPD's start date for project 73556 is the same day.

Recorded documents on Brooklyn block 2482, lot 1, since 2018
DateDocumentPartiesAmount
May 23, 2018Deedto Rimani Realty LLCnone listed
February 15, 2024Two mortgagesRimani Realty LLC to Ponce Bank$14,640,594 and $1,859,406
February 15, 2024AgreementRimani Realty LLC and Ponce Bank$5,359,406
February 15, 2024Two agreementsHPD, the City and Ponce Bank or Rimani Realty LLCnone listed
August 19, 2024EasementRimani Realty LLC to the State Department of Environmental Conservationnone listed

What it means: the index does not say what the agreements with HPD cover. The state's fact sheet says the easement is "to prevent future exposure to any contamination remaining at the site".

Source: ACRIS index, Brooklyn block 2482, lot 1.

Preferences, Building Features and Fees at 50 Commercial Street

The listing has two disability set-asides and two preference groups. Tenants pay for electricity, which covers the stove, heat and hot water.

Preferences in the listing, and what the FAQ says
  • Mobility disability5% of apartments, listed as "Mobility".
  • Hearing or vision disability2%, listed as "Vision/Hearing".
  • Brooklyn Community Board 1 residents20%, listed as "Community Board Resident (Brooklyn CB 01)".
  • Municipal employees or military veterans10%, listed as "Municipal Employee/ Military Veteran".
  • The FAQ on community preferenceit applies "For developments financed by the City". It "does not apply to developments that do not receive City financing, e.g., those that only receive a tax exemption."

What it means: no record opened says whether HPD's agreements count as City financing. Ask HPD's hotline how the groups were applied here.

Source: Housing Connect listing for lottery 7516; Housing Connect FAQ.

What the building has: listed, extra cost, not stated
  • In the apartments, per the listingwashers and dryers, a dishwasher, air-conditioning, a "Patio or balcony" and smart heating and cooling controls.
  • In the building, per the listingelevator, accessible entrance, package lockers, gym, spa, yoga/dance studio, recreation room, rooftop terrace and storage.
  • Parking, per the listinggarages, covered parking, assigned spaces and car charging. The listing gives no price.
  • Extra costthe listing names "a gym, recreational room, bike storage, lockers, and more (*additional fees apply)".
  • Pets and smoking"one pet per household allowed (up to 35 lbs.)". The amenity list includes "Smoke-free".
  • Fees to applythe listing's field for deposits or application fees is set to no.
  • Not statedapartment sizes, bathrooms, fee amounts and which apartments have balconies.

What it means: "a private balcony" in each unit is the advertisement's wording.

Source: Housing Connect listing.

What Happens After the 50 Commercial Street Housing Connect Lottery

Applications for the 10 apartments were due May 14, 2026. On the City's lottery data, the lottery's status is "Tenant Selection".

How the 10 apartments are filled
  1. 1Log numbers"Within a few weeks after the lottery application deadline, Housing Connect randomly assigns log numbers".
  2. 2Review"The developer reviews them in log number order (starting with those who meet preference categories) and contacts applicants."
  3. 3Documents"If your log number comes up, the developer will contact you to submit documents."
  4. 4TimingHPD's guide says you "may hear about the status of your application within two to twelve months after the deadline."
  5. 5No replythe guide warns "you may not be contacted, even if you could have qualified."

What it means: the guide also warns "you will only have a few business days to submit your documents". The lottery data does not say how many apartments are leased.

Source: step one from the Housing Connect FAQ; steps two to five from HPD's guide Applying for Affordable Housing.

If you applied, have these ready
  • ID for every adult. the FAQ accepts "drivers’ licenses, non-driver state ID cards, and IDNYC cards"
  • Children under 18. "Birth certificates or other forms of documentation like a school letter"
  • Income, address and assets. "pay stubs, tax returns, proof of address, and asset documentation"
  • Voucher. "proof of the subsidy and the amount of rent it covers"

What it means: the FAQ adds that "Applicants qualifying with rental subsidy are not subject to a credit check or review of rental history."

Source: Housing Connect FAQ.

Check before you payapplying through NYC Housing Connect is free. Its FAQ says "There is no fee to apply for housing using Housing Connect"; a marketing agent may charge a credit or background check fee of no more than $20 per household. No payment app, wire or gift card buys a place in a lottery, and no one should charge you to see or hold an apartment. Apply only at housingconnect.nyc.gov or by mail to the address in the official listing.
Where the next openings are posted, checked October 24, 2026
  • Housing Connectlottery 7516 was not among the 21 rentals in the open-lottery search, at the start or end of the work. No newer listing for the building was in it. New lotteries are posted at housingconnect.nyc.gov.
  • Re-rentalsthe FAQ says vacant units "may be made available for applicants outside of Housing Connect". HPD's re-rental page lists Reside New York.
  • Marketing agentthe listing's "Apply by Mail" section says "To request an application by mail, send a self-addressed envelope to:" 50 Commercial Street Apartments, C/O Reside Affordable, 349 Keap Street, Brooklyn, NY 11211. Reside New York's own page gives the same street address.
  • Postmarkthe listing gives no return address or postmark rule. YIMBY wrote that applications "must be postmarked or submitted online no later than May 14, 2026."

What it means: as of October 24, 2026, VoucherMatch found no open application or waiting list for these apartments.

Source: Housing Connect's open-lottery search (11 Brooklyn rentals) and its borough count (11); the City's lottery data; HPD's re-rental page; the listing; Reside New York's page, which calls the building an "Upcoming Project".

What Is Known and Not Yet Known About 50 Commercial Street

The rents, incomes, deadline, lottery status and certificate are published. How many apartments have been leased is not.

Known and not yet known on October 24, 2026, and whom to ask
  • Not publishedhow many lottery apartments have been offered or leased, and whether the building keeps a waiting list.
  • Not explainedwhy YIMBY's top incomes are lower than the listing's, and what the agreements with HPD cover.
  • Not confirmedwhether the 421-a exemption was granted, and under which section.
  • Whom to askthe Housing Connect hotline, 212-863-7990, "from 9am to 5pm on weekdays", or nychousingconnect@hpd.nyc.gov. Reside New York's page lists 718-387-4448.

What it means: check each line again before acting on it.

Source: Housing Connect listing and FAQ; Reside New York's page; city records named above.

If You Need an Apartment Now

No waiting list is posted, so a household that needs to move has to look elsewhere.

  • Open in Brooklyn now: Housing Connect's search listed 11 Brooklyn rentals on October 24, 2026. Check each listing at housingconnect.nyc.gov for its own deadline.
Brooklyn apartments on VoucherMatch that take vouchers, nearest to 50 Commercial Street first

Listed by landlords who say which vouchers they accept. These are separate from the lottery. See all Brooklyn listings

Frequently Asked Questions

Was 50 Commercial Street on NYC Housing Connect?

Yes. 50 Commercial Street was lottery 7516 on NYC Housing Connect, named "50 Commercial Street Apartments". It offered 10 one- and two-bedroom apartments at 80% and 130% AMI, for $1,929 to $4,244 a month. Applications were due May 14, 2026. As of October 24, 2026, the City's data listed it in "Tenant Selection".

What is the rent at 50 Commercial Street?

Two one-bedrooms rent for $1,929 and four two-bedrooms for $2,247 at 80% AMI. At 130% AMI, three one-bedrooms rent for $3,595 and one two-bedroom for $4,244. Tenants also pay for electricity, which covers the stove, heat and hot water. The listing says fees apply for some amenities.

How much do you have to earn for 50 Commercial Street?

From $74,778 a year for an 80% AMI one-bedroom and $90,618 for an 80% AMI two-bedroom. The 130% AMI apartments start at $131,898. The top limit is $238,160 for five people. Some incomes in between fit no apartment. With a voucher, the FAQ says the minimum income does not apply.

Does 50 Commercial Street take Section 8 or CityFHEPS?

Housing Connect accepts both. The 80% AMI rents, $1,929 and $2,247, are under the 2026 CityFHEPS maximums, even after utility allowances. The 130% AMI rents, $3,595 and $4,244, are over them. Your agency decides your share, so check with your caseworker or housing authority before you sign a lease.

Is 50 Commercial Street the same as 44 Commercial Street?

They are the same lot. PLUTO, the City's lot database, lists Brooklyn block 2482, lot 1 as 44 Commercial Street. Older deeds use 44-46 Commercial Street. The permit, the certificate of occupancy and the Housing Connect listing all use 50 Commercial Street. Apply only under the name the official listing uses.

Are the rents at 50 Commercial Street below market?

Three of four are, against HUD's figure. HUD's fiscal year 2027 figures for ZIP code 11222 are $3,870 for a one-bedroom and $4,210 for a two-bedroom. The 80% AMI rents are about $1,950 below them. The $4,244 two-bedroom at 130% AMI is $34 above HUD's figure.

Can I still apply to 50 Commercial Street?

Not through this lottery. Applications were due May 14, 2026, and on October 24, 2026, the lottery was not in Housing Connect's open-lottery search. No waiting list was posted. Watch Housing Connect for new lotteries, and see HPD's re-rental page for openings that come up outside Housing Connect.

Who owns and built 50 Commercial Street?

PLUTO and the City's filings name Rimani Realty LLC, which took the lot by deed in 2018. The permit's applicant is T.F. Cusanelli & Filletti Architect. The recorded loans are from Ponce Bank. The building has five stories and 32 apartments, with commercial space on the first floor.

Sources for this article (26)
  1. Housing Connect listing for lottery 7516 (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  2. open-lottery search (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  3. Housing Connect FAQ (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
  4. Inclusionary Housing page (nyc.gov)
  5. 421-a page (nyc.gov)
  6. re-rental page (nyc.gov)
  7. Applying for Affordable Housing (nyc.gov)
  8. DSS-8r (nyc.gov)
  9. filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  10. older filings (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  11. certificates of occupancy (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  12. by project (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  13. by building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  14. by lottery (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  15. by building (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  16. PLUTO (data.cityofnewyork.us)
  17. ACRIS (a836-acris.nyc.gov)
  18. files for site C224278 (extapps.dec.ny.gov)
  19. Langan's project page (langan.com)
  20. Reside New York's page (residenewyork.com)
  21. Small Area Fair Market Rents (huduser.gov)
  22. station data (data.ny.gov)
  23. December 29, 2018 (newyorkyimby.com)
  24. August 23, 2022 (newyorkyimby.com)
  25. April 24, 2026 (newyorkyimby.com)
  26. housingconnect.nyc.gov (housingconnect.nyc.gov)
Share:

Stay Updated on Housing

Get the latest on fair market rents, voucher programs, and finding housing.

No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

VoucherMatch Editorial Team

Every rule, date and dollar amount in this article is checked against the agency document it comes from, and the sources are listed above. How VoucherMatch articles are researched and corrected

More new affordable buildings

See all new developments in NYC →Other cities →

Find Your Next Home

Explore voucher housing options and local rental guidance.